Booksmart (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
438 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Loved it! Wonderful coming of age movie.
jus-arena30 June 2019
After watching Booksmart, I thought it would be a great idea to read the reviews on imdb, only to find out that quite literally everyone thought the exact opposite of this movie as I did. i love coming of age movies because they are always so relatable since we are always evolving, and coming of age is not a one time event. Take Rushmore, for example. It's not a movie you have to google afterwards because you didn't get it, it's a movie that makes you feel hopeful, thankful and just plain jolly, and makes you genuinely care about the characters (same goes for this film).

Booksmart may be a little rough around the edges and has a couple of things that didn't quite pan out (NOT A SPOILER: when Amy and Molly are fighting at that party and everyone is recording with their phones, but where the heck do those videos go?) but it doesn't mean it's not worth watching. It honestly made me feel as if I could do anything and made me value my friendships, as if I could do anything BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT IT IS MEANT TO DO, GIVE YOU HOPE. I get it, it's not an arthouse film blah blah blah, but, well, neither is fricking Avengers and you all still seem to enjoy it. Don't be so cynical and try to relate, and you might actually like this film as much as I did.

And also, yes, I agree that some actors are a little too old to play high school kids but Billie Lourd did a fantastic job as usual, and Beanie is PERFECT for this part although she is 26. Remember not all movies have to make you lose faith in humanity, as this one does the exact opposite.

Finally, all I have left to say is: it may not be a masterpiece, but it is enjoyable as hell if you let it.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well I liked it
ashallj29 May 2019
I found this to be funny and smart and don't think it got a great promotion considering the number of reviews comparing it to Superbad. (It's not Superbad because it's 2019, oh and also because it's a different movie) Billie Lourde has some excellent line reading in this. It's bizarre and surreal and that's just the way I like my comedy.
124 out of 202 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I don't get it either
SeemsSensible24 May 2019
I just saw this. The first review I saw here (also titled "I don't get it" and also 5 stars, summed up my feelings, so I won't repeat all that it said. (Except, and I suppose a minor point, but as that other review mentioned, some of the actors are way too old for the roles, e.g., Billie Lourd is 27 and looks 27.) And it strains plausibility at times. (Miss Fine just happened to have a sequined dress in Beanie Feldstein's size in her car?)

I read two glowing reviews, on AVClub and Vulture, and it has a 97% critical consensus on RottenTomatoes, so clearly critics are liking it. I just don't understand why.

I don't have know how many times I've seen Lady Bird, a far superior high school movie (in which Beanie F. costarred). This isn't a bad movie; it's a bit scattered tonally, and I kept reading that the characters weren't the usual high school stereotypes and were fleshed out, when actually that's not true.

It is...mildly witty. I guess see it and see what you think if you're curious. Word of mouth will be the ultimate determination of its success. For me, it's vastly overhyped.
178 out of 313 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I don't get it
ofumalow15 May 2019
Of course, as usual the ten-star advance "user reviews" here are from people who "mysteriously" have never written an IMBD review before--i.e. studio shills. But "Booksmart" has gotten great early reviews, and several people I know who saw early screenings really did love it. So I went in fully expecting to enjoy it, and was dismayed when immediately--I mean, even before the opening title--the film was making "Funny, huh? Wasn't that funny?!?" noises despite nothing particularly funny happening. I'll give Olivia Wilde points for making a very colorful and energetic movie that might indeed convince a lot of people through sheer high spirits that it's a great comedy. But instead it felt just strenuous to me, trying too hard to cover the fact that the funny, clever, witty material wasn't actually there.

The premise is ridiculous--bookworm protagonists are horrified to discover that after all their sacrifices for the future, all the party-hearty types at their high school ALSO got into Ivy League schools. This would make sense if it took place in a wealthy community where everyone was a "legacy" student thanks for their family's donations. But the movie makes a point of singling out two characters as the only "truly rich" ones here. Those two, like every character save the two lead girls, are complete "SNL"-style caricatures. What's worse, they all also seem to be played by actors who are about a decade too old, once again apart from the two lead girls.

Even so, the premise and the casting and everything might have worked if "Booksmart" were an outright farce. But it seems to be aiming to be sorta-kinda "real," while the characters nonetheless behave like no teenagers past or present. Everything here is so over-amped and contrived for effect, yet the ingenious comedy situations and bright lines that approach might have served are nowhere to be found.

Like I said, I don't get it--it's a very lively and well-crafted movie that nonetheless felt completely phony and unfunny to be. It's not boring, but I have no idea what people who like it are responding to, beyond the fact that "'Superbad' for high school senior girls" is probably good enough for many. But I liked "Superbad" well enough, and this movie just did nothing for me. You could say it aims for a mix of "Superbad" and John Hughes, but those movies do a much better job turning recognizable teenage life into farce with some heart, and if Wilde intended something similar (I'm not sure what she intended, beyond punching across every scene as if she might never be allowed to direct again), she misses the mark. A for effort, C for derivative/uninspired content, and D for over-effortfully trying to hide that empty content. It's like a student paper with a very splashy cover but nothing original or thoughtful inside.
354 out of 646 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Superbad cheap knock off
vladhardware25 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have seriously begin to question the integrity of the so called critics. Do they even know what is a good film? Do they even watch good films? Have they watched older films? This film is a knock off of Superbad. Only half as funny and with one tenth of the acting. Mediocre direction and meandering, unfocussed screenplay make it a hard watch even for once. I was really hoping for an original ending at least. But the cliched ending of the school nerd giving speech on the graduation day is as lame as it gets.
141 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not Funny At All
shannonryan-943492 June 2019
20 minutes into the movie I was squirming in my seat, like I was waiting for algebra class to end. It just felt forced and was not funny or clever at all. Couldn't wait for the movie to end, wasn't a bad movie, just wasn't funny at all, which is what I came for.
86 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I am baffled by the high rating.
kate_mcshane28 May 2019
We did not leave this movie but I wish that we had. While there were several strong performances the movie was trite and there were very few laughs. Had it been a simplistic story that did not engage emotionally paired with a lot of goofy humor I would understand why some enjoyed it. And of course, few laughs plus a genuine and clever story would have worked as well. This movie delivers neither. It was both tiresome and tiring.
112 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh please...
info-1238820 May 2019
You'd think by now that IMDB could discern the difference between studio shills and real reviews - after all, the former are easy enough to see: first time reviews, 10-star ratings, wildly enthusiastic descriptions of how completely, utterly amazing and fabulous this "new classic" is.

Give it a break, okay? This thing was lamely predictable, sadly written, unfortunately acted. It was a by-the-numbers story, bereft of originality and humour, It will no doubt disappear within a couple of weeks, get a little blip on its BluRay release, then mercifully become yet another footnote in cinematic history.
263 out of 517 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Haven't laughed that hard in a while
aghayman19 April 2019
I just came out of a pre-screening of Booksmart at my college, and I have not laughed that hard while watching a movie in a long time. I went in with low expectations and I left with tears still in my eyes. One of the best comedies so far this year in my opinion.
180 out of 348 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I really do not get it
bobsarsfield25 May 2019
Very boring, drawn out supposed comedy. From the advertisements, it appears to be a female version of Superbad, but it comes off as being super bad. Horrible. Very few laughs, if any. I kept waiting for something funny to happen. But it never materializes. Do not waste you time with this movie.
140 out of 270 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollywood garbage, ignore the critics
raybeez224 May 2019
I heard comparisons to American Graffiti and Dazed and Confused, two teen coming of age films firmly based in reality, However, you can tell within the first few minutes that this film is pure Hollywood fantasy, from the overt "diversity" stunt casting and political agenda ( you can see it plastered all over the film), the contrived comedically "punched up" dialog, and finally, the over performed acting jobs that you can see coming at you like a freight train. I wouldn't compare it the great coming of age teen films, its more reminiscent of forgotten teen flicks like "I Love You, Beth Cooper" (2009) films with high ambitions that fall way short...

Its garbage.
130 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If this is Superbad for a new generation, I kinda feel sorry for the new generation!
cnorborg24 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
While a funny movie with an interesting premise, I definitely don't think this is of the quality or lasting power of a movie like Superbad, which I find so many comparing it to.

The energy was there, I'll give you that, but it felt a bit forced. That's probably because the chemistry didn't translate well onto the screen. And then there was just too much trying to be forced in I think, and taken to extremes. I mean, two smart girls who all of a sudden think they need to go out and party hard because others they considered stupid or unmotivated made it into good colleges, like that's all that matters? Then a lot of little things, like how the first party they end up at is >completely< void of people beyond the two hosts. Then, even though neither girl is rich, they leave gift bags with iPads behind? Heck, I'd be stuffing a bunch from other bags into mine before I took off!! Then the drugs that they unknowingly took so long before all of a sudden kick in at the same time on both of them, and although they're hit hard by them, they wear off at the exact same time just outside the party they were at. And the scenes with the principal and graduation scene, like where the car arrives. A bit too much, who can drive around town like that, bust through a fence and not have anyone say a word?

Don't get me wrong, I laughed, found it entertaining, but it's never going to live up to classics like Superbad or American Pie. A fun distraction, but not much more...
128 out of 246 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid at all cost
jordanmessing198529 May 2019
Not a funny comic film very forced and contrived. There's a reason why this film didn't perform well at the box office. I walked out at the Barbie doll part absolutely ridiculous. Borrrring
94 out of 177 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not for me
kristi-pghc6 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
As many other reviewers said I just didn't get this movie. I suppose it simply wasn't for me. The plot was extremely predictable and while I laughed a few times, when asked later to recall when by my husband who hated every second of it I couldn't because the very few funny moments were forgettable. I also didn't love how the movie talked about strong women but then had the role model strong female teacher sleep with a student. I see what they were trying to do but it just fell short.
62 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tedious
Jamie_Seaton25 May 2019
The film does pick up in its 2nd half but by that time I built up too much hatred for it. It's noisy, characters are annoying plus a full deck of cliche's. I usually like critically acclaimed films but this, nah. Very disappointed... Many may like this film, I just wish I was one of them
97 out of 185 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not So Smart
thorburnca7 May 2019
I saw this at a preview screening and was not impressed. Forced comedy, predictable and too contemporary to stand the rest of time. Do yourself a favour and watch Ghost World instead.
204 out of 408 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dont waste your time and money!
tbrown157925 May 2019
Actually almost left halfway through. Was bored & thinking what a waste of time. I made it through the whole movie but would not recommend. & FYI Lisa Kudrow is maybe in the movie 2 minutes total!
126 out of 246 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I do not get it
bobsarsfield25 May 2019
Advertised as the feminine version of Superbad, however, this movie comes out as super bad. Very few laughs, if any. I would highly recommend that you skip this movie. It sounds as though it would be a hit from the premise, but it never gets off the ground.
107 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Unfunny, Cliche and Predictable
alexdagg7 May 2019
Throughout the entire movie the gags are predictable and cheap, making me cringe. I feel like the actors tried to execute the jokes well but in my opinion it was a typical trashy comedy.
161 out of 321 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Take a gulp of leachate (the liquid runoff of garbage) instead of this movie, it'll take less out of your life. Warning: Spoilers
The movie script seems to have been sold with a one phrase pitch, trying to hit youthful demographics: "Lesbian teen and fat teen are nerdy bffs that on the last week of school realise they didn't have to just be nerds to go to college, they could also party and still get in". After executives creamed their pants thinking how many young demographics they'd be hitting with this movie concept, they just hired an intern to bang out the rest of the movie script with throwaway filler content. Every character is actually the same new generation archetype: a minority not being afraid of being a minority. This movie has a lot of very dumb people going to ivy league universities or getting great jobs. I feel very sorry for any young person who seems themselves in these characters and thinks he doesn't have to try hard to get a good future.
103 out of 203 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Super BAD!
bobsarsfield25 May 2019
This movie is horrible. I had my hopes up after reading the synopsis. It should have been a no brainer comedy given the premise. But it failed drastically. Very few, if any, laughs.
120 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny, clever, quotable
annieYke4 May 2019
I saw Booksmart more than a week ago and I still chuckle at its jokes whenever I remember them. During the showing, it kept me laughing for multiple minutes straight many times. I wasn't keeping count, but I did walk away from the movie feeling physically taxed from all the laughter, in a good way. The humor is a mix of smart kids doing dumb stuff, "dumb" kids doing dumb stuff, kids in general saying surprising insightful stuff, and characters reminding the audience of what it means to be human and how fun it is. Booksmart is script-heavy, which means listening to the movie and understanding the jokes is a major part of the viewing experience. This makes sense for a movie about two cerebral teens, and understanding how nerds banter makes the movie even funnier. Having been a teenage girl also helps, as Booksmart centers around the friendship of its two protagonists. This movie transported me back to a younger self from four years ago, but it also reminded me of the present and how to cherish the current people in my life. I left the theater happy and hopeful.
120 out of 243 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid this movie at all cost. Do not believe the critics
cjkorek22 May 2019
Tonight i went to watch an advanced screening of booksmart. Wish i could get that time back honestly. The comedy feels forced and too over the top to be funny. I wish i knew who pays the critics to write positive reviews on rotten tomatoes because the movie is garbage and misses opportunities to stand out. I do have to say that the casting director did a perfect job finding the right actors for the rolls. The friendship between the 2 girls feels real. Most of the actors did a great job but couldn't save the movie. If you feel like you want to see this movie i would encourage you to wait until it hits Netflix.
129 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Important to remember reviews are opinions, not facts
chris_teasdale27 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'll keep this short and sweet as this is not my job. I just wanted to say, that I thought this movie was terrific. Kaitlyn dever was amazing as always. Beinie feldstien was great too and billie lourd was hilarious.

It is reminiscent of Superbad, which I love. However, in Superbad, the characters all end up getting exactly what they want. This movie does have a happy end but the characters don't get exactly what they've been hoping for throughout. I'm sorry but when it looked like molly was going to get with nick, I couldn't help but think that would never happen in reality. A bit like Emma stone and Jonah hill getting together.

If you actually think the movie is bad based on something other than you just don't get it or it's not your sense of humour. And you'd like to stop others from disappointment, then you should leave a review. If you simply didn't get it, I don't know why you're here. It's pretty obvious that it's just not your sense of humour and that can't be helped.
44 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your money!
carolinenierenberg27 May 2019
This movie is terrible! Don't waste your hard earned money on this cliche of a film. Two overachieving young women decide to party it up the night before high school graduation and predictable, stereotypical things happen. It's difficult to list all the annoying and terrible things about this film. The students all look to be in their mid to late twenties. Notice that they have a differently sized woman as one of the lead characters, but when it is time to show some skin, everyone has the perfect skinny body. Yes, there are some funny lines in the movie but this 102 minute movie not worth the pain. I can't believe Booksmart received so many positive reviews.
100 out of 205 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed