Superbad (2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
612 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
One of my all time fave films
kua-1275711 August 2018
I was too young to watch it when it came out but I absolutely love it now. I have watched it with my friends, with my dad, with my mom and on my own and it is a riot every time (yeah my dad bought it on DVD).

The local dumb pigs are so stupid, the Mohammad joke deadpans every time and the desperate guys hit the comedy bullseye.

A total RIOT
156 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funnny
o-2099521 December 2018
Funny films, very exaggerated but realistically acted, pretty girls and allows the viewer to laugh at both adults and youngsters. What else could you ask for? The 'Mohammad' deadpan was fuunnnny.
78 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Impressive
Gordon-1131 August 2018
Normally I don't like this kind of film about teenagers trying to act like adults, but this film really works. It is funny, it has brotherhood, friendship and romance all in one. It is impolite at times but it is not over the top. It doesn't feel annoying or stupid either, which is actually quite impressive.
22 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Emma's legs make me watch again and again
diankline16 April 2019
And the film is funny and open-minded and the local smokies think they are smart alecs but in fact they are retarded. HILARIOUS!
38 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly Hilarious
Datura61825 April 2007
I was able to catch a screening of 'Superbad' last night in NYC and I was very pleased with the movie. I'm sure most will compare this to an 'American Pie' like comedy, but it's so much more than that. There were some "shock value" moments, but very well done to tip the scale more to funny than to gross.

It is a teen movie, so 'Superbad's plot is obviously basic. It's the performances of the 3 friends (Seth, Evan, and 'McLovin' Fogell) that really make it great. I am big Michael Cera fan thanks to the brilliant TV series "Arrested Development", and other fans will be delighted to see his equally hilarious performance as Evan. The movie has the sexually driven banter and gross outs that will appeal to 'American Pie' viewer and the smart timing and acting that will appeal to the 'Arrested Development' viewer. What was really surprising to me was the touching (platonic) relationship that Evan and Seth have. Also, 'McLovin' Fogell, is an absolute nerdy delight.

The only negative thing I noticed that it was a bit drawn out toward the middle, but it really picks up after. Overall it's a great time and might just be a success at the box office. Bad teen comedies are a dime a dozen, but 'Superbad' is a shiny golden egg!
360 out of 534 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Emma Stone In A Mini-Skirt
vadimarlyn11 August 2019
Chicks in mini-skirts make me watch again and again and Superbad owes a lot to several films of the "naive wins out" type. The main characters are cool, but not before they have to deal with the local goon squad. Emma Stone as "the tappable dream chick" portrays a hot babe men would do anything to penetrate...and she does so very, very well. You will laugh throughout.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funniest Movie I've Seen In A Long Time
unscripted126 July 2007
I got to see an advanced screening the other night, complete with an interview with the cast. I figured this movie could go either way, especially when you consider "40 year-old Virgin" and "Knocked Up" were funny and entertaining, but they weren't exactly loved by all.

I am happy to say this movie was wonderful. The jokes are crude, but dead on, and unlike recent movies with a similar style, like "Clerks 2," the plot moves on without any real downtime (you know, where the plot slows the progress of humor and you find yourself checking your watch). Jonah Hill and Michael Cera have that best friend chemistry that this movie required as well as being dead on with their jokes. The real star of the movie, however, was newcomer Christopher Mintz-Plasse, who took the role of Fogell and OWNED it. I got the chance to chat with the actors and I was not only surprised to hear that both Mintz-Plasse and Michael Cera are 18 and 19 respectively.

For the type of movie this is and the brilliant script that Seth Brogen has presented, there is no reason why anyone, young or old, can't relate to this off-the-wall comedy. See this movie!
310 out of 498 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely hilarious!!!
nrbucco-114 April 2007
I have been lucky enough to see two advanced screenings of Superbad in Burbank. It is one of the funniest movies I have seen in a long time. When I read the summary, I was a bit skeptical. The "high school comedy" is not exactly my cup of tea. My love for Michael Cera's performance in Arrested Development drove me to the theater and man was I glad I went. This is not your typical high school comedy. The writing is much smarter and funnier and the acting is superb. This movie so far transcends American Pie and its ilk that it cannot really even be compared. Go see this movie!!! I have a feeling it is going to go off the charts once the buzz gets around about how hilarious it is.
362 out of 605 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Teen Comedy Since the Original "American Pie!"
Mehrdad117 July 2007
Well, I just got back from the Superbad screening tonight (thanks to the folks at MySpace) and I must say that this is a very special teen movie. It has that same element of transporting you back to your high school days that the original American Pie had. Michael Cera does great as the awkward teenage kid, basically a reprise of his role as George Michael on Arrested Development. But it is Jonah Hill who absolutely rules this movie! He had me laughing from the beginning to the end. His "silly fat-kid" character is the only one in the history of movies that shows what it truly feels like to be the funny fat kid in high school. I should know, I was one! Gosh, I just can't believe how well he portrayed the unmitigated hell that was P.E.! Emma Stone and Martha Maclsaac also give very realistic depictions of teenage girls. None of that fake, over the top nonsense. The most over-the-top character was "McLovin" himself, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, who did a great job of having us laugh with him as much as we did at him.

All in all, I think that everyone should be sure to watch this movie when it comes later this summer.
237 out of 397 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and also in many ways heartwarming.
wwe79617 October 2010
This movie is one of the funniest of the 21st century. The jokes are hilarious, and it is spoken by a great cast. Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Seth Rogen, and others are excellent in their roles. The characters they play you really latch on to you. They are extremely likable in many ways. The dialogue is also superb. It's a fast moving script that gives many great lines by the end of the movie. Also at the end I sorta felt some happiness. It's one thing to make me laugh throughout, but to make a vulgar comedy like this actually make my heart warm is a very big plus. It's a film about friendship, and that message manages to find its way through all the vulgar stuff.

4 stars out of 4
52 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent, hilarious teen movie with likable characters, for a change.
benmorse15 July 2007
Superbad is a teen movie. It also will draw comparisons to American Pie, in it's "losers try to get laid" themes, and occasional gross-out comedy. But the comparison is unfair - Superbad is a funnier, more subversive and more importantly genuine movie than American Pie or any of it's awful sequels were. The three central characters have a believable, likable relationship, that the film takes time to establish. Cera, Hill (who deserves special praise, for turning what could have been a really unlikeable character into a sweet, if loud-mouthed and crass, teenager) and Mintz-Plasse bounce of each other perfectly. The movie creates some funny situations, and more importantly, hilarious dialogue throughout. Aside from one comedic misfire - an overly long (and poorly judged) gross out sight gag involving a pair of trousers and a dance - Superbad had me laughing constantly. It's sweet, it's funny as hell, and it's established a load of new talent.
192 out of 329 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Raunchy yet Hearfelt
gigan-9216 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
One of the best comedies ever served in m y opinion. The all-too familiar Greg Mottola is the man at work here, and where credit is due I'll award points to the writer s Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg. However, this film would drop dead on its face without its hilarious cast undoubtedly, Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz-Plasse being the two most unforgettable stars. Michael Cera is the kind of, I suppose, innocent-type guy who is both driven by hormones yet conflicted by almost inhuman genuine-ness and politeness. Not too many laughs coming from his way but when he did, he did so superbly. Bill Hader and Set Rogen were just top notch. I would also like to amend Emma Stone as Jules, who delivered the greatest "what the f*ck?!" in a good while.

All these zany and truth be told rather realistic characters were interpreted pretty well and where as the film was insanely funny the character development was right on par with the laughs. That's probably the film's most monumental achievement, seeing as the soundtrack was one I was rather indifferent about (but not one I despised). "Super Bad" is grade A comedy at its finest.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the best comedies of the year
vovazhd3 November 2007
Superbad may look like a typical high-school movie on the cover, but its actually much more. It follows a trio of high-school seniors that decide to have one last party before leaving for college (and one last shot at grabbing a girl). The trio consists of Seth, Evan, and Fogell. They make a likable main cast that is very easy to compare to. Their acting style is ideal for this type of film. Joining them are several other intriguing characters. My favorite were the two police officers, Slater and Michaels. Pretty much every scene with them made me laugh; from their references to other movies to the spoofs on being an officer, its classic slapstick comedy.

The plot is definitely a strong point, unlike many comedies today. Most of the movie follows two distinct plot lines that join up at the end. Inter-weaved in the plot are countless jokes that kept me laughing almost the whole time. The plot itself involves booze, partying, and law enforcement, and somehow works these in to make a very absorbing story. Also, the particularly close friendship between Seth and Evan is an element that surpasses the comedy genre. The plot as a whole has plenty of unrealistic details, but manages to successfully meld comedy with some deeper meaning.

The comedy aspects are some of the best ever. Some of the jokes were a little disgusting (mainly the part about Seth's childhood), but I gotta admit they were hilarious. The beer aspects were pretty cool, and the sexual jokes did their thing. The law enforcement spoofs and McLovin gags were probably my favorite.

The movie as a whole is among the better comedies ever. I liked it more than Knocked Up (7/10). It still suffers from some of the weaknesses inherent in the comedy genre, but has a lot more value than most movies nowadays. Highly recommended for people in high school or college, and also recommended (albeit to a lesser degree) for everyone else.
83 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Holy Crap This Movie Was Amazing!!!!
dafteskimo18 July 2007
Okay, so today i went to an advanced screening of this movie. It was really last minute and I didn't know much about it other than it was from the makers of The 40-Year-Old Virgin and Knocked Up and it looked pretty funny.

I expected it to be funny, but my expectations were blown out of the water. It was extremely smart and pretty much believable. Well, some of the situations are a little ridiculous, but what's a good comedy without a little nonsense? But the characters were all so awesome.

There were a few parts where i was a little uncomfortable. There are some pretty explicit drawings in it so you might not want to see it with younger siblings or parents. But I'm telling you, this movie was super funny.
390 out of 706 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious, gross, yet smart movie
vincelutton18 July 2007
Superbad was an absolutely hilarious film. There were so many mind bogglingly hilarious one-liners in the film that I will need to watch it again to see which ones I missed while I was laughing. This is one movie that I will definitely watch every time they rerun it on cable in the future. It had its completely gross-out teen moments, but those were grounded by its hilariously absurd and witty (also gross) conversations. Michael Cera was great, and most Arrested Development fans should find his performance here just as entertaining as his take on the George Michael character he played on that show. He is absolutely awkward and downright hilarious. Jonah Hill is the funniest he has ever been, confidently spouting out uproariously funny lines at every hot girl in sight.
160 out of 287 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely the best Apatow-group film yet
MovieAddict201619 April 2008
I enjoyed "The 40-Year-Old Virgin," but didn't feel it was entirely worthy of all the enormous acclaim it garnered. And for all the praise "Knocked Up" received, I thought it was fairly average. So I wasn't expecting much from "Superbad." However, I'd have to say it's the smartest and funniest Apatow film yet. I know he didn't direct it, but his influence is distinct. And in the past I've felt indifferent towards Apatow's brand of humour, but combined with Rogen's sensitivity towards the teen condition here, it works really well.

People have compared it to John Hughes' better teen comedies, but I don't think the approach is entirely similar. "Superbad" is cruder, ruder, a bit more focused on the sex & alcohol jokes. But it works really well because it captures that dynamic - better than "American Pie" because it invests more care into its characters. One of the strengths of "Pie" over other films in its genre (such as, say, "Slackers") has always been its characters, and "Superbad" similarly relies on its characters for support. Plus, it's just really funny.

The performances all around are pretty funny, even if the Fogell/McLovin pop culture references are ruining a good joke (kind of like "Yeah, baby!!" ruined Austin Powers when 20-year-old frat boys around the country thought it would be funny to shout the phrase every five seconds).

Jonah Hill and Michael Cera have great chemistry and another one of the strengths of this film is that its teenage characters actually do look their age (even though Hill is in his early 20s, he still passes as a senior). But it was Bill Hader and Seth Rogen who stole the show for me as the clueless cops.

Overall this is just a funny, well-made film with heart. It doesn't mock its characters or their predicaments but casts a knowing eye on the high school experience. It captures all this very well and was certainly, in my opinion, far superior to "Knocked Up."
64 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Raunchy, but almost exactly how real teens talk.
DCLOUDkid22 July 2008
And that may seem like a turn off to people (parents in general, but kudos to those who like it) because they don't expect the realism of the characters and their dialog. What people (parents) what to generally see for some odd reason is some High School Musical garbage lifestyle for a teenager which is completely unrealistic.Having said that, a few of the situations do seem unrealistic, but the message of friendship and dealing with life when it doesn't seem to be going as planned is universally understood by all males and surprisingly a lot of cool chicks who can handle the edgy jokes in between.

I don't need a whole lot a space to said what I need to say so I'll give you the gist of it.

1. Almost every teen from 16 to 19 (and most guys for that matter) can probably say "That totally happened to me! It's like they know me!" or "I've had this conversation!"

2. A punch line at every corner, and the jokes never get old.

3. It actually seems to get funnier and not "That was kind of funny...."

4. Can be watched over and over again.

5. Can be considered this generations Brat Pack, if they keep putting out hit after hit like this.

If you don't like constant cussing or sex jokes, then stay away. It's your loss.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One teenage comedy with extra wit and soul
StevePulaski11 April 2012
Superbad is a parable of values and friendship, reminding us that a good and earnest moral upbringing will be able to safely glide us through life and make us achieve happiness much easier. Its characters are well-mannered and sweet, not to mention inherently likable, as well as everything being morally correct and admirable.

Now onto the real review. Superbad is a shamelessly raunchy R-rated comedy with more four letter words than a Webster dictionary. Again, this sounds like the introduction I'd give a poorly rated film. By no means is Superbad a bad comedy. It is a smart, witty, and factual teen movie side-stepping clichés and underwritten primary characters, while at the same time remaining funny and entertaining until the end.

2007 was the year where Judd Apatow took off. He gained attention in 2005 with The 40 Year Old Virgin, but pretty much garnered a household name with this and Knocked Up, both starring Seth Rogen. It wouldn't surprise me to hear that Superbad is an autobiography, since the writers of the film, Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg, share the same names as the lead actors. Maybe that could be why this feels so sentimental and close to home. Or maybe it's because Superbad is aware what kind of unsettling situations high school can put you through and knows how to document them in a fun way.

The film centers around loudmouth pervert Seth (Hill) and self-conscious, paranoia-stricken Evan (Cera) as they endure their last few weeks of being high schoolers before they are shipped off to separate colleges. Seth and Evan have been friends for years, and are tired of the fact that their separate ways have been the talk of their parents and friends.

Seth has a crush on the recently-popular Jules (Stone), a beautiful redhead, who trusts him with supplying alcohol for her party. Evan has a crush on Becca (MacIsaac), a sweet and simple girl who agrees to meet up with him at Jules' upcoming party as well. In order to purchase the alcohol, both Seth and Evan trust their pal Fogel (Mintz-Plasse), who plans to acquire a fake ID. Because of this ID, Fogel now becomes his fake name, "McLovin," a name that has garnered much fame on the web.

The night unfolds into a chaotic spectacle of unprecedented stature, so much so that I won't go into explaining the routes and acts of desperation the characters take in order to be liked, admired, or even noticed. Fogel winds up teaming up with two police officers (Hader and Rogen) who act more like the bad guys rather than good guys. This setup and sort of topsy-tursvy treatment of character roles create limitless comedic possibilities, most of which are well utilized.

But what truly makes the film work is its level of realism and intelligence. It has wit, and puts it to use. The writing and acting captures the awkwardness of the teenage lifestyle with pinpoint accuracy, at the same time makes it fun and painful to witness. I can think of quite a few films that allow their characters to thrive on ego and self-interest, with no redeeming qualities. Here, the characters in Superbad just want to fit in and achieve the girl of their dreams, but shallow stereotypes and one stutter too many prevent this goal from happening.

Superbad is quite a rarity; a funny, good-natured comedy focusing on things of the immoral nature. Just like with American Pie, too many people believe these films are just raucous sex comedies with no substance, soul, or charm. The characters are likable and charismatic, and lack the oh-so-typical nihilistic, "I just want to have sex with anything that moves" mentality. Some may be surprised at the level of nuanced emotional instances the film reaches. The performances are fun, the writing is polished and witty, and the antics never seem to go over the top. It's too bad the women roles in the film feel a tad underwritten. Hopefully we have something like Supergood to explore that angle sometime soon.

Starring: Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Bill Hader, Seth Rogen, Emma Stone, and Martha MacIsaac. Directed by: Greg Mottola.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great film!
reubensong30 July 2012
Realistic portrayal of teenage trials...at last! Succeeds where so many have failed. Excellent cast deliver excellent script. Very funny. Anyone who can't relate to this film has had some very important chunks of their right of passage stolen. The farcical events could easily be real, and are probably based on true events. This film will stand the test of time, I've seen it three times and enjoyed each in same measure. Strict miserable parents should be forced to watch it. They might lighten up a bit! Anyone who doesn't fall half in love with this film cannot be human. A summary? A rare and wonderful film worth buying, keeping, and watching again and again!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A proper comedy movie, I miss this style
dylanchang-758371 September 2019
Its a landmark movie that really helped this style of movie take off.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest movie I've seen
mattcolos10 June 2019
The whole cast was hilarious and I've never laughed so much at a movie. It's absolute classic! Mclovin is one of the funniest character ever made!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Totally awesome
saleh_ziad17 August 2007
I'm not gonna lie; Movie previews / trailers are almost the deciding factor for me, in whether or not I even CONSIDER watching the movie. In other words, I almost didn't watch this movie due to the fact that the trailer looked stupid. I won't make this mistake again after watching this movie.

This movie was TOTALLY NOT what I expected. It's funny throughout - from front to back, beginning to end.

I recommend this movie to anyone who hasn't seen it, as well as those who have...

Perfect 10!!!
98 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The name says it all.
perbaby216 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I tried to enjoy this movie. I gave more effort into trying than I've ever attempted. It was a sorry excuse for a movie. I'm sure this movie adds more to the stereotype of how truly messed up American culture is...teenagers consumed with sex, beer, and drugs, who have an EXTREMELY limited vocabulary. The only reason I didn't walk out was because I was visiting my brother in another state. It's kind of hard to walk out of a movie theater and go home when you don't know where the hell you are. This movie took two hours of my life I will never get back...they could have been spent watching a movie that was actually original and not coated with the F word more than Louisiana was coated with water two years ago. I sat through Napoleon Dynamite...which, in my opinion, was terrible. But at least that movie was slightly original.

If it hadn't been rated R, this would have been the perfect movie for an eight year old...it seems like only people with the brain of one could possibly enjoy such trash.
100 out of 201 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid beyond belief
bbvaughn118 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I've heard tag lines that this movie will be "this generation's Porky's." Not even close. Tries way, way too hard and as a result is just plain stupid. Every other word is the F-word? Um, yeah, that gets old real fast. The plot is as old as they come: Male high school student buddies have two weeks 'til graduation, want to have sex before said school is out, must get alcohol along the way or this quest is apparently meaningless, experience unrealistic obstacles along the way, blah, blah, blah (yawn). Nothing unique here whatsoever. Just when there's an opportunity for a clever, funny line they decide "Hey, let's pepper that line with more F-words." Well, at least it lives up to its name, it is Superbad.
205 out of 431 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Top 250? No, Bottom!
filmimperator4 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
After I looked "Superbad" two questions came into my mind. First: Why should Seth Rogen write a screenplay after he acted so well in "Knocked Up"? and 2nd: Why was this movie rated to Top 250 in IMDb? "Superbad" hasn't a story (underaged people only cruise around to get alcohol for a party) and the gags aren't funny. All the plot is about male virgins who want to have sex and talk about it, about alcohol and strange cops who are kids in mind. That's all. Yes, sometimes some jokes about vomiting or drunk people are funny, but they can't be the only content of a movie. Yes, the story and the stereotype characters are entertaining on a low level, but there should be more than the average plot of "American Pie" to fill 90 minutes and more. Critical oder serious elements I hadn't found during looking the movie and so I wished, that this teen-trash is over soon. Maybe other people would be found, that this movie is very funny and brilliant. But "Superbad" only repeats elements of earlier puberty comedies without vary the gags oder the story. Only weak this movie.
101 out of 204 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed