Amazing Grace (2006) Poster

(2006)

User Reviews

Review this title
156 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Truly Moving Picture
tollini14 October 2006
I saw this film on October 10th, 2006 in Indianapolis. I am one of the judges for the Heartland Film Festival's Truly Moving Picture Award. A Truly Moving Picture "…explores the human journey by artistically expressing hope and respect for the positive values of life." Heartland gave that award to this film.

This is an inspiring story based on a legendary historical British Member of Parliament, William Wilberforce. During the late 18th century and early 19th century, a very young Wilberforce is elected to Parliament and over the course of several decades leads the fight to ban slavery.

Today this seems like an easy, obvious and intuitive decision. But this was not so 200 years ago. The film clearly explains the entrenched economic motives and the political motives for slavery. Wilberforce starts out as almost a force of one and slowly builds abolitionist momentum by brilliant oratory, political maneuvers, and appealing to his fellow man's better nature.

Ioan Gruffudd is totally believable in explaining to the audience the complexity and heroism of Wilberforce. Wilberforce over the course of his life is sickly and strong, religious and worldly, naive and romantic, and idealistic and practical.

During the course of this mostly political story, we get to see the immense cruelty shown to the captured Africans turned into slaves. We are shown the slave sailing ships where the captured are treated inhumanely and die of starvation, neglect, disease, and filth. Man's inhumanity to man was never worse.

Wilberforce is a great man of history even though mostly forgotten today. He respected his fellow man regardless of their station in life. He was always willing to sacrifice his life and health to help others. And his compassion and spirit was always masked by his humility. He is a hero for all ages.

This is a period piece and you are lost in it because of the attention to detail. The sets, art direction, and costumes allow you to totally suspend disbelief and be moved by the story.

FYI – There is a Truly Moving Pictures web site where there is a listing of past Truly Moving Picture Award winners that are now either at the theater or available on video.
202 out of 229 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great story, well told
vandergraafn218 September 2006
This is a lovely, moving and intelligent film. I did not detect any notably weak performances among a remarkable cast. The older actors though, Michael Gambon and Albert Finney, were shameless scene stealers, but one can hardly fault them for their excellence. There were many things to like about this film. It was gorgeous to look at, brilliantly capturing the look and sound of a sumptuous age. The pacing and editing were fine, though the device using flashbacks for most of the film occasionally led to a moments confusion about when a scene was supposed to be taking place. And the story itself is quite inspirational. A note for my Canadian readers and the Canadians who attended the TIFF screenings. The film mostly covered the struggle to outlaw slavery in Britain itself, though they did touch on Wilberforce's efforts to have it outlawed throughout the British Empire. This continued in the years after the conclusion of the film, and a Bill to do just that was passed in 1833, a month after Wilberforce died. So the film we watched was very much about our own history, and the story of the abolition of slavery in Britain directly affected the eventual abolition of slavery in Canada.
135 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moving period drama
colin-5095 February 2007
I was well impressed with Amazing Grace; the period was superbly captured, and the interplay of the main action (the fight of William Wilberforce to abolish British slavery) with the other great events of his time (the American and French revolutions) was well presented. The film stirs the emotions but informs the mind. Ioan Gruffudd as Wilberforce is believable and depicts the tenacious Yorkshire MP with both his bodily weakness and great spirit well. Albert Finney as John Newton renders a moving portrayal of the ex-slave trader turned evangelical minister who influences Wilberforce's decision to remain in politics rather than entering the ministry of the church. Benedict Cumberbatch gives a strong representation of William Pitt, and the overall impression of the film is one whose history has been well researched. Well worth a viewing.
82 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The redemption story of something terrible into something beautiful
kwojciec24 January 2007
I had the pleasure this past week of seeing a pre-screening outside of Washington, D.C. of the movie Amazing Grace, starring Reed Richards...err...Ioan Gruffudd as William Wilberforce – the famous British Christian politician that helped end the slave trade in Great Britain in the early 18th Century. The movie progresses through Wilberforce's life from about the time he begins his crusade against the slave trade in Parliament in his early 20's to the time it is eventually abolished. Everything in between is composed of all the hardships, victories, and relationships he goes through in the meantime. At some points the story can be a bit yawn inducing, but the film consistently seems to add just the right amount of humor or political intrigue to keep it afloat (more on the pacing below). There is a love interest Barbara, played by the quite attractive and dynamic Romola Garai, who keeps Mr. Fantastic...err...Wilberforce on track and encouraged. You get the feeling he would've never made it through the hard times without her (which is probably the case for most successful men as they say). The film does delve into evils of the slave trade, but it doesn't focus specifically on it, much like Amistad did focus on it. It seems to keep the main goal in mind, abolishing that heinous evil. This gives the film a "glass half full" feeling instead of a "glass half empty" one. You find yourself cheering for the good guys instead of seeking the heads of the bad ones.

You may be thinking they should've just called this film "Amistad: The Prequel", but that would do it a great disservice. Where Amistad succeeded in many ways such as exposing the horror of the slave trade in much more visual and visceral detail and containing great acting by Djimon Hounsou and Anthony Hopkins, I feel you ultimately left the theater not really feeling much better about anything. In fact, I'd say you may have left if feeling worse, maybe even shameful and/or guilty. Amazing Grace doesn't feel like that. In fact, it's not even really a "feel good" movie; it transcends that status. It's really a "do good" movie. You almost feel personal empowerment from the story, like you want to go out and change some social injustice yourself! Sure, we don't all have the political clout of a William Wilberforce, but we do have a voice. And I think that's why Amazing Grace stands above previous "social injustice" films like it. It feels organic instead of static. It feels like it could apply to today instead of some time long forgotten. It also appeals to everyone; black, white, or whoever. One African-American in the audience mentioned how he was impressed and encouraged at how passionate these white men were for the plight of the slaves. You also realize that slavery wasn't just an American problem, it was a world problem; which further emphasized the fact that the social injustice we see today isn't just a "fill_in_the_blank" problem, it's a world problem.

I'm not knowledgeable enough to comment very much on the technical aspects of this film, but don't let the religious overtones fool you into thinking this is another technical mess like so many in the past. It is on par with any period film of its kind from Hollywood in almost every way; acting, set design, costume design, story, etc.

One thing I found a drawback to it was its pacing though. It starts off fairly tepid, and though it builds up, it seems to go through a cycle of building up and then falling back down again. This could ultimately be a good thing though, because if you can keep your focus throughout the film, you'll be in for a very powerful ending that evokes positive emotions you didn't think you had, and I think the cyclic nature of the film's progress enhances the fulfillment the ending provides. I also found the time period jumping around within the film to be a bit confusing at some points; like some scenes I didn't know if they were in the past or present.

The representative at the screening said the movie would be playing on about 850 screens nationwide on its opening weekend (Feb. 23). Though this is small compared to most major movies, it is a pretty good amount for a smaller movie like this. I recommend going to see it if you're interested in a movie with depth, passion, character, goodness, virtue, and victory. Does it entertain? Sure. But it seems to do a little more also. You can't say that about too many movies these days. You won't leave wishing you had that $8.50 back.

In case you're wondering about the title, John Newton, the composer of the famous hymn 'Amazing Grace', (played powerfully by Albert Finney), was a contemporary and friend of William Wilberforce. John Newton was also a reformed ex-slave trader.
86 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Saw this at Toronto Film Festival!
pharaohs_kitty16 September 2006
Ioan Gruffudd in Amazing Grace, Michael Apted's new masterpiece - what can I say? The man delivered his usual brilliant performance. What made this one better than all the rest? Why do I think Oscar when I think of his part? Every moment he was on screen drew you deeper and deeper into identifying with William Wilberforce until at the end, when he finally achieves his life's work, you want to clap right along with the people applauding him on screen! When he suffers, you suffer right along with him. From the wry twist of his lips to the pain and devastation in his eyes to the fervent body language as he makes point after impassioned point, you are right there living Wilberforce's life.

The most charming parts were fodder provided by the fabulous screen writing and brought to electric life by Ioan Gruffudd as impassioned Wilberforce, Benedict Cumberpatch as driven and farseeing William Pitt, P.M., Romola Garai as Wilberforce's zesty and feisty wife Barbara and the surprisingly fantastic delivery by Jeremy Swift as Ioan's long-suffering wise butler. Jeremy has a way of delivering a comic line with a punch to your chest that bursts into laughter! Benedict and Ioan have clear chemistry as friends with a vision for the future. You can't help but believe these two would choose to be brothers if they could. But the best and most connected relationship was between Ioan as Wilberforce and Romola as his wife. You could feel the way they were already together even while their characters were still protesting on screen.

Michael Apted riveted the audience, bringing to life politics in a way that made you wish you could run out and find a cause of your own to champion. Again, I say Oscar. I have rarely attended a movie where the audience clapped to the point of hurting their fingers with the thunder they were creating for so bloody long! Entirely throughout the actor credits the audience applauded, only varying the volume for those performances they particularly appreciated. Ioan Gruffudd, Benedict Cumberpatch, Romola Garai, Jeremy Swift, Michael Gambon, and Albert Finney.

All in all, a tour de force movie that should impact everyone with the IMPORTANCE of trying to change that which is NOT RIGHT.

Congratulations to everyone who worked on Amazing Grace. Truly, wonder was on screen today.
142 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Movie
pkallestad200214 February 2007
This is a truly inspiring film that has much more than what appears on the surface. William Wilberforce was a man that understood persistance for change. He was a real World Changer that never knew the quit.

The film was beautifully done and the script was fantastic!! I love many of the phrase pulled from actual accounts of Wilberforce and Pitt's life.

Albert Finney does an amazing job as John Newton. He truly stole the show on this film.

Hollywood needs to pay attention and make more positive and moving films like this one!!!! Great Job.
141 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An exceptional film about an exceptional man
Bart_OP26 February 2007
What follows is the text of a letter I composed for my parish bulletin (I am a priest and pastor of a University Parish in Tucson) after having seen Amazing Grace. I often recommend movies to my parishioners, but seldom write a full-fledged review. This weekend I made an exception for an exceptional movie.

Dear Friends,

It is a movie-lovers' favorite weekend: Oscar weekend. So I beg your indulgence as I offer not just a movie recommendation, but an actual review of the remarkable movie I saw on Friday. I had been hearing about it for several weeks and looking forward to its opening in Tucson. "Amazing Grace" tells the story of William Wilberforce, a young American Revolution era British Parliamentarian who waged a three-decade legislative battle to end Great Britain's involvement in the African slave trade (Slavery was outlawed in England six decades before our civil war.) Among those who had influenced this remarkable Englishman was John Newton, the slave ship captain turned evangelical preacher, who penned the lyrics of arguably the best known sacred song in the world, which also lends its title to the movie. Newton had known Wilberforce as a child and, in the film, serves as his conscience when the task is unclear or proves daunting..

This is no schmaltzy feel-good biopic. Everything about it is compelling. It is beautifully written and directed. The cinematography and film-editing are superb. The costume and sets are exquisite. And the acting is top-notch. Ioan Gruffudd, the young Welchman best known for his excellent portrayal of C.S. Forester's seafaring hero, Horatio Hornblower, in eight made-for-A&E movies (1998-2003), brings great depth and passion to his portrayal of this complex hero of social justice. Gruffudd's star is on the rise. Award–winning actor, Albert Finney, graces this picture as an aged and eccentric Newton. The cast is rounded out by a gaggle of veteran British character actors who lend profundity to this compelling story. In addition to the cinematic elements that make this one of the few movies I have seen that I consider to be worth the $9 it costs to see a movie these days, it is first-rate storytelling! And Wilberforce is a hero whose story must be told. He grappled with one of my favorite issues: the place of faith in public life. As a young man, the rising political star began to rediscover an intense faith that had lain dormant for a time. His fire of conviction that something must be done about the slave trade was fueled by this reemerging faith. As he struggled with whether he should use his oratorical talents a politician or a preacher, he is convinced that he can use his popularity as an MP to do God's work by actively advocating for the voiceless slaves. The movie presents the story of a man who finds a perfect balance between his faith and his public life—each shaping the other in the face of a clear vocation. That his secular realm is that of politics and the time is one of great fear and institutionalized injustice gives this period movie much relevance in today's world. I hope every person of faith watches this movie. I especially think that it is pertinent for our student parishioners who may be struggling with the same issues as Wilburforce. (While I fear it would bore younger children, it would be good for older children and teens.) It opened on Friday at the El Con Cinema. I will be organizing a parish outing to see "Amazing Grace" in a couple of weeks. Whether you go then or another time, I recommend this movie as a great Lenten exercise. I loved it and consider it one of the most socially relevant films I've ever seen. "Amazing Grace" has long been one of my favorite sacred songs, but I will never hear it the same again.

Peace, Fr. Bart
74 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a must see film
annplatz3 February 2007
I saw Amazing Grace on Thursday at a private showing. The film has everything that I love about theater...passion, conflict, struggle, faith, redemption and grace. The story is true... making this film one of reality and substance. The struggle to rid the world of slavery has been a black mark against humanity. The British are to be applauded as the leaders in this journey to freedom. The actors' performances were incredible. Albert Finney's portrayal of John Newton is an Oscar possibility. The scenes were period and perfection. Even the dark mood of the times were reflected in the lighting and how the director portrayed the message of bondage. Go see this film...acquaint yourself with this powerful story and this man William Wilberforce. I rate it a 10!
67 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The film was both a touching and thought-provoking call to action.
wichitagirl15 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This was a magnificent film -- touching and thought-provoking on multiple levels. There were times when Wilberforce felt like giving up the battle, but the film is truly a story of perseverance and willingness to press through the raucous voices of dissent with a clear voice of what is right. The scenes with John Newton were so well done, with "reach for the tissue" moments, empathy and joy being among the emotions experienced by the moviegoer. The facial expressions throughout the film helped the moviegoer identify with the various characters; the casting was exquisite. I don't think if you're even minimally inclined to stand up for something you believe in that you can help but be stirred by the passion in this film. I do think we must see the ugliness of wrong and the repugnance of what one man can do to another in the name of economics and personal comfort almost as a preface to involvement. The symbolism of what one individual can do was wonderfully displayed in this amazing film.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent movie of a great story
rich-46431 January 2007
Most people probably have vaguely heard of William Wilberforce without knowing too much about his life. The power of his story, and the power of the central issue (the abolition of slavery), carries this movie that veers from artful to clumsy.

The movie can be confusing, as it moves back and forth between phases of Wilberforce's life. Often I found myself wondering for a few moments, "When is this?" Also, much of the political intrigue has to be inferred, since the backgrounds of the various players - particularly Wilberforce's adversaries - are not adequately explained.

However, the performances are quite good, some bordering on excellence. Some might argue that the villains are too simplistically presented, but on an issue like slavery, it is expected that the opposition would be completely unsympathetic (just as Nazis are rarely presented with any hint of sympathy).

I am sure the writers took some liberties with history. By the way, the tune we now associate with the hymn "Amazing Grace" did not become the melody for John Newton's famous lyrics until after Wilberforce's death.

I just watched this movie at a private screening for attendees of the National Prayer Breakfast in Washington, DC (clergy are a natural audience for this movie). The reception was favorable, but this was an audience for which the moralizing of the story would naturally resonate. I'm not sure it will attract a very broad audience - this is a movie that may well find its niche on DVD being shown in high school history classes and at church gatherings.

It is a nice, historical, period piece. It is (largely due to subject matter) reminiscent of "Amistad", with similar pacing.

Should you see it? It depends on whether you like this TYPE of movie. If this genre (historical drama) interests you, this is quite well-done. It might even inspire you to read more about Wilberforce. Go see it. If you are in search of movies that teach lessons about good values and perseverance in fighting for what's right, go see it.

But if you have no idea when the French Revolution occurred relative to our War of Independence, and if it doesn't come naturally to you to remember that the newborn U.S. was allied with France against Britain during that period - and if you don't care - this movie might not be your idea of a fun time.

If I were the producers, I would add one of those "scrolling text" historical introductions to the film before final release, though it is probably too late.
60 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Most Amazing Movie I have ever seen. It is highly recommended to all.
EmmyRoseXox30 September 2006
This movie was the most amazing movie I have ever seen. I think that it is an empowering movie to be seen by all. Just the shear magnitude of emotion that is seen on the screen by not only Ioan Gruffard, but the entire cast.

If you did not get the chance to watch it at the Toronto Film Festival, then I highly suggest that you see it when it comes out in theatre.

After attending the Toronto Film Festival and hearing the Director speak about this movie, I know that this movie is not meant to be only the normal entertaining movie, it is also meant to be a lesson, a tale to be understood and appreciated by many.
89 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Touching biography about William Wilberforce responsible for a bill which abolishes the slave trade
ma-cortes19 June 2012
The idealist William Wilberforce (finely played by Ioan Grufudd) along with Rhomas Clarkson (Rufus Sewell) and a group of anti-slave trade maneuver his way through Parliament, endeavoring to end the British transatlantic trade that would lead to a great victory . Wilberforce helped by his lifelong friend and future P. M . William Pitt (Benedict Cumberbatch) will fight to get their purports for social justice . Wilberforce encounters the inspiration in newfound love interest (Romola Garai) to rejuvenate the battle with new ideas . After many attempts to bring legislation forward over twenty years, he is eventually gets a bill being passed through Parliament in 1807, in which abolishes the slavery the British empire forever.

This is a bicentennial tribute to William Wilberforce and his parliamentary bill abolishing the slave trade . Thought-provoking and moving film dealing with interesting issues , including fidelity to historical accuracy and detailed moral battles . Ioan Gruffudd is good as obstinate , romantic parliamentary member who battles relentlessly injustices ; he does a dignified portrayal about a great man . The prestigious cast shows their awareness of the contemporary impact about the brooding themes and are allowed to step out of period detail . Special mention to Benedict Cumberbatch as his lifelong friend Prime Minister William Pitt and N' Dour realizing an enjoyable portrait of an ex-slave . All of them are quietly upstaged by Albert Finney as a repent , remorse ex-slaver . The motion picture was marvelously directed by Michael Apted , he's director, producer of several successes such as ¨The word is not enough¨, ¨Gorillas in the mist¨ , ¨Class action¨, ¨Nell¨, ¨Enigma¨ , ¨Chronicles of Narnia II : The voyage of Dawn Treader¨ among others . Rating : Above average and worthwhile seeing , the whole family will enjoy this film .It's a very likable biography and enormously appealing for students and scholars . Overall this is a really nice movie . If you are familiar with the history then you will like this splendid film .

This is a biopic well based on historical events , adding more details over the largely described in the movie are the following : William Wilberforce (24 August 1759 – 29 July 1833) was a British politician, philanthropist, and a leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade. A native of Kingston upon Hull, Yorkshire, he began his political career in 1780, eventually becoming the independent Member of Parliament for Yorkshire (1784–1812). In 1785, he underwent a conversion experience and became an evangelical Christian, resulting in major changes to his lifestyle and a lifelong concern for reform. In 1787, he came into contact with Thomas Clarkson and a group of anti-slave-trade activists, including Granville Sharp, Hannah More and Charles Middleton. They persuaded Wilberforce to take on the cause of abolition, and he soon became one of the leading English abolitionists. He headed the parliamentary campaign against the British slave trade for twenty-six years until the passage of the Slave Trade Act of 1807. Wilberforce was convinced of the importance of religion, morality and education. He championed causes and campaigns such as the Society for Suppression of Vice, British missionary work in India, the creation of a free colony in Sierra Leone, the foundation of the Church Mission Society, and the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. His underlying conservatism led him to support politically and socially repressive legislation, and resulted in criticism that he was ignoring injustices at home while campaigning for the enslaved abroad.In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery, and continued his involvement after 1826, when he resigned from Parliament because of his failing health. That campaign led to the Slavery Abolition Act 1833, which abolished slavery in most of the British Empire; Wilberforce died just three days after hearing that the passage of the Act through Parliament was assured. He was buried in Westminster Abbey, close to his friend William Pitt.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Inspiring but inaccurate
Sophie-324 February 2007
To see this well mounted but simplistic and worshipful bio-pic, one would think that William Wilberforce (and to a lesser extent, young Mr. Pitt) were the only members of Parliament to speak out against the war with America, then against the slave trade. Not so, folks - next time you're in Westminster Abbey, you might check out the large abolitionist monument dedicated someone whose fight against the slave trade predated that of Wilberforce and was widely recognized during his liftetime: Charles James Fox.

Yes, that same Fox so inaccurately identified in the film as a tame follower of Wilberforce, agonizing over the slavery question and finally swayed by the young man's eloquence. Truth is, Fox - whose pro-American, pro-French Revolution, anti-slavery and anti-absolute monarchy sentiments put him at odds with George III during nearly his entire political career - was a "phenomenon of the age" in the words of a contemporary, and one of Parliament's most eloquent speakers on a range of causes that certainly rivalled those of Wilberforce.

He was also only 10 years older than Pitt, something you'd never guess from the fright-wig makeup Michael Gambon wears.

You can understand why such scripting decisions are made: Wilberforce has to be young and sexy to be attractive, and his more priggish attitudes (he often urged Parliament to pass laws prohibiting all amusements on Sundays, and was appalled at what he deemed Fox's immorality: his drinking, gambling and womanizing) have to be eliminated. It's a shame, because Wilberforce was all the more interesting for being a complex human - but it's so much easier to make him terribly young, eager and dashing, and all other politicians of the day old and timid.

Other strange egregious errors: Fox was not a lord, nor would you find any lords among Wilberforce's fellows in the House; lords do not sit in the House of Commons. The character identified as the king's son, the Duke of Cumberland, would have been about 12 years old at the time of the movie's action. Pitt was prime minister for some 20 years, yet his cautious political trimming was at least partly responsible for the slave trade continuing as long as it did.

It was a pleasant enough film and rousing in parts, but I prefer my history more red-blooded and reflective of real human beings.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An enjoyable and justifiable mainstream simplification
Chris_Docker15 March 2007
Commemorating the abolition of slavery (roughly 200 years ago) seems a suitable occasion to make a movie, but how to go about such an awesome task? Director Michael Apted (Gorillas in the Mist) has opted for classic style, following the fortunes of inspired young parliamentarian William Wilberforce. Eschewing a more analytical or left-wing approach, he has probably made the right decision.

As credits open, an MP stops his carriage on a wet and windswept road to intervene with commoners who are severely beating a horse. Wilber's kindness is not just to animals (including a pet hare) but to the poor and needy, who he often invites for breakfast and lunch - much to the exasperation of his overworked cook! But Wilber is torn between politics and church. His mentors persuade him that he can do most good - particularly in the fight against slavery - if he enters government.

Wilber's best friend is William Pitt the Younger, soon to become Prime Minister. But many MPs - not to mention the Crown - have vested interests in the nasty but lucrative slave trade. Wilber's adviser and hero is a John Newton (Albert Finney), a clergyman who used to be a slave trader until he repented of his ways. John has also authored the eponymous song, which we are treated to at regular intervals. Wilber is soon to meet the delectable Barbara - and we kind of guess that, for all their protestations, there can only be one conclusion there. After all (we're told), "A single man will wither away in rooms that smell of feet and armpits."

So our plot is driven through surprisingly colourful halls of Westminster, with two burning questions: 'When will Wilber get slavery abolished', and 'When will Wilber get Barbara?'

Amazing Grace is a big glossy period piece in that tradition where you are carried along seamlessly by a story and don't ask questions - which usually means it's all the more important to ask them. Wilber is the all-good hero, asserting moral righteousness in a moral vacuum, and will eventually get the girl as well as triumph on behalf of civilisation. Generic films like this are the most subtle at reinforcing traditional values whether we like it or not, because we accept the message without thinking about it.

On the 'message' front, apart from 'slavery is wrong', we have Wilber inspired by God, frequently in the form of uncontroversial spider webs and other aspects of nature. This tends to make us think that religion per se is good, when in fact the Church of England has publicly apologised for its involvement in the slave trade, saying the Church was, "At the heart of it." When emancipation took place in 1833, compensation was paid not to the branded slaves but to their owners - the Bishop of Exeter and three colleagues, for instance, being paid nearly £13,000 in compensation for 665 slaves.

Marriage is also held up as one of the 'given' goodnesses, when in fact it is one of the principle mechanisms used in countries where slavery still goes on and, in this form, girls are sold off and married against their will even before their teens.

Many historical details go unchallenged, specifically how slavery was abolished, which is dealt with in a very simplistic (and not entirely accurate) manner. The idea that slavery is something solely inflicted by white men on black men, women and children is not questioned - something that is still a source of sadness to black Americans tracing their ancestors in Africa, only to find that Africans were willing accomplices. True the Africans enslaved between tribes as the result of civil strife were not treated in the inhuman way that they were by white men, but in 1872, long after abolition, the king of Asante wrote to the British monarch asking for the slave trade to be renewed.

So can a relatively sugary film about such devastation of human life be justified? 85,000 Africans a year crossed the Atlantic to work on plantations that made Europe rich. Should a more careful portrait have been painted? Oscar-nominated cinematographer Remi Adefarasin envelops us in a lush, reassuring panoramic of politics and country houses, served up in good-enough-to-touch sets and artistically-lit woodlands - not a trace of brutalised slaves anywhere. Costumes by Oscar-winning Jenny Beavan (Gosford Park) re-create the period in all its finery, rarely stepping outside the delicately quiffed locks of the upper classes. On one level, this is the world that Wilber has to convince. No television news programmes or gruesome photographs - the camera would not be invented till a few years later. But there is another reason, and one which, to my mind, justifies many of the film's apparent shortcomings.

Emancipation from slavery is a subject that needs to be a part of our international consciousness at every level. Every adult. Every schoolchild. A more graphic story would not have gained the rating that will enable both adults and children to enjoy the movie. An intellectual examination would have alienated mass audiences. A 'worthy' docudrama would not have got people out of their houses. This is one example where classical film-making is surely justified. (The official website comes with educational downloads and links to charities where you can take action against slavery today.)

Amazing Grace is a story of the triumph of the human spirit over its own follies. The techniques used by its protagonists will be inspiring to other rights groups campaigning for change. The story is a little predictable in outcome, and the moral magnificence of the main characters a bit overdone, but it utilises all the expertise of modern mainstream cinema to make its point in a thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable way. Amazing it is not, but only the cynical will refuse to grant it the grace it deserves.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Amazing Grace" Indeed!
1stbrigade23 February 2007
"Amazing Grace" tells the remarkable story of William Wilberforce, a member of the British Parliament, who spend twenty years of his life on a quest to bring an end to the slave trade in Britain. The cast and crew have done a fantastic job of bringing this story to the screen. Ioan Gruffudd is fantastic as Wilberforce! He is complemented by an amazing supporting cast, including Albert Finney, who turns in a small but powerful performance as John Newton, the slave-ship captain turned preacher, and writer of "Amazing Grace." The plot and story are handled with great reverence. I was moved to tears several times during the course of the film! "Amazing Grace" is a fantastic film that will inspire all who see it! Grade: A
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Let's hear it for Wilbers
Philby-35 August 2007
This film has been described as stolid ("too many parliamentary speeches"), but I would rather say "old fashioned". It is very much a reprise of the earnest 1940's style of biopic exemplified by "A Song to Remember" (about Chopin) and "The Al Jolson Story". Michael Apted as a director tends to produce poetic documentaries (the Seven-Up series) and prosaic feature films ("Enigma", and even his Bond effort "The World is not Enough"). Here, though there is a literate script from Steven Knight ("Dirty Pretty Things"), the story doesn't come across as well as it might, partly as a result of tinkering with the timeline (1797 to 1783 to 1797 to 1806).

More crucially, we really don't know at the end how William Wilberforce managed to turn round the opinion of those who mattered on the Slavery Question, though we get glimpses of his tactics. We meet some of his supporters, like Thomas Clarkson, a clergyman of revolutionary tendencies, former slaver John Newton and ex-slave Oloudaqh, and the clever Chancery lawyer, James Stephen. They are obviously very committed, but there has to be more to it. Who collected the 390,000 signatures on the petition produced in Parliament? One gets the impression that anti-slavery was a mass movement and Wilberforce, brave and resolute as he may have been, was just the toff who kept on introducing the anti-slave trade bill in the House of Commons - a toff whose subsequent career did not show him to be a friend of the working man.

As the toff in question Ioan Gruffud is just fine, though he's so reluctant to touch his lovely sweetheart Barbara Spooner (Romola Garai) that one marvels that he has so many descendants. The lack of love scenes is probably attributable to the policy of the producers, the Anschutz film group, of keeping their films G or PG. Apparently such films make more money than MA or, horrors, R movies. Anschutz is controlled by a Colorado billionaire of conservative inclinations and evangelical beliefs.

On the basis of this film, the protagonists of slavery were not terribly smart. The thrust of Wilberforce's attack was not so much on slavery itself as the deplorable conditions under which it was conducted. If the slavers had cleaned up their act and accepted a bit of regulation they could have gone on for another 50 years. Instead they just bribed MPs, who eventually had to support abolition to get re-elected.

One pro-slaver featured in the film is William, Duke of Clarence, who later reigned briefly but not too badly as William IV (1830-37). In reality quite a handsome man who had spent 10 years in the Navy, he is portrayed here by Toby Jones as a malevolent dwarf obsessed with gambling. Anachronistically, but for dramatic purposes, he is shown as a member of the House of Commons (William did threaten to stand for the Commons once; his father George III bought him off with a Dukedom, remarking "I well know it is one more vote added to the opposition.").It is true, however that he opposed abolition, having West Indian sugar interests himself..

The role of Wilberforce's old school friend, the child prodigy Prime Minister William Pitt (who became PM at 24), played with feline charm by Benedict Cumberbatch is rather intriguing. Publicly, Pitt had to be very cautious on the slavery issue, but he and Wilbers are shown as very matey indeed in private, running around the lawn together in their underwear. The effect of casting stud-muffin Ioan Gryffud as Wilbers leads the viewer to wonder whether they might be something more than just good mates – something they may have missed back in Boulder, Colorado.

There are lots of fine performances here including Nicholas Farrell as Wilber's cousin Henry Thornton, Rufus Sewell as Thomas Clarkson, Michael Gambon as Charles James Fox, and especially Albert Finney as John Newton, the ex-slaver turned Evangelical Anglican priest and composer of hymns. (He not only wrote "Amazing Grace" but also "Glorious Things of Thee are Spoken" which somehow finished up with Haydn's music for "Deutschland uber Alles").

Wilberforce in fact only got to first base in the abolition of slavery; his 1807 Act merely prevented transportation of slaves in British ships. It was not until the year of his death 1833, some time after he had retired from public life, that slavery was abolished (more or less) in the British Empire. The British taxpayer picked up the tab to compensate the slave owners for the loss of their property - 20 million pounds (at least a billion in today's money). The slaves got nothing.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't normally like historical films...
curtisloew27 April 2008
For me, a teenage boy with a taste for 'action', the more historical and meaningful film seems to evade my taste! However, the purity of 'Amazing Grace' captured my heart. The message seemingly portrayed throughout the film is that of the relativism to the modern age. Thus, throughout Wilberforce's life we are met with the struggles of a character who has a burning desire he cannot escape. Apted appears to have crafted a beautiful piece of handiwork, showing the true brilliance and wonder of Wilberforce, essentially highlighting the hypocrisy of the British government.

However, it is not just thanks to the director that this film deserves such high acclaim. Ioan Gruffudd's performance helped to bring a real William Wilberforce to screen, enabling the audience to hope that his was the Wilberforce who abolished slavery. Michael Gambon and Albert Finney also deserve high praise for their outstanding performances and added a clever further dimension to the plot.

Overall, 'Amazing Grace' was a simply stunning picture, beautifully filmed and wonderfully portrayed. Most of all, however, the film appears to ask questions of the audience as well as showing the power and impact a single man can have.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magnificent History Lesson
nturner8 November 2008
I loved this film. It has just the right amount of excellent production values, great acting, attractive young stars - some distinguished older ones - and a magnificent history lesson. When I think of slavery, I generally focus upon the Americas or ancient civilizations and have never been totally aware of the importance of slavery to the economies of such European countries as England and France during the Eighteenth Century. Amazing Grace - taken from the hymn written by John Newton who was a former slave trader - is the story of William Wilberforce (1759-1833) who tirelessly fought for social reform and the end of the slave trade in England.

Wilberforce was a dynamic man and an extraordinary orator who entered politics as a very young man. He campaigned for many causes including the reformation of manners and the Society for the Suppression of Vice, free education for the poor, the introduction of Christianity to India, the foundation of the Church Mission Society, and the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, but his greatest accomplishment was probably his campaign against the slave trade leading to the Slave Trade Act in 1807 and eventually the Slavery Abolition Act in 1833.

The film basically covers his life between 1785 and 1807 ending with the triumph of passing the Slave Trade Act. Ioan Gruffudd is exciting as a young Wilberforce who is so passionate about nature, God, and justice for the common man. He is depicted as a man who has not allowed his position and wealth to soil his humanity. Gruffudd gives us a Wilberforce we would all like to know and with whom we could share a genuine friendship.

One of Wilberforce's lifelong friends was William Pitt who remains to this day the youngest Prime Minister of England. Benedict Cumberbatch plays Pitt as a lasting friend and practical political guide to the more idealistic Wilberforce. I have only seen films in which Cumberbatch plays selfish prigs, and it was a great change of pace to see him in this role.

Romola Garai is extraordinary beautiful and witty as Barbara who would become Wilberforce's wife. In reality, she was seventeen years his junior and didn't take as much interest in politics as depicted in the film, but by all accounts she was a special woman who swept a fairly confirmed bachelor off his feet.

Add numerous other well-known persons in British history - along with a goodly number of odd characters - and you get a superbly entertaining and strikingly beautiful film. A love story between two attractive and extremely likable people, loyal friendships, and an enlightening lesson in history - what more could you ask for two hours of your time?
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointing
Sailor-213 April 2007
I can't agree with the many commentators who found this a great movie. It isn't.

I think many viewers confuse Wilberforce the man with the movie.

I have nothing but admiration for Wilberforce, a man with a powerful moral vision and great determination, who spent 15 years persuading his fellow parliamentarians to do the right thing and abolish the slave trade.

The movie does not measure up to the man.

The movie is nothing but a collection of pretty period scenes and idiosyncratic actions. None of the characters are developed in any depth. There is not a strong story line, moving inexorably from the beginning to the end of the sage. The story, such as it is, hops confusingly back and forth in time, to no particular purpose. There are scatterings of little vignettes, which add nothing. The script is dreadful.

The acting is fine, if frequently overdone. I particularly enjoyed the portrayal of Pitt the Younger.

The costuming, art direction and photography are fine, but do not redeem the film.

Too bad. Wilberforce deserves better.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The subject matter deserves so much better . . .
mrood26 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I'm sorry: even the people who are unenthusiastic about this film are being a-way too nice. This is a bad movie. Gorgeously mounted, chock-a-block full of A-list stars, but deadly dull, and on a topic that could have made for a great picture. My companion dozed off on several occasions, and only having recently read Vincent Carretta's biography of Olaudah Equiano sustained me. So it was jarring to find Apted uncritically depicting Equiano's assertions that he was of noble birth in Africa. One of the most pathetically laughable scenes is one in which lawyer James Stephens throws out a critical legal term and then explains that it's Latin: Hellllooo? They've established earlier in the scene that only the abolitionist faithful have come to the meeting, and all educated Englishmen of the time would know Latin, probably even self-educated Equiano. Stephens' remark is for the benefit of 21st century audiences, but surely there was a less ridiculous way to impart that. By the end of the film, I think I was actually cringing and wondering how much of what I was seeing was accurate.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Above all other movies I have seen, I recommend this.
Kippereast29 November 2007
Two weeks ago I was told I have a terminal brain tumor. Today has been a day of severe pain, and a friend dropped by to leave this movie for me to watch, knowing my love of this hymn/song. I am British born and bred, and studied Wilborforce when in school many years ago, but I had forgotten most of the story. After watching for only a few minutes, knowing that my pain would stop me watching this movie completely, I was engrossed!! The story was superb, the actors incredible, the lighting, sets, etc incredible. Here I sit writing this review in my bed, having watched the entire movie in one session and planning to watch a second run through as soon as I finish this commentary. The story as all stories are ultimately meant to do, flew me away from myself, into the story, into the belief I was witnessing the events taking place. Folks if you watch no other movie over the next 12 months, watch this movie. Watch it for the history of this world of ours, watch it for the story of people who so believed in something peaceful, they gave their lives and health for it. After two weeks of pain and feeling sorry for myself, this story made me feel alive again and thankful for the opportunity to watch such an incredible movie. Thank you all involved in this production, for such a life affirming moment.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Amazing Inspiration
edavid13 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this movie at a special screening, tied in with a sojo.com event to raise awareness of the slavery that still exists today. This strikingly beautiful film tells the true story of William Wilberforce (played with a graceful dignity by Ioan Gruffudd), who, after a struggle that took half his life, led the movement to abolish slavery in England, and stirred the same sentiments that led to America's Civil War.

It's difficult to tell a story about a long, difficult struggle without losing the allegiance of the audience, especially when the topic is politics.

Steven Knight's script helps by including a love story, colorful supporting characters and strong religious undertones (with a brilliant performance by Albert Finney playing the slave-trader turned hymn writer John Newton), and Michael Apted's socially conscious style keeps this film from becoming "Mr. Wilberforce Goes to London" by continually reminding us of the brutality of the slave trade upon which Empire is always built.

The final shot of the film (pre credits) is a freeze frame of Ioan Gruffudd's face as he has finally won, perhaps a nod to transcendental style, where the main character, after great spiritual suffering, is granted an epiphany or beatification, becoming a religious icon for us to meditate upon and, through which, we can glimpse God.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Legacy of Wilberforce
cindielight2 February 2007
Legacy of Wilberforce is awesome. I got turned on to his legacy by Desiringgod.org They have a free pdf book online if you want to get the details about his life. You know there are lights that shine bright and he was one that through the sands of time will go down as a true great Gentleman. Truthfully no movie can do his legacy justice, but you shouldn't limit yourself to movies check out his bios and the real historical records and you will find yourself in love with the cause and with the man. On the movie, I love this actor. I got turned on to him through the Horatio Hornblower series. I think him a comfortable actor in every respect.

Read the real bios on Wilberforce you will see his fabric is made of something greater than what we see every day in our politics... He truly had a purpose and stood for a greater truth... awesome.
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An amazing movie about the quest to end the English Slave Trade
ironhorse_iv25 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Directed by Michael Apted, Amazing Grace is about the campaign against slave trade in the British Empire, led by William Wilberforce (Ioan Gruffudd), who was responsible for steering anti-slave trade legislation through the British parliament in 18th century England. Wilberforce fruitlessly fights both public indifference and moneyed opposition determined to keep their exploitation safe. Nevertheless, Wilberforce finds the inspiration in newfound love Barbara Spooner (Romola Garai) to rejuvenate the fight with new ideas that would lead to a great victory for social justice. It was so touching, he's so determined. The title is a reference to the hymn "Amazing Grace" by John Newton (Albert Finney), William Wilberforce's friend who was inspired to write the song after his own experience with slavery. The song became a major influence on Wilberforce and the abolition movement. The movie was pretty good. I have to say, Ioan Gruffudd was great for the role. His acting and singing voice was stellar, I was so impressed. I have to say the supporting cast was astonishing. I am a huge fan of Benedict Cumberbatch's work, and love him as William Wilberforce's friend William Pitt the Younger. Other great cast members are Michael Gambon as Charles James Fox, Rufus Sewell as Thomas Clarkson, and Toby Jones as William, Duke of Clarence. For a Christian theme movie, it's not so bad. It doesn't preach too much, and allow the story to unfold. It's full of witty script, full of information worthy of a movie. It's a good movie worthy to be show in history classes, and anybody willing to know how slavery came to an end. Still, the movie comes with a few problems. There are some historical inaccuracies, such as example, in one scene Wilberforce, known as a fine singer, sings the first verse of "Amazing Grace". However, the verses written by John Newton were not associated with the now familiar melody until much later. The singing scenes are full of audio/visual unsynchronized that the film was delay for release due to boom problems and scenes not matching with the sound. Anachronisms are also in the film way too much. The worst one in my opinion is the bottle of Dom Perignon champagne. Why is there a bottle of Dom Perignon in the 18th century? That didn't come until the early 20th century. I didn't like the love story being add to the film, it took so much away from the main story of ending slavery. The editing get a little bit confusing. Jump back and forth from different periods of history of William Wilberforce's film. It easy to get lost where and when in history. I do have something else to say, during that year, 2006 when it was released, there were two movies that came out during the same time. One is this movie, while the other is call 'The Amazing Grace' an Nigerian-British historical drama film written by Jeta Amata & Nick Moran. That movie is about tells the reformation story of British slave trader John Newton (Nick Moran), sailing to what is now Nigeria to buy slaves but, increasingly shocked by the brutality of slavery, later gave up the trade and became an Anglican priest. While it's not well known, I don't want people to get confused and get the wrong movie. That movie by Nick Moran is good, but mediocre compare to this film. Overall: a good movie that is brilliant and important to history because it represented how much mankind need to know that slavery is wrong. Very inspirational film, so check it out.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadfully preachy
sheezeouttahere10 January 2008
This movie could be shown in film classes as a lesson in telling instead of showing. The actors' dialogue was often painfully stiff, even though the cast includes of some of the best jobbing actors in England. Speaking of actors, the deficiencies in Ioan Gruffudd's performance were underscored by the experience and ability of the surrounding players. His presence in a scene immediately sucked the life out of it. Perhaps the problems with the script -- among them, pacing and tone -- account for his lackluster performance. The costumes and the cinematography were top-notch, however. I love good costume dramas, particularly those set in Georgian and Regency England, but this film felt very flat.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed