Hoot (2006) Poster

(2006)

User Reviews

Review this title
71 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
a refreshing change
gpazan20 May 2006
what a refreshing change from the PG movies that have teen girls jumping in and out of bed, young high school boys counting how many girls they can "hook up" with, kids drinking, doing drugs, etc., etc., etc. Carl Hiaasen has written so many books that are enjoyable but hardly classic literature. but he has finally written something that Middle School kids WANT to read. And this movie sends a message to kids that maybe they can make a difference, that maybe their voices can be heard. Filmed in South Florida, the scenery is beautiful and natural and REAL. Who cares if its predictable, and a little corny. So was FREE WILLY and look how well that did. This is a good family movie..........a rare breed.
32 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Plain and simple, a NICE movie
BlackCat7252 May 2006
My family (two 40-somethings, an 8 year old and my 71 yr old mother) saw this at a sneak preview on April 29th. We all enjoyed the movie very much. The story was a good one, and knowing it was based on real-life events made it that much more enjoyable. Luke Wilson was a hoot (pun intended) to watch as was Tim Blake Nelson. And seeing Neil Flynn play something other than "the mean janitor from Scrubs" was nice. The kids in movie did well and I'm sure they will all appeal to a certain demographic on the heartthrob level. The visuals were just lovely and the Jimmy Buffet music added to the "Florida feel". OK, maybe the story was a little too neat and well packaged for some adults, but hey, who cares? I can't compare it to the book, I honestly hadn't heard of it until the movie came out.

It was just a NICE movie and it had a good message. Plain and simple.
43 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hoot is a good family film
marc-2624 May 2006
It is great to see a film starring kids whose idea of "acting adult" is not engaging in sensuality. Instead, these kids see a problem in their community and take responsibility for helping to solve it. Hoot is a film aimed squarely at families looking for a fun day at the cinema. The production values are good, especially sweeping shots of Montana and Florida. The soundtrack by Jimmy Buffet is a perfect fit. The young actors are spirited and refreshing.

The plot, about a trio of kids who work together to save some burrowing owls from death at the hands of an unscrupulous pancake house empire builder, will engage kids. So many films make children appear powerless, it is nice to see a movie that shows children working hard to make a difference. And even though parents are absent or temporarily distracted, it was pleasant to see kids who want to follow in their parents footsteps and try to right injustices.

If you are tired of all of the self-indulgent story lines about children that fill the cinema, give Hoot a shot. Then take some time to talk to your kids about the adventure of serving others and caring about the world they live in. A positive message from a positive film.
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great family movie, strong Florida Ecology Message.
nethoppers7 May 2006
If you read the book by Carl Hiaasen, the movie follows pretty much true to form, with a few minor changes for Hollywood. In my opinion this is a great family movie. Luke Wilson (Officer Delinko)pretty well steals the show from an all-star cast that includes Robert Wagner and Jimmy Buffet. The kids in the movie do a great job led by Logan Lerman, Brie Larson, and Cody Linley.

Brie Larson is maybe a little too petite to play Beatrice. I pictured a bigger girl, maybe 6 foot, 175 lbs, in the role of Beatrice. This might have made her more believable in her role of beating up Dana. They should have developed her "tough girl" character more, and had her bite through a tire, or kick a soccer ball through a person. She is very pretty, and I understand why she was cast, she is a box office attraction.

This is about as PG as a movie gets these days, no sex, and very little violence. This movie is a parents'dream come true, a movie with a strong environmental message, with kids that have deep appreciation for the beauty of Florida and its wildlife. It shows how adults have fallen short in the stewardship of our planet, and that our children can demand better. One of my favorite lines in the movie is when Mullet Fingers says, "Florida could use some mountains like Montana. Florida is so flat there is nothing to stop developers from clearing it coast to coast". Also, the photography of Florida wildlife spoke volumes without dialog. As a family movie with kids ages 5-15, this is a great movie! As a bonus parents' will be entertained, especially if they're "parrotheads".
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
review of Hoot
DanaWarren1 June 2006
I took a group of young people who were the same age as the protagonists and it appealed to us all. I agree with the other post, the Wilson guy worked a thankless script into a great minor character. It is good to have a movie for a certain age demographic (too old for PG, too young for R). It also shows how they think and maneuver in junior high school. You had to love how well Jimmy Buffet did as the cool teacher. He kept us adults awake. The level of kids questioning authority was kept reasonable. Their motives were specific and not like some A.D.D. rebel. The setting and music were beautiful. Overall, if you enjoyed Holes, this is really similar.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The film has lots of humor, and a message of saving the environment
the-movie-guy2 May 2006
(Synopsis) Roy Eberhardt (Logan Lerman) is a teenager who loves living in the wide open spaces and mountains of Montana. Unfortunately for him, his father's job is forcing him to move once again, this time to a small town in Florida. As the new kid in school, Roy has the usual encounter with the school bully on the bus. While riding on the bus, Roy is also intrigued by a teenage boy who was running like the wind and passed the bus in his bare feet. The next day, Roy gets off the bus and tries to catch him, but loses him at the golf course. Roy eventually meets the boy, known as Mullet Fingers (Cody Linley). Mullet Fingers is a runaway living on an abandoned boat near the golf course and a vacant lot that is about to have a pancake house built on it. All by himself, Mullet Fingers has taken up the cause of protecting the burrow owls that are nesting on the vacant lot. If a pancake house is built on the lot, it will destroy the habitat of the burrow owls. Roy joins forces with Mullet Fingers and his sister Beatrice (Brie Larson) to save the owls.

(My Comment) This is one movie the whole family can see. The story is entertaining and heart-warming for all ages. You will love the music of Jimmy Buffett that was played throughout the movie. Jimmy Buffett produced and played a small part as the marine science teacher. This is a pro-environmental film that shows what can be accomplished by three teenagers using the act of civil disobedience. The film has lots of humor, and a message of saving the environment and some beautiful cinematography of Montana and Florida. And of course, don't forget the owls. (New Line Cinema, Run time 1:30, Rated PG)(6/10)
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For a first time producer, I thought Jimmy Buffett put together a quality piece of work
Movieguy_blogs_com28 April 2006
In 'Hoot' Logan Lerman plays Roy Eberhardt, the new kid in school who has just moved from Montana. But Florida is a lot different from Montana. Despite is troubles in blending in, Roy discovers a bigger problem. A new franchise restaurant is coming to town and families of burrowing owls are in trouble. Can the new kid, a tomboy (Brie Larson) and a runaway (Cody Linley) stop big business from destroying these owls' home?

This movie was pretty good. The kids (Logan Lerman, Brie Larson and Cody Linley) are the real stars of this film. Luke Wilson (Officer Delinko) is okay, but really does not have a very big part. Neither does Robert Wagner (Mayor) or Jimmy Buffett (Mr. Ryan).

Nevertheless this was a fun film that the whole family will enjoy. For a first time producer, I thought Jimmy Buffett put together a quality piece of work. Plus the owls were really cute.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Against all odds, three kids take it into their hands to make a change for the better.
fam1435 May 2006
I took my younger niece to an early showing and she LOVED it (I enjoyed it myself as well). I don't need to explain the plot, since the movie remains completely true to the award-winning, top-selling book by famed author Carl Hiaasen. The movie takes the popular book and layers it with beautiful cinematography (I want to go to Florida now!), humor (thanks to funny-man, Luke Wilson and some new-comers), and Great music! I have to get to get a Jimmy Buffet CD now! I know a movie is good when I get goose-bumps in the end. Overall, it was great family film that I felt comfortable taking my younger niece to. I'd recommend it to any and everyone.
25 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
terrible
donavanman196912 June 2010
Terrible, terrible movie. Not that the thought behind it was terrible, but the execution was. Yes, kids might like it, but if a grown-up subjects him or herself to this farcical, poorly written, and pitifully acted Movie then you should be looked after in a nice nursing home in years to come.I found a few things to like..um..the kids had a common goal (chasing off the greedy profit-driven corporation..teamwork--working with a hodgepodge of folks usually outside their social caste. But let's be honest, the teenage kid who is "neglected" or "misunderstood" by his parents is pretty lame material. Then pair him up with the "bad boy" and cute little girl and worry about plot development later. 13 year olds breaking into government buildings, vandalizing private property and being lauded as heroes is not cool to most parents. So..the movie just stunk. Watch at your own peril.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cute, lightweight movie that is entertaining if you are in the mood.
TxMike17 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Poor Roy Eberhardt, teenager, his parents' jobs require them to move often, so he never gets any stability in one location. The movie begins with them in the beautiful mountainous country of Montana. What would be the exact opposite? How about Florida?? Yep, they move to Florida, the Gulf Coast area not too far from Tampa. As Roy gets to know his new environment, he meets the big bully kid on the bus, and has to break his nose to get away. Out the bus window he sees a kid about his age running very fast with no shoes. And, he somehow befriends a no-nonsense girl named Beatrice.

Luke Wilson plays a hapless local cop, Officer David Delinko, but Wilson plays it with enough sympathy that we actually learn to like him. His heart is in the right place. Underrated actor Tim Blake Nelson is Curly Branitt, hired to guard a near future construction site for a new pancake house, the 100th in its chain. Manager Chuck Muckle is determined to get that feather in his cap, the 100th one.

The problem is, the land set aside is also habitat for a ground dwelling owl (I don't even know if those exist, but no matter...) and building the new pancake house would be the death of them. So much of the movie is Roy, Beatrice, and Mullet Fingers doing things on the sly to prevent the dozers from beginning construction.

Robert Wagner has a token appearance as Mayor Grandy. Jimmy Buffett, who was a producer, wrote some of the songs, also has a good part as teacher Mr. Ryan. I don't know Buffett, and didn't realize at first it was him, but was impressed with his natural acting manner.

SPOILERS. As the teenagers begin to learn more about the construction project, they follow the paper trail. Specifically, they wonder how the environmental impact was overlooked. They found it wasn't, and the company was hiding the fact that owls were threatened. Straightening that out just in time, the location was spared and 3 teens were new best friends.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The author?
dedicatedCFfan7 May 2006
Saw the movie today and thought it was a good effort, good messages for kids. A bit predictable. The book was better, gave more plot details, ore about the environment and how the kids uncovered the conspiracy. I think Hiassen's warped humor comes across better in the book than the movie, but there were lots of funny moments in the movie as well. It is probably a bit too slow paced for kids under 6 yrs of age. Loved the casting of Jimmy Buffet as the science teacher. And those baby owls were adorable. I wonder how they managed to film them. The movie showed a lot of Florida at it's best, made it look very appealing. Am I imagining it, or did the author Carl Hiassen make a brief appearance?
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good clean fun for the young or young at heart
wrlang26 August 2006
Hoot is a nice young person's film about a group of middle school kids that try and keep a pancake house chain from bulldozing a plot of land that is home to some endangered burrowing owls. The acting is pretty good and the fresh faces are nice to see. Many well known comedians are in this film and keep the humor going almost nonstop. It is a film for the young crowd, perhaps 5 to 11 years of age. I thought it was a nice change of pace from the adult films that pervade the screen these days. There is no realism here or accuracy about life in general for adults or kids. It's just a bunch of fun with a constant message about saving the beautiful places in this country from becoming over developed. If you can remember back to the day when you weren't fight for a buck you may remember that money isn't everything. Not many people over 12 are going to enjoy it unless they really have a soft spot for the old after school special series.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Execrable Disney do-gooder with inept teenagers...
moonspinner5512 January 2010
Watching Disney's "Hoot", based on Carl Hiaasen's young adult novel, one's mind begins to wander early in the proceedings, conjuring up images of the casting process wherein presumably thousands of juvenile actors auditioned for the leading roles. If true, how then did they come up with the utterly talentless kid-performers seen here? Casting agents in Hollywood seem to be perpetually out-of-touch with reality; they overload films like "Hoot" with unnatural, exasperating, self-conscious young people who act as if they were being assigned the next sequel to "Home Alone". Eyeball-rolling high schooler, moved from Montana to Florida (an excuse to give us a nifty travelogue credits sequence!), is immediately picked on by bullies but fights back. His success gives him the courage (I presume) to track down a Tarzan-like older kid who runs like the wind and lives in the foliage just outside the country club; together, the two boys hope to save endangered owls who are burrowing on land designated for a new pancake restaurant. The picture is a series of bad ideas, misconceived sequences, and hopeless attempts at comedy while offering us a plastic kind of youthful conviction which was already molding over as far back as the 1950s. NO STARS from ****
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Luke Wilson or Luke Perry?
freakfire-124 March 2008
I will give it this: it tried. It did try to make it good and even got Luke Wilson involved. Luke Wilson is good, but he can only do so much. He can't make up for the fact that the story was very flawed and the characters were underdeveloped.

The running "gag" with the bully was asinine. He was never funny and I got tired of the gag really fast. And the barefooted kid bit was kind of weak too. He hitchhiked to Florida? Yeah OK.

The movie felt like an average kiddie film at times with this underlining mantra: adults stupid, kids smart. And that bit gets tiresome.

But the only moments that were funny was the police cart Wilson drove around when he lost his squad car. I loved that little cart, especially when Wilson turned on the sirens. But, other than that, nothing else was worth my time. "D-"
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Definitely a movie for kids, and kids only
shub-413 February 2007
If you're a kid liking fairy tale "real life" adventures, see it. If you're a youth liking kids movies, why not see it? :) If you're a parent going to see a movie with your kids, you're WAY better of opting for the squirrel!

The start of this film was a bit funny, and set some good premises for the happenings to take place. But after the kind of funny introduction of characters, settings and potential conflicts, the story turned out kinda dull. When more or less the same things happen for the third and fourth time, the word "predictable" repeatedly comes to mind just like parts of a dented LP or those commercials you really hate. And the culmination of the plot... *oh sigh*... poor, poor, poor!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not a terrible flick, but a terrible message
squeakhawk0127 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The composition of this film is actually not as bad as I expected it to be. The characters were one-dimensional but not unwatchable. The plot had more holes than a wedge of swiss cheese but as long as you turned your brain off it was OK. And all the characters were ridiculously photogenic in a young teen O.C. kind of way which could be good or bad depending on your tastes. So why awful rating? The message it conveys is that IT IS OK TO BREAK THE LAW IF YOU ARE TRYING TO SAVE SOME WILDLIFE!!! The main characters in the move break more laws than I care to mention in order to save some endangered owls on a piece of property. The thing that ultimately saves the owls is a environmental report that was ON THE PROPERTY IN QUESTION!(which in itself was the biggest plot hole of the film in my opinion) Now don't get me wrong, I know it was a movie, but if they were going to show these kids as eco-heroes than why didn't they show them doing their sleuthing by going down to city hall and digging through the records in a proper fashion, INSTEAD OF KIDNAPPING AND TYING UP THE FORMAN OF THE SITE AFTER BREAKING AN ENTERING ON THE PROPERTY! This movie sends a terrible message. And it's a shame because if they had changed it slightly and had the kids use legal methods instead of ECO-TERRORISM to achieve their aims this movies might have been worth something.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good old-fashioned Disney fun for the whole family.
Carycomic7 May 2006
Logan Lerman plays Roy Eberhart, the son and only child of a Justice Department official who's been transferred six times over the last ten years. And, for Roy, Cocoanut Cove, Florida, definitely doesn't seem like a case of "saving the best-for-last."

But, he changes his mind after meeting Beatrice "the Bear" (a pre-teen Amazon who plays soccer), and her eco-activist stepbrother. A barefoot speed demon nicknamed "Mullet Fingers," for his manual fishing skills.

The three of them team up to thwart a greedy restaurant executive, who's out to win a much-coveted promotion at the expense of some Federally-protected burrowing owls. And, the Marx Brotherly way they go about it provides many of the charming laughs for this movie.

How they save the day provides a nice environmental moral to this story. Without being overly-preachy about it!

In short, HOOT lives up to its name. And, one more thing. The marine biology teacher is Jimmy Buffett; the office flunkie who interrupts Muckle's argument with "Mother Paula" is Carl Hiaasen; and the file clerk at city hall is Kin Shriner (the director's brother from GENERAL HOSPITAL).
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A new kid is school becomes friends with two kids who are trying to stop construction of a pancake house that will destroy the homes of 18 owls.
lakewoodoh200229 April 2006
It's a kids movie. I saw it a week early. If you're over 15, you will think it's a dumb movie. It's sort of like the thinking in 1971 when "Billy Jack" came out. I saw it again in 1975, and thought, "What a piece of crap." Anyway, it's a nice thought -- protecting the owls -- but the problem I have with the movie is that too much of it is illogical. While he is getting bullied, the main character sees another kid running barefoot. So he immediately thinks the barefoot kid is somehow connected to the vandalism that's taking place at the construction site. He immediately becomes friends with the girl, who had threatened him. She then tells her life story to him. Jimmy Buffett, as a teacher on the first day of school, is teaching a college course to a bunch of seventh-graders. A hospital begins treatment of the barefoot kid without bothering to contact his parents. A policeman just walks into a classroom without bother to contact the office. My son liked it. I didn't hate it. But I've seen better.
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent film that our whole family enjoyed.
oclivingiseasy12 May 2006
Hoot was terrific. The owls are adorable and the movie highlights an interesting environmental issue I didn't know existed. Florida is full of so many fun characters and the film does a great job of bringing that to the screen. My kids particularly loved all the different animals, from snakes, to owls to alligators. It's really a simple story, but also one that they need to hear at this age. When kids are young that's when they really develop their sense of values, and yes one of those must be caring for our environment and all the creatures that live in it. I think it was great that the film even sparked a conversation with them on the ride home about animals and how to help them. It was just truly sweet and enduring to hear my little girl talk about how she wanted to save the baby birds. Anyway, overall it was really a great time and I'd recommend the movie to anyone looking for something entertaining AND meaningful.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All in all a well put together movie!
tunnel_dweller_kidd19 August 2006
I must confess, I was surprised at how good this movie was when I first watched it. I had planned to see it in theaters during the summer but found out unpleasantly that it had already been and gone. Therefore, I expected it to have been removed from theaters because it was bad. Then, today, I rented it and watched it and really enjoyed it. The speed that events were occurring was questionable, it could have been a little longer. I found it was very true to the book, however it left out some crucial parts: Mullet Finger's real name, etc. I felt as if I hadn't read the book I wouldn't have really understand what was going on. The acting was quite good, another thing I had expected to be poor, however the cop, sorry I can't remember the actor's name, could have done a little better. All in all, I found this to be a very entertaining movie and would recommend it to all audiences!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good for the family
benson195829 April 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Saw a pre-screen today with 6 & 9 y/o. The cop was corny - possibly worse than Barney Fife. I would not have chosen to go see this on my own, but I'm really glad I did. It was wholesome. Several scenes made me laugh. One actually made me jump out of my seat. Yes, mild violence, but so mild I probably would've rated it G. It was interesting to see Roy & Beatrice become fast-friends after their initial run-in. Some of the scenes of the untouched nature in the Everglades were beautiful. The character of Mullet-Fingers was a little unbelievable - how he could actually survive. How did he manage to leave the hospital after a few short hours on an IV antibiotic? His strength couldn't have returned yet. And then his swimming (not in a chlorinated pool, either), with his yet unhealed wound. Even so, I still highly recommend it.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hardly a Hoot.
anaconda-406589 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Hoot (2006): Dir: Wil Shriner / Cast: Logan Lerman, Brie Larson, Luke Wilson, Tim Blake Nelson, Cody Linley: Misfiring family film about serving a cause. After being moved several times, the new kid now resides in Florida where he is bullied but eventually he teams with two independent teenagers in their struggle to save ground owls from a construction site. From the makers of Holes yet lacking the intelligence and wit of that wonderful film. Setup is rushed and structure contains a pointless subplot regarding a school bully. Director Wil Shriner does his best but even the ending is ridiculous with a foolish standoff that would seem laughable in within the maddest of slapstick comedies. Luke Wilson does his best as a rookie cop but the role is cardboard. He is the standard cop often seen in these films that is expected to do little but ends up solving the case. Logan Lerman and Brie Larson play two of the teenagers whose actions are far from believable. Tim Blake Nelson plays an idiot who manages the site for construction. Cody Linley plays Larson's ambitious stepbrother who also has a knack for being on the opposite end of the law when attempting a statement. Great message about endangered wildlife and other issues taken for granted. Regretfully it is reduced to stupidity with its misplaced humour and a script should have been placed in one of those owl holes and buried. Score: 3 / 10
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A little adventure to pacify youngsters.
michaelRokeefe27 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Based on a book by Carl Hiaasen, three middle-schoolers pit wits with corrupt politicians, money hungry real estate developers and some local not-too sharp cops. Roy(Logan Lerman)is the new kid in school, moving from Montana to Florida. Roy meets Beatrice(Brie Larson), kind of a tough girl, but really worth knowing. She is trying to help a boy that is going shoeless. Upon following this barefoot boy, they find he may be involved with vandalism at a construction site. When the small group, now friends, discover a burrow of hoot owls being threatened by the new construction crew, it is time to declare war against the people who should know better.

The cast includes: Luke Wilson, Tim Blake Nelson, Neil Flynn, Jimmy Buffett, Jessica Cauffel and Robert Wagner.

Soundtrack includes: "Floridays" and "Good Guys Win" by Buffett. Along with "Barefootin'" by Alan Jackson with Buffett.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Middle school teenagers go past the limit to save some burrowing owls from getting bulldozed Warning: Spoilers
I loved this movie! My brother bought the book at a book fair and read part of it once the movie was going to be released he read the rest of it then let me read it. I just couldn't put it down!! It was so good! My friend also read the book and loved it just as much. So we decided to see the movie. We made hoot t-shirts and went one day and saw the movie. The movie was excellent and the characters made the movie. The music was good to even though they should of had more variety then Jimmy Buffet even if he was the producer. I also thought that if they followed the book and stayed true to the original plot it would have been even better. Wil Shriner did follow the plot pretty well but the very beginning wasn't in the book and they also left out a funny part in the end of the book where Mullet Fingers escapes from Juvi Hall and uses Dana as his escape partner. I thought it was a good movie for anybody wanting a clean, funny, and happy ended movie. I hope you will love it as much as me! A word of advice to is read the book before you see the movie and the movie will make a little more sense.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Another Green Fable from Carl Hiassen
ArmsAndMan14 May 2006
Mr. Hiassen has been writing so-called adult fiction for years, and it was only a matter of time before his personal brand of lightweight storytelling found its true niche in the cineplex: the 'family' film.

This picture does give me hope... perhaps a brave producer will finally greenlight Edward Abbey's "The Monkey Wrench Gang." Alas, that would be a movie for grown-ups.

Back to "Hoot": My 9-year-old daughter enjoyed it, especially the young boy playing "Mullet Fingers." This fact made me lose sleep. Will she bring home some sun-bleached beachcomber when she starts dating? Will he be a wholesome version of an eco-terrorist, too? Egads.

Don't get me wrong. My complaint is not with the movie's politics, but how it dumbs things down.

After the movie matinée, I took my youngster along the Bay's edge and went birdwatching for an hour. Something I should've done in the first place.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed