The Comedians of Comedy (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Great road movie
seanbrod20 December 2005
Lots of goofy fun. These guys (and 1 gal) are as funny off the stage as they are on the stage. I've always enjoyed Patton Oswalt, and this gave me a chance to see what he's like goofing with his friends. Even bits I don't really find funny (or maybe don't understand) like the whole pretending to be gay shtick, are tolerable, and the parts that are funny are downright killer.

Patton was my favorite to start with, and I was really impressed with Zach Galifianakis. I didn't know him before I watched the show. He is extremely good at improv and he'll dare to do anything. He has an innate instinct for bringing a joke to the next level. I do wish I could spell his last name correctly, but no one could spell Arnold Schwarzennegger's name when he started out.

Maria Bamford has always annoyed me on a subcutaneous level, and the show didn't change my opinion, but some of the stuff she does is really funny. Brian is a great foil for Patton, and you can tell the two share a strong bond of friendship.

I've seen this in both episodic form on Comedy Central and in the uncut movie version on Showtime. I recommend the Showtime movie version, naturally.

Don't watch this show if the word M-F offends you, or if you're a die-hard Hannity Republican, or otherwise mentally impaired.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Care for something creative?
Skatlover3 April 2007
if you're tired of hack comedy, the Carlos Mencias, Jeff Foxworthys, and Larry the Cable Guys of the world, then you might be open to something creative and hilarious. I defy anyone to attempt at the originality of Zach Galifianakis, both in content and delivery, the amazing undulating idiosyncratic rants of Patton Oswalt, or to be as engrossing as Maria Bamford's characters and stories can be... If you prefer tired old routines about race, married life, the predictably narrow comedy of a comedian who plays up a simple character or stereotype, then you can have your cavemannish Tim Allen, or go to the other extreme with the hyper-pretentious and unfunny Dennis Miller... But if you like creativity, not just because its different, but because it's true to the hilarious personality of the artist who it emanates from, and not just replicated bullsh!t echoing off these soundboards of a homogeneous and mediocre culture, then check out Comedians of Comedy...
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An amazing film!
mfnvw57 April 2005
I saw "The Comedians of Comedy" last month at the South by Southwest Film Festival. It was excellent. First of all, the comedians that are featured are among my favorites, and they all have a unique brand of stand-up. Each one of them is hilarious and you practically have to leave the theater to stop laughing. The film lets the audience see what they are like in their private time (i.e. buying a whole bunch of comic books every Tuesday). Patton Oswalt made a great point that people follow their favorite bands from their beginnings, but the same doesn't happen for comedians. After this movie, I think people are going to start following them a whole lot more.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
mortal_kombat8_kabal11 April 2005
This movie follows the lives of 5 comedians as they tour the U.S. They share comical stories about their stage experiences along with short scripted scenes that are outrageously funny. Zach Galifianakis is one of the funniest ones on here. I saw the premiere at south by southwest film festival and have to say that it is definitely the funniest movie there. If you get a chance to see this movie i insist that you do, it had the whole audience cracking up. I hope this gets a wide release but even if it isn't soon they are still touring, and so hopefully your able to catch their live act and hopefully you'll get to see Zach Galifianakis, who only is in a few of stand up's.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very, very funny
cochise631 October 2005
Not only did I just see this movie last week, but I went to see the Portland performance shown in the movie. The movie gives a great portion of these four hilarious comedians at their best. If it's playing in your area, you should really go and see it. It will not disappoint. It's high time that a movie that takes place in Oregon shows Oregon as a great state. It's all too often that it's seen as some backwoods hick state just because crystal meth has been a beaver state staple for so long. But, I digress. See the movie; it will make you laugh so hard that you will surely come up with some crass way of describing its high potency of hilarity. The stars of the movie will inspire you to do so.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the most independent movie ever
benjohasspoken7 November 2005
Listen to these other reviewers!! I also saw the premiere at south by southwest......it ruled. Zach Galifianakis is great. Posehn is the man. Maria Bamford is hilarious as the "straight member of the group". But Patton is the spokesman for this new generation of comedians who will carry the torch of Bill Hicks with pride and hopefully with money it deserves....SO GO SEE IT SOMEHOW. GET NETFLIX AND SEE IT LATER THIS MONTH. WATCH THE COMEDY CENTRAL SPECIAL ON Friday. THIS IS FUNNY AS HELL!! Also Sarah Silverman's movie "Jesus is Magic" (another south by movie) premiered in NY this weekend, and will be a limited release nationwide soon. The comedy is just as funny as these guys, but the big "S" is just so damn hot!! AS SOON AS THEY ARE AVAILABLE, WE ALL MUST BUY THESE MOVIES ON DVD TO SHOW ALL OF OUR FRIENDS, AND TO GIVE STAND-UP A MUCH NEEDED KICK IN THE PANTS. I'm getting' pretty sick of what I call "sit-down comedy" , you know what I'm talking about.....
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Indie Comedy
leland-james26 June 2007
Fans and members of the niche market that is the 'indie crowd' will probably at least know who these guys are. Most will probably recall Brian Posehn from 'Mr. Show' and Patton Oswald from 'King of Queens,' and Zach Galifinakis as the bus ticket taker in 'Bubble Boy.' And I don't know if Maria Bramford likes to act in professional settings. Anyways, many will be vaguely familiar with these personalities if you have interest in cult comedic scenes from the late nineties or if you have ever indulged in David Cross or Mr. Bob Odenkirk. Similar humor abounds, and taking a page from Cross' 'Let America Laugh' Doc, it follows these four characters through a tour of venues traditionally reserved for small rock shows. This is a taste of their humor and a window into their lifestyles. It is refreshing to see people who can progress the culture of stand up beyond the 'wacky' comedy clubs that seem to regurgitate talent whose sole aspiration is a comfy gig in the world of the sitcom. But these four are a pastiche of the work being done by a wide range of innovative comics. This film follows them on tour, and captures their spirit and outlook on life exceptionally well. While it does not saturate itself in the live performances, we are given a nice balance of performance and lifestyle that resonates well comedically and entices further interest in each one of their careers. Worth a watch.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nerds are funny too!
itssosublime22 October 2007
Now granted, comedy is subjective and everyone has their own opinion of what is funny and what is not. Personally, I found this to be a terrifically funny and entertaining look at what life on the road is like for many modern-day comedians. Patton Oswalt has always been a favorite of mine, but I very much enjoy Brian Posehn, Maria Bamford and Zach Galifianikis as well. Maybe it's because I more closely identify with them and their "off-beat" personalities, this probably stems from the fact that I've been a proud "nerd" all my life. These are people who were brave enough to stand out by simply being themselves and not trying to fit into any category or alter their personalities in order to endear themselves to a wider audience. Brian and Patton are 40- year old comic book lovers, how could you not find that refreshing? Too many people take life much too seriously and spend most of it worrying about what everyone else thinks of them, these are INDIVIDUALS who could not care less about that. The comedy in this film is not always laugh-out-loud funny, but it is not forced. It's honest and unapologetic, which is what comedy is really all about.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Flick
j_dean2831 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I thought the whole film was hilarious. I especially liked Zach and Maria Bamford. His is simply brilliant cutting-edge material. The line that is included in the IMDb site is a great sample of his great talent. Maria is so good at hitting the "everyday people", many of whom I have run across, and letting us see the hilarity in them. She is worth the viewing all on her own. I think Patton Oswalt was terrific as was Brian Posehn. Brian's take on the latest Star Wars films is fantastic and right on the money for all those who loved the originals. Patton's political humor was just plain gut-busting funny. The only problem I had with the film was that I wanted to see more "concert" footage. Especially of Maria and Zack. They really make the film!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm gonna lay down my burden down by the riverside...
hollyroxaledo25 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
this movie is great in fact i'm watching it right now.i'll just say maria does not subtract coolness but she's not as funny. I find Zach G. to be the funniest person on the tour. the "bear" thing was terrific.. so funny. BTW is maria bi... anyway hope this isn't a spoiler.it's so funny i like the "if i keep my ice cube trays clean..." thing because that's exactly how i am...my friends and i are like comedians in training so this movie shows us that we do not want that career but that we love joking around and to take things seriously would be impossible. I love the Fat Jesus idea.. it was the best of Zach's ideas. I think i might just buy this DVD and it was a show on comedy central so i might persuade them into putting the 1 season on DVD also.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"I'm working on a new screenplay. It's called 'Schindler's List 2: Let's Get This Party Started!'"
Quinoa198414 August 2016
There's no grand arc to The Comedians of Comedy - about as close to a "passion project" for Patton Oswalt in 2005 as it can get (do I use quotes around that like as if that isn't serious, eh, no, sure, I'll use em) - but that's why it works in its way. It's a road movie following Oswalt, Brian Posehn, Maria Bamford and, in the kind of Jack Nicholson in Easy Rider I'm-just-gonna-steal-the-whole-show-now role, Zach Galifianakis for parts of it, and it all rests on their personalities. And of course being that they're in that interestingly odd time of their lives when they're known a little more than used to be (Posehn from Just Shoot Me, which I almost forgot about, and Oswalt I guess from King of Queens though that's only sparsely mentioned I imagine for obvious reasons), but not quite on the cusp of being the Alt-Comedy Gods that they are today.

Maybe 'Gods' is the wrong word, but these are four of the most recognizable and indelible figures of stand-up in the kind that *they* do. And yes there are different kinds of comedy when it comes to stand up; this is not The Kings of Comedy for example or the Blue Collar Kings of Comedy Tour movie or whatever it was called (one of the highlights here by the way is when Posehn jokes that he almost wanted to call their tour instead of 'Comedians of Comedy' the "Martin Luther Kings of Comedy" tour), and these four people exemplify the sort that's honest, personal, sometimes political (or maybe often times), awkward, very off-the-wall approach that made alternative comedy- or are there even walls, why bother especially when Galifianakis takes over a universe that happens to be set on a stage, or when Bamford does her gobsmackingly funny voice-work.

It also works much in the way of a home movie more than a documentary. Sure, there are some little moments of revelation and looking back, like when the four share some of their videos from when they were first starting out (and still very funny! Bamford with a violin expressing failed relationships and Posehn with hair describing drug-addled parents of the 60's), or when Posehn or Oswalt or Bamford talk about the weird disturbances and things at times when on stage (not so much hecklers as they are like these funny-wild anecdotes about things that have happened, like Oswalt being asked to step aside at the start of the show so a man can embarrassingly and miserably-in-failure propose marriage to his girlfriend). But the way the thing is shot, with multiple early 00's cameras, gives it the feel of, you know, being along for the ride with a bunch of people who are obviously close friends and can be goofy and ironic and make jokes that may work or may not always work. It's like seeing a family in front of your eyes, though there's no sense they don't get along or any tension, it's not that kind of revelatory package.

Perhaps a little *too* much goofing around once can say? But then they ARE comedians and it's like a big camping trip except their camping stops are comedy clubs and being on the road and stopping at places like motels and cabins and diners and comic book shops (oh the comic book shop bit is both very charming and a little, uh, showing the obsessive side in a way I didn't expect), and so when Galifianakis and Posehn do a somewhat graphic sexual prank video one night it's both hysterically funny and hysterically weird. But then, as I mentioned, Galifiankis, in his pre-Hangover time, is most impressive here and just seems to be naturally bug-f*** crazy some of the time (though in a moment of clarity he portends to want to be in "the most independent movie ever made" which one could say happened with Birdman, but I digress).

To say that he stands out is less about Oswalt-Posehn-Bamford being rather "normal" by comparison, as the two guys are just dorky-pun-talking-sex-joke-making dudes, with Bamford as the lovable weirdo (think like if Gonzo the Great was an alternative female comic with less stunt work), and more that he simply does the things that make him stand out the most. The highlight of the documentary for me is when he is walking around San Francisco one day - he has to do his laundry and, of course, though watching someone do their laundry sounds boring as watching grass grow, if you got to see someone do their laundry it might as well be this guy - and he comes across three black guys singing on a street in harmony. He's so taken with them (they may or may not be homeless by the way) that he asks them to come to do a bit during his comedy show. They do come on and it is so impressive even Zach stands by on the stage with the sort of dumbfounded-smiling expression a jokester-kid has who thinks "I really got em this time!"

Simply seeing these comedians perform their material, which makes up a good 35/40% of the movie anyway, would be enough to recommend it as they're all so wonderful, with Oswalt especially coming into his own in the way that still makes him among the top comedians in the world (no really, he's that good). That the rest of the footage of these guys, sometimes showing some simple pleasures like playing old-school video arcade or on a radio show doing their best to explain what they *do* is fun and genuinely a curious sight to see some ten years on, past any nostalgia and on its own as a chronicle of how comedians get along when they're in such a super-friendly unit where they can all just be... themselves, to the fullest.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
3/4 of a successful tour
cape_kid24 November 2005
I am a huge stand-up comedy buff and instantly recognized all 4 comedians involved when I saw the preview on the digital cable box. I knew that three out of the four comedians were hilarious and Maria is not. The problem is that she just has one voice and tries to rely on that to be funny. Sadly there is a lack of material or any real comic timing on her part. The other 3 never fail to deliver, especially my favorite out of the bunch Zach Galifianakis. The best part of the documentary is the on-stage stuff, which is what makes this movie as enjoyable as it is. The off-stage stuff is a mixed bag. Some of the scenes, like where the 3 male comedians are discussing puns using the word "bear" are extremely hysterical. Once again, Maria's scenes end up more disturbing than humorous. It ruins couple-of-comedians-hanging-out vibe that the rest of the off stage stuff is like. You end up feeling more concerned about her mental health than thinking she is funny. Also, there is a lot of time spent establishing that they are some very nerdy guys. Which doesn't end up that entertaining. If a the tour was a little bit longer (for some more material to be captured) and the editing a little bit better the movie could have easily made it to 9 out of 10. Be warned, the movie gets a bit odd and pervish at the end. The comedians appear to lose their minds, which must've involved some drug use that we never see. However, there is some of the crude material that is genuinely funny. It is what really makes Patton and Brian's political jokes work. In conclusion, the stand-up receives a 9 out of 10 and the off-stage gets 8 out of 10 and Maria subtracts some points away. If you are not a fan of crude material, you shouldn't watch this movie.
8 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not a movie everyone will understand, but for those of us Off-Edge personalities, this movie is so mega funny!
the2ndfloodofgod21 December 2005
This movie is insanely funny! This group of Comedians/Friends get along with each other just like I get along with my friends. The humor is blue, just not stupid. It may take a few rewinds to fully understand the jokes but once you understand there true meaning, you will then rewind it just to laugh over and over again at the cleaver humor. This movie just hits home with me, because my friends and I poke fun at each other on what would otherwise be considered sensitive subjects. But over time we have all learned how far we can take a joke before it is no longer funny, but more aggressive in nature. So this movie just proves to me that others can learn how to make, making fun of a friend an art form. It just takes time. All of these comedians have almost completely different comedic styles, but they fit so well together as a touring act.

If you are into the whole None-Politically correct type of humor, then this movie is for you.

Oh and Patton, I feel your pain when it comes to the whole George bush stance on really anything. I just don't think most people see how he is dividing the whole country based on Out-Dated-Religious-Ideals. He cares more about aborted babies then he does about the abandoned ones. And he cares more about the whole gay marriage issue, then the fact that they are born that way and deserve the right to be happily married. But I imagine if the tables were turned and he was told being with a woman is a sin against god, he would fight to be with a woman. Seeing as that is the way he was born.

But like the Green Day song goes I don't want to be an America idiot, just part of a Redneck agenda.

Maybe George bush and his most devoted fan Bill O' Reilly will fight to get married. What goes around, comes around.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
2 real comedians of comedy, a fat guy with a crappy haircut, and a woman
movieman_kev16 March 2006
This documentary is pretty funny. Wait let me qualify that statement somewhat, this documentary is pretty funny WHEN either Zach Galifianakis or Brian Posehn is getting screen time. Those two are the real F'N deal, my friend. Sadly in between those two pinnacles of greatness, you'll have to suffer through Patton 'I need a true calling, cause it's NOT comedy' Oswalt and Maria Bamford. It's not really Marias fault, I only can name a whole ONE funny woman comedian (that being the hilariously great Sarah Silverman), Patton, on the other hand, has no reason whatsoever to bomb as badly as he does every single time he gets on the stage. But as I said, if you can jump over these very sizable hurdles, you'll find a few moments to enjoy.

Where I saw it: Showtime

My Grade: C+
3 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can't be worse!
moofee27 June 2006
The use of the term 'comedy' with relation to this documentary is an insult to the art of comedy, and worse yet is the pain that is inflicted on the viewers of this production. Almost nothing was funny.

This documentary followed a small group of stand-up 'comics' on the road as they travel from town to town to perform in small clubs.

It's interesting to note that their conversations and behavior off-stage and on-stage are indistinguishable, but sadly, equally unfunny.

It's possible to understand the self delusions of grandeur which the featured 'comedians' possess, but it's harder to grasp the sounds of laughter heard from their audiences. Perhas these are the same audiences for whom the lame sitcoms on TV are intended.

This was possibly the worst film I've ever watched in my 50+ years of movie viewing.
2 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
That's it??
lauraeileen8949 May 2007
I have recently become a huge fan of Patton Oswalt. I think he's the most deliciously original comedian to come along in ages. He is refreshing and fearless in his routines, which run the gamut of topics from how much Bush sucks to the sleazy exploits of 1970s producer Robert Evans. I'm a longtime fan of Maria Bamford and her wide-eyed innocent/schizophrenic routine. Whenever she effortlessly switches her naturally high-pitched voice to one that is clipped and throaty, I can't help but giggle. I liked Brian Posehn long before I even knew he was on "Just Shoot Me", and there is something so innately funny about his aging nerd persona. All three of these talented, unique comedians headline "The Comedians of Comedy", a Netflix documentary about their U.S. tour. They truly deserve to be stars, and this tour gave them the recognition they so richly deserve. I thought,no, I KNEW I'd like this movie...

But I was wrong. Instead of the three comics each getting their own routine segments, "The Comedians of Comedy" is bogged down by meandering and dull documentary scenes that contain no humor, no insight, nothing of real interest. I think there is a total of 30 minutes of intermittent stand-up routines total in the 109 minute movie. What a rip-off! Come on, is anyone really interested in seeing our stars banter in their RV? Where's the humor in seeing Posehn in an arcade and a comic book shop? Does anyone find random diner scenes particularly funny? If this movie couldn't have shown our comics strutting their stuff, at least make it about what life is like on the road. It's not even about that. Worst of all, the comics never appear to be having real fun. Oswalt admits how bored he is doing a radio interview, Posehn sheepishly admits to how much he sucks at giving a tour of his home, and Bamford nervously improvises every time the camera is pointed at her, and her humor there is only sporadic.

Sheesh, these guys deserve a chance to show the world their unconventional, amazingly crafted humor that is a refreshing change of pace from the brainless entertainment of mainstream comics like Dane Cook. Instead, we have to sit through their mundane, everyday routines on the road in a substandard bore of a movie whose quality could easily be surpassed by any student film. If you can locate any of Oswalt's, Posehn's, or Bamford's performances on DVD, by all means do. Their talent should be a joy to behold, not a chore like it is here.
1 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
laugh out loud funny
ghintaris28 March 2008
Don't comment on a lot of movies or shows, but I picked up this DVD by chance and couldn't stop watching. Took in most of the deleted scenes and DVD extras as well, until 3:30 in the morning. The cute puppy sequence is priceless. Patton Oswalt can be seen on The King of Queens sitcom. Didn't know he was a standup comedian until fairly recently, and he was the reason I grabbed this video. Very funny, and the impetus behind the comedy tour and documentary. I appreciate him as someone who has clearly paid his dues. Brian Posehn is good as well. He's an unusual yet likable personality. Self effacing as well, as is Patton above. I especially liked the background info revealed throughout. Hey, where better to get insights into others than through a roadtrip. I enjoyed him in this movie and in Sara Silverman's Show. Maria Bramford was mostly new to me. Very funny and HOT. I'm gonna check out some of her other movies--I've got access to Stuart Little 2 and she also appeared in an episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000 back in '94. That makes sense as she's from Minnesota. Once, intentionally or not, a bit of a Fargo-style accent came out. Maybe she was tired from the road trip or late night schedule. Catch her pteradactyl (splg?) joke. Best of all was Zach Galafianakis. Entirely new to me, his bits were the best. Had me laughing out loud almost every time he did something. And his recruiting of the street performers--brilliant. I'm going to rewatch this documentary. And I saved the "making of" extra. I'm sure that'll be super as well.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed