WrestleMania XX (2004) Poster

(2004 TV Special)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Wrestlemania XX
wrestlingsitewebmaster17 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This was supposed to be the best Wrestlemania ever, but it wasn't. WWE crammed too many performers on the card, many matches were crap.

Match 1 sees 'The Doctor of Thugonomics' John Cena battling the Big Show for the US title. The crowd goes crazy for Cena. The action was fair at least by Cena's standards, but the most impressive part of this match was when Cena F-U'd Show and got the win! Next up 4 teams from Raw battle it out in a crap match. Rob Van Dam and Booker T put their worthless tag titles on the line against Mark Jindrak and Garrison Cade, The Dudley Boyz and La Resistance. RVD and Booker retained, but I didn't care.

Then Christian and Chris Jericho had a respectable match but I've seen better from both individuals. One point in the match Christian hit a nasty DDT on Y2J. Christian wins when Trish Stratus turns on Y2J. This was a good shocker and it certainly opened my eyes.

Next up one match I was looking forward to. It should have been a classic, but did the 5 participants make this a classic? No. The Rock and Mick Foley took on Ric Flair, Randy Orton and Batista in a comedy match, which made me angry. I was looking forward to this and thank you Rock and Flair for spoiling this.

Then in what should have been a great match up turned into a slump. The Cruiserweight Battle Royal which consisted of Rey Mysterio, Shannon Moore, Funaki, Jamie Noble, Nunzio, Akio, Tajiri, Kidman, Ultimo Dragon and Cruiserweight Champ Chavo Guerrero had a fair match, but it was allocated in a mere time slot of 9 minutes and 45 seconds. The match didn't stand a chance.

Next up the Hall of Fame takes place. Superstars such as Tito Santana, Greg Valentine and Bobby Heenan take their Hall of Fame honors and they deserve it, unlike Pete Rose! WTF has he done to deserve that!? Boy did the fans let WWE know they made a mistake by giving Rose a Hall of Fame invitation, they booed his arse out of Madison Square Garden and rightfully so. Apparently Bob Backlund was so upset by this that he more or less told McMahon to shove his invitation up his arse, and I don't blame him! Next up The Smackdown! Tag Champs Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty took on the APA, The Bashams and Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin in a poor, crap, useless match. Rik and Scotty won but like the Raw tag match I didn't care.

Bill Goldberg and Brock Lesnar's match proved to be a failure. Fans knew they would be leaving and killed it stone dead! Taker and Kane's match was memorable for the wrong reason (Taker's entrance was better than his match!) Victoria and Molly put on a fair match which saw Molly getting her hair shaved! And Eddie Guerrero and Kurt Angle put on a fantastic battle, which saw 'Latino Heat' keep his WWE title, from some lying, cheating and stealing.

The best match on the card was the fantastic battle between World Champ Triple H, Shawn Michaels and Chris Benoit. Benoit won the match and the fans approved.

Overall Grade - B-
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the great PPV'S
Stampsfightclub20 October 2010
Wrestlemania is what its all about and this is one of the greatest PPVS ever for numerous reasons. The party starts with a great rendition of the American national anthem and then it is right down to business.

US championship John Cena vs Big Show

A very good opening that Cena showcased his old better mic skills. Still the build up and actual match were good if not the best we've seen between the pair. Thankfully the ending isn't as cheesy as current WWE programming.

8/10

World tag team championship Booker T and RVD vs The Dudley Boys vs La Resistance vs Mark Jindrak and Garrison Cade.

This fatal four way for the tag team championship had some great spots but there is only two good teams who weren't featured nearly enough

6/10

Christian vs Chris Jericho

Fantastic match that had a great build up. They were essentially wrestling all thanks to Trish Stratus and Lita and their wrestling did the talking. Great spots, great twists and turns and for first time viewing what an ending.

10/10

The Rock and Mick Foley vs Batista, Randy Orton and Ric Flair

Before going to wrestle we see Foley and Rock backstage and Rocky didn't seem the wrestler of old and it showed somewhat in the ring to. A good match that had a great sense of comedy styling

8/10

Torrie Wilson and Sable vs Miss Jackie and Stacey Kiebler

Reasonable tag team match, the fans liked the fact it was changed to a lingerie match

6/10

WWE 10 man cruiserweight championship match Great match that lasted longer than normal. Many superstars to watch out for but watch out for Billy Kidman's shooting star press, oh my God.

8/10

Brock Lesner vs Goldberg

This had a very good build up but it was more of a staring competition than a wrestling match. The fans really slammed Lesnar for selling out

6/10

WWE tag team championship Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty vs APA vs The Bashams vs Shelton Benjamen and Charlie Haas.

Like the previous tag team title match there were good spots but not enough awe to entertain

6/10

WWE women's championship Victoria vs Molly Holly

One of the more competitive women's matches you'll see good twists and turns and an over sold ending

7/10

WWE Championship Kurt Angle vs Eddie Guerrero

Very, very good match. The Olympic vs latino heat was brilliant great moves, build up and what a brilliant ending that epitomises the characters

10/10

Kane vs Undertaker

The return of the dead man resounded around Madison square garden and what a match to follow. Brothers divided this showed some skillful and powerful executions and Undertaker is once again sensational

10/10

World Heavyweight championship Triple H vs HBK vs Chris Benoit

This triple threat match lasted a joyous long time that had a good build up and nice to hear the fans getting behind the right man. How the end came about was great

9/10

Overall entertaining PPV and certainly worth catching
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I thought it was good!
xyz_soccaplaya23 February 2005
My thought on this wrestlemania was as follows:

the best i have every seen, that might not be much coming from a 2 year wrestling fan but of the 2 iv'e seen, this was the best. My favorite match(other than the evening gown match of course) was the undertaker making his return to the industry. I personally prefer his new look, besides the fact that he used to be a biker and now he's a dead biker(weird)

But over all I would give Wrestlemaina XX a 8/10. Sorry all yal critics I disagree

Dandude100000
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
WrestleMania XX taps out, a mostly mediocre show! Main events kinda makes it worth watching.
ironhorse_iv8 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This show kinda crossface me & I had to submit in rewatching it. Rewatching this show, years later, is so surreal & disturbing, because how nostalgia it was. I remember, buying the PPV, just to see He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named win the big one. It's really odd, seeing wrestling fans, cheering for him, here. I was once a huge fan of his works, as well, but not much, anymore. After all, it's hard to stay a fan of a murderer. Besides him, winning the title at the time. The show did had a good card and nice historic location to hosted from. Twenty years after the original 1985's WrestleMania extravaganza, the WWE returned to its birthplace of Madison Square Garden, New York City for the anniversary event. This was the first time in four years that a WrestleMania event was helm at a smaller venue, last one was in 2000. Wrestlemania wouldn't be able to return, into stadium format, until Wrestlemania 23, two years later, when WWE drop the edgy adult-like program, for a more kid friendly, PG era that allow them to gain more money by advertiser-friendly and having a wider audience. Indeed, it was a smart business move. WrestleMania XX was in the timeline of the Ruthless Aggression: Brand Extension, an era where a larger roster of newer stars were replacing a lot of the Attitude Era stars that have started to get old or too hurt to work. A lot of things, had to change, and WWE kinda showcase, a few of them, here. The opening video package to the PPV gave me, goosebumps as it covers the history of WrestleMania and why this current event, means to the wrestlers. The event music is 'Step Up', by Drowning Pool, and it works with the post-attitude era feeling. The opening match is John Cena Vs the Big Show for the United States Championship. It was a alright match. It's so bizarre, seeing the crowd so into the Cena's rapper character, rather than a 50/50 split reaction, that he now, normally gets as the Boy Scout Baby-face. It's also weird to see him, try to cheat to win. Who knew, how big, John Cena would get, over the years. Good starter really got the crowd pumped up. The next match was a fatal four-way tag team match between the teams of Rob Van Dam and Booker T, Garrison Cade and Mark Jindrak, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray and D-Von) and La Résistance (René Duprée and Rob Conway) for the World Tag Team Championship, held by Van Dam and Booker T. The match didn't have much, build on, and pretty forgettable. The third match was between Christian and Chris Jericho, with a love triangle story-angle to fuel this feud. This match was underrated, and the twist toward the end, was pretty shocking. I love it. Next up was a Handicap match featuring Evolution (Randy Orton, Batista and Ric Flair) against The Rock 'n' Sock Connection (The Rock and Mick Foley). I love the half of a year-build up to the feud & the push for Orton. In my opinion, an alright match. Coming on, next is the Playboy Evening Gown Match: Sable & Torrie Wilson Vs Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie. It was very sexy, but also insulting as the women were view as sex objects than wrestlers. As a wrestling match, it was very disappointing. It didn't help, anymore. I found Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie, to be a lot hotter than Torrie Wilson & Sable, anyways. I wish, they were in Playboy. It was kinda dumb, filler match. The next match was a gauntlet style match called the Cruiserweight Open for the Cruiserweight Championship. It was too cluster-f*ck. Lots of quick, unrealistic movement. This match didn't help, anymore. The seventh match featured Brock Lesnar Vs Goldberg with special guest referee, Steve Austin. This match was a disaster, because of second factors. The first factor is that, both men were leaving the WWE and the fans knew. Lesnar was going to try out for the NFL. Goldberg was trying to start a movie career. The second factor: the lack of effort brought forth by both Goldberg and Lesnar drew large heat from the fans throughout the match. The match was talentless. The next match was another four-way tag team match, but was for the WWE Tag Team Championship between the champions, Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty, versus the APA (Bradshaw and Faarooq), the Basham Brothers (Doug and Danny), and the World's Greatest Tag Team (Shelton Benjamin and Charlie Haas). This match was also forgettable. The ninth match was the encounter of Victoria and Molly Holly for the WWE Women's Championship, where Holly would have to be shaved bald if she lost. This match was kinda underrated. It's deserve more praise. It was a bit shocking to see, a woman get her head shave in wrestling. Semi main event, featured Eddie Guerrero Vs Kurt Angle over the WWE Championship. A really good match with a cool ending. I love it. I really do miss, Eddie. The eleventh match of the event was the encounter between The Undertaker VS Kane. Nice to see the Undertaker go back into his Deadman's gimmick, but this rematch didn't live up to the original match in 1998's WrestleMania 14. The main event was a Triple threat match over the World Heavyweight Championship between Triple H, Chris Benoit, and Shawn Michaels. It was awesome wrestling match. I do believe, HBK kinda overdid it with the bleeding. It was a bit gross-looking. Overall: This five-hour show was simply too long. There were too many matches than no one cared about, crammed into the stacked card. The main events really made the card, seem worthy to watch. It's also nice to the Hall of Fame return, but for the most part: this show was mediocre for a 20th year anniversary event. Wish, it could had been better.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wrestlemania 20
Ikepoiyen66889419 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
A far better wrestlemania then 21..people said there were too many matches ,,its wrestlemania there can never be too many... heres the rundown of matches

1. Big Show(US CHAMP) Vs JOHN CENA!!! US CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH

6/10 Not a great match but the crowd certainly enjoyed it ...cena somehow managed despite being battered the whole match and hardly registering a move, managed to gain great crowd acclaim, due to his selling, facial expressions you name it cena did it, he also landed an impressive FU, good starter really got the crowd pumped up.

2. RVD and Booker t( TAG CHAMPS) Vs Dudleys Vs Cade and Jindrak Vs La Resistance . WORLD TAG TITLES

5/10 Average match. U kinda don't care what happens.

3. Christian Vs Chris Jericho..

7.5/10 Very good match, both carried each other at separate times which made it dead even. end was a bit poor but the aftermath was good.

4. Evolution Vs ROCK N SOCK

7.5/10 Good match as you would expect with people like flair Orton rock and Foley in it , Batista was the only downside could have been better with a few false endings.

5. Cruiserweight Open ..

4/10 at first i didn't know what was going on because cruiser weight after cruiser weight kept coming out , when the match gets started its nothing special ,crowd didn't care.

6. Brock Lesnar Vs Goldberg SPECIAL REF - AUSTIN

3/10 Diabolical but i understand why , as both men were leaving, the script writers wanted the crowd to hate them so they basically stare at each other for 10 minutes before hitting there finishers and both get stunned by AUSTIN!!!I enjoyed it in a way ..cus it was LESNAR GOLDBERG IT WAS SUCH A HYPE !!!!

7. Torrie and Sable Vs Jackie and Stacy

9/10 for hotness....1/10 for everything else...but there divas so I'm not gonna rip on them.

8. Rikishi and Scotty(CHAMPS) vs Benjamin and Haas Vs APA Vs Bashams WWE TAG TITLES

3/10 talk about trying to cram everyone in. nothing match once again the tag titles are lowered.

9. Molly Holly Vs Victoria ( WOMENS CHAMP) womens title match if molly loses she loses her hair....

3/10 If Trish isn't in a womens wrestling match it ain't worth it...i don't think many were bothered about the result, even though we would get to see molly go bald

10. Kurt Angle Vs Eddie Guerrero(WWE CHAMP) WWE CHAMpionship match

8/10 Best Match so far as you would expect from AMAZING ANGLE and Guerrero , angle performs a few top class moves. Guerrero was good ..ending was poor which is partly why Guerrero's title reign sucked bad.

11. Undertaker Vs Kane

6.5/10 Only makes 6 because the dead man returned and his entrance gave me goosebumps, poor match with little sparks.

12. Benoit Vs HBK Vs Triple H (WORLD CHAMP) WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH

9/10 easily best match of night Benoit performs to the highest quality which gets him crowd support over HBK blood, broken bodies you name it this match had it, great way to end the pay per view.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not hugely remarkable for a 20th anniversary show
Gary Ballance7 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
*Spoilers ahead*

Hyped for a year in advance, WrestleMania XX would've had to have been pretty damn good to live up to its enormous hype. Held in New York's Madison Square Garden, with the questionable tagline of "Where it all begins again", WMXX wasn't that memorable save for the excellent main event between reigning World Champion Triple H, Chris Benoit and Shawn Michaels. While the main event was given plenty of time, the card was way overbooked and many matches were far too short- in particular, the Cruiserweight Open. Thus, the midcard was a mixture of good and bad matches. Onto the matches..

Match 1- John Cena vs Big Show [US Title]. A strange choice for an opener as the point of the opening match is to warm up the crowd. Big Show killed the crowd with some dreadful, slow, plodding offence. Cena only had a little offence at the end and, unsurprisingly picked up the win w/ an FU to begin his long overdue US Title reign. The match was a little boring during the middle with Big Show on the offensive. He was a terrible US Champion, so it was good to give the Title to someone who'd defend it. Average match.

Match 2- La Resistance vs Dudleyz vs Cade/Jindrak vs Booker T/RVD [Raw Tag Titles.] Thrown-together Fatal 4 Way match. Not great to be honest. RVD and Booker T were a thrown-together team which devalues the Tag Team division- same w/ Edge and Benoit. Raw needs some more ACTUAL tag teams as opposed to just throwing 2 popular midcarders together as they so often do. Booker T and RVD retain via 5 Star Frog Splash. (What happened in 2003? 2002 produced Randy Orton, John Cena and Brock Lesnar. 2003 produced hosses like Matt Morgan, Nathan Jones and bland wrestlers like Cade, Jindrak, La Resistance, Rodney Mack and Orlando Jordan. Hopefully some promising new talent will emerge this year.)

Match 3- Christian vs Chris Jericho. Jericho is my favourite wrestler and while I was extremely annoyed that his WrestleMania losing streak was further extended, a loss to Christian was the right result to continue the feud properly going into Backlash. Jericho won the feud anyway, so it's not the end of the world! The match itself was really enjoyable and was, in my opinion, the best match of the night after the main event. Disappointing ending, but some terrific action. How has Jericho not been World Champ on Raw yet? (Oh yeah, Triple H.)

Match 4- Evolution (Orton, Batista, Flair) vs The Rock & Mick Foley. I was annoyed at the time this match was signed as I thought the Orton- Foley feud was going well, and a singles match between the two was in order. This handicap tag match was fine though. Interesting to see Foley and Flair in the ring together as they supposedly despise each other outside the ring. Good action here, and a brilliant (but unpopular) finish as Orton nails Foley out of nowhere with the RKO for the pin. Hopefully if The Rock does return later this year he and Orton will feud, as that would be extremely interesting to see.

Match 5- Torrie Wilson & Sable vs Stacy Keibler & Jackie Gayda. The T&A portion of the evening. Dreadful wrestling and mercifully short.

Match 6- Cruiserweight Open, featuring Shannon Moore, Ultimo Dragon, Jamie Noble, Funaki, Nunzio, Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Akio, Tajiri & Chavo Guerrero. Considering the appalling amount of time they were given, this was quite enjoyable. I thought it was absolutely shameful, however, that they didn't include the excellent Paul London in this match. A great talent. The eliminations were far too quick and the overall finish was pathetic. (Billy Kidman followed in Brock Lesnar's footsteps showing you should never attempt a Shooting Star Press at WrestleMania! He nearly killed himself trying to hit one to the outside!) The amount of time given to this match shows the contempt WWE treats its Cruiserweight Division with; ironic, as the Division could be the one thing that could save Smackdown from the crap it has become.

Match 7- Brock Lesnar vs Bill Goldberg. For the build-up this feud had, this match was absolutely atrocious. Both men were leaving after this match and should be ashamed of themselves for ending their WWE careers with it. The only good aspect of this match was the animated MSG crowd who chanted "This match sucks", "Boring", "We want Bret" and "You sold out"(at Lesnar). WWE dubbed over these chants on the DVD thus making the match utterly unwatchable now! Goldberg won this dismal display with a Jackhammer. (I won't presume to know what life on the road is like for a WWE wrestler, but Brock Lesnar was given a huge push immediately by WWE and was "put over" by many big names like The Undertaker, The Rock, Kurt Angle and Hulk Hogan. I can see why many are annoyed by his departure. Goldberg's year in WWE was dreadful and it's better for all concerned that he's gone.)

Match 8- Scotty/Rikishi vs Bashams vs APA vs The World's Greatest Tag Team. I mentioned already that 2003 was a disappointing year for new wrestlers- the only exception (besides Brian "Spanky" Kendrick, who has since left) has been The World's Greatest Tag Team- Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin. Hopefully, they will go on to greater things in the coming months. This match was, like the Raw 4 Way, thrown together. It wasn't great, and once again the champions (Scotty & Rikishi, still living off their gimmick from 2000) retained. Pointless.

Match 9- Victoria vs Molly [Women's Title.] Raw has a fine Womens division (despite what the critics say) and Molly & Victoria are excellent additions to that division, but this match was far too short and was disappointing. The end was typical for a Womens match: a roll-up. Whoever's booking the finishes to these matches should be shot! Let them use their finishers for Christ's sake! Victoria's 'Widow's Peak' is a brilliant finisher!

Match 10- Eddy Guerrero vs Kurt Angle [WWE Title]. Angle hasn't been his old self this year and his role as Smackdown's General Manager has, to use an Americanism, sucked. This match was pretty good but was a little lacking considering how good it could've been. The finish (another roll-up) was a little better than the Women's match as it was quite clever. Some good action, but could've been better.

Match 11- The Undertaker vs Kane. The Undertaker's appearance disappointed everyone, I think, as he looked exactly like the old "Biker Undertaker" only with a different entrance and Paul Bearer. The match was a fairly typical "hoss" match which Taker won w/ a Tombstone. Great entrance, but that was about it.

Match 12- Triple H vs Shawn Michaels vs Chris Benoit [World Heavyweight Title]. One of the best main events of recent years, and certainly the best match Triple H has had in quite some time. Brilliant back-and-forth action. A triple threat match usually always delivers as there's no need for 'restholds' (sleeper holds, chinlocks, etc.) as one wrestler is usually knocked outside while the other two go at it. A great match and the right result. Benoit finally gets his chance to shine and begins his World title reign, making Triple H tap out to the Crippler Crossface.

Nothing too memorable on the whole. The only disappointments were the Cruiserweight Open (time-wise, not action-wise) and the abysmal showdown between Lesnar and Goldberg. Otherwise, a fine event.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Overall Excellent PPV *Spoilers* ahead...
Yankees2615 June 2004
Warning: Spoilers
1.John Cena vs. Big Show-Predictable, everyone knew Cena would win. It was a little boring, but it had a good finish. 4.5/10

2.RVD + Booker T vs. Dudley Boyz vs. Cade + Jindrak vs. La Resistance-Lots of people hated this match, I like it a lot, although Cade and Jindrak should have won. 6/10

3.Chris Jericho vs. Christian-Good match with a surprise at the end. 6.5/10

4.Rock and Sock vs. Evolution-Surprisingly a very good match. Since Foley lost to Orton at Backlash I think he and the Rock should have won, but oh well. 6/10

5.Evening Gown Match-Too short for me to grade it.

6.Cruiserwieght Open-This match was way too short and eliminations happened way too fast. Still an exciting match. 7/10

7.Brock Lesnar vs. Goldberg-Absolutely horrible. For the first 10 minutes they just looked at each other, and why did they change the booking and make Goldberg win. Doesn't make much sense to me. 2/10

8.Rikishi + Scotty 2 Hotty vs. WGTT vs. APA vs. Bashams- Like the other Fatal 4 Way, the wrong team won as WGTT should have won, but they let Rikishi and Scotty keep the belts. Not quite as good as the Raw Fatal 4 Way. 5.5/10

9.Molly Holly vs. Victoria-This one also was too short for me to grade it.

10.Eddie Guererro vs. Kurt Angle-Awesome match, of course what else would you expect from these 2. 9.5/10

11.Undertaker vs. Kane-Am I the only the one that liked the American Badass Taker more than the deadman? I guess so, this match was also a little boring. 4.5/10

12.Chris Benoit vs. HBK vs. HHH-A great match with a great ending with the best man (Benoit) winning to end a great PPV.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wrestlemania 20 Madison Square Garden Where It All Begins...Again
Terryfan14 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
WWE Wrestlemania 20 Madison Square Garden Where It All Begins....Again. This is the third Wrestlemania to take place in Madison Square Garden since this is exactly where Wrestlemania was born. This is the 20th Anniversary

This is just one of the PPVs I recall every detail from that day like it was yesterday.

1.John Cena vs The Big Show for the WWE United States Championship. Good opening match with John Cena winning his first championship Rating: 8 out of 10

2.Booker T and Rob Van Dam vs Garrison Cade and Mark Jindrak, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray and D-Von Dudley), and La Résistance (René Duprée and Rob Conway) Fatal Four Way Tag Team Match For The World Tag Team Championship.Overall good match Rating: 7 out of 10.

3.Christian vs Chris Jericho. Epic match with a shocking climax with Trish Rating: 9 out of 10.

4.Evolution (Randy Orton, Batista and Ric Flair) vs The Rock 'N' Sock Connection (The Rock and Mick Foley) Three on Two match. Good promo from the Rock but nothing big about the match Rating: 6 out of 10.

5.Torrie Wilson and Sable vs Stacy Keibler and Miss Jackie Playboy Evening Gown match. Another match that was just for show Rating: 5 out of 10

6. Chavo Guerrero (c) (with Chavo Classic) vs Último Dragón, Shannon Moore, Jamie Noble, Funaki, Nunzio, Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Tajiri, and Akio Cruiserweight Open for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship Impressive match Rating: 7 out of 10.

7. Goldberg vs Brock Lenser with Special Guest Referee Stone Cold Steve Austin. This is the worst match ever I've seen ever Rating: 0 out of 10. Even sadder when Vince came out on stage I had hope for an apology for that match but no we didn't get one.

8.Too Cool (Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty) (c) vs The World's Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin), The Basham Brothers (Doug and Danny Basham), and The APA (Bradshaw and Faarooq) Fatal four-way tag team match for the WWE Tag Team Championship. Decent match

Rating: 6 out of 10.

9.Victoria vs Molly Holly Hair vs. Title match for the WWE Women's Championship. Seeing Molly getting shaved is awesome Rating: 7 out of 10.

10.Eddie Guerrero vs Kurt Angle for the WWE Championship. One of the greatest matches ever Rating: 10 out of 10.

11.The Undertaker with Paul Bearer Vs Kane. A return to remember Rating: 7 out of 10

12. Triple H vs Shawn Michaels vs Chris Benoit Triple Threat Match For the World Heavyweight Championship. Strong main event with a lot of spots

Rating: 9 out of 10.

Overall I don't hate this Wrestlemania but it's not one I would always call a classic.

I give WWE Wrestlemania 20 an 7 out of 10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wrestlemania XX, Madison Square Garden, anything can happen...
jakespick6 May 2010
...but not much did.

This was barely an above average Wrestlemania, in my opinion, and pales greatly in comparison to both its preceding and succeeding Wrestlemanias (XIX and XXI). The opening matches were obvious card fillers, other than the surprisingly entertaining US Championship match. The Women's Title match was interesting, and the image of Molly Holly getting her head shaved will be forever remembered.

The main events were also interesting. The Guerrero vs. Angle match for the WWE Title was a bit under-hyped (for a good reason) and, surprising turn-out nonetheless, could've been saved for a later time. Not Wrestlemania XX. As much as I love Eddie and miss him, he wasn't really the best WWE champion I've seen. The Triple Threat Match was excellent, a great choice for the main event, and what I believe is this Wrestlemania's savior from being just mediocre.

The Goldberg vs. Lesnar match was simply horrifying. The last match for these two in the WWE seeing as how both wanted out quickly (Lesnar felt he could do better, and Bill just didn't care for the programming). However, the idea of these super-superstars colliding was one of the many "dream match" entries you'd find on all the blogs all across the internet. The two of them didn't seem to care much for the business anymore, and seemed bored going into the match, not caring about how much the fans thought of it. The only thing that saved this match was the always electrifying Stone Cold Steve Austin as guest referee.

Overall, Wrestlemania XX was probably the last great over-hyped Wrestlemania that the WWE is going to give us. Many people believe that Wrestlemania XXIV was over-hyped, I disagree, only the Big Show vs. Mayweather was over-hyped. Anyways, I'd have to say that the WWE is descending in quality and controversy week by week, and with these latest episodes of Raw that I've seen, Vince knows it.

Oh boy does he know it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
wrestlemania XX
josh2310944 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
well this wrestlemania was special as it was 20 years of wrestlemania and they showed that by putting a massive 12 matches on the card 1st up was John Cena vs Big Show for the united states title decent match surprisingly Cena gets the win after a F.U on Big Show a bit unrealistic but hey its WWE 2nd was a fatal four way match for the world tag team titles Rob Van Dam and booker t defend against Dudley boys garrison Cade and mark Jindrak and La Resistance a little short and boring booker and Rob Van Dam retain 3rd was Chris Jericho vs Christian in a surprisingly good match Christian gets the win 4th up was a 2 on 3 handicap match with the rock and Mick Foley taking on randy Orton Ric flair and Batista pretty disappointing match i wanted more from it flair Batista and Orton get the win 5th up was the first ever playboy evening gown match sable and Torrie Wilson take on Stacy Keibler and miss Jackie what can i say HOT HOT HOT 6th up was the cruiser weight open too many people to name I'm lazy but Chavo Guerrero retains after pinning Rey Mysterio 7th was Goldberg against Brock Lesnar both were leaving the company after this match so it was nothing special Goldberg gets the win 8th was a fatal four way match for the tag team titles scotty 2 hotty and rikishi defend against apa and basham brothers and world greatest tag team nothing special here rikishi and scotty 2 hotty retain 9th was the womens title match Victoria defending against molly holly Victoria retains and shaves molly holly's head 10th was Eddie Guerrero vs Kurt angle for the wwe title what a match this was Eddie retains in funny circumstances 11th was undertaker vs Kane taker coming back from a break and taking his undefeated wrestlemania streak to 12-0 12th and last much the main event was triple h vs Chris Benoit and Shawn Michaels triple threat match for the world heavyweight title unbelievable match as it had to be very good to top Kurt and Eddie's match earlier Overall a very good wrestlemania i don't think the best one ever but it is a worth while watch if ur a wwe fan
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slightly Disappointed
jameslj-cannon13 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The amount of hype that Wrestlemania XX got was unreal. However, I always had a feeling in my gut that the event would not live up to the huge hype surrounding it. Unfortunately, I was right. This was, in all honesty quite average. However, the amazing main event saved this event from the brink of obscurity. Anyway, here are the results from Madison Square Garden, Where it all began again:

Match 1:US Title Match: Big Show vs. John Cena. This was an OK match. Cena got dominated by the big man for a good majority of the match. Cena pulled out the win when he hit Show with two FU's. Winner and new champ: John Cena

Match 2:World Tag Team Title Match: Rob Van Dam and Booker T vs. La Resistance vs. The Dudley Boyz vs. Mark Jindrak and Garrison Cade. I hate tag team matches. This match was very bad in my opinion. RVD and the Book retained their titles. Winners and still champs: RVD and Book

Match 3:Chris Jericho vs. Christian. I didn't think that this match would do anything for me, however, this proved to be a great match. Great performances by Y2J and Christian. The match ended in shocking fashion, as Trish Stratus "accidentally" elbowed Y2J, costing him the match. Just to rub it in his face, Christian and Trish had some tonsil tennis action going on to prove that the two had joined forces. Winner: Christian

Match 4:2 on 3 Handicap Match: Rock 'n Sock Connection vs. Evolution. It was great to see the Rock and Mick Foley team up for, possibly, the last time. This was a very entertaining match. I am still a bit bummed with the ending though. I still believe that Rock and Foley should have won. Lets face it, this was probably The Rock's last appearance in the WWE, and yet Evolution won. Orton hit Foley with an RKO out of nowhere for the win. Winners: Evolution

Match 5:Playboy Evening Gown Match: Torrie Wilson and Sable vs. Stacy Keibler and Miss Jackie. COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME!!!! Don't get me wrong, it's great to see these beautiful women in nothing but their undies, however, this is Wrestlemania and this match did not deserve to be on the card. Well Torrie won the match for the Smackdown girls. Winners: Torrie and Sable

Match 6:Cruiserweight Title Open. This match could have been longer in my opinion. It was way too short. Anyway, it was very exciting while it lasted. Chavo Gurrero won to retain the title when Chavo senior helped him pick up the pin on Rey Mysterio. Winner and still champ: Chavo

Match 7:Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar:Special guest referee:Stone Cold Steve Austin. The biggest DUD in Wrestlemania history. For all the hype surrounding this match, this was a huge disappointment. The two men stared at each other for nigh on 7 or 8 minutes. I thought that the crowd would start a riot, as they vented their anger on them both. As both Bill and Brock were leaving the WWE, the writers wanted them to leave with the fans hating them. Anyway Bill won the match with the spear and the jackhammer, but the crowd was dead. Austin stunned Brock after the match, which woke the crowd. Bill came back in the ring to celebrate with Austin, so they both started to swig beer down their throats. Austin then looked at Bill, and hit him with a stunner as well. Winner: Goldberg

Match 8:WWE Tag Team Title Match: Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty vs. The APA vs. The Basham Brothers vs. The Worlds Greatest Tag Team. Very much like the tag match earlier. Poor and forgettable. Scotty and the big Kish won to retain the titles. Winners and still champs: Scotty and Kish

Match 9:Womens Title Match: Victoria vs. Molly Holly. If Molly loses, then she gets her head shaved. The match was again, extremely short. Victoria won by getting Molly in a backslide pin. Funny at the end watching Molly lose her hair. Winner and still champ: Victoria

Match 10:WWE Title Match: Eddie Gurrero vs. Kurt Angle. This was a rather disappointing match that didn't excite me that much. A real cheap ending for a WWE Title match as well, as Eddie slipped out of the ankle lock, by slipping out of his boot. Eddie rolled up the shocked challenger and held the ropes for the win. Winner and still champ: Eddie

Match 11:The Undertaker vs. Kane. Another big disappointment. This was no where near as good as the classic match they had at Wrestlemania XIV. Anyway, Taker's entrance was spine tingling. Perhaps the best entrance at a Wrestlemania ever. It seemed to last longer than the match itself. Taker won to stay undefeated at Mania, by Tombstoning Kane (he kicked out of two tombstones in the match at XIV). Winner: Taker

Match 12:Triple Threat Match for The World Heavyweight Championship: Triple H vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Benoit. This is perhaps the greatest triple threat match I have ever seen. The crowd was solidly behind Benoit for this one. Surprisingly, this match was a bloodbath, as Michaels and The Game bled gallons. I thought Benoit was taken out of the match when he was suplexed by HBK and the Game through one of the announce tables. However, Benoit returned, and won the match when he made the Game tap to the Crippler Cross Face. Unreal match, perhaps the best main event in Mania history. Nice touch at the end with Benoit and Eddie Guerrero hugging in the centre of the ring, with confetti filling MSG. Winner and new champ: Benoit

This event disappointed me, it no where near lived up to expectation. However, a couple of good matches in mid card, and the unforgettable main event, saved this Mania from being labelled a disaster. Very average, when it could have been so much better.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Wrestlemania ever
kliko4003 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When i first watched Wrestlemania, i knew that this was probably the best Wrestlemania i have ever seen.

First match-John Cena vs. Big Show for the WWE United States championship This was a very good start for Wrestlemania as the first match of the night, John Cena becomes new U.S Champion after hitting his second F-U on Big Show. 5/10

Second match- Rob Van Dam & Booker T vs. Dudley Boys vs. La Resistance vs. Mark Jindrak & Garrison Cade in a fatal 4 way tag team match for the World Tag Team Championship This wasn't a very bad match, but at the same time wasn't very good either but still enjoyable to watch. Rob Van Dam & Booker T retain after both men hit their combined finishers on D Von to win the match. 5/10

Third match- Sable & Torrie Wilson vs. Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie this was not a good match, but the divas were hot which was all for eye candy. Sable & Torrie Wilson get the win. 2/10

Fourth match- Christian vs. Chris Jericho This was a controversial match between these two former friends, this was actually a good match in my opinion, Christian wins after Trish Stratus interferes costing Jericho the win. Christian nails a roll-up for a pin on Jericho. 5/10

Fifth match- Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar. Special guest referee: Stone Cold Steve Austin This was probably the only boring match of the night, Goldberg wins after a Spear then a Jackhgammmer for the win. Also this was the last time these two men would be wrestling. 3/10

Sixth match- Evolution {Ric Flair, Batista & Randy Orton} vs. Rock & Mick Foley in a two on three handicap match Not very bad. Evolution wins after Randy Orton hits a RKO on Mick Foley for the win. 6/10

Seventh match- Cruiserweight Invitational match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship: Chavo Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio vs. Funaki vs. Akio vs. Billy Kidman vs. Nunzio vs. Tajiri vs. Ultimo Dragon vs. Jamie Noble This was in my opinion the best match of the night, Chavo retains his Cruiserweight Championship after a cradle roll up on Mysterio using the ropes for leverage. 6/10

Eight match- Scotty 2 Hotty & Rikishi vs. APA vs. World's Greatest Tag Team vs. Basham Brothers This was a nice match filled with great spot & action, Scotty 2 Hotty & Rikishi retain after Rikishi pinned one member of the Basham Brothers for the win. 5/10

Ninth match- Vuctoria vs. Molly Holly for the Women's Championship, loser gets his hair shaved bald Not a very good match between these two Divas but the ending is just too enjoyable to watch. Victoria gets a Widows Peak on Molly Holly then gets to shave her hair bald in a funny, hilarious scene. 4/10

Tenth match- Eddie Guerrero vs. Kurt Angle for the WWE Championship This was also one of the top matches of the night. Both these men just gave it all they had & pulled out a very classic & memorable match which i think everybody & the fans enjoyed it as well. Eddie wins after getting a roll up on Angle using the ropes for leverage as well. 6/10

Eleventh match- Undertaker vs. Kane The big wait is over, Undertaker finally returns to defeat Kane in a not bad type of match. Undertaker nails a Tombstone to defeat his brother Kane. 5/10

Twelvth & final match of the night- Triple H vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Benoit for the World Heavyweight Championship This was a bloody triple-threat match while at the same it was good & enjoyable to watch. Chris Benoit wins after making the Game tap out to the Crossface to become the new World Heavyweight Champion. After the match, two best friends, Eddie Guerrero & Chris Benoit start celebrating with their titles in one of the memorable Wrestlemania's ever in the history of the WWE. 6/10

Overall: The best Wrestlemania ever with a 10/10 & definitely A+ passable.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WrestleMania XX. Where it all begins again.
stitch_198118 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Twenty years after the original WrestleMania extravaganza the WWE returned to its birthplace of Madison Square Garden, New York City for the anniversary event. A staggering seven championship matches, the reuniting of The Rock and Sock Connection, Lesner facing Goldberg, two former best friends going at it and the return of The Undertaker. This could be the ultimate wrestling event. What could possible go wrong? Let's get started.

The battle of the monsters between Lesner and Goldberg was the biggest disappointment in WrestleMania history. With almost five months of solid build up this clash was pathetic. The MSG fans knew that this was going to be Goldberg's last match but what we had also found out was that Lesner also now planned to leave the WWE after the event. The crowd were after Lesner's blood and responded by being as vocal as any ECW crowd of the past. Not even special referee Stone Cold Steve Austin could make this a match worthy in any way shape or form of the hype. Goldberg won but nobody cared.

Another fault on the five-hour show was simply there were too many matches than no one cared about crammed into the stacked card. Unfortunately both tag team championship matches would not have been missed on this night. The same could be said about the Cruiserweight Invitational. Why couldn't it just have been a normal one on one match with a good build up instead of cramming so many men into one match. Pointless. Incidentally all the champions retained their gold in those matches. Also the tag team inter promotional bra and panties match was the usual poor excuse for entertainment. I won't even give it any more of my time by writing about it.

The Undertaker was last seen at Novembers Survivor Series. At that event he had the privilege of being buried alive by his brother Kane. This set up perfectly the return of Mark Calloways dead man gimmick. Undertaker returned with Paul Bearer to a thunderous ovation. Unfortunately that is where the excitement ended. The two storyline brother plodded through their match with the outcome never in any doubt. Undertaker won, keeping his undefeated streak at the big one alive.

Mick Foley and The Rock were teaming up again for the first time in four years against Evolution members Randy Orton, Ric Flair and Batista. This was a very entertaining match. Seeing Ric Flair and The Rock go at it was great and at some times very funny. Trouble was, after all the months Mick Foley, Randy Orton and the WWE put into making their feud a must see it was then turned into a comedy match by The Rock and Flair. This was still one of the matches of the night and as big a fan of Foley as I am the right decision was right to elevate Evolution with the win.

Chris Jericho lost to Christian in a good match when interference from Trish Stratus backfires. However fans were in for a shock and as was Jericho at the end of the match when Trish turned heel on Jericho, slapping him repeatedly. Christian and Trish then sealed the deal in front of the worldwide audience by kissing at the top of the ramp.

Speaking of women the WWE Woman's Champion was on the line as Victoria defended against Molly Holly. The stipulation for this one was simple. If Molly did not win the gold she would have her head shaved bald. Unluckily for Molly she was not successful and even after she tried to escape she lost her brunette barnett to the barber. Unlike past Hair vs. Hair matches, Molly was shaved down to the wood.

The main event from the blue brand was Eddie Guerrero defending the WWE Championship against Kurt Angle. This was a technically sound match and very, very good but the way they had been booking the run up to this I was expecting these two men to tear each other apart in a bloody brawl. It was Guerrero who came out successful at the end of the match by slipping out the ankle lock and his boot to pin the stunned challenger.

The Triple Threat match for the World Heavyweight Championship was the last match of the show and it was, by a mile, the match of the night. This was thee, if not one of the greatest Triple Threat matches of all time. Chris Benoit, Mr WrestleMania Shawn Michaels and defending champion, Triple H stepped up a level as only they knew how to do. Back and forth action all the way, top skill, blood galore, this match had it all and will take some beating to lose out on Best Wrestling Match of 2004. It was The Crippler, Chris Benoit who the fans were behind from the start. A man who has worked his way thought the ranks of wrestling for many many years with being able to capture the big one. Well tonight was his lucky night. After suplexing HBK to the outside of the ring he took down The Game with the crossface. The Game tried to fight it off but it was not to be. Triple H had no choice but to tape out and Chris Benoit was crowned new World Heavyweight Champion. In a rare moment and one that was truly emotional, Eddie Guerrero hit the ring to embrace his best friend as the fireworks went off and Benoit cried with joy.

WrestleMania XX. Where it all begins again. Such a mixture of excellence and rubbish all in the one show it is difficult to decide how to rate it. This should have been a lot better by a mile but the few matches that were good plus the cracking main event made this event worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rather Good
the_kiss_army_456 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This wasn't a bad WrestleMania, definitely not as bad as the critics made it out to be. So heres a list of the matches (not sure if they are in order), and what I thought of them.

1. United States Title: John Cena Def. Big Show, to become the new U.S. champion. Not a bad match, a little slow in my opinion, but with a funny rap at the beginning.7/10

2. Fatal Four Way World Tag Team Championship Match: Booker T & RVD def. La Resistance, Jindrak & Cade and The Dudleys to retain the titles. This was a good match, not the best but hey. 7.5/10

3. Christian Def. Chris Jericho w/ Trish Stratus, in a pretty good match with a good heel turn by Trish Stratus. Ya know, WWE has a thing for Trish backstabbing people at WrestleMania. anyways, 8/10

4. Handicap Match: Randy Orton, Batista and Ric Flair Def. The Rock n' Sock Connection in an alright match. 6.5/10

5. Playboy Evening Gown Match: Sable & Torrie Wilson Def. Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie. This was a pretty hot match. I enjoyed it. 7.5/10

6. Cruiserweight Open: Ultimo Dragon Def. Shannon Moore; Jamie Noble Def. Ultimo Dragon; Jamie Noble Def. Funaki; Jamie Noble Def. Nunzio; Billy Kidman Def. Jamie Noble; Rey Mysterio Def. Billy Kidman; Rey Mysterio Def. Tajiri; Chavo Guerrero w/ Chavo Classic Def. Rey Mysterio to retain the Cruiserweight title. I was very entertained and impressed with all of this. 8.5/10

7. Goldberg Def. Brock Lesnar (Stone Cold Steve as Special Guest Referee). This was the Worst Match of the night. Sorry Goldberg and Lesnar fans. But it was very sad. 4/10

8. Fatal Four Way WWE Tag Team Championship Match:

Scotty 2 Hotty & Rikishi Def. Basham Brothers, Worlds Greatest Tag Team and APA to Retain. Not a bad match up. 7/10

9. Womens Championship Match:

Victoria Def. Molly Holly to Retain the Womens Title. Not too bad but not too good. 7/10

10. WWE Championship Match:

Eddie Guerrero Def. Kurt Angle to Retain the title. This was one of the best matches of the night. I enjoyed it. 9/10

11. Undertaker w/ Paul Bearer Def. Kane, this wasn't bad, again, not to good. 7.5/10

12. Triple Threat World Heavyweight Championship Match:

Chris Benoit Def. Triple H and Shawn Michaels to become the new World Heavyweight Champion. This was a great match. I will tie this one with the WWE Championship Match. 9/10

Anyways, overall it wasn't a bad WrestleMania, but not the best WrestleMania ever.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Where It All Succeeded... Again.
Skoveng7718 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
So far, I have not seen the Ultimate WrestleMania, and I probably never will. I think suck a thing is impossible. But WMXX is so far the closest I've gotten to the Ultimate WrestleMania, and it will probably stay that for a long time. Now, at to the analysis of the actual show, I've chosen to do my regular thing when I review here on IMDb.com... I high light the bad and only hint at the good. First match was the US title match where John Cena defeated Big Show. I find it hard to believe that Cena actually held his own as long as he did, and even win. This only proves that WWE's push on Cena is a bit overplayed. (This review is written over a year later, and Cena is still a babyface. Not only that, he's upgraded from US champ to WWE champ!) Next was the World Tag Team Title Fatal Four Way Match. Nothing big, so I don't bother to say anything. The champions, Booker T and RVD, retained the title. Next was Christian VS Jericho. Except for Trish Stratus slapping Jericho's face skin off, nothing really big here either. But Jericho is quite the athlete, so it's not that much of a deal that he lost. (Besides, Y2J usually make those who defy him taste humiliating pain later.) Then, Rock 'n' Sock Connection took on Evolution! Now THIS was THA EVENT! The Rock taking time off from Hollywood to help out Mick Foley after the Hardcore Legend had been taunted and assaulted by Ric Flair, Randy Orton and Batista for weeks. This match displayed nearly all the 'cliches' that each of these wrestlers have (the RKO, Foley's Mandible Claw and sock, the People's Elbow, Flair's strut (which was parodated by Rock as well), the 'bang bang' taunt), high pace, and good variety in styles. And also a rare match since it was a two-on-three handicap tag match. What bothers me, was that Foley, which really deserved this match, did not leave MSG victorious. Still, Rock and the audience gave the Hardcore Legend the standing ovation all the same. The upcoming match was the Playboy Evening Gown Match. I gather that Torrie Wilson and Sable, from SmackDown, knew that the gowns would only be in the way, and therefore stripped them off before the match. Raw's Stacy Keibler (being the Torrie-copycat she is) did the same, but Miss Jackie didn't, and it was obvious that she were troubled by the outfit. She could barely WALK in there!... It cost Raw the match too. Useless woman. Next was the Cruiseweight Championship Open. Many fantastic athletes who showed of a bunch of high-flying, suicidal, @$$kicking, jaw-dropping moves in a extremely high-paced barn burner of a match. Chavo Guerrero, who was champion however, did NOT show off much. He just sat ringside and waited it all out, then went in to beat up an exhausted Rey Mystrio. Coward. The next match... Brock Lesnar VS Goldberg... Well, I'm not going to hide the fact that I had looked forwards to this match long, and had HIGH (like space high) expectations to it. It disappointed me BIG! Some grind hold, some finishers, and that was it? Rip-off!!! Only cool thing here, was when Stone Cold, who acted as the guest referee (quite obvious that refereeing is not Austin's niche in life...), first stunned Lesnar for giving him the bird, then drank beer with the winner of the match; Goldberg, and then stunned him as well. But than again, after Austin retired from active ring action, this is what happens each and every time Austin enters a WWE ring, no matter the reason. But we still looove it, don't we? The WWE Tag Team Fatal Four Way was next. Same as RAW's tag team title match; no new champs. As usual, Scotty 2 Hotty and Rikishi danced to celebrate afterwards. Next was the Hair VS Women's Title match. It did show off some great female in-ring skill, so that's why I got so annoyed over the fact that they ruined it all with this stupid 'shave-Molly-bald' nonsense afterwards. All glory to Victoria though. Great match, dumb idea. The WWE title was up when Eddie Guerrero had to defend the title against Kurt Angle. By cheating (he loosed his boot and included a massive use of the ring ropes), he did survive Angle. Just luck since Angle had dominated most of the match. Finally, it was up for the match I've waited over five years to see; Again, Undertaker and Kane would face off at WrestleMania! Undertaker, which everybody thought was a no-show, entered Madison Square Garden, escorted by Paul Bearer and ten druids carrying torches, and dressed in coat and hat. It was quite clear that Kane had been given the monster that he requested after Survivor Series in 2003, but something tells me that he hadn't quite planned the monster going after him. Kane got completely set out of his game, and 'Taker more or less beat him around the ring and outside as well, for the majority of the match. Kane did put up a good defense at times, but got Tombstoned and pinned at last. I only wish 'Taker would've taken the time for a longer ovation. Last match was the World Heavyweight Title Triple Threat. This utterly oozed smash-mouth style, broken bones and gallons of blood gushing. We were not disappointed. Great show from both Triple H and Shawn Michaels, though none of them won. (Because of recent events, dated June 2007, I have decided to withdraw my comments regarding Chris Benoit because I will not put out any comments about him on the internet that can be used against me in any way. I will neither celebrate nor berate him.)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great, but I've seen better
LG20045 February 2005
I got WrestleMania XX as a Christmas gift, and it was pretty good. It's not the best WM, but it's up there (WrestleManias 17 and 19 were better). Here are my thoughts on the matches:

Contains Spoilers:

WWE United States Championship: Big Show Vs. John Cena

Big Show gave the doctor of thugonomics a couple of good shots, but Cena managed to beat him after 2 FUs. The first one Show kicked out of, but John hit the 2nd one after striking Show w/ one of his Word Life brass knuckles. 4/5

World Tag Team Championship: Fatal Four Way Match: Rob Van Dam/Booker T Vs. Dudley Boyz Vs. Garrison Cade/Mark Jindrak Vs. La Resistance

Decent match, with Booker and RVD retaining the gold. 3/5

Chris Jericho Vs. Christian

Great match between the former friends. The CLB wins after Trish interferes and accidentally hits Jericho, allowing Christian to roll up Y2J for the 3 count. This would be the start of Trish's heel run. 4/5

2-3 Handicap Tag Team Match: The Rock and Mick Foley Vs. Evolution (Randy Orton, Ric Flair, and Batista)

The Rock returns to the ring to team up with Rock and Sock tag team partner Mick Foley. While the Rock electrified the crowd w/ the People's Elbow (and adding in his version of Flair's strut for good measure), he and Foley lose after Randy hits the RKO on Foley (who tried to use Socko). 5/5

Playboy Evening Gown Match: Sable and Torrie Wilson Vs. Stacy Keibler and Miss Jackie

The Raw and SmackDown! divas never cease to amaze me. Even though the 4 of them don't really wrestle, I loved the match. Instead of having to defeat each other by tearing off their gowns, Sable suggests that they all take their gowns off and wrestle without them (in lingerie). All of the divas are all for it, except Miss Jackie, who had to have hers torn off by Torrie and Sable. After a few near falls (some very nice roll ups), Torrie pins Miss Jackie, giving her and Sable the win. 5/5

WWE Cruiserweight Championship Open: Chavo Guerrero Vs. Jamie Noble Vs. Funaki Vs. Ultimo Dragon Vs. Rey Mysterio Vs. Nunzio Vs. Tajiri Vs. Shannon Moore Vs. Billy Kidman

A pretty fast-paced match, but I think it was over too quick. Chavo ends up retaining the title after his dad helps him pin Rey Mysterio. 3/5

Goldberg Vs. Brock Lesnar: Special Guest Referee: "Stone Cold" Steve Austin It's not as bad as some people have said. Sure they didn't do much for a moment, but they started to battle later. Goldberg wins after a Spear and Jackhammer. Austin then stuns Lesnar and Goldberg. 4/5

WWE Tag Team Championship: Fatal Four Way Match: Scotty 2 Hotty and Rikishi Vs. APA Vs. Basham Brothers Vs. Benjamin/Haas

Same comments as Raw match, the champions retain their titles. 3/5

WWE Women's Championship: Victoria Vs. Molly Holly

If Molly loses this, she gets her head shaved. Molly tries to use Victoria's Widow's Peak, but Victoria counters w/ a backslide pin, thus winning the match. Molly tries to escape from Victoria, but it's to no avail. Molly got what she deserved. A very close shave, you could say. lol 4/5

WWE Championship Match: Eddie Guerrero Vs. Kurt Angle

A great match. Eddie and Kurt pulled out all of their best moves in this one. I thought the match was over when Eddie hit the frog splash. Unfortunately, Kurt kicked out. Eddie would retain his title after cheating (unlacing his boot) and rolling up Kurt. 5/5

Undertaker Vs. Kane

Not their best match, but close. It was also a little rushed. Taker's new look is okay, but I prefer his 1999 Deadman look. Kane would fall to the Taker after getting the Tombstone. 3/5

World Heavyweight Championship: Triple Threat Match: Triple H Vs. Chris Benoit Vs. Shawn Michaels

These 3 are some of the best superstars in the WWE today, although I'm not a fan of H-Boy. There were times when 2 of the men would briefly team up (HHH and HBK suplex Benoit through an announce table), but still it was every man for himself. The 3 men gave all they had in this match, and eventually Benoit would win after putting the Crossface on H-Boy, making him tap out. After the match, Eddie would come out and embrace his friend for his victory. 5/5
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It sorta all began again
thehardyboyz204313 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Wrestlemania XX probably had the most hype of any WWF/E event since the first Wrestlemania and possibly XIV as well, and for the most part it delivered. At least some of the matches delivered, I'll run them one by one:

1. United States Championship: Big Show (Champion) vs. John Cena: Good opening rap by Cena, as for the match it was basic, might have helped if Show wasn't battling knee problems and if it wasn't so obvious Cena was going to win. Nice finish with Cena using the knucks and hitting the F-U. 5/10.

2. Fatal Four-Way Tag Team Championship Match: Rod Van Dam & Booker T (Champions) vs. The Dudley Boyz vs. Garrison Cade & Mark Jindrak vs. La Resistance: This one wasn't needed, I like that WWE got as many guys on the card as they could, but this was a pretty boring match. RVD and Booker T retain the Tag Titles, thankfully. 3/10.

3. Chris Jericho vs Christian: A good match actually, went on longer than I thought it would, but that wasn't a bad thing. Plenty of back and forth exchanges, and the finish held a surprise, with Trish turning heel and joining Christian. 7/10.

4. 2-on-3 Handicap Match: Rock 'n' Sock Connection vs. Evolution: A pretty good match, Randy Orton and Batista were just finding their niche at this point, but they both did a good job. It was nice to see Rock and Mick Foley back and I liked seeing Flair wrestle (the fact he could at his age is amazing to me). Finish saw Orton hit the RKO out of nowhere on Foley for the pin. 8/10.

5. Playboy Evening Gown Match: Sable & Torrie Wilson vs. Miss Jackie and Stacy Keibler: Not evening worth talking about. 0/10.

6. WWE Cruiserweight Title Open: Chavo Guerrero (Champion) vs. Jamie Noble vs. Funaki vs. Ultimo Dragon vs. Rey Mysterio vs. Nunzio vs. Tajiri vs. Shannon Moore vs. Billy Kidman: A good idea, though the match wasn't all that good. Nice spot by Kidman performing the Shooting Star Press to the outside and almost snapping his neck. The finish was typical, Rey lost when Chavo got help from his dad. 5/10.

7. Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar w/Stone Cold as Special Guest Referee: This match sucked and the fans watching agreed, it took almost three minutes for the two to lock up and even longer for the match to end. It was great to hear Austin chants while both Goldberg and Brock got booed, though there were more for Brock. Finish saw Goldberg spear and Jackhammer Brock for the win. Nice post-match stunners from Austin to both guys. 0/10.

8. Fatal Four-Way Tag Team Title Match: Scotty 2 Hotty & Rikishi vs. APA vs. Basham Brothers vs. The World's Greatest Tag Team: Not as good as the Raw Four-Way, thankfully it ended quickly. Rikishi and Scotty retained. 3/10.

9. Women's Championship: Victoria (Champion) vs. Molly Holly: If Molly loses she gets her head shaved, well five minutes later she loses. It was a basic match, finish was a backslide pin. The post match stuff was nice, seeing Molly lose her hair gradually.

10. WWE Championship: Eddie Guerrero (Champion) vs Kurt Angle: Good match, though it should've been better. Finish saw Eddie cheat by rolling up Angle and using the ropes. 7/10.

11. Undertaker vs. Kane: Great entrance by Undertaker, until you see him that is. The biker/dead man mix didn't work so well, and it was an okay match. Finish saw Taker hit the Tombstone for the win. 5/10.

12. Triple-Threat World Title Match: Shawn Michaels vs. Triple H (Champion) vs. Chris Benoit: Best match of the night, one of the best Wrestlemania main events ever. It was great to see Benoit make Triple H tap, so that slug finally dropped the title to someone who deserved it. 10/10.

This was a good event, though a few of the matches were lackluster. namely Goldberg/Lesnar & The Evening Gown match. 7/10 overall.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hmmmm,I've seen better
Island_Of_Ireland11 September 2004
Ill keep this short because I'm in a rush,but most of the matches were the material of a regular show,Smackdown right now is a waste of time and space but as for the most recent wrestlemania,there's one match 1 have a very, VERY bad opinion on,no,not an opinion,a FACT.

Needless to say,the match in question is the one Between Brock Lesnar,And Bill Goldberg,This could easily have been the greatest match in WWE history,forget that goddamn Hulk hogan,hes far too slow,here you have two huge powerhouses,Great athletes,Lesnar Being a wrestling champion(easily the best in the world,in any weight,admitted by even kurt angle)

What we get,while waiting for a monumental performance,is a series of shoulder barges,two spears,and F-5 and a Jackhammer....The match was pathetic..Lesnar was capable for so much more,as was goldberg.

As for the Triple threat main event Between C.benoit HBK and TripleH ,this was an entertaining matchup,Nice moves,and NO interference(Its so boring now)

ALL in all,not bad.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
good, but not great
lee_128721 July 2004
Wrestlemania was good but failed to live up to the hype

Match Reviews

**Spoliers**

John Cena vs Big Show: Decent opener crowd was into Cena and nice to see him pick up his first title at Wrestlemania XX 3/5

Raw Tag Title Match: Boring match with little to build up. A shame to see two talented performers like RVD and Booker T stuck in a tag title match 2/5

Chris Jericho vs Christian: One of the best matches of the night and the Trish heel turn was great too, too bad the feud dragged for many months after this 4/5

Evolution vs Rock and Foley: Good midcard match, nice to see The Rock and Foley back in action and Ric Flair's antics were hilarious, love the Nature Boy elbow!!! 3.5/5

Evening Gown Match: Good to look at but crappy wrestling 1/5

Lesnar vs Goldberg: Terrible match only thing that saved it was the New York City crowd telling the two how much their match sucked 1/5

Cruiserweight Championship: Some good action but it was far too short. Such a shame as the cruiserweights could steal the show if given the chance 3/5

Smackdown Tag Title Match: Same as the Raw title match but the crowd was totally dead for the entire match, Rikishi and Scotty are past their prime 2/5

Women's Championship: Decent women's match but Victoria and Molly could have had a much better match than this. Was shocked to see Molly get her head shaved!! 2/5

WWE Championship: Good match but not of Wrestlemania main event quality, nice to Eddie's title reign continue on longer though 4/5

Undertaker vs Kane: Undertaker's entrance was awesome but after that the match was was total borefest with the same boring big man moves, would have been nice to see Kane get the surprise win instead 2/5

World Heavyweight Championship: Awesome match, best of the night. Great to see Benoit get some credit for his hard work and even better to see HHH actually tap out cleanly!! 5/5
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Could have been better?
RagingCajun4 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
**SPOILERS AHEAD**

So much hype but it didn't deliver. That's just my opinion anyway. These are the matches I can remember:

John Cena VS Big Show

Cena had to win cuz if he didn't it just wouldn't be Mania! Pretty okay match to start things up. Big Show absolutely man-handled Cena.Heck,Show man-handles everyone!I must say great acting from Cena when he took that boot from Show to the face. Ya gotta love these wrestlers. I mean they work so hard to make it look as if they are actually hurt!A bit of a heel tactic from Cena by using the chain on Show but let's face it, if it wasn't for that, he wouldn't have won the US title that night.Big pop for the F-U from the crowd.

Match Rating - 7/10

Christian VS Chris Jericho

Oh look another love triangle...how....refreshing. Why does the WWE resort to using soap-opera tactics, I don't know. Stellar performance by Christian I must say. He is really becoming one of RAW's top heels without a doubt. I actually thought Y2J had this one in the bag but then Trish came along. At first I thought she was going to distract Jericho by being hurt & then cause him to be pinned. Well that did happen and more.This was in my view a REAL surprise ending!!

Match Rating - 6.5/10

Brock Lesnar VS Goldberg

This was a sorry excuse for a wrestling match. What the heck happened?!? Before these two nimrods got it on, they stared at one another,ran into one another a few times and basically bored the heck out of me & MSG.For months,I waited for this since Survivor Series. And for what, to be gravely disappointed.

Match Rating - 3/10

Taker VS Kane

Finally The Undertaker is home.Mark Calaway has reprised his role of the deadman and all is well with the world.The match was short and sweet. Vintage taker moments such as him sitting up after being chokeslammed was a sight for sore eyes.Speaking of eyes the famous Undertaker eye-roll is back!! Man when he tombstoned Kane I thought he truly had broken Kane's neck!! Not a stupendous match but a stupendous return.This was the HIGHLIGHT of the whole night!!

Match Rating - 7.5/10

Triple H VS HBK VS Benoit

What a way to end off the evening,by crowning Benoit the new Champ!! Kudos to all 3 superstars on their performances! When Shawn did that Crossbody to Benoit & The Game on the outside I almost fainted. At 38 years old he can still do that?!? Amazing athlete in HBK. Triple H wasn't as dominant as I thought he would be being that he is the brawler of the three. Benoit in my mind, is the closest thing to Marvel's Wolverine in real life. Can you say "Berserker Rage"?!? After being suplexed through the table the guy like he upped the tenacity and was relentless.Great finish in making The Game tap out.And even greater, Eddie Guerrerro congratulating Chris showing so much emotion. Now that match, is what Mania is all about!

Match Rating 8/10

Total Rating - 7/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Bunch of Filler Matches Keeps This from Being an All-Time Great Show
carologletree8 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is a strong WrestleMania, but there are too many useless filler matches on the card that bring the show down. I'm skipping those matches and I'm just reviewing the main matches.

United States Championship Match: The Big Show (c) vs. John Cena - This match was a lot better than it had any right to be. It is interesting seeing John Cena in his mid-card days, and he got good pops from the crowd. Cena wins the championship with an FU. RATING: **3/4

Chris Jericho vs. Christian - This was a very strong wrestling match. The psychology was well-done and they got a good amount of time to build some good drama. Christian wins when Trish Stratus hits Jericho. The post-match was certainly shocking. RATING: ***3/4

3-On-2 Handicap Match: Evolution vs. The Rock n' Sock Connection - This match was a lot of fun. It's just fast-paced action from bell to bell. The comedy bits from Ric Flair and The Rock were great. Mick Foley also did well in his first match in 4 years. Evolution wins with Randy Orton's RKO. RATING: ****

Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar with "Stone Cold" Steve Austin as the Special Guest Referee - Horrible match. This defines the word "boring." Both men were leaving the company after this, and just really seemed to be going through the motions. Goldberg wins with the Jackhammer Slam. RATING: *

WWE Championship Match: Eddie Guerrero (c) vs. Kurt Angle - This was an excellent technical wrestling match. These two had amazing chemistry, and the mind games were great. I also loved the clever finish. Eddie wins after fooling Kurt by unlacing his boot. RATING: ****1/2

The Undertaker vs. Kane - Chilling entrance by the Undertaker. The match itself is pretty disappointing. It was way too short and it made Kane look weak. Their WM 14 match was way better. The Undertaker wins with a Tombstone Piledriver. RATING: *1/2

Triple Threat Match for the World Heavyweight Championship: Triple H (c) vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Benoit - This was a near-perfect match. These three men created the greatest triple-threat match ever. The non-stop action, drama, and atmosphere were absolutely amazing. The crowd was very much behind Benoit, and totally popped when he won. Chris Benoit wins the Championship by making Triple H tap out to the Crippler Crossface. RATING: ****3/4

Too many filler matches and two other lackluster matches keep this from being one of the best WrestleManias, but the good on this show cannot be ignored.

RATING: B
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Where it all Begins Again?"
nick_610019 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
2004's Wrestlemania XX (20) tagline was "where it all begins again" Firstly I'd like to state that WWE did put a lot of matches on the grandest stage of them all. But aye who cares this is WWE's version of the Superbowl.

1. John Cena defeated. The Big Show to become the New United States Champion in a slow and crappy opener to the Show.

Rating: 4/10 ( D -)

2. Fatal 4 Way Tag Team Match for World Tag Team Championship Booker T and Rob Van Dam defeated. Garrison Cade and Mark Jindrak, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray and D-Von) and La Résistance (René Duprée and Rob Conway)to retain the World Tag Team Championship.

Rating: 5/10 ( D )

3. Christian defeated. Chris Jericho in a goodly hyped turning out bad match, match, Trish turned heel and kissed Christian and helped Christian win.

Rating: 5/10 ( D )

4. Evolution (Randy Orton, Batista and Ric Flair) defeated. The Rock 'N' Sock Connection (The Rock and Mick Foley) in a 2 on 3 Handicap Match This match was really good but ended with Orton getting the laugh on the grandest stage of them all.

Rating: 6/10 ( C )

5. Torrie Wilson and Sable defeated. Miss Jackie and Stacy Kiebler in a Playboy evening Gown match, this was pointless.

Rating: 2/10 ( F )

6. Chavo Guerrero w/Chavo Classic defeated. Ultimo Dragon, Shannon Moore, Jamie Noble, Funaki, Nunzio, Billy Kidman, Rey Mysterio, Tajiri, and Akio in a Cruiserweight Open and retained his Championship.

Rating: 6/10 ( C )

7. Goldberg defeated. Brock Lesnar with Stone Cold as guest referee this match failed the expectation with Both wrestlers leaving after the event, Austins tole the moment from them deleivering a stunner to both.

Rating: 2/10 ( F )

8. Too Cool (Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty) (c) defeated The World's Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas and Shelton Benjamin), The Basham Brothers (Danny and Doug) and The APA (Bradshaw and Faarooq) to retain the WWE Tag Team Championship in a Fatal 4 Way Tag Team Match.

Rating: 5 /10 ( D )

9. Victoria defeated. Molly Holly to retain the WWE Women's Championship in a Hair vs. Title Match.

Rating: 4/ 10 ( D - )

10. Eddie Guerrero defeated. Kurt Angle to retain the WWE Championship. Great match that ended with Eddie's boot coming unhooked and then Eddie rolled up Angle for the win.

Rating: 7/10 ( B - )

11. The Undertaker w/Paul Bearer defeated. Kane Undertaker returned with a Huge win!

Rating: 6/10 ( C )

12. Chris Benoit defeated. Triple H and Shawn Michaels in a Triple Threat Match to win the World Heavyweight Championship This match was Match of the Night, Benoit wins the World title for the first time in his career.

At the end of the night Both Eddie and Benoit hug each other and celebrate.

Overall: 7/10 ( B -_

Just too many Matches on the card and too many stars used on 1 show. But still if you haven't seen it you better get it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Possibly one of the best WrestleManias ever!
kriegpaolo_2314 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I read the other comments and were shocked to see so many critics. I actually thought it was great. It was long (I know some people don't enjoy the length), but that's what makes me love it. I think this is one of the few WrestleManias where all champions actually appear. Most of them appear to defend their titles, except for the Intercontinental Champion, Randy Orton, who participated in another match. On top of that, WrestleMania XX has one of the most dramatic WrestleMania endings of all-time. I'll bring up my arguments.

Big Show (c) vs. John Cena - US Title. This was when Cena still had decent skills and when he was still loved by the fans. I thought his skills was so-so back then, I only cheered him few times because of his mic skills (still good as of 2004). Okay, we go on to the match. The match was decent, it was alright. For wrestlers with skills like Big Show and Cena, this is what I'd probably expect. At least. Cena winning with brass knucks and two F-U's not only did put Cena over, but also the Big Show. 7/10

Rob Van Dam & Booker T (c) vs. Garrison Cade & Mark Jindrak vs. The Dudley Boyz vs. La Résistance - World Tag Team Titles. This match was not too bad, sure it might be pointless, but it is quite amusing. I love all the teams (especially La Résistance), but I need to note down an exception. I didn't know what the hell Cade and Jindrak are doing in WrestleMania. It should be someone else, I believe Lance Storm was still around back then, and he should be in there, along with Val Venis. Overall, it was a so-so match. I didn't like it too much, but I didn't hate it either. 6/10

Christian vs. Chris Jericho. This one was really good in my opinion. The two wrestlers performed above their standards, and the match is well done. Combined by the nice pre-match promo and a surprise ending, I enjoyed it a lot. 8/10

Evolution vs. Rock 'n' Sock Connection. This one was highly entertaining (thanks to The Rock and Ric Flair) and the build-up was quite good. I didn't like the idea of it being Handicap Match, maybe Flair should be in the ringside. I also didn't like how Evolution was extremely over in the match. This win was important for Batista and Orton, but at least, they should make it a decent battle. The Rock didn't get to show much, and the match was over when Orton did an RKO on Foley. Hmmm. 7/10

Torrie Wilson & Sable vs. Stacy Keibler & Miss Jackie. Pretty amusing, except Miss Jackie showed such a small wrestling talent. It is a standard Diva match. 5/10

Cruiserweight Open - Chavo Guerrero (c) - Cruiserweight Title. This is one of the best matches of the night. I love the cruiserweight being not excluded from such an important event. So much high-flying actions and a little bit of drama, I really like it. I just hope Paul London was there, but unfortunately he wasn't in the picture. 8/10

Goldberg vs. Brock Lesnar w/Austin as Guest Ref. It was all hype and very boring, yeah, I admit that. It had nice moments in the end of the match, and Goldberg won with his usual combination. Austin did his stunners, yeah, love that. 5/10

Rikishi & Scotty 2 Hotty (c) vs. The World's Greatest Tag Team vs. The Basham Brothers vs. The APA - WWE Tag Team Titles. I always enjoyed the presence of tag title matches like this, I never like the idea of champions being excluded, thank God none did. Well, I love the APA and WGTT. Rikishi and Scotty were highly entertaining, but it's a shame Scotty went on to become a jobber. Other than that, it's a so-so match. 6/10

Victoria (c) vs. Molly Holly - Women's Title. This one was a great Diva match. It has an edgier feel, since Molly's hair is at stake. Both divas performed above standards, and I like it. I was also amazed at Molly, I respect her willing to shave her head in front of an audience. If I were Vince I would give her a title reign, it's a shame such a great female wrestler had to leave WWE. 7/10

Eddie Guerrero (c) vs. Kurt Angle - WWE Title. Another great match. You can never have bad matches when Kurt and Eddie are in the ring respectively. Having both performers in the ring is like an icing on the cake. The build-up was good, and it has entertaining moments and creative finish. As much as I love Kurt, I gotta gave Eddie his due. 9/10

Kane vs. The Undertaker. The build-up was so great and intense. Taker's entrance was fabulous, unfortunately the match is not as good as expected. Taker dominated 95% of the match. 6/10

Triple H (c) vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Benoit - World Heavyweight Title. The best match of the night, and WWE facts say that this is one of the best WrestleMania matches of all-time. Great match, I never got bored watching this over and over again. There was no boring point in the match, plus the finish was great. Dramatic moments and ending. It all fits. 10/10

On top of all that, I recommend anyone to watch this. For those who watched it the first time might get bored, but if you have the DVD, there is no problem in skipping matches, is there?
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7.9/10
MKFederation1 December 2004
Ah, Wrestlemania XX. It certainly got it's share of hype, but I really don't think it lived up to it. It just didn't have that feeling of true blue greatness. But hey, it was still a great show and I really enjoyed it. Get the special DVD if you can, the extras definitely make it worth the money.

Opening Matches: Big Show vs. John Cena for the WWE US championship

An OK ''powerful heel vs underdog face'' match. Nothing special, really. But enjoyable.

6/10

World Tag Team championship- RVD & Booker T vs. Dudleyz vs. Cade & Jindrak vs. Renee Dupree & Rob Conway, La Resistance

Again, nothing special. It didn't have any type of drama or atmosphere to it since it was just a thrown up match. Booker cleans house after the match goes berserk and RVD gets the win on whoever, with a five star frog splash. I'm glad Dupree went to Smackdown! along with Jindrak.

6/10

Jericho vs. Christian

Pretty fun to watch match. Christian gets an upset pinfall after a Trish heel turn. It's an overall fun, good match to see. Fine performance by both men, and it's a great moment when Jericho has the Lion Tamer locked in on Christian, who drags himself out of the canvas and to the outside of the ring, however, Jericho doesn't let go of the hold. Pretty cool.

7.8/10

Mid Card:

Rock n Sock vs. Evolution's Ric Flair, Batista, and IC champion Randy Orton

This was an awesome match! Fun as hell. It's great to see the people's champion of today, Rock, imitating the people's champion of the past, Slick Ric Flair with the strut, and then the Nature Boy payed him back with his own version of the people's elbow, even though it doesn't connect. The ending was a huge upset, IMO. I mean, The Rock and Mick Foley come back once a year, and they lose?

8.7/10

Cruiserweight open- Tajiri vs. Akio vs. Shannon Moore vs. Ultimo Dragon vs. Bill Kidman vs. Jamie Noble vs. Rey Mysterio vs. Nunzio vs. Funaki vs. Chavo Guerrero for the Cruiserweight championship

Pretty fun match. It should've been HUGE, but it ended up just being a fun little match to watch. Jamie Noble really should've won this, he was in the ring the longest, did a move that was risky as hell (senton to the outside of the ring), received a move that was risky as hell (Kidman SSP to the outside of the ring), and he was the only superstar to eliminate three other cruiserweights (Ultimo Dragon tapped to Pay Dirt, Nunzio got counted out and Funaki was rolled up into pinfall). In the end, Chavo retained thanks to the son of Gory Guerrero.

8/10

Lesnar vs. Goldberg with Austin as guest zebra

It was a fine match, IMO. The crowd gave Lesnar and Goldberg one hell of a spanking, especially to Lesnar. It was a pretty slow match, but it had it's moments, like Goldberg's kickout of the F-5, Goldberg's military press into a modified spear (absolutely awesome move, IMO), and the final jackhammer into pinfall by Bill (I'm a Goldberg fan).

7.5/10

WWE Tag Championship- Too Cool vs. APA vs. Basham Brothers vs. Haas & Benjamin

It was better than the World Tag Contest, since it was just overall a lot more fun. Haas and Benjamin do a lot of cool double team moves, I think Scotty was made to look way too strong for his own good, and Bradshaw does a pretty nice clothesline from hell. The finish was too simple though, Rikishi dropped his ass on whoever and got the pin after cleaning house.

6.9/10

Guerrero vs. Angle WWE Championship

Great match. Best match of the evening right up there with the RAW Triple Threat. Great technical wrestling, great power move spots, great tricky move spots... really awesome. And when Angle went for the German to the outside of the ring... that scared the s**t out of me! Eddie retains after a bit of lying, cheating and stealing.

9/10

Kane vs. Undertaker

A waste of time, IMO. It should've been pure, raw carnage. A true blue battle to the finish. The Undertaker gets buried alive, and this is his great revenge? Pinfall after a tombstone piledriver? Wasn't Kane the one that kicked out of 3 tombstones a few years ago?

5/10

World's Heavyweight Title Triple Threat

Awesome match. So much drama, so much technical wrestling, so much power, so much awe... really, really great. And Benoit finally gets the gold, at Mania, and I would have it no other way. You have to see it to believe it.

9.3/10

Overall show rating... 7.9/10. It really should've been wrestling greatness... but it wasn't. Nonetheless, a great show.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The worst portrayal of wrestling since Wrestlemania XIX!
dan0417 November 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Now keep in mind here, I am not your average 24 yr old wrestling fan. I make Adam Sandler in Billy Madison look like an amateur. I am sad to say, however, that this film, among most others of the wrastling nature, was quite a disgrace. I mean I could give more authentic piledrivers to my grandmother Shirley, and she's hefty old lady. In my mind, the Undertaker should have stayed in the cemetery. I mean come on, how many years can this guy actually make us believe that's not really a dead zombie. The one highlight to this wrestlemania was the special appearance by my second biggest idol, Vince, as I like to call him, "The Man" McMahan.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed