The Scream Team (TV Movie 2002) Poster

(2002 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
One of the Best Disney Halloween Movies
theatre8114 October 2002
Okay let me start out by saying that this isn't THE best Disney original Halloween movie (Halloweentown I has my vote), but it comes awfully close. The elements that really bring it together are the three main ghosts: Kathy Najimy, Eric Idle, and Tommy Davidson. They are way too funny! I loved Eric Idle's little jokes ("Oh and where is that, down Sewage Lane?"). The scary part was every time we saw Zachariah Kull. Now he was freaky. Especially in the beginning when the father was telling his kids about him and he looked directly at the camera. All in all, this was a really good Disney original movie. It certainly has the humour, just enough spookiness, and great actors.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cast of star actors
tates00630 August 2004
I think this was a great All Hallows Eve Movie. I originally turned it on because a friend of the family had a main role in it, but I absolutely LOVED the story line. I also loved seeing Kathy Najimy, Tommy Davidson and Eric Idle as the three main ghosts, they make an outstanding team!

The scariest part of the movie was probably at the beginning when Zachariah Kull is first introduced. This movie is all a round funny, but every time Zachariah comes on I get shivers even after seeing the movie a few times.

Kim Coates did an amazing job of keep you scared, and let me tell you he is anything but scary.

I definitely recommend this movie, but beware little children will get scared easily.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good for kids and Eric Idle fans
Calcifer26 October 2002
This movie is good for what it is- a kid's Halloween film. The child actors are acceptable and the adults seem to be having fun with their roles. As always, Eric Idle (Coffin Ed) is a joy to watch, and he gets all the good lines. The CGI isn't too impressive but the kids won't mind. It's not terribly scary but I wouldn't let the under six set watch by themselves. Fortunately, it's a movie that won't have adults tearing their hair out waiting for it to be over. Is it memorable? No, but it's a good ninety minutes of diversion. Grown-up fans of the adult actors might enjoy it more.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's a decent movie for the 7 -11 crowd
tonysgroupie13 October 2002
Though not as good as the Halloweentown movies this was a decent shot at a Disney Halloween movie for the under 12 crowd. Granted the special effects were not big budget it was just creepy enough and funny enough to keep a child entertained for an hour and a half and hey, when you are a tired parent that is really all you want. I happen to like the girl who played Claire by the way.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not that bad...good for the kids.
jmbowsher25 October 2005
My kids, ages 6 and 3, found this movie to be very amusing and just a little bit on the scary side. I found it witty and Kathy Najimi was really pretty cute in this part. And Jumper was a hoot! I do wish that Disney was still airing it during the year, especially in October at Halloween time, since the movie is set at Halloween. I had taped it when it was on at one time, but the tape is pretty much worn out now. It would be nice to find a DVD or VCR tape to purchase or rent for the kids. It would make a great Halloween family video for those that don't go out Trick or Treating. All in all, I found it worth the watch and so did my boys.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"You should watch it!" say my kids!
patrickstibbs10 November 2002
The following reviews are from my kids, Christopher (9), Kathleen (7) and Nora (4):

"You should watch Scream Team! I liked the four ghosts and all the characters and how they try to help each other. If it ever comes out on video you should get it. I thought it was funny." -Christopher

"It was a little scary, but I liked it! It was funny and I liked the end. There was a ghost who threw fireballs, his name was Zachariah. Scream Team was a good movie."

"It's really kind of scary and this guy throws fire. I liked it." -Nora

Okay, maybe I should worry about Nora and the fire thing. But the movie was very good, very well written and a cut above most tv fare. And I agree with Mary-Kate, having Melissa Hart's company behind it obviously helped propel it to a much higher standard. This movie quickly became a Halloween favorite with our family. Way to go, Disney, and the 'team' behinnd the 'scream'! Hopefully, the DVD is forthcoming...
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Family Fare
rscampb4 October 2002
This is an excellent family movie it is well worth your time. Unless you are looking for lots of blood, guts, gore and scantily clad teeny boppers then you'll hate it. Kat Dennings is great as Claire, in spite of the hair and costume, and Mark Rendall is just as good as her brother Ian. Gather the kids pop the corn sit back and be entertained.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Family film
quik_draw11 September 2006
This was a great family film. My whole family just loved it. It is on a lighter side and that is what makes it good. Just shows we don't need blood, nudity, and profanity to make a good film. Disney could of easily made a follow-up film to this one. It could of went on with the kids growing up in the town, dad getting remarried. Also the kids could help the ghost track down some ghost that are missing, this could bring in some really funny twist to the movie with various well know actors as the other ghost. this might change peoples mind to the movie, I mean the ones that didn't really like the movie. I wonder if Disney will ever bring this movie out on DVD. We have been trying to find it, so far without luck.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Supernaturally good
brenda_morris1613 October 2004
Not many movies get my attention but this was one. The Scream Team delivers the goods on the afterlife. The cast and crew did a wonderful job the pace was fast but you were still able to follow along. Eric Idle is a gifted and talented man, Tommy and Kathy are fantastic as well. tell everyone they have to see this movie. Disney movies are great family fun and for a long time they weren't good at all. Movies like the Tower of Terror, and the Haunted Mansion. Most critics although they have journalism degrees and such just don't know what people like and will always try to get us to agree with them. So for a good time watch the Scream Team, and laugh your head off. Because I know what's funny and this is funny.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Probably the best Disney movie they could make
HUGE_Eric_Idle_Fan26 October 2003
I may be the only Eric Idle fan who says this but he was fantastic in this movie! It's one of those movies when you really think....about ghosts I mean. Probably the best Disney movie they can make...I mean COME ON PEOPLE! ERIC IDLE'S IN THIS MOVIE! IT HAS TO BE FABULOUS! ^_^ And it is fabulous!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of My Favorite Movies Ever
Last_Starfighter18 October 2005
I love this movie, I think that it is fun and lighthearted and perfect for the Halloween Season. I LOVE every single Actor that they chose for the parts. It's very funny and I love the plot line. Usually I think TV movies can be badly acted but this one was great, everyone seemed real, true to life. Over all I highly recommend it if you like fun family comedies, and Halloween movies that don't rely on blood and gore to keep you interested. I love the way the family is portrayed in this movie, and the actors playing Clare, Ian and the Father really seemed to click. You could tell that everyone who made this movie had fun doing it. I think people who like Hocus Pocus will like this movie, it seems to run in the same vein...for me anyway.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of Disney's best and scariest movies..yet!
Mary-Kate4 October 2002
Okay so Disney's movies aren't exactly "scary", but this movie is probably the scariest...being compared to both Halloweentown 1, and 2...its great! The cast if funny, and play the parts well. Apparently, they knew what they were doing when they teamed up with Hartbreak Productions (yes, ran by the teenage witch herself, Melissa Joan Hart and mother, Paula Hart. Well thats my 411 on this movie, check it out if ya want. I know I am going to check it out all month. After, all this is October!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very Cute Family Movie
tbro7110 October 2002
My kids loved the movie, although I felt it moved a bit slow. If I put This movie and Halloweentown head to head, Halloweentown wins easily, but it is still worth watching during the Halloween season. No gore, no sex, so everyone can watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Appropriate and entertaining kiddie horror
kannibalcorpsegrinder25 October 2012
In a small-town to bury their grandfather, a pair of kids find the town's celebration haunted by a dangerous local spirit and must band together with several ghosts helping spirits in the afterlife to stop him.

This one turned out to be quite an entertaining and enjoyable children's style horror film. One of the better aspects here is the fact that it tries to ditch the comedy in favor of more traditional horror-related themes and manages to get pretty good at incorporating them. The scenes of the ghost in the underground pit, the first chase through the woods and the encounter in the burnt remains of the former house are all quite exciting encounters that are based around the spirit itself being something to be feared. He's treated seriously by everyone and there's no jokes or gags built up around him, so it allows him to be a serious threat, judging from his actions is well-deserved and gives him a serious aura that's deserving in a horror film. The few injections of comedy are handled by the bumbling ghosts and a few wise-cracks from the kids, which aren't terrible surprisingly and actually add a little bit to the movie's opening when they discover the secret world and how it all works out, and by mixed together with the strong plot that's pretty chilling and could serve as the basis for a more adult-themed effort by removing the ghostly helpers but still save everything else is a strong suit, and really all that's really wrong here is the story's hectic nature, containing a lot of ideas but not really allowing them to each get fleshed out so it feels all-over-the-place, but overall this one isn't that bad.

Rated Unrated/PG: Mild Violence and children-in-jeopardy.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Umm... You mean "The Scream Team"?
theoneandonlytrey5 October 2002
Well, it wasn't too bad. It could have been better, yeah, but Eric Idle, Kathy Najimy and Tommy Davidson keep it from being unbearable... All in all, an okay Disney Original. Maybe not quite as good as some of the others, but indefinitly better than a few... I won't mention any names...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Piece Of Paper You Crumble Up - You Shoot For The Basket & Miss
Jenni220 September 2002
Pass it up - this movie isnt as good as it looks in the trailer - wait it doesnt look good in the trailer. My dad's friend, who's an editor of the film, showed me the film on a real, and it was horrible. I normally looove disney movies, not to mention disney originals, but this one is uh, do i dare say, stupid? Disney was uncreative and couldnt think of a script nor story for the deadline date. Cast was horrible, and they should have got someone else to play Claire. The movie is called The Scream Team by the way.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed