Tom & Thomas (2002) Poster

(2002)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Very enjoyable; a crime it's not out on DVD
cosmic_quest18 August 2004
I watched this on a rainy afternoon in full expectation that it would be another predictable, mediocre kiddies' flick along the lines that those Olsen twins' churn out. Instead, I was very pleasantly surprised by both the interesting plot and the acting of the young child actor.

The story revolves around nine-year-old Thomas who has dreams about his 'imaginary friend' Tom, unaware that these dreams are in fact the manifestation of a psychic bond between him and his long-lost twin brother Tom. Thomas was the lucky twin who was adopted into a loving family whereas Tom grew up in an abusive orphanage. Then the two accidentally meet and it's up to them to break a child trafficking racket that is being conducted in Tom's orphanage.

Sean Bean is excellent as Thomas' father Paul, offering a paternal softness that is rarely required in the characters he usually plays. Aaron Johnson, the young actor who plays both roles of Tom and Thomas, is very talented for a child who very new to acting. He managed to convey the emotions of the story perfectly as well as juggle two accents (something many experienced adult actors can't manage, let alone a nine-year-old child) and two very different characters. It's a shame he's not been in more films since as he's probably qualifies as one of Britain's best young talent. And of course, I can't forget to mention Derek de Lint, who was wonderfully slimy as Mr Bancroft, and Bill Stewart, who was brilliant in capturing the crazed cruelty of Finch.

It might sound contrived but the fact it refuses to delve into the sugary sweetness of your typical American film (there's even a scene where Tom is beaten) and it isn't as predictable as it sounds, with reflection that Tom has problems down to his abusive past, and that is what sets this film aside from other family films doing the 'seperated twin' storyline.

It's just a shame that it wasn't advertised more since it's a film that Britain should have been proud to produce and it's certainly better than many Hollywood family films I've seen over the years.
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly good
p_yanna11 August 2003
I rented this mostly because I adore Sean Bean. It was nice to see him in a film where he doesn't kill people or get killed, for a change.

I expected the typical "twins change homes" tale in the vein of the Olsen twins vehicle I had suffered through a few years back but I was definitely pleasantly surprised. It is not obvious at first that there really is a second boy. The scene where Thomas is feeling all that is happening to his twin is very well directed and stuck with me.

There are some scenes that would probably upset young children. Finch, the wild eyed caretaker of the boy's home Tom is in, is particularly frightening and there are certain undertones of sexual abuse about it (not that anything other than physical abuse happens, but still)

In all, this is a good movie for children. Sean Bean fans will not get an awful lot (though I happen to think ConcernedFather!Sean is sexy)

Mim
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Brilliant!!!
franceseca_orr19 April 2003
This film just blew me away! I thought I'd watch it coz there was nothing else on and I thought it would be you're average kid's film, boy was I wrong! I thought it would be a lame plot with lame acting, but it was the complete opposite of that, it was very well made with an excellent plot and amazing acting! Aaron Johnson is one talented kid...I mean the way he portrayed the completely different twins, 'Tom' and 'Thomas', was terrific, I'm running out of good words so I'm probably going to start getting quite repetitive! Anyway, I loved all scenes in this film, the way it all pieced together, the shots, the music, the acting, the lines, the baddies, the heroes, the emotion, everything seemed perfect! It is very funny at times, and very sad at others, it is very exciting and there is never a dull moment, something exciting is always happening. The film provokes a lot of pity from its audience, probably towards 'Tom' the twin who had ended up in an orphanage. The scenes where the twins share each other's pain, as one of them is being beaten, is very well portrayed and it was one of those scenes that make me appreciate film a lot more, although it is slightly horrific and sad! This is one of the topics which adults would probably be advised not to show younger children, as to the subject of child abuse, although I did see this with my five year old nephew and he seemed to enjoy it, and to my amazement said it was better than toy-story, this coming from a boy who has his bedroom covered with toy-story posters, cuddly toys and pillows! But back to 'Tom and Thomas'! Like most little kid's my nephew just thought there would be a happy ending, because in end everything will be happily ever after, well that's what they think when they watch a movie. I'll tell you it does have a happy ending though. But I'm sure those kid's would need counseling! No matter what happens in a film, whether it's child abuse or not, when it's over and has a happy ending, most little kid's don't really think about it! well all I can say now, well, actually I could say a lot more, but I'll just say that this is one of my favorite films, I don't care if it's kids film, it a very unique, brilliant, inspiring, and one of a kind film. It is also very realistic and superbly and expertly made! It doesn't seem like a child's film, yet can be very enjoyable to children of all ages and unlike a lot of kid's films very exciting and enjoyable for adults of all ages too, just ask my mum, so there you have it, my nephew thought it was great, I'm a teenager and I think it's one of the best films I've ever seen and my mum thinks it is an exiting film too! Oh and I applaud Aaron's acting skills in it, very powerful and great emotion, and he's just one of the best child actors I've seen before...and of course the brilliant director 'Esme Lammers' who shot such beautiful scenes...So I am telling you now you have to and I mean have to see this film!

WATCH IT!!!

Bye, luv Cesca x
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very good underestimated movie
mopar_maniac_0122 December 2002
The movie "Tom and Thomas" recently appeared in the Netherlands on DVD and Video.

Due to circumstances I was not able to view this movie in the theatre. I wish I had, because Tom and Thomas is a very good crafted and impressive movie.

Aaron Johnson as Tom/Thomas was a real good choice by Esmé Lammers for this role. It is one of the most impressive performences in acting I have seen in years. It would be ashame if we never heard from Aaron again. I now understand that he frequently performs at the London theaters in plays.

I hope his acting in the new Jackie Chan movie "Shanghai Knights", to be released in February 2003, will be as impressive, or even more impressive than what I saw in "Tom and Thomas".

Sean Bean also performed well, but I think there was not enough room in the movie for him to use all his talent, which is in fact a pity.

It is clear that the film was made by Esmé Lammers together with her husband Dick Maas (a famous movie producer in the Netherlands).

I personally thought before viewing this movie that it would be a very lovely childrens story, but the are in fact a few very exiting moments. I would not recomment to let children up to 8 view this by themselves.

It is clear that a high standard of craftmanship has been used.

Critics in the Netherlands were not long as enthusiastic about this film as me, but I think this movie deserves much more credit than it has gotten up to now.

Would you like to react on this comment, please feel free to email me
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's a mystery why this movie was not marketed on a larger scale..
wouvin8 December 2002
Being one of the people who were an extra in this movie, I still wonder why this movie did get so little attention, I think the distribution company had a too busy release list to really pay attention to this rather good movie.

Off course he was very concentrated on set, so I did not get to speak to him, but everybody knows Sean Bean as a fine actor, and also Aaron and the rest of the cast and crew did their best.

So that's why I think it's a shame, after so much hard work, that the movie received so little marketing effort. See the movie, it's really nice.

I am grateful for the experience of being a part of this movie, and will do everything I can to make my own movie, which I am currently producing, a great success.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Brilliant!!!
franceseca_orr17 April 2003
This film just blew me away! I thought I'd watch it coz there was nothing else on and I thought it would be you're average kid's film, boy was I wrong! I thought it would be a lame plot with lame acting, but it was the complete opposite of that, it was very well made with an excellent plot and amazing acting! Aaron Johnson is one talented kid...I mean the way he portrayed the completely different twins, 'Tom' and 'Thomas', was terrific, I'm running out of good words so I'm probably going to start getting quite repetitive! Anyway, I loved all scenes in this film, the way it all pieced together, the shots, the music, the acting, the lines, the baddies, the heroes, the emotion, everything seemed perfect! It is very funny at times, and very sad at others, it is very exciting and there is never a dull moment, something exciting is always happening. The film provokes a lot of pity from it's audience, probably towards 'Tom' the twin who had ended up in an orphanage. The scenes where the twins share each other's pain, as one of them is being beaten, is very well portrayed and it was one of those scenes that make me appreciate film a lot more! This is one of the topics which adults would probably be advised not to show younger children, as to the subject of child abuse, although I did see this with my five year old nephew and he seemed to enjoy it, and to my amazement said it was better than toy story, this coming from a boy who has his bedroom covered with toystory posters, cuddly toys and pillows! But back to 'Tom and Thomas'! Like most little kid's my nephew just thought there would be a happy ending, because in end the everything will be happily ever after, well that's what they think when they watch a movie. I'll tell you it does have a happy ending though. But I'm sure those kid's would need counselling! No matter what happens in a film, whether it's child abuse or not, when it's over and has a happy ending, most little kid's don't really think about it! well all I can say now, well, actually I could say a lot more, but I'll just say that this is one of my favourite films, I don't care if it's kids film, it a very unique, brilliant, inspiring, and one of a kind film. It is also very realistic and superbly and expertly made! It doesn't seem like a child's film, yet can be very enjoyable to children of all ages and unlike a lot of kid's films very exciting and enjoyable for adults of all ages too, just ask my mum, so there you have it, my nephew thought it was great, I'm a teenager and I think it's one of the best films I've ever seen and my mum thinks it is an exciting film too! Oh and I applaud Aaron's acting skills in it, very powerful and great emotion, and he's just one of the best child actors I've seen before...So I am telling you now you have to and I mean have to see this film! WATCH IT!!!Bye, luv Cesca x
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprisingly good
adamthompson4 July 2004
I sat down to watch Tom & Thomas expecting nothing more than an average kid's movie, the kind of thing that fills the Saturday morning TV schedules here, but how wrong I was, this was a thoroughly enjoyable movie, a good story that kept your interest right through helped along by an excellent cast, Sean Bean was great as the worried parent, Aaron Johnson was terrific as twins Tom & Thomas he managed to give the two boy's their own character with a strong believable performance which endeared the Twins to us, mix in some good old fashioned baddies and that victorian themed institute which is straight from Charles Dickens and you can't go wrong. This is another of those hidden gem's of a movie that didn't get the release attention it deserved by the distributor and yet provides a far better viewing experience than many so called blockbuster offerings, of course being intended for a younger audience the ending was a dead cert, but I only like movies with happy endings and this scores big time in that respect, maybe the U.K will be treated to a DVD release sometime? 9/10 for this one.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Much better, that i expected
Alien-398 July 2003
When i first learned about this movie i thought that it will be just next stupid story about two separate twins (kids) and i didn't take it seriously enough. Few moths later i saw some DVD captures from it and i did a little research. After i saw all comments here, ratings and stuff, i decided to buy it.

After i saw it, i was very surprised. I knew that it's good movie, but it was much better than i expected. Acting, music, story ... everything was perfect.

Last night, a friend of mine, came to my place and we saw it together. This morning, he came again and told me that he liked it so much that he even dreamed about it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved It!! Loved It!! Loved It!! Loved It!!
btacct12 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I'm just lost for words. This little known movie is an absolute pearl and a forgotten treasure.

One day soon when Aaron Johnson becomes famous, this movie will be re-issued for movie lovers everywhere.

Brilliantly acted by Aaron when he was only 11 or 12 yo (turns 20 in six months. Perfectly played in two roles - one brother with a bit of a common Cocky accent and the other with a posh accent. As well, they each had separate mannerisms. Thomas had a habit of blinking quite a bit. Tom had a few more freckles or less cover-up.

The simple story was just pure magic and difficult to compare with anything else apart from some overtones of Oliver/Twist.

I cannot for the life of me work out why it was not released widely. It was produced for release in the Netherlands which explains the strange change of scenery. Tourist bits around the Thames and the rest in the Netherlands (the orphanage, town house, shops, museum etc.) I think it may have been produced by a Disney company - perhaps they did not proceed with marketing and distribution.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I liked it!
kasper_veters882 February 2002
Tom & Thomas is an standard Christmas-movie (note the release in the Netherlands is almost two months after Christmas). But is very enjoyable because the good cast and direction from Esmé Lammers (long live the queen). if you're looking for a family-movie with a enjoyable story for everyone go see it movie!

7,2/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie a few little errors
rdoetjes11 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
First of all a splendid performance by Aaron Johnson, I personally see him as a top performer look at movies like the Thief Lord and The Illusionist and he's a real nice character as well.

It's really obvious that this movie isn't a true English movie, you can tell by the colours and the way how the images are composed. The Dutch way of film making is apparent but it's the best movie from Dutch soil thus far. With brilliant mixed British and Dutch cast and a thrilling story which suits both parents and children alike.

The only noticeable rather annoying things that's wrong in this movie is the fact that the film plays in London (shot on location which is rather unique these days). But when Thomas gets abducted and is brought to the airport to be send to Nairobi we see them driving on the A40 towards Heathrow/Gatwick (all okay there). However the scenes shot on the airport are shot at Amsterdam Schiphol airport. You can tell by the little posts near the entrance of the animal terminal where Tom's brought in. And the scene with Mr Bancroft and Finch in the car which is obviously shot in the Schiphol parking garage (you can also hear the announcer). I've worked and roamed around Schiphol and visited many airports in the UK and I know one airport from the other a dodgy unnecessary inconsistency. And the fact that you're not allowed to drive your motorcycle on the Southbank is a bit of a joke. The theme music is a bit weird I don't know what the Dutch have with harmonica music, it gives me the creeps, next time a nice guitar or piano would be better. (But hey everybody's a critic).

Aaron plays two great roles, I love him in his Tom character his cockney like accent and the cheeky eyes. The making of this movie is also a nice extra on the DVD. You can see the great improvement in Aaron when you see his screen audition.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect Film
oganes12 January 2004
This is a very interesting movie for little children and adults. This movie is about Tom and Thomas two twin brothers that have no idea of each others existence. But they both have an imaginary friend one has Tom the other has Thomas. When one is in trouble the other feels it. So one of the twins Tom is in an orphanage and the other lives with his dad Sean Bean (not his real father) that adopted him. Well Tom runs away from the orphanage and lives outside for a while until they both suddenly meet each other. He doesnt tell his step dad about his brother until... Then you see all the adventures they go through and all the things they do.

This is a very good movie maybe my summery is not that good but you have to see this movie to understand what I mean.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thoroughly enjoyable
griz-259-17510029 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I won't re-hash what other proponents of this movie have already said so well. I wasn't expecting a lot and got far more than I expected. Sean Bean's quieter role as a concerned parent was bang on. He added huge depth to the movie without stealing the thunder . . . which quite rightly belongs to young Aaron Taylor-Johnston. The whole movie few or flopped on the acting skills of this young man and it flew. He so competently played two different characters that I had to check the credits the first time actually thinking they had cast twins for the roles. His reactions particularly as Tom retreating from gestures of affection were powerful, revealing hints of his abusive past. Also powerful, were his periods of absentia when he was sharing in Thomas' dire flight from the baddies and eventual capture. And personally I found it very amusing when Tom lost composure and hurled a bit of a curse at his father followed by a totally believable "Sorry Sir!". A very talented, very young actor. It is a movie well worth a watch: and I disagree with the assessment that it doesn't have "enough energy" to be a children's movie. My thought is that we've endured too many Disney-type movies with with an energy-level geared to an ADHD child slamming back Red Bulls!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great to See Sean Bean Being a Dad and NOT Dying at the End!
msteven72 November 2012
I'm a huge fan of Sean Bean - from his snarly villains to his hero/anti-hero roles - and I'm working through all of his films one by one. It's a pleasure to see him play an ordinary man coping with loss and a rambunctious son who has an "imaginary" friend. Sean is tender and bemused and distracted and hits every note of perplexing parenthood just right. I do wish he'd play more of these sympathetic roles - in fact, I think he could do comedy quite beautifully, but that might be the die-hard fan in me talking. Aaron Taylor-Johnson is wonderful in his first film role and cleverly switches accents and characters with great ease. Inday Ba was a find for me too - believable and stunning - what a shame she passed away in 2005. The villains have just the right amount of sleaze and downright evil to make you want to boo out loud. The film made me smile and was such an unexpected pleasure that I really would like to give it a 7.5. Too bad it wasn't more widely released.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cloying and Boring
MikeyB17934 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This is bad. It's predictable and Boring with a capital B intended. The two child actors are cloying. The adults are even worse. The story becomes sillier as the film progresses. At the end of the movie one of the kids is hanging from the wheel of an airplane during takeoff in a vain attempt to get audience attention. But really the resolution of this film was of no interest to me after the mid-way stage.

The fast forward button was pushed several times. I couldn't figure out what was more mundane the dialogue or just the characters themselves. Aside from the paintings that their father is making there is little else to hold your interest during this movie, I've had more fun watching bowling.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring.
JuniorReviewer26 December 2013
With terrible acting from all age groups, a terrible story and awful characters it's no surprise this cliché ridden snooze fest will be less than a foot-note in film history. Despite the main actor's future success as Dave Lizewski in Kick-Ass (no, I'm not even joking) this move sure didn't do wonders or show any acting ability. It's not his fault considering his age at the time, but still, with the right direction, it could have been a lot better. As could the accents. Despite Johnson's English roots, he is still much more believable as an American. I don't know what they did to this boy to twist his accent so much, but it sounds like an American 9 year old making fun of English accents. The adult talent is not much better. I loved this movie when I was three, but since then, I've grown to realise just how boring this movie is.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed