Rush Hour 2 (2001) Poster

(2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
397 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
fantastic fun
snow0r18 April 2006
I've seen this film a few times now and it always makes me laugh. It's a great blend of action and comedy, and Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker seem to work really well together because they act total opposites and play really well off each other.

The plot's fairly basic with the standard sort of Hong Kong police story about drugs and revenge, but the two fish out of water characters (Chan in LA and Tucker in HK) just make it really enjoyable. The fight scenes are pretty cool (I really liked the one with the locker doors in the casino) and Tucker's jokes with that high pitched voice are just really funny.

It's just a really fun action-comedy movie that is really enjoyable. Can't ask for more than that.
64 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I've seen it 4 times, and it still makes me laugh!
Smells_Like_Cheese3 September 2001
Rush Hour 2 is one of those rare sequels that turn out to be either just as just as much if not equally more hilarious than the first. This summer, I had several opportunities to see this film and of course took those chances because I just couldn't stop laughing at this film, no matter how I knew what would happen in the next scene. It has great humor and great chemistry that we haven't seen between two actors since Mel Gibson and Danny Glover.

Carter and Lee are back and starting off where the first Rush Hour left off and that's in China. Carter is expecting a dream vacation full of "mushoo's" a.k.a girls! Lee is standing in the way of that though taking on his old cases, including finding out about a counterfeit scam, and finding out who killed his father. He fools Carter several times, but together eventually team back to discover that you just "follow the rich white man" back to America and end up working undercover with the sexy Isabella Molina. But things get deeper as Lee finds out that the counterfeit scam and his father's killer might to be connected.

Rush Hour 2 is one of the funniest movies I have seen, not to mention one of the best movies of the year! I was extremely happy to see this movie and I cannot wait until the DVD! Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan are just amazing and I cannot wait until the third Rush Hour release, I just know it'll be a great one!

9/10
106 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Too funny and comical!
dy15819 June 2006
Maybe being Jackie Chan with one of the best Asian celebrities who really make it big in Hollywood and really brought honours for us here in Asia, I knew I was in for a great time when I first watched this movie. Also when I was growing up, his movies were those which are at times on the television here.

It was like four or five years back I saw this on an projector at the school hall of my alma mater, as part of the school's post-exam activities. Really, I almost laughed myself silly as I was watching with my other peers then. Like many of us, we grew up watching Jackie's trademark kungfu moves and his amazing stunts which often made us all in awe on the movie screen.

Jackie and Chris Tucker's chemistry just clicked with each other. And watching Zhang Ziyi playing a bad girl, it was like - whoa! Watching some of the movie scenes being played out in Hong Kong somehow brought back some memories for this person who grew up watching some of those Hong Kong TV dramas (with subtitles and Mandarin dubbing) on the television here. Looking at some of those scenes, at times I wondered how really the western world will see Hong Kong. But given many knew who is Jackie (he is from Hong Kong himself actually), I knew it's a relief.

The two guys are just real funny between each other. But when it's time for those kungfu moves and the stunts, it always excite me. It's always like that.

Definitely really funny. Prepare to laugh in stitches.
35 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
TERRIFIC SEQUEL!!!! BETTER THAN THE FIRST!!!!!!!
rchrdshelt8 September 2003
I saw the first Rush Hour and didn't know what to expect when i watched it at a friend's house. I watched it and thought it was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I was glad that it was something fresh and new as the Lethal Weapon movies (Which I also thought were excellent!!!!!!!) had finished and i thought that it was even better than them. Then when i heard that they were making Rush Hour 2 I couldn't wait until it came out, however i was worried that it might not be as good as the first as very few sequels are these days, but i was not disappointed in the slightest. I laughed all the way through this movie and even more than the first one. Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker are perfect for the roles and both are excellent throughout the movie which has even more humor than Rush Hour 1. Rush Hour 1 is still excellent but i think Rush Hour 2 has to be funnier having watched them both hundreds of times. I cannot wait until Rush hour 3 comes out!

I highly recommend this movie and Rush Hour 1 to all action/comedy fans out there!
46 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
fun sequel
Buddy-5129 January 2002
`Rush Hour 2' is a highly enjoyable follow-up to the original 1998 box office smash. Like the previous film, this first of what will undoubtedly be a long line of lucrative sequels combines sardonic humor with eye-popping martial arts action sequences to entertaining effect. Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan repeat their roles as unlikely cop buddies, starting off the film in Chan's home territory, Hong Kong, and finishing up in Tucker's, the good ole US of A.

Chan, with his sheepish deadpan delivery, makes a perfect straight man for Tucker's fast-talking bad brotha wiseacre, whose mouth engages in more heavy-duty action than Chan's karate-chopping hands and feet. Much of the humor is generated by Tucker's ability to seem totally unflustered by any peril that happens to come his way, managing to sass talk his way out of one dangerous predicament after another. Moreover, Chan's ability to create humor out of perfectly choreographed stunt sequences puts him right up there with some of the silent comedy greats like Chaplin and Keaton. The split-second perfection of these scenes, combined with the balletic grace with which they are executed, makes him one of the truly unique talents working in movies today. Luckily, in his move to mainstream American filmmaking, Chan has been able to find behind-the-scenes talent good enough to match his own. The screenplay by Jeff Nathanson, though no world-beater when it comes to originality or depth, does posses a playful spirit that works well in the context of the genre. Likewise, director Brett Ratner keeps the action percolating along at a lively, often dizzying clip.

As with most Chan films, however, `Rush Hour 2' seems to go on for about a half hour too long – even though its running time barely clocks in at a very short 90 minutes. Perhaps this type of material really can't be sustained much beyond an hour before the repetitiousness of it begins to take its toll. However, that is certainly a minor quibble about a film that, for the most part, provides plenty of laughs, some kick-ass performances and action sequences that, as per usual for a Chan film, will, quite literally, make your jaw drop. .
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Formulaic but fun!
bob the moo25 January 2002
James Carter comes to Hong Kong for a holiday with Inspector Lee. However at the same time a bomber is striking key American targets. Carter and Lee get drawn into an investigation into a counterfeiting ring run by Ricky Tan and his new partner Hu Li. Before long their up to their necks in trouble again.

The story doesn't matter because basically it's this - Carter talks funny to somebody while Lee is distracted, it then all kicks off and Lee does lots of fancy moves, it then moves to a different location and the pattern repeats again. Essentially that's it - but it doesn't matter, it worked the first time and it works again here. The story is better than the first film's, although the twists don't work as well as they think they do.

The main improvement since the first movie is that there's more fighting action. In RH Jackie Chan's fighting was toned down to make room for Tucker's comedy. In RH2 Chan is allowed to have much more action and the addition of Zhang Ziyi ups the ante all the more. Tucker still gets to do his big-mouthed comedy and have plenty of banter between him and Chan, be sexual with girls and fight. It's not breaking new ground but it's quite fun.

Chan and Tucker are very good, mainly because they're having fun and comfortable with each other. Lone adds class and menace as Ricky Tan and Sanchez adds spice as the beautiful Isabella. The best addition is Zhang Ziyi - she doesn't have any character but she can certainly move! The cast also has very funny cameos from Don Cheadle and Jeremy Piven - adding laughs and class.

The only problem with the film is that it is so very formulaic and is just a simple crowd pleaser. Some of the banter is a few steps off racism (`I'll kick you back to Africa') and much of Tucker's ogling is borderline sexism. However it's all so very polished that you don't notice.

Overall it's a very entertaining blockbuster. The only problem is this - the funniest bits are the outtakes, shouldn't it have been in the film?!
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another Hollywood successful sequel
fernandez_198918 December 2006
A lot of comedy in this movie, which makes this movie so entertaining, from the beginning to the end. Lots of action in such different places, like Hong Kong, Los Angeles and Las Vegas. It is very interesting to follow the storyline through those different cities. The LA's skyscrapers are always spectacular in any movie. Jackie Chan is well as usual and Chris Tucker seems to be inspired, except when he is talking in Chinese language!

Chris Tucker is a great American actor and we like him as an example of a good patriotic American.

Inspector Lee and Carter are an awesome duo, they seem to be the only thing in this movie, but the kick in Carter's face from Hu Li makes clear it is not so. Zhang Ziyi is a perfect complement to this couple. John Lone is very credible in his role. And American actress Rosalyn Sanchez is a stunning surprise.
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun film with big personalities and plenty of action
mstomaso29 December 2005
Action-comedy legend Jackie Chan teams up with the amusing Chris Tucker in this off-beat sequel to the 1998 hit, Rush Hour. Both actors create likable characters with slightly more depth to them than the average comedic archetypes. Tucker is a loudmouthed clown from the LAPD, and Chan is a quiet, methodical Chief Inspector from Hong Kong. Not just racial stereotypes, their characters are developed just enough to make you want more from them - particularly Chan's.

The plot begins to develop in earnest about 1/3rd of the way through the film and takes a few predictable twists and turns until reaching a climactic conclusion. John Lone plays Chan's father's former police partner and the leader of the Triads - a huge Hong Kong gang. He plays his character like a Chinese Chris Walken and, along with Ziyi Zhang, his beautiful but psychotic partner, provides a nice dramatic balance to the lunatic Tucker and straight-man Chan. The story evolves to expose a counterfeiting plot in which the Triad, the US Secret Service, and others are all somehow involved.

Chan and Tucker have great chemistry and, with a good supporting cast, they make this sequel work. Rush Hour 2 is a fun, lightweight action film suitable for teens on up.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The 2nd Rush
stamper19 November 2001
Some might say, hearing about Rush Hour 2: ‘Not another sequel! / Not another cop buddy film!' and so on. But with these kinds of films, it is not so much originality at all. It is about being entertained. I mean going to this film and wanting to see something original is like going to see The Bridges of Madison County and rooting for violence, massive shootings, flying body parts and intense profanity. Either way: THAT WILL NOT HAPPEN

Almost all things being equal, there were only two things that could screw this one up (actually three). The script or the actors. The third thing I was talking about is actually something that was in the original Rush Hour as well. Chris Rock. I have seen a handful of films with him now and find him a bit annoying at times. but this time I did not feel like that at all. Either I have become immune to his overdone behaviour all the time, it has become less worse or I'm simply getting to the point in my life where I'm accepting the fact that there are people like that in life. Either way, I thought he was better than in for instance Money Talks (and maybe even the first Rush Hour). Anyway the other two things that could have seriously screwed up this film were the script and the actors, but I must say that although the film was not too original, the story held up very well and so did the actors. The reason for that is probably that the tone of the Rush Hour films has (so far) been more comedic. It is not supposed to be serious, it is supposed to be more like Die Hard, with a couple of big explosions, a lot of fighting (less shooting than in Die Hard here) and jokes. Well as in the first one the jokes were delivered well, from beginning to end, including the bloopers. As far as the film went, I must say I thought the ending was great and I also enjoyed the last two bloopers very much. This film proves that, if the jokes and the acting are good enough they even can make up for small losses in story quality and other bad things, like action film clichés. It is kind of funny that there are films in which clichés can be really disturbing and ruin almost your whole film experience. In others however (like in this one) clichés are present, though they not ruin your experience of the matter at all. I guess it is all in the approach of the material and the cast and crew involved.

Jackie Chan (as Inspector Lee) did was he is supposed to do in this film, be funny and do a lot of fighting. There were a few difficult stunts here but not one that really made my jaw drop to the floor. I would never say this was due to the ageing of Chan like others do, because I do not know whether that is true and second of all, I did not mind that there were a few less ‘jaw dropping stunts'. It did in no way hurt the film.

To finish it all of, I have to give credit to Roselyn Sanchez, who did a great job on this film. I could just not figure out if she was supposed to be one of the ‘good guys', or the ‘bad guys'. It had nothing to do (at all) with the fact that she is very pretty. By the way, was that really a Snoopy tattoo??? I could really not tell and it wasn't because I was looking elsewhere! No, it was just, that the cinematographer did not zoom in enough. I wish he could have brought things to my attention better! Anyway, I really meant what I said about Roselyn Sanchez, both that she could act (and fight!) well and that she indeed looks very pretty. Talking about pretty (yes, AGAIN), where the hell do those filmmakers get all those pretty women? I mean if I would have been in the same situation as Carter (Chris Tucker) in the film, when he was in the massage parlour, I would have probably done the same thing. My eyes would have popped out (and probably my jaw would have dropped and my tongue would have fallen to the floor as well). DAMN. Really good of (actresses?????) people.

To get back to the film, I would really appreciate it, if the makers could bring back Roselyn Sanchez for Rush Hour 3 if they'll ever consider making another instalment. Although I don't think they have to consider, Rush Hour 3 will definitely be happening. So, Jackie and Chris: BRING IT ON FOR RUSH HOUR 3!

8 out of 10
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Worthy 'Blackinese' Comedy Return
amahlanand12 June 2012
If Chris Tucker's James Carter gallivanting in Hong Kong doesn't sound appealing to you, surely, you didn't see 'Rush Hour'. The dynamic 'Blackinese' duo return and they do so with a bite.

We now have the situation completely reversed with Carter venturing into the unknown and Lee guiding him for the majority of the film. Carter's interactions with the locals and clashes with the more calm Chinese culture compared to his audacious, egocentric personality are really the highlights yet again. As I said, a hardcore African American making his way in Hong Kong is bound to be a laugh.

Yet another stellar script and consistent directing from Brett Ratner help to ensure this sequel doesn't bomb out. A little less realistic, but then again, if you are familiar with 'Rush Hour', realism isn't the first thing on the agenda as much as action work and comedy play. The script was a little less compelling this time and seemed to be driven with a lighter direction in mind although it was interesting to learn a little more of the backgrounds of our two leads.

Chris Tucker's loudmouth antics just about match up to his brilliant show in the original, his dialogue is as fresh, smooth, fast and excessive as ever. Oh, and did I mention as funny? He dominates the screen once again, takes charge and gives you his typical impulsive on-screen persona.

Jackie Chan reaffirms his reputation as one of the world's best film stuntmen. His stunts yet again were terrifically executed and he was well supported by 'Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon' star, Zhang Ziyi. The 'bamboo scene' was comparable in awe-worthiness to the 'convention center' finale scene in 'Rush Hour'. Again as the more sensible and sedate Inspector Lee, his partnership with Tucker is as good as ever and the interplay once again is just plain, good fun.

We also saw a shift in the love interest angle with the introduction of the seductive, sexy secret service agent, Isabella Molina played by Roselyn Sanchez. Her allegiances mysterious, she really sizzles in her role. Now that the duo finally have a beautiful woman to fight over, any guesses as to who wins?

If I don't give this 5 stars, it's simply because in some respects, it's a rehash of the original, in the same way in which you would deem Lethal Weapon 1 better than Lethal Weapon 2 or Beverly Hills Cop 1 superior to its successor. If you did however enjoy the original formula, look into this. As I said, it is the same old thing in some ways, but in others, the Tucker-Chan combination still find ways to surprise and entertain. And yet again, do not miss the bloopers.

P.S. Also don't miss Don Cheadle in surely one of the strangest roles you will see an African American man play. But a credit to him for it, he was outstanding.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Rush Hour 2" proves a hundred times more entertaining than its 1998 blockbuster predecessor.
zardoz-138 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Actor-comedian Chris Tucker cracks me up every time he tells a joke. He captivated me the first time that I saw him clowning around as the character Smoky in director F. Gary Gray's riotous 'N the Hood' farce "Friday" (1995) with Ice-Cube. Tucker attained outlandish heights with his unforgettable coiffure and his loose-lipped loquacity as the ridiculous Ruby Rhod in director Luc Besson's sci-fi extravaganza "The Fifth Element" (1997) with Bruce Willis. Anybody that supports the American Rifle Association should praise Tucker, too. In director Brett Ratner's "Money Talks" (1997), the Tucker hero, Franklin Hatchett, summed up his philosophy about guns. "Guns don't kill people," Hatchett ranted, "Stupid motherf*@kers with guns kill people!" Probably the giddiest moments of director Quentin Tarantino's "Jackie Brown" (1998) featured nappy headed Tucker arguing with villainous Samuel L. Jackson about climbing in the trunk of Jackson's car. Tucker has rejected movie offers left and rightly largely because nobody wanted to pay his asking price. No matter how astronomical Tucker's salary demands may have seemed, Ice-Cube definitely blew it when he left Smoky out of "Next Friday." As a result, "Next Friday" pales by comparison with "Friday." New Line Cinema, which produced the "Rush Hour" thrillers, learned it lesson from Ice-Cube's disaster. Mind you, Mike Epps is funny, but he isn't Chris Tucker funny! Nobody could possibly fill Tucker's shoes in either "Next Friday" or "Rush Hour 2!" They paid the Def Jam stand-up comic from Decatur, Georgia, a whopping $20-million so he would reprise his "Rush Hour" role as LAPD Detective James Carter opposite Jackie Chan in director Brett Ratner's turbo-driven sequel. Producers Arthur Sarkissian, Roger Birnbaum, Jay Stern, and Jonathan Glickman spent their bucks wisely. The comedian chemistry between Tucker and Chan, surely the oddest couple of mismatched cops ever, has lost none of its spontaneity. Altogether, "Rush Hour 2" proves a hundred times more satisfying than its tame 1998 blockbuster predecessor.

"Rush Hour 2" opens in exotic Hong Kong as a bomb explodes at the American Embassy, and two translators die. The Royal Hong Kong Police suspect Triad chieftain Ricky Tan (John Lone of "The Last Emperor") may have had something to do with the bombing. They send Chief Inspector Lee (Jack Chan of "Shanghai Noon") out to question him. Riding with Lee is none other than LAPD Detective James Carter (Chris Tucker) who is trying to enjoy his vacation in Hong Kong. Lee tries to make contact with Tan at a karaoke bar while Carter decides to hog the microphone and croon Michael Jackson's "Don't Stop Till You Get Enough." Carter thought they had entered the bar to pick up girls, and he isn't amused when Lee tells him that they are supposed to be undercover. "We are in Hong Kong now," Lee reminds him. "Here I am Michael Jackson, and you are Toto!" A disgruntled Carter corrects Lee's malapropism. "That's Tito, fool. Toto is what we had for dinner last night!" No sooner has Lee revealed his true intentions than Carter decides to roust the Triad gangsters with his fractured Chinese. "You just asked them to take out their samurai swords and shave your butt!" No matter where Lee takes Carter, they wind up surrounded by thugs out to kill them. The best scene in "Rush Hour 2" takes place in the Heaven on Earth massage parlor. Lee spots Ricky Tan as he strolls and goes to call for back-up. The impetuous, egotistical Carter decides he can handle Tan alone. He realizes what a dreadful mistake that he has committed when Lee and he battle an entire army of Triad henchmen. The Triads don't kill our heroes. They strip them naked and leave them to fend for themselves in Hong Kong traffic.

Happily, not only does "Rush Hour 2" boast more cleverly kinetic kung fu combat scenes for Chan, but also "Speed 2" scenarist Jeff Nathanson's screenplay concerns an international smuggling ring rather than a child kidnapping case and the thief of Chinese cultural artifacts. Don't get me wrong. Nathanson has contrived an action comedy as formulaic as they come. Clearly, nobody wanted to tinker with the surefire hit so they have beefed up action, plot, and characters while keeping the same situations. When Lee and Carter aren't bickering, they are kicking the crap out of the opposition. We know nothing on earth will prevent our heroes from triumphing over the villains, but the situations are funnier than before. In "Rush Hour," Chan's Chinese cop played the fish-out-of-water in Los Angeles. In "Rush Hour 2," Carter is the fish-out-of-water in Hong Kong. Carter's run-in with a street vendor trying to butcher a chicken for him is a real hoot. Moreover, the adversaries pose a greater challenge. Actress Zhang Ziyi, who electrified audiences as the martial arts maiden in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," excels as a despicable dragon lady who enjoys kicking Carter in his jive-talking mouth. Urbane Jon Lone, who hasn't played a villain since he menaced Christopher Lambert in "The Hunted" (1995), registers strongly as the treacherous Ricky Tan. The plot twist is that Tan once served as a Royal Hong Kong policeman; in fact, his partner was none other than Lee's murdered father!

"Rush Hour 2" proves a hundred times more entertaining than its 1998 blockbuster predecessor. Director Brett Ratner keeps the action balanced between Chan and Tucker. Pitting Ziyi against Tucker was a stroke of genius. Ratner wastes no time getting things going at a gung-ho pace and never lets the plot obstruct the action with complications. The opening combat sequence with Chan scrambling up bamboo scaffolding and battling several bad guys lacks the energy that Chan himself might have given had he been at the helm. Ratner redeems himself with the massage parlor fight. This is the fight that they'll have to top in "Rush 3." At age 47, Jackie Chan seems half his age, performing front and back flips while using ottomans and trash cans as weapons.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hello Benjamin!!
buzznzipp199528 July 2006
I knew it! I just knew it! That they would end up in Lee's side of town. Very beautiful scenery there. A fast paced world. All the better for a 'fast mouthed' James carter to be, more women to get attention from!! Another adventure has already started, before they even know it. Lee is on the case again, in his town, but of course, James just wants to 'Par-tay' "I want some moo-shoe man!" Carter quips, "Oh you are hungry?" Lee inquires to his friend and guest. Nope! Carter is looking for some 'action' of the female species, again. Always. They are getting literally no where until, they reach The 'States' again, and it all takes off! On the trail off a cold-blooded mafioso killer. These two are to naive to be scared, well at least one of them anyway. The pressure is on and getting hotter, they take a lead that gets them through into a semi-truck all tied up. When they figure on their demise in this situation, thanks to Lee's insight, they work had and break-free!! Along the way of breaking from it, they accidentally stumble onto a load of C-notes hidden in some artistic statues. Carter sees them and picks up a couple

exclaiming "H E L L O -B E N J A M I N !"

As they roll into Las Vegas, they do an outstanding job of following, not without being seen though. When they head into the casino, Carter gives a brilliant diversionary performance all followed by dancing like 'Michael Jackson' on the craps table, with a big cowboy hat on, yes it's like Michael Jackson...at a ho-down!! James is impressive though at the 'craps' table. He takes quite a bit out with him in the end. Well, I mean he isn't going to retire on it but he does have a lot of fun with it. Before he makes it out, the evil-dragon lady attempts to kill him she lunges at him with a sword sticking it into his chest! As he recovers he realizes, after reaching into his jacket pocket that it was the 'c'-notes in his pocket covering his heart that helped to save him from being run-through and he gleefully exclaims, " Thankyou -Benjamin!!!"

And with out a doubt, Carter and Lee are solid again, in this comedic tale of the Red Dragon lady and samurai warriors from the hood, in Las Vegas.

I love these guys! Even my little infant son would like them because both Carter and Lee exclaimed that they love 'Snoopy' too (the Tattoo on the female agent 'Isabella' that they were watching)

Can't wait for '3' I recommend this 'warmer' than even the first, East meets West comedy team. (****)
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Rush Hour 2
jboothmillard28 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
If you liked the loud mouthed trash talking black guy and the smashing stunt performing martial arts Chinese guy in the first film, then this sequel's good too. Detective James Carter and Chief Inspector Lee (Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan) return for a second rush, Rush Hour 2. A deadly gang are destroying buildings with bombs, and Carter and Lee (originally on vacation) are assigned to find the gang. Lee has the past haunting him during the process, because the gang leader, Ricky Tan (John Lone) killed his Dad. Carter is funny at being loud talking, and Lee is good at all his stunts. Also starring Zhang Ziyi as Hu Li, Roselyn Sanchez as Isabella Molina and Harris Yulin as Agent Sterling. Jackie Chan was number 41 on The 100 Greatest Movie Stars. Good!
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Always good for a laugh
socccer_boy3 May 2019
Funny movie, I've watched it maybe 20 times and I laugh like I've seen it for the first time
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They're back and better than ever.
tater117 August 2001
I don't know how the critics can put this one down. But who can blame them? I guess they have a pretty boring and dull life to not be in hysterics by the end of this movie. Now the original Rush Hour continues to be one of my favorite movies, but I think Rush Hour 2 will move up there pretty soon. Basically all of the most hilarious jokes from the first one have been ironically modified to make them even more funny in the second one. And who can look past the fight scenes? Jackie Chan has created some of the most intense and entertaining fight scenes for this movie. So my basic verdict is this: the "professional critics" are wrong--this movie is awesome. I highly recommend it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better Than the First
BrohmaBull00729 January 2006
This movie is very enjoyable. Tucker's comments are toned down and ease the pain of the first movie. Chan once again does a great job of doing awesome stunts. This movie takes place in Hong Kong so it also adds to the fun. They also stop by LA and head to Las Vegas. Chan and Tucker have great chemistry in this film. The bad guys are more believable here than in the first. Chan and Tucker provide hilarious moments. The fight in the massage parlor is THE best fight sequence I've ever seen not to mention the funniest. We gets some new characters that provide some hilarious moments. Like I said before the villains are better here and they also have a better plot. The plot is existent throughout the film and it adds to the nice pace of the movie. You'll enjoy this one more than the first. Cant wait for Rush Hour 3.

9/10
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Kick Butt
Deeply_in_luv20 November 2001
Jackie and Chris make RUSH HOUR 2 a success ( not forgetting Bret Ratner and other cast and crew of course). Lee and Carter are back together again and this time the tables are turned. Rush hour 2 is mainly funny on the text. Especially Chris Tucker, everyone complains about the racist jokes but then it`s what makes the movie funny I`m not offended by it. Rush hour 2 is funny really Funny. If I had a ranking it 9/10. This one is way better than the first one.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not as good as I'd heard it was, but Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker's chemistry and Chan's martial arts makes it worth watching!
MovieAddict20164 September 2002
The above sums it up pretty much. It's a bit better than the first, and the martail arts sequences with Jackie Chan as always were a pleasure. And surprisingly enough, Chan and Tucker have very good comedic chemistry. One of those weird facts of life I guess. 3/5 stars-

JOHN ULMER
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Hot Hong Kong Chicks
whpratt11 February 2006
Jackie Chan,( Chief Inspector Lee) invites Chris Tucker,(Detective James Carter) to a nice vacation in Hong Kong and they start off doing exactly what James Carter wants to see, a room full of gals to choose from and then the gals join you for a nice rub down and a relaxing hot bath along with other special services offered. It is at this point in the film when all kinds of problems start to take place, and the bad guy who is in on all sorts of rackets comes face to face with Inspector Lee and the stunts and all kinds of action is enacted through out the entire picture. There is great photography around Hong Kong and more action than you can handle. Enjoyed this film more than Rush Hour #1.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More laughs with Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker
Tweekums21 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
As this sequel starts LAPD Detective James Carter is in Hong Kong visiting his friend Chief Inspector Lee, of the Hong Kong Police. There plans are interrupted when Lee gets a call informing him of a bombing at the US Consulate General; which killed two agents investigating smuggling. He soon establishes a link to Ricky Tan, a Triad leader who had previously served in the RHKP as the partner of Lee's father… who he murdered. Lee confronts Tan on his yacht; it looks as though he is about to ask for protection when he is shot by Hu Li, a beautiful female assassin who worked for him. Carter notices a LA based billionaire hotelier on the yacht so assumes he must be behind whatever Tan had been smuggling. Lee and Carter head to LA, where events lead them to Isabella Molina, a secret service agent they'd first met in Hong Kong; she tells them that she is looking for printing plates for making 'superdollars'; near perfect forged hundred dollar bills. Further events lead them to Las Vegas where they must confront the smugglers.

After the success of the first Rush Hour movie a sequel was fairly inevitable. Often sequels are a bit disappointing but thankfully this one was as much fun as the first. The Hong Kong setting for the first half of the film provided plenty of good excuses for amusing incidents as Carter misunderstands the culture or fails in his attempts to speak Chinese. The story is solid enough with a good twist towards the end. As well as lots of laughs there is plenty of impressive action; this is all impressively choreographed. Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker have a good chemistry as Lee and Tucker; each bringing something different to the film. Zhang Ziyi really impresses as Hi Li; she may not say much but she is great in the action scenes. Overall I'd certainly recommend this to fans of the original film and I look forward to watching 'Rush Hour 3'… I hope it is as good as the first two.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fast Paced Fun
Darth_Voorhees7 March 2003
Rush Hour 2 is very funny. The plot is great. Chris Tucker is so funny in this,some may say he can't shut up,but that's what makes him funny. His main job is to back up Chan,and with that he does a wonderful,job and makes him seem funny. I really like the adventures Chan,and Tucker go through,it brings them from China to America. Really good idea. Fun.

4.5/5
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
my notes
sstrunks-052451 July 2019
Classic comedy with so many funny moments. chris tucker was hilarious and jackie chan is hilarious and a BEAST (about 6 viewings)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best movie ever made
arjunpatrickchib21 January 2019
Probably the best duo of all time. Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan have some of the best chemistry ever seen on film. One of the few instances when two leads bring out the best in each other. This action packed adventure will have you laughing til you dorp.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I want some Mooshooo!
melizsabonghn27 August 2018
My second time watching RH2 and I swear this duo still make me laugh like crazy I think I peed my pants a little. If you're not watching this, then what the hell are you doing?!???!?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ever green and ever best
nemalichandu25 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
If you're looking for an action-comedy packed movie, well this is one of those movies. Jackie Chan and Chris tucker making one of the greatest and funniest combinations with seemingly brotherly relationship has made the movie a world wide success being the sequel to the movie Rush Hour. Brett Ratner beautifully makes up the symmetry for both the movies and presents before us, an excellent piece of movie, whose every ounce is filled with hilariousness. Lee and Carter are off on vacation to Hong Kong where the former suddenly gets to know that the antagonist, Ricky Tan is involved in a suspicious bombing of American Embassy. But knowing Carter, who always wanted a mu shu even if there's a catastrophe, tricks him into a bar disguising the issue to him as a big party and that's where starts the "revolution". Lee and Carter are on to catch Ricky Tan and are always on the loosing side, sometimes getting stripped butt naked but also sometimes getting to enjoy the pleasures of Chinese massage. The Kinetic energy of Lee and the dynamic mouth of Carter, which can also thank Benjamin , always gets you off the chair , both for laughing and for a wide opened mouth to the stunts of Jackie. All the way through the movie you can see why one can't separate the comedy in Jackie's heroics and Tucker's blasters while they seriously chase Tan. This movie is a complete ripper of stomachs and an ever green classic without an 'F'.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed