Disappearing Acts (TV Movie 2000) Poster

(2000 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The Reality of Love for a change
Headbiscuit11 March 2003
As much as I love a good romantic comedy, I must say that it was refreshing to get ahold of a great romantic drama. Nice to see that sometimes things don't always go smoothly like in the movies, and that some films are in touch with the people of reality. I loved the love/hate relationship of Wesley and Sanaa. They both played the parts so well, and my goodness.... wash my eyes, ears, and mouth with soap, cause the love scenes were off the chain.

I love Sanaa for many reasons, and she didn't let me down in this film. Once again, good to see an empowered woman in a decent script. Also nice to see a brotha that's not some high powered exec being able to get with a good woman. I'm rather tired of the old sucessful young man with a snob, and falling in love with the girl next door. This new, up-and-coming women falling in love with the man who made her floors is unique and a winner.

Despite ups and downs, in which I'll admit, I was very into the film and the characters - I was very pleased with the movie at its conclusion. It was not an outrageously perfect ending like too many movies I've seen, but had a real life tone to it. A feel good movie in a very different way.

One of the aspects that really drew me into the film was the musical soundtrack and the excellent use of photography for the film. There were several key scenes in which I thought the photography was so instrumental in providing me the viewer a different view of situations. Bravo to all involved in that process. As well, the music was superb, with a lot of great slow jams.

This movie isn't for viewers who don't enjoy romance/drama... it was in some sense a bit much for me, but I still enjoyed the film very much. Gina - another great film, Sanaa - I enjoy no actress more, Wesley - came through in the clutch. 8/10
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Makes Me Want to Read the Book...
Sundown3055 January 2001
I was a bit skeptical when seeing the previews for this movie, but it was well worth the two hours it took to watch it! Instead of the cheesy, one-sided, pro-independent-Black-woman, anti-Black-male film that I thought it was, "Disappearing Acts" was a refreshing, well-made movie that both men and women (and not necessarily just African-American) can feel. This is because the movie 1) was actually believable, 2) related to a lot of true events in this day and age that aren't really exposed much without being sensationalized, and 3) had two strong leads in Sanaa Lathan (Zora) and Wesley Snipes (Franklin)...

I think that the supporting cast could have been a bit more utilized (more so with Zora and Franklin's respective families and parents), but that is overshadowed by a powerful, emotion-stirring performance by Sanaa and Wesley. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone looking for a true-to-life, devoid-of-unneeded-drama-elements movie that you can really feel.

If this movie is half as good as the book (which everyone is telling me it is), then I shall be off to Waldenbooks for a sneak peek.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Snipes is back!
johnny-14319 June 2001
At last, Wesley snipes starts to fulfil the promise he showed us in The Waterdance. It seems like he stopped acting for a while to become an action star, and here he proudly reclaims his ground as one of the finest actors on screen today. Sanaa Lathan is great as well, in a lovely small story of a relationship. That's all it is, and yet it holds and moves. The supporting actors are all great too- I particularly liked Regina Hall. The music is terrific- did she sing it herself? and the direction and script are all top-notch. Well done!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The universal story, well told on a low budget
colcam29 November 2000
Very well written, cleanly told, the story of relationships in the year 2000 reveals that things really have not changed radically, but instead have only evolved slightly. Centering on a relationship that is nominally black, it could have been refitted as any ethnic group without changing it in any vital way. Snipes proves he is a great actor, Sanaa Lathan shows that she has tuned and toned her skills during the last five years and is ready to join the ranks of the "name" actors, and the supporting cast behaves almost flawlessly.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The story of two mismatched star-crossed lovers that try to make it all work until...
dfryer11 December 2000
The story of two mismatched star-crossed lovers that try to make it all work until... Real love, Real life a sub theme of the movie tells the story. As has been showing up in the movies lately a great trend of showing the realities of middle class African Americans without the violence or gang nature of past films. The movie was a very good depiction of the bestseller novel of the same name written by Terry McMillian. As in her other movie depictions the sub-characters are 1-dimensional but the main characters are fully 3-dimensional. Wesley Snipes and Sanaa Lathan captured fully the spirit of Franklin Swift and Zora Banks of the book. They each turned them into visual believable characters that we had praise and sympathy for.

Thanks to HBO and Wesley's Amen Ra Productions we now have another African American love story. Love Jones lead the way and it took almost 3 years for Love and Basketball to follow. We want more!!!!

Sanaa Lathan continues to delight her fans by creating characters that are so real and approachable. She knows how to woo you in. The girl has skills, acting skills that is. This was a good vehicle for her sophomore leading role. Her commanding control of subtle use of facial expressions, sighs and body language are perfect for a part that calls for conveyance of thoughts without language. Again as in Love and basketball Sanaa goes beyond the basic 9-5 operation of the job, she put on 20 lbs for the role. (And still looked fabulous) This truly shows her dedication to her craft and desire to give her best. She again teams with director Gina Prince-Bythewood. I am officially classifying them as the "Dynamic Duo for the African American Woman in Film." Keep up the excellent work ladies, looking forward to your next project.

Wesley Snipes gave us another side of himself as well. I found more passion and venerability in this character than his Jungle Fever or Mo Better romantic characters. Clearly his line: `The love was always real Z. It still is so there is no bad timing' was the best line of the movie. It gave us hope for a new and improved relationship for Franklin and Zora.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Three Words for This Movie: Ex-cel-lent
camraman14 October 2001
It's not often you can sit and watch a movie that deals with real life situations and the writer and director present the script to the viewer in a believable fashion. But this movie was well done and a well thought out script. Wesley and Sanaa played off each other's character well. The background songs for various scenes were "on the money." I even found myself shouting, "Don't do it!" to Frankie (Wesley) in the most critical moment during the hammer smashing scene. I know, it's just a movie. But I love it when the creators of a movie can get me and my emotions involved. It's then when I feel they've created an excellent movie.

I'm glad that the characters, Franklin and Zora (Sanaa) were allowed to be real. Both had dreams and desires. Both had obstacles to overcome. Trying to obtain those goals while maintaining a new relationship, we found, can be difficult.

It received a resounding 10 from me. I definitely recommend this movie.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Lovers before career moves
IrockGswift11 February 2003
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was good but Zora and Frankin should have been more supportive towards each other. At first Franklin helps her move, the next minute they having sex up against the refrigerator. Then Frankin finally tells her that he's still married and has two kids. Which doesn't matter to Zora because she claims she still loves him. Till things started getting rough for Zora and Frankin. Zora had a baby on the way with her music career on the line and Franklin is now unemployed. The situation left Zora vulnerable and learning Franklin is becoming irresponsible all she had to ride on was her music career. To which it didn't fall through. Zora started to realize that Franklin was becoming a burden and told him to leave. In the beginning Franklin told her that work for him wasn't steady and he had few opportunities because he never finished school. Although he landed a union job and took the risk of losing it because of alcohol drinking. But when he did landed the job he wanted a little affection,and she was at the time thinking about herself. Both of them didn't support each other's interest,and that's what caused them to fall short of their dreams. They never really got to know each other. They only grew infatuated with how great they made each other felt in bed. Neither of them discuss their future together and their plans for the baby. But at the end of the movie Franklin shows up at Zora's door to see the baby. She seems reluctant to let him in,though she did and they told each other that they finally reached their goals. As Franklin was leaving she invites him back. Truly a happy ending,but this is an example of becoming lovers before anything else.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Snipes is back!
johnny-14319 June 2001
At last, Wesley snipes starts to fulfil the promise he showed us in The Waterdance. It seems like he stopped acting for a while to become an action star, and here he proudly reclaims his ground as one of the finest actors on screen today. Sanaa Lathan is great as well, in a lovely small story of a relationship. That's all it is, and yet it holds and moves. The supporting actors are all great too- I particularly liked Regina Hall. The music is terrific- did she sing it herself? and the direction and script are all top-notch. Well done!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Enjoyed it!
QKnown11 December 2000
Warning: Spoilers
A Well-made adaptation of Terry Mcmillan's novel brought to life by Wesley Snipes & Sanaa Lathan as lovers, Franklin and Zora. Both give in very believable performances as both lovers and commited workers to society.

Even though the novel went into more depth of the quality time that was spent between both Franklin & Zora, I was left dissapointed by the book's ending. Even though the film practically ends the same way, there is a VERY nice twist *Spoiler* (involving a family member) that had a brought a huge smile to my face and all of a sudden I did'nt want the film to end.

Much like the previous film made by the same director Gina Prince, LOVE AND BASKETBALL, this is a movie that I sure won't mind seeing again.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
As real as you can get!
H-MAN-310 December 2000
This was a well-made movie for those who want to see how a relationship is formed & broken.Wesley Snipes plays a struggling construction worker who one day wants to be a contractor falls for a music school teacher played by Sanaa Lathan who wants to be a singer.The two quickly fall for each other.But as the months go by,things fall apart as they both struggle to maintain their personal goals.Snipes shows in this picture that he can be very charming.It was good to see a softer side of his acting ability instead of the usual action-adventure he always plays.Lathan was very convincing in her part & I hope this movie will put her career up.A must see.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Gina Prince Bythewood comes of age
Profiler-16 August 2001
Finally this movie has arrived in the United Kingdom after much good reviews from the United States.

Snipes and Lathan give great performances. Director Bythewood certainly keeps the movie at the right pace, hard to believe this is her second picture after "Love and Basketball" We should all expect great things from her in the future. I enjoyed this having read the book by Terry Macmillan. Beautifully shot and acted, could have done with deeper roles for John Amos and CCH Pounder but above all a good picture. 8/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
No where as good as the book.
Ozyre Cekda7 January 2003
The book is way better and much more interesting. Of course most movies that are based on books are nearly as good as the book. The problem with Disappearing Acts is that it moved too fast. And there is hardly any chemistry between Sanaa Lathan and Wesley Snipes. Sanaa is great as Zora. But Wesley is hardly believable as Franklin. There were a gazillion other black actors out there that would've portrayed the character more true to life than Wesley Snipes. His acting in this movie was fake and if you go back and read the book and then watch this movie, you will see that he is not Franklin at all. Disappearing Acts is entertaining enough to watch, but the book is way better.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outstanding Movie!
danceability-18 February 2011
The title alone captures the intimacy of this movie. Sanaa blew me away first of all with her singing voice, it was her wasn't it? Wesley played a good role as always. Both of their attitudes seemed so real, like I was watching two people live their completely opposite lives, right next door to me. I never would have thought this movie would be this good. I applaud the movie producers, actors and HBO for promoting this. It is well worth the money and time. It is something every couple, whether your Afican American or not, should take the opportunity to watch. You can learn a lot from watching positive movies like this.

danceability Amsterdam Holland
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see by anyone who have good taste in movies.
aaimsrep-mayan19 November 2010
Disappearing Acts for me was the best movie i have ever seen and trust me it is. My problem with love movies most of the time is the fact that they are often and most times too fictional, but Disappearing Acts was far from that.This movie delivers in all aspect of the word. Its about a young women Zora who movies into an apartment where she meets Franklin a man who was working on her floor lol. At first i thought that these two as a couple would not work out but as the movie progress you get that sense of connection between them remember opposites do attract, and its this difference between them that makes them coming together more special and romantic. I don't want to give too much away but let me say this! i truly love it when a movie provides wonderful sex scenes and trust me Disappearing Acts gives you just that.The love scene especially the last on was amazing i could not stop my body from trembling it was that good and so real. I've got to give props to Sanaa and Wesley for their wonderful performance and for being so real, they made these scene so real and i loved that. all in all this movie comes together perfectly, expect a few laughter, tears and a lot of love a movie worth seeing.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An Effective TV-Movie with a contemporary and believable take on relationships.
Isaac58556 March 2008
DISAPPEARING ACTS is the 2000 HBO TV movie, based on the novel by Terry McMillan (WAITING TO EXHALE)that examines the relationship that develops between an uneducated and unemployed contractor (Wesley Snipes) and a music teacher/aspiring song writer (Sanaa Lathan) becomes extremely complicated when he gets her pregnant but is unable to support her. Sadly, this movie is an excruciatingly real look at relationships between black couples in society today (and before anyone calls me a bigot, I am black)...two people drawn together by sexual heat and think that this enough to keep them together until the realities of a relationship begin to rear their ugly heads, such as the the woman becoming primary bread winner and supporting both her and her man, but not wanting to give up the sex either. Not to mention the fact that these people are from two completely different worlds...Lathan's circle of friends are all intelligent folk with jobs who feel Lathan is being dragged down by a relationship whose only glue is sex. What happens between Snipes' Franklin and Lathan's Zora is not pretty, but it is undeniably real. It should also be mentioned that one unique aspect of McMillan's novel is that it is written in first person from Franklin and Zora's alternating points of view...one chapter is written by Franklin and the next by Zora, throughout the novel and this fresh perspective of looking at what happens to these people from both sides is lost in the film; however, Snipes and Lathan have never been sexier on screen and it is their chemistry that makes this movie watchable, even if you do end up taking sides, and, trust, you will end up taking sides.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Film
ROCKAFELLA7110 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
A person commented that Wesley was no Franklin as compared to the book. But you have to ask the question, how many movies were made from books where you pictured the character from a book the same way he is portrayed in the book? That is why I see the movie first and than read the book. The other way around and I know I will not enjoy the movie. I loved this movie not just because I'm secretly in love with Sanaa but mainly because of the use of music to the scenes. I thought Wesley did a great job for the character he played but I do agree that the scenes went to fast. There should have been a little more build up to the first intimate scene. I wish I could meet a lady and turn her on like that lol. But seriously I loved this story which shows love isn't always smooth. But she should have been more upset at him for trashing her place.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Finally, a real urban romance!!
abajoue23 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "Disappearing Acts" a couple of times on HBO back when it 1st came out, and I bought the DVD several months ago. I must admit that, at first, I was a tiny bit skeptical about whether I'd like a made-for-HBO movie. But I should have known that the "Dream Team" of Gina Prince-Bythewood and Sanaa Lathan (director & lead actress of "Love and Basketball") would deliver the goods. From the beginning, this movie just felt REAL - no glossy sets, clothes, etc. Just the genuine simplicity that you would find in the homes/lives of everywoman or everyman. This lack of unnecessary trappings allowed the characters to take the spotlight, and made their struggles seem really genuine and believable.

As usual, Sanaa Lathan lit up the screen with a natural talent and presence rarely seen nowadays, especially among younger actresses. She demonstrated incredible acting range in this movie, conveying Zora's initial infatuation, lust, and ecstasy, which gave way to pain, frustration, hurt and, ultimately, forgiveness and reconciliation. Wesley Snipes gave a surprisingly good performance as Franklin. I had previously only seen him in action movies (Blade, etc.), but in "Disappearing Acts," he showed his ability to break out of the action-hero box. While a more "conventionally-handsome" actor could probably have been cast as Franklin, I don't know whether he would have done the job here. Wesley has always been good at playing characters that are more significant by what they don't say rather than what they do. That was a good fit for the role of Franklin, with his multiple demons and insecurities. Plus, Sanaa and Wesley had a strong on-screen chemistry that made you understand why Zora and Franklin found it so difficult to let each other go. (That refrigerator love scene practically melted my TV screen!) Casting an absolutely stunning "GQ-type" black actor to play Franklin probably would have been a bit truer to the look of the character as he was portrayed in the book, but there's no guarantee that a beautiful male lead would have generated the same sort of sensuality that made this movie so riveting. And when it comes down to it, you can suspend disbelief on looks if the acting and vibe between the actors are strong enough. Chemistry and on-screen charisma can't be faked.

I thought that the movie was pretty true to the book, although, naturally, there was artistic license taken here and there. The movie did a fine job of getting across the book's message that although lust/passion are easy, forging a real relationship takes work and sacrifice, even if it means letting the person you love go so that they can deal with their own issues. I think that many women (and men) can relate to what it's like to get into a co-dependent relationship where both parties lose themselves to some extent (hence the title of the movie/book). Overall, this was a very good, well-acted movie, which did the book justice.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Straight edge romance that dealt with real probelms.
diamonds1980us13 October 2003
I thought this movie was very well written and plotted out. Here you have two characters that are dealing with real issues. Here we have Zora trying to get her music career off the ground. Working as a music teacher and trying to fulfill her dream. The object of her desire Franklin is a high school drop out doing construction work. Franklin is married and has two teenage sons an does not tell Zora about it until in the middle of the relationship. Once their love affair begins to come together things begin to happen that makes them split up and have to achieve their goals on their own and come back together an work on their relationship. This is the type of the movie you watch when your home alone or with the person your in love with. A very movie an i would recommend people to either rent it or buy it for their movie collection.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Worst Side of Relationships
amanipn8 December 2006
This is a movie bout the very worst side of relationships, made even worse by the characters 'black power' attitudes, suggesting this is the way all relationships between African-American couples work. I could never understand why the smart, sassy Zora would even be attracted to a selfish, insolent child-man like Franklin. It almost seems like the filmmakers are trying to make a comment, and the comment is that young, black women are so desperate to have a boyfriend that they'll put up with just about anything, just so long as they're tossed the oft-abused and misused words "I Love You". On top of all this is the casting of beautiful, charming Sanaa Lathan as Zora and, well, let's just say the aesthetically-lacking Wesley Snipes. Their mismatched casting just makes Zora's decision seem even more desperate. Skip this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Poor Adaptation
mel_anie_985 June 2006
I rated this a 4 because of several factors including the casting of Franklin, and the overall movie based on the book. I don't expect the movie to replicate the book, but I do expect a good adaptation, which this movie was not. Had they cast Franklin more like he was in the book then I would the rating would have gone up at least 2 numbers. There is Zero chemistry between Sanaa and Wesley. Franklin is supposed to be a large, handsome intimidating Black man, but Wesley is a small Black man who, in this movie at least, was NOT handsome in the least. From what I've read in the book, Franklin's pleasing appearance is supposed to be something that kind of held Zora in place as his woman. It's mentioned several times throughout the book. Though it was not the only thing, it was certainly a large factor. In this movie Snipes was made to look kind of ugly, so that was a downer. He was also supposed to be an alcoholic, something that did not translate well in the movie. On the whole, the movie did a poor job of showing the journey of this woman, man, and their relationship. There are so many ways in which this movie went wrong that I'm not going to spend my life naming them. I didn't expect a replica of the book, but I did expect a good adaptation, which I did not get. The one good thing that can be said about this film is Sanaa Lathan's performance. When I think of the character Zora I think of someone who looks like Sanaa and she performed the role just as I saw it in my mind.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hooked from the start
knitpicker2k15 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I found this movie while surfing the channels and was hooked from the start. I don't know any of the actors and have never read the book. I thought the couple had tremendous chemistry and acted their parts perfectly. The families of Zora and Franklin were well-cast and believable. The only criticism I have is regarding Zora's 2 girlfriends;I felt their portrayals lacked subtlety. Elements of the story were very familiar to me and heartbreakingly true to life. I will certainly read the book now, and this is one movie I will watch again and recommend to friends. (I hope this is not a spoiler): Perfect baby casting too.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
question about title
jerriannc20054 February 2006
When I first saw this movie on cable(not sure which channel) I taped it. I believe the title was Couple au defi. As a month or so went by, I didn't see it listed under that name anymore, then I happened to see the name Disappearing Acts, checked it out and was shocked to find that it was the same movie I thought was of a different name. Does anyone know anything about this? Perhaps it was the name of the book? Also, I posted earlier a question about the song Zora sang in the studio. I would love to know the name of it, who actually sings it and where to find it. Don't want much do I? If anyone can help with any of my questions I'd be very grateful. I really did like this movie and just to watch Wesley do anything is good enough for this white girl! Thanx, Jerri
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not as good as the book, but you've got to love Sanaa Lathan
ccmoore10 December 2000
First of all, I have to make an admission; I love Sanaa Lathan (forgive me Omar Epps). She is a beautiful woman, but not in the intimidating movie star way. In a sense, she epitomizes what can be called the "Black Pack," the group of young Black actors and actresses (Sanaa, Omar Epps, Morris Chestnut, Nia Long, Terrence Howard, Regina Hall, Taye Diggs, Monica Calhoun) that are intertwined by being in virtually every quality Black movie in the past two years. It must be said that she's on the verge of being recognized as a great actress. Unfortunately, her role as Zora Banks won't be remembered as the one that put her over the top. The movie was decent at best with very little in the way of character development. The on-screen chemistry that was so successful for Sanaa and Omar in Love and Basketball (or for that matter with Taye Diggs in The Best Man) simply never materialized between Sanaa Lathan and Wesley Snipes. It seemed to rush through things, and left much to be assumed. Having read the novel, I thought that this was EASILY Terry McMillan's best, and would have made an excellent movie. However, the character development and detail of the novel simply didn't transfer well to the small screen. Therein lies the problem; had this project been given the resources and exposure of How Stella Got Her Groove Back and Waiting to Exhale, then I'm confident that this would have easily been the best of the McMillan movies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Could have been better
tiffybopj8 October 2001
Sanaa was great, and would have shined if she would have had a better leading man. The scenes with she and Wesley Snipes looked forced and very unnatural(except for the scene at the refrigerator, which was nice). I may have had a better watching experience if I didn't have the book to compare it too, but that wasn't the case. The book is one of Terry McMillan's best books but the movie was making me cringe. The role of Franklin would have been better served with an actor like Morris Chestnut or Henry Simmons, someone a bit taller and better looking than the bald Snipes. Wesley Snipes with a bald head was nasty! And the movie, wasn't nasty, but it wasn't as good as it could have been!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Little to praise and little to fault.
=G=9 December 2000
"Disappearing Acts" is a well told story about the bumpy road to love and understanding trod by a somewhat mismatched NYC couple with Snipes as a blue-collar laborer and Lathan as a music teacher. The film does everything right but does not show us anything we haven't seen many times before. In the final analysis one can only nod and yawn.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed