Poor White Trash (2000) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
36 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Mr. Addis and Urban nail the local area
slugdriveruh113 February 2005
I was interested to see this movie, because I grew up in Southern Illinois and ran around in Benton as a teenager. Yes, I was a Carbondale Saluki and I believe I know some of the people Mr. Urba and Addis based their characters on. The scary part of the movie is (even if other didn't like the acting of the cast) that really is how most of the people in the local area act. Here's some trivia, local people were mad because the title of the movie was changed from something nice to something degrading, accurate, but degrading. I am also wondering about how Mr. Addis got so many good actors to be in a low budget, bad movie. I know the film has no A-list stars, but I wasn't aware that the actors in it were so disparate for work. Even a Malkovich was involved in the production. Luckily, the only good thing about this movie was seeing Jamie Pressly in the same frame as the old stomping grounds and the fact I don't live there anymore. Stay down and dirty, Slugdriveruh1
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Cult Classic!
rabiddog673 October 2001
Last weekend, I bought the DVD for POOR WHITE TRASH even though I had never seen or heard of the film. The movie description and my admiration of Sean Young was enough to convince me, and I am glad I did. POOR WHITE TRASH is hilarious and off beat, in the like viewing pleasure of flicks like HEATHERS, RAISING ARIZONA and FARGO. Sean Young is terrific and the other cast members, especially William Devane as a sleazy lawyer, are great, too. If you like the Coen brothers or David Lynch, you need to get this movie.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious Trailer Humor!!!
dsp56816 June 2003
This is the epitome of white trailer trash movies. Nothing else comes close. Where else can you find a lawyer with a law office in a mall with a name like "Ron Lake's Land 'O Law"? If you're looking for a good laugh without having to follow the plot, then this is your movie!!!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Production
rowland-1612 September 2005
This movie was shot almost entirely in Franklin County, Illinois. When the crew came to town they told authorities their working title was Good Morning Sunrise. The locals anxiously cooperated in the production, including use of police uniforms and equipment to use of the Courthouse at night for filming courtroom scenes. (Although the Franklin County Courthouse in Benton was used for interior shots, exteriors were taken in front of the Jackson County Courthouse in Murphysboro. Many local officials auditioned for bit parts, and I was personally disappointed that a local police chief that had a noticeable stutter wasn't cast. When the movie came out with it's title Poor White Trash, the locals were infuriated and the film was blasted in the local papers. A side note- Mr. Snack's is an actual restaurant which was closed at the time of the film. It has since reopened and still stands on Route 14 in Christopher, Illinois. And one of our county judges proudly displays an autographed photo of M. Emmett Walsh.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Smart comedy
warth24 March 2002
With a name like Poor White Trash, this movie easily could have been mistaken as a low-grade comedy with stereotype characters telling stupid jokes. Instead, it develops characters as real people, with few cliches. Yes, there is a trailer park and trailer trash, but that is the real world, and real people live there. The writers do not make fun of their character's living condition, but rather use it to help understand them. The young men live in a world where stealing cheap beer and chasing cheap girls pass for culture, and they understandably want out. You're rooting for them, especially when things start to go wrong. Oh, and it's funny, and even poignant. Jaime Presley is beautiful and Sean Young is sharp and witty. To her credit, she's not afraid to play a woman her age, and she does so with dignity and grace. Buy the DVD and impress your friends with it in a few years when the young cast become major stars.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I felt right at home with the characters. Great Kitch Flick!
cherry_cola_137 December 2004
If I ever get homesick when I move to Chicago, all I need do is pop this in. We don't live far from southern Ilinois, here. The characters are so expertly unpolished as to make one forget they are watching a movie and not sitting in their neighbor's trailer. I could smell the greasy fries and burgers in the fast food joint they 'robbed', and even felt the need to wash my face and hands after the 'oh so could be me or a neighbor' bungled murder scene. The absurd desperation and nefarious persistence of most of America's less than fortunate, but quite numerous population of us 'Poor White Trash' was funny without insulting, for it showed we have quite a drive to thrive no matter what! Thank you for the snickers and snorts! Cherry Cola

A must see for the kitch lovers, airstream clubbers, or just plain folks, an excellent study of the absurd but true to life story and characters. Great chance to see 2 actors from Blade Runner strut their stuff years later, but neither lessened by those years.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
very funny, rent this
therizzzo14 August 2002
This movie rules! I laughed alot. The main character's one-eyed celibate semi-pro wrestler dad is just too funny. Jaime Pressly plays the perfect trailer park girl. Jason London is hilarious as the local stud. All performances are dead on. Nothing to dislike. I wish more indies were this good.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Movie
big_show200523 December 2001
I think Poor White Trash was a good movie.At first I thought that I wouldn't like the movie and when I watched it I was surprised.The main reason I got it was because I really like Jaime Pressly and I thought she did a wonderful job in it.All of the cast was wonderful.If you have some extra money you will enjoy this movie.

Enjoy.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very funny movie!!
amenichini23 July 2002
I rented "Poor White Trash" and laughed throughout the entire picture. It's ranks with other white trash greats such as "Joe Dirt," "Sling Blade," "Wild at Heart" and "Drowning Mona." Really, really funny.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie will become a cult classic!
sudburyiii2 November 2002
This movie is one of the funniest I have seen and I really expect it to rank up there with other cult classic films such as "Raising Arizona" and "Joe Dirt." One must review this movie with an understanding that it is not Shakespeare or some social drama. There's no false advertising here. It is a movie about poor white trash. The selection of actors could not be more fitting. William Devane was excellent as Ron Lake, a man who fancies himself as up-scale white trash, obviously from his choice of dwelling, the classic Airstream Travel Trailer; the true choice of trailer connoisseurs. Sean Young is pure poor white trash, playing the mother who wants her son to go on to things better than the trailer park, and is willing to go the extra mile, including committing armed robbery with him to ensure his success. Also, amongst this group, is the extremely attractive Jaime Pressly playing Sandy Lake. When I think of actresses who can play white trash there are three names that come to mind as the VERY BEST: Holly Hunter, Juliette Lewis, and Jamie Pressly. Ms. Pressly is one amongst talented company. Supporting these actors is M. Emmet Walsh, a superbly talented actor, whom I feel is often underrated.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome movie, very funny!
beckilang16 August 2001
Super little comedy with charm! Jason London made me laugh my butt off! Very witty script and great, original humor. The only bad performance was the guy from SNL. He wasn't funny at all. Directing was solid but not great. Sound was iffy at times. But the hilarious humor makes this a must see!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly well made for a little movie!
m-dorff10 February 2005
I had no expectations renting this movie other than the description looked funny. But I was surprised how funny it was. The writing is clever, and the story is pretty intricate (I had to pay attention more than I thought I would). The camera-work was OK, but I think for low budget, it was very good. I thought the actors did great, and the characters were fresh (especially the wrestler with a glass eye thats too large). Sean Young will also surprise you. She's pretty damn funny. This movie had an edge, and a voice. Jaime Pressly has a great body... I was jealous. William Devane has never been so weird! He deserves kudos as well. I wanna see more indie films like this. Bravo Michael Addis.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What great directing!!!
funny1_haha2 October 2001
What a funny film! The director did a fantastic job making this film and it shows!

I hope to see more to come from Michael Addis in the future. Definatly a must see if you are in the mood to laugh out loud!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Oh God Bless!! Southern Illinois
26dejulio16 September 2004
Just flipping through the channels when I happened upon this gem on Comedy Central.

Review above is seemingly 100% accurate as far as the hilarity of the acting and cinematography. The only thing missing from his review is a history of having spent 4 years going to the university at Carbondale, (SALUKIIIIIIIIIs).

Best line -- just right now -- "ya ain't gonna live in a trailer -- yer gonna live in a dorm !!"

Curses, I have to go to work!!

Anyway -- if you love purposefully bad films -- and if you love Southern Illinois trash !!! wooooh!! I can hardly contain myself -- this film seems to be the hot ticket!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
weird-funny
turk18two28 July 2001
This movie is a real surprise. I rented it only because I had already rented all the other new releases at my local video store. And because Jamie Pressly is hot. That is a very understandable reason #2, wouldnt you say? It is a very funny film, though. The writer/director is obviously a very weird dude. But in a good way. The jokes are not sitcomy and predictable, but unusual and twisted. I hope to see more bizarre films from this filmmaker in the future.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
definately worth the view!
flyingbison1 December 2000
Sean Young is great, Jamie Pressley is hot, and the rest of the cast doesn't disappoint. Michael Addis' direction is confident and at moments inspired... definitely check out the film if you're looking for laughs and a fun truly independent film.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cool, fun ride
indiebuzz24 November 2000
Campy flick, lots of fun if you aren't expecting high art. Great script by Urban and Addis. Amazing acting by Tierney, London, and Devane make the film. Young is solid, Denman isn't flashy but shows promise. Watch it and have fun. It ain't going to win any awards, but it makes you laugh. That's a good comedy, in my mind.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
You must see "Poor White Trash" if...
mainemovieman9 March 2002
...your goal in life is to see every Jaime Pressly bikini scene ever filmed....someone taped over your copy of "Party of Five: Richer, Poorer, Sickness, and Health" and you really need a London Brothers fix....you wish those Coen Brothers films weren't bogged down by all that witty dialogue, hampered by those sharp scripts, and undercut by crisp and competent direction.

Otherwise, take a pass on this one.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious lowbrow comedy
Woodyanders1 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Desperate white trash matriarch Linda Bronco (marvlously played with lip-smacking relish by Sean Young) resorts to criminal means so she can raise enough money for her son Mike (a likable portrayal by Tony Denman) to go to college. Linda joins forces with Mike and his dim-witted pal Lennie (delightfully essayed with supremely idiotic aplomb by Jacob Tierney) to embark an inept crime spree that only manages to compound the severity of their problems instead of solve them. Writer/director Michael Addis ably milks the hysterically broad humor for maximum belly laughs; the gut-busting profane dialogue, constant squabbling amongst the outrageous redneck characters, and the gloriously tacky evocation of the sordid trailer park world they reside in all add up to one extremely funny and enjoyable, if less than subtle and sophisticated, comedic romp. Moreover, the game cast tackle the wacky material with delicious go-for-it zest: William Devane has a ball as shrewd and corrupt no-count lawyer Ron Lake (who has a very impressive beer can art display in his garden!), the always enticing Jamie Pressly struts her sizzling hot sexy stuff once again as Ron's faithless and calculating trophy babe tramp wife Sandy, Jason London likewise excels as the bumbling Brian Ross, and M. Emmet Walsh makes the most out of his minor part as the hard-nosed Judge Pike. The swift pace and right-on rocking soundtrack keep things hopping throughout. Both Peter Kawalski's slick cinematography and the lively harmonic score by Tree Adams are up to par. An absolute hoot.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Flat out hilarious "Poor White Trash" = CULT MOVIE
merklekranz5 August 2010
There are several intriguing qualities to this great film. #1 - The story is outrageous with some seriously funny black comedy. #2 - There are four standout performances with colorful characterizations. This is a must see for William Devane's portrayal of Ron Lake, the shopping mall lawyer. M.Emit Walsh is terrific as the compassionate Judge Pike. Jacob Tierney nails the part of totally irresponsible Lenny Lake. Finally Jamie Pressly as Ron Lake's main squeeze is the ultimate sexy bitch. #3 - "Poor White Trash" is so good, and has such tremendous dialog, that multiple viewings are guaranteed. The movie is flat out hilarious, and a real sleeper that deserves instant cult status. - MERK
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
worth a watch
fry82 February 2009
As a Southern Illinois native myself, I can say without a doubt this movie only scratches the surface of Southern Illinois people. So.Il. does have it's share of "rednecks" but that is not the majority. It's interesting to read the claims of accurate representation of former SIU students from the north. Much of SIU's enrollment come from northern Illinois residents who flock to the college for it's money saving advantages. So really most social interactions are northerner to northerner. To be labeled something by people because of geographical location is a bit narrow minded and absurd. That being said I enjoyed the movie and thought it was rather entertaining. It was funny and the cast was an interesting mix but they all worked really well together. My favorite part was the beer can lawn art!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I love this movie!
freq3226 March 2003
This movie is for fans of Russ Meyer films! I was cracking up at this silly, wacky low-budget masterpiece. The cinematography was great and purposefully bad! The acting was hilarious. The story was chaotic and a pretty good representation of weird things that happen in a small American town. Jamie Pressly is truly funny and superb in this. If you don't 'get' this movie, that is really too bad for you. 10 out of 10!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Had potential, but oh! so awful
d134 August 2001
Any movie centered around the inhabitants of a trailer park has both the potential for incredible comedy and the potential for intense boredom. This falls into the latter. The script seemed pretty good as did the acting, despite some godawful attempts at goober accents (I'm looking at you, London & DeVane). Sadly, where this pic bit the dust had nothing to do with the people in it, but with the editing. It was pieced together so poorly that most comedic moments were ruined by misplaced and mistimed shots. And that's just sad.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
WOW! A perfect example of Indie film-making. 9 of 10
sean_archer13 November 1999
Sometimes AICN reviewer Sean Archer reporting. "Goodbye Sunrise", which I'm told might change it's title to "Poor White Trash" sets a new standard for the Indie Comedy.

What sets this apart from 99% of the Independent films out there is the quality of the performances. Every single actor in this film is practically perfect.

Sean Young, who is usually sub-par in comedies, shines in as the tough, yet loving mother willing to give up everything for her son. Tony Denman, in a starring role, shows that he has what it takes to become a superstar. Forget pretty-boys like James Vanderbeek and Jason Priestly, Tony Denman is an ACTOR, something Hollywood is desperately running short of. The ever-hot Jaime Pressly scores big as the femme fatale, a role she could probably play in her sleep by now, but this lady shows that she has the chops to make "Sandy" unique. Devane is also shockingly good in a role unlike anything he's ever done, playing the profane, violent lawyer. Jacob Tierney, a rising star, was extremely funny as the off-kilter, explosive living Lenny. But, my biggest kudos go to Jason London who was amazing as the not-so-bright ex-jock who's throwing his life away in a fast-food joint. Supporting parts are solid, with fun cameo's by Emmet Walsh, SNL alum Kazurinsky, improv star Koher, and the brilliant young character actor Patrick Renna.

Tech credits are solid, with the nicest work coming from DOP Kowalski. He brings this zany, Midwest town to life with some beautiful shots. Harper-Thomas, who's costume design won an Emmy on Newsradio, doesn't disappoint with some scene stealing outfits. Set design, lighting, etc. was above average for an Indie. The print I saw was unfinished, and sound was rough, but that should be corrected in post.

The script, which I read several months ago when it was the buzz around town, is simply marvelous, and the work by Addis and Urban really give this film the heart and soul which make it stand out. The only thing which kept this film from getting a perfect 10, was the direction of Addis, who seems, at times, to be trying to hard. A few less cuts and tricky camera-work would have been nice, as it tended to get a tad distracting. He does show promise, and should only improve as he gets his feet wet.

I was, at times, reminded of the early Coen bros. work. If you're a fan of Raising Arizona or Blood Simple, you'll love this. Although, I feel that it should appeal to a wider audience than those films. Great script, great story, great characters, great acting; what else could a film fan ask for?
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bad taste
sarastro712 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a huge fan of Jaime Pressly - so sue me -, and I bought this DVD for her. Biiig mistake. She's not in it that much, and the story itself and most of the characters are tacky and vulgar and stupid. No way this can be called a quality movie. I regret spending the five bucks on it.

One thing is good, though: Sean Young. I never really liked her much, but I must say middle-age agrees with her. She was cool and sensitive and hotter than she's ever been, and I'm going to have to seek out some of her other movies from recent years.

But I doubt I'll ever be watching this one again.

3 out of 10.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed