Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (1998) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
109 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The movie that turned me to Bollywood films
vee_gurl26 August 2004
I saw this film randomly the other day while at a friend's house. She comes from Indian decent and had always nagged me to watch Indian films with her but I always declined. Being a general film fanatic, I agreed to watch this film, not expecting much. But as soon as I got into the story (and got over the horrible and sometimes non-visible subtitles) I was completely hooked! Whether it was the directing or the wonderful screen presence of the actors, somethng about this film had the ability to capture the emotions of the viewer. I can say that having been used to watching generally American films, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is a romance that stands out from the typical Hollywood love story -- paying attention to detail and character development in a way in which I've rarely seen before. Although I was quite new to Indian "musical numbers" in which they incorporate within their films and even found the performances in them a little bit on the cheesy side, I throroughly enjoyed some of the songs as well. Great melodies, especially the title song -- which added to the emotional impact of the movie itself. I wll definitely be looking out for more Indian films in the future.
93 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful and heartwarming
Kaylinerer23 November 2004
This film maybe old now but it still makes me weep at the moment Anjali and Rahul finally get their chance to be together.

Kajol's transformation from school girl to a grown up woman is absolutely amazing and completely convincing. I give her acting as a school girl 100%, and every other scene she is involved in! When Rahul admits his love for Tina, Anjali's heart breaks and her reaction is showed through the emotional song TUJHE YAAD NA MERI, and is a touching part of the movie.

As usual Kajol and Shahrukh Khan shines together. Any moment which involved them both on the scene is electric and makes the viewer crave for more and more. I believe any film with these two stars together will hit the roof!
61 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
got me hooked again!
ziggy98022 June 2002
I hadn't watched an Indian movie in years because I was unable to relate to the film and the stories were somewhat weak. When I got this movie, I procrastinated a bit; when I finally watched it, I was amazed! I was able to relate to the characters, the story was not as far-fetched as they had been, and the music was awesome. KKHH has a good mix of humor and drama, without being too over-the-top. It got my family and me watching Indian movies again. I recommend this to anyone who wants to be swept away by a good story and great actors.
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie...
CanadianPrincess13 March 2005
This movie was a landmark film, in terms of Bollywood cinema. I remember watching it and loving every second of it. Yes, it is a melodramatic film, full of colourful song and dance numbers, but it also offers more than your average Hindi film. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (Something Happens) is the type of movie that one can never get tired of watching. The jokes are fresh,the concept is new, and the characters are unforgettable.

The characters are unique and very entertaining. Shahrukh Khan is at his best, and Kajol steals the show. Rani Mukherji was given a chance, by Karan Johar, to prove herself, and she certainly rose to the occasion. Farida Jalal, as the witty grandmother, is adorable, and so is little Anjali.

Overall, this is a wonderful movie. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to see a fun and sweet movie about true love.
35 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A classic movie of the modern genre.
jungleking12 July 2003
This movie is extra special for me, it marked the end of studying and walk into the real world, and what made it even more touching was that I had just completed a degree in University of Strathclyde and a lot of the outdoor and songs were shot on the University campus and surrounding Scottish locations that I could relate to.

This was the starting point of glitzy, orchestrated and professional movies in the Indian cinema. Attention was paid to the smallest of details as well as being the first to: bring designer clothes brought into the movies, modern dressing was addressed, sets were realistic and well created and most importantly the characters were well developed – we knew where they were coming from, where they were and where they were going.

SRK and Kajol are the best pairing in modern day's hero's and look wonderful together. They have the kind of chemistry that really complements each other and they know how to hold themselves against each other. Rani looks good in her role. It is clear to see that she has great potential and will accomplish a lot in the years ahead. Anupam Kher, Farida Jalal and Johnny Lever are great in their roles and really well suited.

The story is well developed with a great direction and writing credits, it can be seen that Karan Johar will be a milestone in Indian Cinema. It is really excellent the way the story in split into two halves and after the intermission one gets the feeling that they have been transported into a different world from the one we just saw before the break. I shall not indulge into the story too much but its is not your run of the mill love story.

All I really have to say is that I saw this movie again recently after a few years and it still looks fresh and modern and it still makes me laugh and cry.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Heartwarming entertainment
Peter_Young6 July 2009
Karan Johar's directorial debut Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is one of those films you can always watch and enjoy with your family and friends. In spite of being a bit of a fairy tale, it works very well within its limitations. It is one of those beautiful Hindi romantic comedies that actually form the unique cultural and artistic style of Bollywood's most famous mainstream flicks. This is an enjoyable and charming picture which can make you laugh, cry, at times even cringe with annoyance, but then it will keep you consistently entertained.

The film introduces Johar's famous statement that the first step towards love is friendship and does it in a slightly cheesy yet rather convincing way. The film is a poignant story of two friends, a guy and a girl, who understand they actually love each other perhaps too late. And that's how it goes on. It flows well, with wonderfully composed songs, nicely written characters, several clichés here and there, many comic sequences, some melodramatic ones as well, but more importantly, a lot of Bollywood-style colour and fun.

Shahrukh Khan and Kajol work with electrifying chemistry. Their scenes together are pure magic. Both give crafted performances. Kajol is more impressive as the cool tomboy who transforms into a womanly, attractive and sensitive Anjali. She displays the pain, joy, happiness and confusion that her character goes through with great conviction. Shahrukh is fantastic as the young, cool guy, friend and boyfriend and later on as a loving and caring father who has lost his wife and suffers her loss.

Rani Mukherjee is beautiful and vibrant and makes for a very effective intelligent and dreamy girl. This is not an accomplished but very sincere performance which deserves full praise. Salman Khan is very good and surprisingly enough, manages to impress even in a brief, seemingly insignificant appearance. It may be because his character makes a great impact on the film's story and on the viewer.

I really liked the film's music, the title song being my favourite, and among other songs, the melancholic "Tujhe Yaad Na Meri Aayee" is very beautiful. Towards the end, there are some overly melodramatic sequences but they flow well enough to bring the long-awaited ending. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is overall great entertainment and a must-watch for lovers of Hindi cinema and its films. It is compelling, moving and memorable, and is always fun to revisit. I recommend.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good film.
vegeta_696915 March 2005
I watched this film in my cinema history class. I have never really watched many Bollywood films, but I was really impressed what I saw. It was almost like an 80's pop culture musical, with a touch of Grease in it.

What makes the film so enjoyable is that it's not only colorful in it's style and environment, but all of the characters have very colorful personalities that make the film work. In the sense of the plot it is easy to predict what is going to happen, but the movie is so well made your not really occupied with that though. Another factor is that it also has very convincing emotional content. The movie starts off very emotional when Raoul loses his wife Tina. I even almost cried at the end when I saw how heart broken Anjali and Raoul were because she was getting married to Aman.

I give this film an 8.5 out of 10. Both Shahrukh Khan and Kajol both did an excellent job in this film. If your bored with the same old crap you watch all the time, then watch this. Just be warned it's a very long film, and remember to display your subtitle on your DVD player.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must See Romance
DudeE25 February 1999
This Karan Johar's debut film, is a heartwarming beautifully woven three-way love story (or is it a four-way).

Shahrukh and his best friend Kajol (Mukherjee-Devgan) are collegiates,until the principal's daughter Tina (Rani Mukherjee) enters their lives. To Anjali (Kajol) she is just a part of their clique but to Rahul (Shahrukh) she is a lot more.

Kajol is simply brilliant as a tomboyish collegiate who transforms herself to a mature woman. Shahrukh is himself. Newcomer Rani Mukherjee is bound to go places, after Ghulam & Mehndi.Cinematography is "Abfab"; choreography & music is great,costumes are very chic, supporting cast good.
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must-see!
sonia-belhaj5 February 2010
You won't be called a Bollywood fan if you haven't seen this classic. It casts some of the best actors in the industry at the time except Amit-ji: Shah Rukh of course, who way deserved his Filmfare, Kajol, best actress in Bollywood ever, Rani Mukherji, Salman Khan (in one of his last good performances), Anupam Kher, Farida Jalal, Reema Lagoo, ...

With very good music (the title song is a forever classic!), entertaining dance moves, a nice script, and the most beautiful Jodi ever on screen: SRK and Kajol! Though Kjo has kind of cheesy 'cliché's sometimes (like the kid sobbing 'Ma, Ma!'), it's a sweet movie you're sure to enjoy and remember!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
mixed....
sheng_32 September 2001
Let me just say first off that this is the best introduction to Hindi films! It features 2 gorgeous women (Kajol & Rani Mukherji) and the charming actors Shahrukh Khan & Salman Khan. KUCH KUCH HOTA HAI has the best songs of any Hindi film I've seen. They are so good in fact, that you tend to forget how long and dragged out the film is! As soon as you get to a new song, it is like a complete battery recharge. There are some real moments of laughter, tears, and drama which is more than you get in most movies. Also, to set the record straight- ALL HINDI FILMS ARE PADDED OUT TO APPROX. 3 HOURS. Live with it! It means there will be stupid comedy, boring scenes, etc. You make your way through those (with the remote if you are REALLY impatient), to get to the gold (wonderful costumes, music, scenery, etc). If properly edited and released in the U.S., this could be an arthouse hit. The musical numbers rank right up there with GREASE. If you're tired of crappy American films, watch KUCH KUCH HOTA HAI. You may not love it, but you will leave the theater (or couch) humming the songs!
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
They don't need kisses, they have red Saree's
Crystalcat5 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
First I missed KKHH, when it ran at the German television. But then, when I got the DVD I really started biting my but because I only could see it with English subtitles now. Anyway... it rocked.

I wasn't so thrilled about the first part of the movie. Rani is wonderful and it was fun to watch the college part. But I really had wanted to see Rahul and Anjali right away.

So the second part blasted me away. SRK and Kajol have an undeniable chemistry which sucks you into the story. And I really really have to mention one special scene. After a outside play it starts raining and Anjali and Rahul escape to a pavilion, where they start dancing. This scene was just... wow. With so much love, chemistry... electricity. I can't describe it.

I gave the movie 9/10. I was amazing, but it didn't make me weepy or turned me into a puddle of mushy mud. But it was great. Really Really great
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A true classic, once is not enough !
gila_film9 September 2001
I'm not a big fans of Hindi Movies, so when this movie come to theater near me, I was'nt interested in watching it. But, soon it become a big hit. People are talking about it. Then I wonder, what is the commotion about ? The next thing I did was come to the theater and watched it (It had played for five months and what else reason I should use ?) , and.................... I fall in love with this one. I don't know how many times I have watch it, but it never fail to entertain me.

It's a beautiful journey through love even it's nothing but just a love tale or a love fantasy or a love dream for some of us, but, it's a superb thing for me. The plot is not so original. It took from others famous movies but mixed nicely by Karan Johar and played by wonderful cast such as Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol and Rani Mukherjee. The most important thing from this movie is that this movies is remains us to always reach for our true love, and keep struggling for it.

I know it's not "suitable" for a serious audience, but I promise this movie is not that bad. Just rent it and enjoy this classic tale, and believe me, once is not enough !

9/10
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Friendship, Love and Lust!
HeadleyLamarr28 March 2007
Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is Karan Johar's first foray into understanding relationships in the Indian family context. This is a film from an era before he got into big cinema and expatriate Indians. The ensemble cast consisted of highly popular or young and upcoming stars like Shahrukh Khan, Kajol, Salman Khan and Rani Mukherjee. Rumors are that the film was actually the brainchild of Kajol and SRK who had worked with Karan on Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge and believed that KJo had it in him to direct good films. They helped Karan sort out a rather muddled story and had their way with the character development for the most part. It is quite fitting that a young director of 26 yrs would want to explore romantic relationships in the environment of young folks in a college setting. What is the most important factor in love? Is it lust or is it friendship? SRK plays Rahul (the continuation of his DDLJ Raj persona) whose best buddy is the tomboy Anjali (Kajol in a tomboy Simran persona). There is lots of friendship but not much attraction on either side. Then a young, different, attractive young woman Tina (Rani in an excellent hottie role) arrives on the scene and the mixture gets stirred up. Rahul feels the attraction (lust?) for Tina and at the same time Anjali discovers that she loves Rahul, but has no wiles to attract him. Rahul confesses to his best buddy his love for Tina and Anjali leaves the scene and goes away. Tina dies in childbirth but leaves letters for her daughter asking her to make sure Rahul and Anjali hook up again as she felt that she came between the true love they had for each other. The rest of the film deals with Rahul meeting Anjali again only to find her with another man in her life, and how the story gets resolved to give us the obligatory happy ending.

What I did not like about Kuch Kuch Hota Hai –

1. It is like a penny romance with no real deep meaning – I hate when that happens to what otherwise has the potential to be a good film. 2. Everything is stereotyped – relationships are perfect, lives are perfect…. I wish some more exploration of the conflict between love and lust had been done in a more substantial manner. 3. The characters were dressed in Lycra for the entire first half – no doubt to make them look young! But it was kind of annoying… 4. The basketball matches were not really played as per rules were they? Even I know how many steps you can take before it is called walking! 5. I am so conflicted about this film – it is like a candy bar that one cannot help taking guilty pleasure in, but you know that in the end it leaves nothing of substance behind.

What I like in the film:

1. The overall feel-good feel of the film. 2. The story – it begins with a funeral pyre and ends with 15 minutes of copious tears but the middle is funny, romantic and happy. 3. Many moments between SRK and Kajol – this is why the duo was the best romantic pair out there for so long. In many moments when Kajol is a tomboy buddy, in the second half when she is the demure Anjali – she and SRK sizzle on screen. Some moments are my particular favorites – when Anjali leaves and goes off - the entire train station scene is brilliant – Rahul watching the train leave, Anjali watching him. The first meeting between the two at the summer camp, the scene at night on the bench, the second basketball match-up at the camp – the friendship/attraction is palpable. 4. The music – the movie has some of the best music and awesome song picturization. Koi Mil Gaya remains my favorite stage song –I love SRK's tongue in cheek Elvis impersonation and the contrast between the hot Tina in a short short silver dress and the tomboy Anjali in red overalls! The title song is contemplative and beautifully picturized – sets the stage immediately for the conflict between these three characters. 5. The summer camp stuff is campy to the max – but who will not feel good about a bunch of kids singing, dancing and having fun! 6. The supporting cast is actually very good – Farida Jalal as the Mum, Anupam Kher, Himani, Archana, even Johny Lever. The kids are a bit annoying – but aren't most film kids? 7. The acting – Shahrukh does extremely well in this film as the young man who is conflicted about his own feelings, unable to sort them out, unable to understand the difference between love and lust, and in the end almost unable to express his true feelings when he does realize them. He also shows considerable maturity as the father, the widowed son – this is a role that allows him to express a lifetime of personal growth and to do it well. Kajol is brilliant as the tomboy who grows up fast, as the demure young woman who has always known her mind but never really expressed her feelings – good girls don't do that you know! She is consistently good throughout the film – maybe her best role opposite SRK. Rani is excellent as the sexy Tina, even Salman is less annoying than usual.

A word of warning to lovers of serious cinema – there is nothing for you here! But if you want to be entertained by a feel-good film then by all means rent it. If you do not hate SRK and Kajol you could even buy the film – you will watch it more than once! And if you show the film to your non-Indian average movie watcher friends they might get seriously addicted to Hindi cinema.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I love this movie!
jENNA00716 August 2001
Warning: Spoilers
* * SPOiLER ALERT * *

First of all, I am 100% Indian, but am a full blooded Malu.. Lemme just tell you Malyalam films suck so I'm usually watching Hindi ones. Hindi music is amazing, i have the soundtrack to Kuch Koch and I recommend it to everyone. The music is awesome, Shah Rukh is a good lip-sincher, but Kajol could brush up... and its quite obvious that they use the same voice for big Anjali, Tina, AND the grandmother (whose REALLY funny btw)

Anyway, the acting - Shah Rukh Khan is great as always, but hes stereotyped as the weepy guy who gets the girl once again, Kajol is a very good actress & I loved the way she looked in that black linka when her hair was really long, Ronnie did great (* her and Kajol are cousins you know, i liked seeing them in this film together, they are both very beautiful also) I also thought that the little girl, Sana Saeed that played young Anjali did a GREAT job, heh- "Hi,Sexy!" Salman Khan is VERY hot indeed, but he can't act, he's just there for his stunning good looks & big muscles [hes kind of the Hindi equivalence to Keanu Reeves] ... Other notable performances Anupam Kher as Mr.Malhotra was absolutely hilarious, i was laughing so hard when he was asleep and Ms.Bridganza called him.. he woke up giggling like a little girl, it was so funny. I'd recommend this movie to anyone of all ages, some people will tell you this is is over-rated, but it's just NOT true, this is a great movie... and ~ NEELAM ROCKS!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
awesome movie
sxc_ritz13 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
If you are a fan of an Indian movie, then this is by far one of the best! Even though it was quite long and extremely tacky and corny, this movie was a fun and happy one which plays really plays on your emotions. It was quite pathetic how all of the American brand names were standing out in the movie! This film was also really funny, it had a bit of American humour. Of course knowing that its a typical Indian movie with a happy ending, overall i had such a great time watching it. I dunno, i'm just a real fan of Indian movies and this one really stood out for me, i really enjoyed it. Overall, a great and awesome movie which is one that you should see.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ugh
ani21812230 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
If this is the face of good film of Bombay, then it is advisable Bombay stops producing films.

KKHH is make believe and melodramatic . Tina (Rani Mukherjee) cries and sobs in spotlessly white linen , minutes before she is supposed to die, advising Shahrukh Khan to marry Kajol. Have the producers never seen somebody die? What romantic visions of death have they embraced? This film is meant for adolescents, not even teens. Anybody with minimum maturity , interested in good cinema, would laugh at the kind of tomfoolery and immaturity exhibited by lolly pop romances like Kuch Kuch Hota Hai.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You know you're in love when...
SmileyParo4 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Before watching this movie, I pretty much made my mind on how it was going to be. Of course, this being Karan Johar film its a given that you will somehow be left satisfied--not forgetting to mention the remarkable cast.

Shahrukh Khan's great ability to adapt into his characters are just amazing! At first, I wasn't too sure about Kajol playing this part throughout the beginning of the movie (I was thinking more for Priety to fit better for Anjali's role), but later I find myself enjoying Kajol as Anjali esp. after she and Rahul met up again 8 years later. I also thought the part of Tina was written really very well and it fit the movie perfectly. Rani did a great job of portraying Tina and I can't think of a better actress who can play that part and do as well as Rani did. As far as Salman Khan, I don't have anything negative to say. Although his role wasn't small, his character impact was big and I got to say, he pulled it off. Finally, the role of Anajali Khanna--amazing acting by Sana Saeed (hands down).

Overall, I give this film an 8.6/10. It's a great movie to watch with the family so enjoy! You won't be left disappointed! :)
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pass the Popcorn bucket.......I'm Gonna Hurl
gorgonite3 March 2009
Rahul...... Anjali..... Rahul...... Anjali....

Oh dear! Time has not been kind to this film.

When I first saw this at the cinema I loved the music and was thoroughly entertained by the whole show. All 3 leads were spectacular and Salman Bhai also put in a good performance.

However 10 years on and the only enjoyable part of the movie is the song which kicks in when Anjali realises she's never gonna get Rahul.

Pros - Great for the average 10 year old

Cons - College scenes inspired by Grease, - Everyone looks 10 years older than the characters they play - Horribly dated wardrobe - Colour overload, - Cheesy plot with extra cheese, - Title song and its music cue now suck big time

Overall - Vommo
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sharukhs Best movie till now hands Down
jaineet987 September 2019
Amazing movie. Seen it more than a 100 times and still never gets old
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crap
anand-823 February 1999
First half is an Archie, Betty, Veronica cartoon. Second half is more meaningless manipulative drivel. Avoid at all costs.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An Average Film that has been highly over-rated
raamjaane1 June 2000
This a well-packaged fantasy film but has nothing else to offer. Shah Rukh Khan gives a good performance but is waste as he repeats his role in Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge and Dil to Pagal Hai. Kajol also does a repeat performance. The plot is typical, the music like DDLJ and the ending obvious. All in all it is a predictable film catered for the student audiences in India. But credit has to be given to its Director Karan Johar who has done a good job in re-packaging old storylines from various films, and presenting it in a way that has made this film a super box office hit. The problem is that now we will undoubtedly see more films of the same type invade our cinema screens. The worst thing is the greatest Actor in Indian cinema, Amitabh Bachan is going to appear in similar films.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Kuch Kuch Hota Hai
shashwati_rao4 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of my all time favorites! I watched it quite recently in fact and when my friend told me the story of the movie I fell in love with it. This is Karan Johar's debut film produced under YashRaj and Dharma Productions.

The film starts off with Rani Mukherji's death and and a mourning ShahRukh Khan. The next scene is eight years later when their daughter is eight years old. We see that Shahrukh is still in love with his wife Tina (Rani).

On his daughter (Anjal)'s eighth birthday she reads a letter from her mother telling her about Anjali (Kajol) who loved her father and was ShahRukh's best friend at collage. However after she learned that ShahRukh (Rahul)loves Tina she left the collage with no trace of her. Then Tina realized that Anjali loved Rahul too much and he would have probably loved her too.

Here the flashback ends and little Anjali (San Saed) promises her mother that she will get her father and Anjali back together.

In the next half Anjali tries to find out about Big Anjali and after some time she find her. But now Anjali (Kajol) has turned into a beautiful woman and she is engaged to Aman (Salman Khan) who loves her like anything but Anjali doesn't love him and she still hasn't forgotten Rahul.

Watch this beautiful movie to see what happens in the end. The performances of all the actors is superb. ShahRukh and Kajol's chemistry can be seen again. I normally can't stand Salman Khan but i managed to like him in this. This movie has excellent music and funny jokes. A must watch.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
TERRIBLE FILM DO NOT WATCH!!
DwIgHtSchhrute9 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is very bad. I sat through almost 3 hours of pure trash. It was a waste of time after all the hype I heard about this movie. This movie does not deserve to be a "classic" SRK film AT ALL! The story line sucks. The acting is too over-acting. Did I mention that there was literally ZERO PLOT??

The whole story revolves around a grown man who's wife just died, which leads his daughter to find out more about her namesake and her mom's life. That's literally it.

The most annoying part of the movie was when Kajol's character was shouting "cheater cheater cheater!" THis was the most annoying part of the movie because her voice sounds so much like a hyperactive squirrel.

Overall this move sucks. Please do not watch it.!!!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
sredsha28 May 2012
This is the movie that introduced me to the wonderful world of Indian Cinema.

I was 10 years old when I first saw Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and I instantly fell in love with it. I have since lost count of the number of times that I have watched it.

This was director Karan Johar's debut movie. Talk about starting of with a bang. This movie is perfection. It lives up to it's tag line. They'll make you laugh..They'll make you cry...They'll even make you fall in love. It made me do all of these things.

The songs are wonderful. The acting was fantastic. I love Kajol in this movie. She steals the show. I heard that Twinkle Khanna was actually considered as the first choice to play Anjali. That would have been the biggest mistake as I can't envision anyone else playing the role of Anjali besides Kajol.

Shah Rukh Khan was also good. He was less irritating back then. His performance actually had some soul behind it. Rani was the perfect choice for Tina.

Looking back at this movie now the only aspect that seems a bit redundant is the choreography. But you can't blame Farah Khan as things like dance moves revolutionizes with time.

On a whole this is a beautiful piece of cinema and all I can say to Karan Johar and his entire cast and crew is thank. Thank you for making Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and giving me and the world one of the greatest stories ever told.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Overrated, over-hyped, overwhelmingly clichéd
werewolf83814 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
One of the most hyped movies of the pre-2000 years, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai is the tale of Rahul (Shah Rukh) and Anjali (Kajol) Both are friends but the arrival of Tina (Rani) changes that. Rahul falls for Tina, and Anjali is left out. She considers telling Rahul that she loves him, but finds out that he in fact loves Tina. She then leaves the college and is not seen again for a while.

Rahul marries Tina, but she dies at childbirth, but not before writing eighth letters to her daughter, to be given to her one each one of her birthdays. The last letter tells the daughter to find Anjali and bring happiness back into Rahul's life.

Now u can already imagine the type of movie this is going to be: a typical Bollywood love triangle. The movie fails to inject any emotion into the movie, has horribly cheesy humor, and the end scene when Anjali's fiancé Aman (Salman Khan, and boy was he horrible)'gives' Anjali to Rahul is just the kind of scene that leaves you embarrassed, wondering why you ever chose this movie. Horrible and clichéd dialog, clichéd plot, and a clichéd ending makes this movie no different from so many preceding it as far as plot goes.

The acting is a different tale. Shah Rukh delivers well, Kajol delivers well in both her personalities, and Rani plays her role brilliantly well. Salman Khan however, is a failure. Why they didn't have a better actor is beyond me, for Salman just CAN'T ACT. The others deliver cameos ranging from the average to the good.

The songs are the only reason this movie really stands out. The title track is brilliant and 'Koi Mil Gaya' really sticks in your mind. The other songs are pleasing without being fantastic.

Overall? Bad plot, good acting and good songs. The fact that this was a mega-hit shows exactly what Bollywood-goers want to see in a movie.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed