Brink! (TV Movie 1998) Poster

(1998 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
31 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
I grew up watching this movie.
stargunner29 October 2004
Nowadays I look back and wonder, "what happened?", for when I was a child I tuned into the Disney channel every so often in anxious anticipation for "Brink!" Today you'll hear most people making fun of Disney channel movies, and it's completely justified. But there was a day when they were the cream of the crop when it came to the 5th grader nation, and Brink was the flagship film. Today Disney is plagued with movies like "Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century" and "The Cheetah Girls" ... well, we are in a dark time. If you can't remember the days when the Disney channel was awesome, it was when Brink hit the TV. If you haven't seen this movie, go see it for the sake of old times, and for the 5th grader in all of my generation. Plus, it's actually a good movie.
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most decent Disney Channel movie I've seen.
Nutri-Grain13 May 2001
There are some pretty crummy Disney Channel Original Movies out there. I mean Can of Worms was horrible and same with The Thirteenth Year. Both lacked twists in the plot and were just plain "cheesy." Brink on the other hand has more !. First of all, the "extreme sports" idea was great. That's what kids love these days so that's what probably "hooked" them to their televison sets. The music was decent, featuring some recent punk rock bands. Well at least better than The Thirteenth Year's ending credit music! Yuck! Well anyways, Brink delivers a fresh, funny, and realistic situation in which four teens experience a "Rollerblading Odyssey." This movie has got it all: Friendship, betrayal, rivalry, hate, revenge etc. It has all the qualities of becoming an Academy Award winning epic! Um...ok, maybe not. But it is still a whole lot of fun to watch.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Greatest Disney Movie Ever
meb788610 June 2007
Brink is easily the greatest Disney Channel Original movie. I haven't seen it in years and i still think about it's greatness. It also has some pretty sweet tunes in from some kinda known bands. Overall this movie is sick and I would recommend that anybody who has any opportunity to watch it definitely should. This is the greatest skating movie ever made and was made in Disney prime. This Disney movie made Disney what it is today. Yet they still hardly ever play it. I love this movie! And now I have to keep on writing to take up ten lines. But it's not because I don't have anything good to say about the movie it's just because I'm very board right now but what ever I've reached ten so bye.

P.S. Brink is f****** awesome!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
when you woke up this morning, did you say to yourself "today i'm gonna talk, or today i'm gonna skate!"?
PilotCove5 April 2006
this film combines action, great characters, a superior plot, suspense and most of all--sports. extreme sports. brink pushes the limits of extreme sports movies with awesome stunts combined with spot on excellent acting. this movie did it all. not only did Sid from Toy Story deliver one of the best performances of his life, but he reunited with sam horrigan and rekindled the acting chemistry they had in the hit "escape to witch mountain." this movie captures the wonder of extreme in-line skating with a way that no other movies has. it also emphasizes the importance of good friends and the need to have honest relationships. "you are defined by the company you keep, and how well you keep it." --ralph brinker. this movie will not disappoint...unless of course you wanted to get it on DVD. it doesn't exist. Disney is cheating the world out of a spectular film directed by film legend greg beeman.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Best Disney Channel Original Movie
pinokiyo30 December 2002
"Andy Brinker" played by Erik von Detten loves skating and is one of the best skaters in the movie and him and his friends enjoy skating for fun only. Where they call themselves "Soul Skaters" and despises people who skate for money like "Val" who is the adversary of Brink and his friends played by Sam Horrigan who skates for a company called "Team X Blades" where he gets paid to sponsor. But when Brink finds out that his dad has lost his job he decides to try out for Team X Blades so he can help out the family. But this leaves Brink with several problems. His dad does not want him skating after he got suspended for school for it. And Brink and his friends has always hated Val and his team of X Blades.

This is by far the best movie that Disney Channel has made. It's a movie that older audiences can enjoy. The movie never gets too corny like other shows on the Disney channel. The cast is great. The acting is good. Sam Horrigan(Val) does a great job acting evil which makes the movie not corny. The directing is amazing for a Disney T.V. movie. Great camera and music use. We all know Disney likes to have happy endings and yeah this one happens to have one too but it has a pretty cool intense ending. This is a movie I don't mind watching again.

Overall Rating: 7/10
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Family Favorite
Scars_Remain5 February 2008
I have been watching and enjoying Brink with my family since I was 10 years old in 1998. It's a favorite of mine and my family and it always will be. I think anyone who enjoys underdog stories will like this one and they should definitely check it out. It's for sure one of the Disney Channel's best releases.

Erik von Detten is great in his part, as well as Patrick Levis, Sam Horrigan and everyone else. The story is very simple but also very fun and light hearted. I also should mention that I really enjoyed the soundtrack to this one as I am a big punk and ska fan. Check this one out with your whole family if you can get a hold of it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Rivalry between skaters
Kejej16 December 2001
Brink is a fantastic skater, but only skates for the fun of it - which I think is a great mentality to have! That is how all hobbies should be. But of course it is hard when money is in the picture. But in the end he finds out what REAL friends are, and what kind of friend he is himself to them. A great movie, and if you know something about skating, you will love it. Great tricks are seen throughout the movie!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My movie review: "BLINK !!!!!"
sethn1725 September 2006
Don't "blink" while watching "BLINK !!!!!" (better known as "Brink!), one of the very early original projects to come from the old-school Disney Channel, way back one Saturday night at 7/6 Central in August of 1998. It's about a skate bum, living in Los Angeles, California, who wanted to be a pro at extreme skating!!!!! However, he had a decision to make: should he skate with his friends, or should he be an "uncool, foolish" type of skater for that other team, Blade-X, that'll give him money, fame, and fortune?????

I'm glad to see that this movie is still shown from time to time on this New, Stupified Disney Channel. This was played a lot on the Old Disney Channel (I remember sitting at home watching this on the old channel, thinking how awesome it was watching it). This movie shows that if you are stuck between a rock and a hard place, you should make a very good decision about how you want your life (as well as your friends) to be.

"BLINK !!!!!" is a wonderful film to watch, if you ever catch this soon enough.

10/10
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best thing Disney channel has done then and since
Jackpollins30 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
When I think of Disney Channel Movies, I think stupid movies that appeal to 5-10 year olds. I am happy to report that at the midst of Disney Channel movies, Brink is an entertaining, great movie for all ages. Erik Von Detten, a talented young actor is great as rollerblader Andy 'Brink' Brinker. He is on a rollerblading team and then all of a sudden joins the opposing team, and becomes a traitor. The team is headed by mega-jerk Val (Sam Horrigan). Andy is blissfully unaware that Val is an extreme jerk, even though there are obvious clues leading to this conclusion. The movie is a drama that also fits in a lot of comedy. This is a delightful mix of both comedy and drama, funny and sweet without trying too hard or feeling two forced. Even those few forced moments feel real, because this is a realistically honest film, it is fun and yet shows the realities of life. Both Dotten and Horrigan are excellent and portray their characters very well. They not only make them how they're supposed to be but they make them realistic. The real message in this film is an overused moral used perfectly here. That message is that even though you might not realize at first, you may be on the wrong path, and you have to skid away from there right away. This movie is a kids' movie that adults can very well enjoy, too. It is thoroughly enjoyable and great. The movie is ultimately a sweet mix of drama and comedy that's definitely worth seeing.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the best Disney Channel Original Movies (DCOM) ever
pgimme18 December 2007
Wow what can I say, this is an excellent movie and one that I watched every time I caught it on the Disney Channel. It's pretty much every thing Ryan Miller said but the one thing i will have to disagree on is that Brink was not the one of last great DCOM, Disney still cranked out some good movies like Holloween Town, Zenon Girl of the 21st Century (this was a good flic, its the sequels that suck), The Thirteenth Year, Smart House, Johnny Tsunami, Genius, Don't look Under the Bed, Horse Sense, Up Up and Away, The Color of Friendship, Alley Cats Strike, and Step Sister From Planet Weird. Although Brink was one of Disney's last great works, you have to give them credit for the movies they made trough 1999 and even some of the OK ones that followed (Quints, The Other Me, Motocrossed, Cadet Kelly, Gotta Kick it Up)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
oh my gosh i love this movie and brink is really hot
funnipenguin2710 February 2007
this movie was such a good movie and i would buy it a million of times.Also Brink int this move is so hot thats pretty much another reason why i love this movie.They have not played this movie in a while and they should put it.i rate this movie from a scale to 1 to 10 it would be 10.They should make these comments a little shorter because i have nothing else to say but great movie and oh yeah I'm a skateboarder and and i love this movie and the whole thing about skater and in-line skaters is totally bull i have a bunch of in-line skater friends and we get a long just right so i have no idea where they got that idea.That was the only little part that didn't make sense.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is the best movie. ever.
azsummergirl4 February 2005
This is my all-time favorite movie. The chemistry in this movie is unbelievable, the songs are fresh, and the plot is gold. This movie reminds of summer. I've seen it upwards of 60 times (not exaggerating) and i've memorized it word for word. I can't put my finger on exactly why THIS movie. There's just something about the hatred that the rival skating groups have for each other, the high school, the well-done stunts, the hotness of Erik von Detten...put it all together, it makes a classic movie. Watch it, trust me it's awesome. In the movie, Brink (von Detten) and his friends skate right into trouble with their rivals, Team X-Blades. The X-Blades are the antithesis of Brink's Soul Skaters; they skate for sponsorship, not for the love of the sport. Brink must decide between his desperate need for cash and the respect of his friends.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Read in the commentary, it is there, since it didn't fit in this space. Thanx!
ale22230 January 2005
I loved this movie. I thought it was fascinating and very entertaining. This is, for I do love skating and this movie is all about skating competitions, besides cheesy friendship problems and stories. It is worth watching if you give it a try. OK, so I have to write a shorter summary and a longer Comment, you know what I am going to do? I am going to post my summary in here, so here it goes: This movie is about a story of a conflict between two groups of skaters and all the problems between them. The main characters are: Brink, Jordi, Val, Gabriella and Ben. The first and last two are part of the group who call themselves the "soul skaters" and Val, and 3 other guys skate because they are paid for it. Both groups hate each other, but about halfway through the movie Brink finds out his family has economical problems and decides to join Val's group (upon request, for one of the members was hurt and couldn't skate for a competition), which is called the X Bladz. Then he fights with his friends and the resolution begins (yey!) Now, to know the ending, you can watch the movie in Disney Channel, I promise you, it is worth watching. Thanx for reading!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a little trivia
trulinotanother13 July 2003
here's a lil' fact, Erik von Detten(Andy/Brink) and Sam Hoorigan (Val) already worked together 3 years prior to this movie, in Escape to witch mountain (1995) and Patrick Levis (ah shoot what's his name in this movie again) paired with Erik a year later (1999) for another disney production (tv series) 'so wierd'

uhm comments on the movie itself, erik was cute yeah, and the movie itself was a little better ( story wise and etc,) comparing to the rest of the disney originals ..
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Great Movie! ~!
Roxburyfunny16 May 2002
This movie was great. It shows you what its like to have family and friends and do what's right for both of them. This movie gave you something to think about but on the other hand also made you feel for the characters and want everything to turn out good in the end. The acting was great i Love Erik von detten and Patrick Levis their some of my favorite actors. I like Christina Vidal she was good at being a tough chick. Sam Horrigan is great at playing a bad guy. Who knew. Recommended for the skater and free spirit in all of us! ~!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The setting of L. A. at its minimum
chrishewittpiano28 December 2002
This is one of the movies from the Disney Channel that takes place in Los Angeles. The overall picture and result of this movie was good with an exciting climax to the end. However, some of the scenes are predictable, but mainly the movie has created an environment where just about anything could happen, and so it tends to make the situations more realistic and interesting. This movie deals with the lives of some skaters that skate for fun. There is a "bully" in this movie, as is there one in most movies. The bully is not exactly a "bully", but just a pestering person.

The setting of L. A. that was chose would be more realistic if they would have done more congestion in the streets and had some shots with a lot of crowds to give the movie a feel of an urban empire. In the behind the scenes for this movie which were shown over four years ago, described that the cast had to learn how to become relatively good skaters to shoot the movie. In some of the casts' biographies, it shows that some of the characters were actually skaters for a living and don't act but did this for the movie's need of professional skaters. There are some issues that may make this movie discomforting such as how some of the actors and actresses mainly work on Disney movies, so they are easily remembered if you have seen a lot of other Disney movies. What I liked about his movie that you get to see how the lives of high schoolers are like with the sport of skating rattled into their already busy and productive lives. This movie is also one of those movies where the main character or characters have a perfect life, but don't realize it, but not so much as some other movies. The family can also not be perfect too. The one thing that could have made the family better in the film is by having more scenes with them all together. I do like that this movie is interesting and creative in the doings of the characters lives. So, overall I give this movie a 9 out of 10. I would rate it that extra point higher, but I still believe that is could have been just a little bit better.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This move rocked my 8 year old world when it came out
Jessica_danison_0821 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I just watched this movie a week ago it one of my favorites. When i heard about it being on i stopped what i was doing and run to my room and turned on the TV to Brink! today there are a lot of bad movies on Disney they are just i don't know i don't like them maybe it is just b/c i am getting older the last one a like was Johnny Kapahala Back on Board but brink even beats it by far it is the most excellent movie i always wished that i could skate like them the were sweet.me and my friends tried to start our own soul skater thing but it never happened everyone was to busy and that tinder age of 8 that and some of them couldn't skate and i had just learned so it probably wasn't a good idea anyway
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great kid classic.
LongLiveGinny11 August 2003
This movie is the one of best Disney movies I have ever seen. It was a very good movie. Erik von Detten was very good along with Christina Vidal, Patrick Levis, and Sam Horrigan. They were all very good at playing their roles. Sam Horrigan is the perfect Val and Christina Vidal was really good at playing her part. The movie overall was very cool and fun to watch, especially the skating. The whole story is one of the best movie stories I've ever seen. I give it 9.7/10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Disney Channel Movie
nordiemooch1017 February 2003
Brink! is without a doubt the best Disney Channel Movie. It was one of the original Disney Channel Movies, so that in itself makes it a classic. Disney Channel doesn't make movies like this anymore. Brink! is an awesome movie and will always be a classic in Disney Channel history.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
GREAT MOVIE!!!
attitudegurl128931 December 2002
This is a great family movie. Andy played by Erik Von Deeten was good!!! he's hot too!!!. It was sort of realistic because of Val the bully and the guy that only skates for the "money" and to be "popular". Brink and his gain skate because they love to skate they gave it the name "soul skating" It's a good show for kids, teaches them to do stuff for the fun not all because of the money.

Brink has problems with his friends in the movie, there's another realistic part of the movie, but really no fighting in the movie, they talk stuff out, they don't do physical fights.

The actors were great, like Erik Von Deeten, Patrick Levis, ect. The girl who played Gabriela how ever you spell it, proved to girls they can skate if they really love to skate, there was really no steriostyping in this movie and that's good for BOYS!!!!!!!

If you haven't seen the movie you so got to see the movie, it's on disney channel, or it's on VHS at stores now. If you see the movie put a comment on here. I BET YOU WILL LOVE THE MOVIE SOO MUCH!! BECAUSE I DO AND A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE DO TO!!

So what I'm saying is give the movie a chance, you will probably like how it teaches kids morals, about family, and never giving up on your dreams.

I could talk about this GREAT MOVIE all freakin day!!!.

SO IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE MOVIE, WATCH IT WHEN IT'S ON!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Erik Von Detton is gorgeous !!!
smile_27027 June 2001
As well as being a great and fun movie, the fact that Erik is in it makes it better. He is a talented actor and very, very HOT !!!! For others who enjoyed this film i suggest you see Mighty Ducks, it is very similar to Brink !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I loved this movie
ksmeeks2714 February 2001
This movie is one of the greatest of the Disney channel original movies. It makes you fell all warm and gooey inside. I think these Disney movies are a wonderful outlet for young actors such as Erik von Detten and Patrick Levis. I recommend this movie to all who enjoy feel good kinda movies.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This Movie is about a boy that will stand up for his friends and will go to extreme measures to be happy!
natelover29 July 2000
I really like this movie. See I like Roller Blading myself and this sets it perfectly how it should be. Most of all, I like Sam Horrigan. I think he is so cute and normally sweet. He's not mean like he plays the character on Brink. I hope everyone enjoyed this movie as much as I did. Also one day I hope to meet or even date Sam Horrigan.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great for the whole family!!!
ziplizard22 February 2000
Brink can entertain both kids and teens with the awesome roller blading as well as entertain the parents with a wholesome movie that teaches a moral code about trust and friendship. Anyways, most likely teenage girls would also love Brink for who else, but the hottest teen actor, Erik von Detten. And if anyone cares, I'm his number one fan and been a fan since Escape to Witch Mountain (which is also a great family film)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very cool!
SparkleZ28 October 1999
This is a great family movie, I enjoyed it alot!! But, I knew I would before I even saw it because my favorite actor, Erik von Detten is in it,and I love him!! I am >his #1 fan! He's an incredible actor and he did really well in this movie, I would totally recommend "Brink!" to anyone that loves rollerblading or just wants to watch an excellent family movie, I give "Brink!" and Erik 5 stars!! ...Later :)

--SparkleZ
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed