Gone Fishin' (1997) Poster

(1997)

User Reviews

Review this title
74 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Dumb But Innocent, And That's Not So Bad
ccthemovieman-12 June 2006
This was "Dumb and Dumber" without the crudeness and profanity. That doesn't mean it's an award winner: it's pretty stupid, but it is refreshing to see a movie in which both Joe Pesci and Danny Glover star and never utter a profane word! Unbelievable! And you can add Rosanna Arquett to that list, too, and she wasn't exactly Mother Teresa in a lot of films.

The professional critics totally lambasted this film, which wasn't altogether fair, either. It is refreshing in its innocence (something critics know nothing about) and it has its funny moments. Best of all it's entertaining. Yes, this is "Lightweight" with a capital "L" but I've seen a whole lot of films that were the opposite and total garbage. At least you watch this with your kids and have some laughs. What's wrong with that?
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny like Hope Crosby Films
mrskywalker16 July 2001
Don't listen to the cynics. Gone Fishing was pretty fun. There is nothing mean spirited here just a a funny flick about two guys who go on a fishing trip. I know it is fashionable to blast this film. I heard so much negative stuff that I almost did not rent it. If you are looking for comedy based on satire, parody, insults, or crude situations you will not find it here. This is just a fun movie with no agenda which makes it a rarity. This film is more in the spirit of Out to Sea, Grumpy Old Men, Road to Hong Kong or even Legally Blonde. Gone Fishing is worth a rental.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Two likable "average" guys on a memorable adventure
phillipsjennie15 February 2006
While this certainly isn't your typical Joe Pesci movie, I found it highly amusing. Joe and Gus (Pesci and Glover) find themselves in the most absurd situations...but the characters are so darn likable you really WANT things to work out OK for them! It's a family-friendly (no cursing at all!) FEEL GOOD movie! Seriously, this movie is a fantastic "pick me up" after a rough day...I strongly recommend it. Even found myself not minding Willie Nelson in this flick (he plays the pro fisherman Joe and Gus admire).

"We're lucky, Joe. We have great families, our wives love us, we go to church, we work hard...all we want is to go fishing. Can we help it that everything goes wrong around us?"
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sometimes you just don't want to have to think
gaburley21 October 2006
Hi; I enjoyed this movie (more than the crap on the tube this season); I even "suspended disbelief" once or twice. This might not be the best showcase for any of the main actors talents. We know what is about to happen at every turn, and yet this film feels as comfortable as a well worn pair of shoes, the ones that you only wear to cut the grass or do your bar-B-Quing, the ones that despite your wife's protestations, remain hidden away, awaiting that next perfect summers day.

Nice endearing characters, some good ol' fashioned slapstick, a few good laughs and Willie Nelson; what could be better.

Glenn

Don't expect much, just make some popcorn, sit back and enjoy the film.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Clean comedy
Turks21 February 2004
Ok, why's this film get a bad rap? I saw it and enjoyed it thoroughly. Not very often in these days do you get a film like this. It's a comedy without poop jokes, sexual innuendo or foul language. And you know what? It's truly funny. The innocents Joe Pesci and Danny Glover project, mixed with the wacky situations they get mixed up in, is truly hilarious. Not only did I find this film a laugh filled feel-good comedy, but its one of the few comedies of the 90's that I would feel OK about my little brother watching it with me.

There is nothing bad about this film. Sure; the script is silly, and the plot is inane, but the movie itself projects an innocent fun that can be enjoyed by people of all ages. Sure, if you're looking for a comedy akin to American Pie or Something About Marry, you won't find anything to your liking here. However, if you want a clean fun comedy with wacky antics and a good fun plot, this will work great.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good family movie
bbjscooby14 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Not the best comedy but not the worst either. If your looking for a good family movie to watch with the kids then this is a good choice. But if you actually pay attention to the whole movie you will find that there is more than just a slapstick comedy. this movie has a good theme that two friends (Pesci and Glover) can stick together through the worste of times and still come out ahead as you find out at the end of the movie. as I said if your looking for a movie that you will be laughing all the time then this is not for you but if you want to watch a movie and finish with a happy goodfeeling then this movie is for you. at times you also feel sorry for them because of what they are going through and the actors show it good. and the kids will love it.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Country Grammar
raulfaust27 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
According to Murphy's law, "anything that can go wrong, will go wrong", and that is basically what happens with Joe and Gus for most of the time. These two fellas intend to go for a fishing, but things don't go according to plan, delivering a lot of bad situations-- which aren't that bad, since both characters are optimist. What amazes me the most is how the humor scenes are filled with original jokes, like the scene in which they are in the first restaurant making their orders like a homosexual couple, and not paying attention that everybody around them felt that way. It's funny how filmmakers portray them like two very innocent guys that end up succeeding in getting the prize-- in fact, the smaller prize-, making you feel like there's no need to be a smart pants to be rewarded. I read some criticism towards the acting, but in my point of view, the whole cast is professional, and the main actors are even a little above average. Besides, the plot is fast paced, never tiring the spectator. Also, it's a BIG personal coincidence that they mention 1972's "Deliverance", given that I was just about to watch that movie, but preferred catching what was on cable. All in all, "Gone Fishin'" is surely a feel good movie that have been hidden from mainstream since it was released, but it's hard for you to not enjoy it!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great way to kill an hour and a half
FischMan-29 January 1999
All I can say about this movie is that i'ts a great time-killer. I would rent it if I saw it in my video store, and personally I think it's very funny despite the reviews it got. If you're a fan of comedy or even just a fan of Pesci or Glover, give it a try!
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Down in the Ever-Glades"!
huntersrestkid115 March 2010
This is just a great film. Why on earth are people rating it so low and calling it bad? It's not a bad movie, its one of the best movies I've ever seen!! Joe Pesci and Danny Glover together on a fishing trip? Comedy awesomeness right there! I think the people that hated the awesome innocent family movies like this are just stupid. They go for the action shooter thriller WHATEVER movies, and thats cool but its not cool to hate on a film that is great just because of that. I have great taste in movies, so I know what I'm talking about. I like the modern movies, and know that most of the cutesy fun-filled family movies (that, not to mention, have music written specifically for them) are back in the 70s and 80s. I'm drawn to those types of movies the same as modern thrillers, if not more than. "Gone Fishin'" is a 1997 movie, and proof that the modern era still makes those fun filled great family films. PESCI AND GLOVER 4 LIFE!!

Buy this film, and have fun Fishin'!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
bloody Brillo it is
brewphobe21 May 2008
i think this film is absolutely incredible. the acting performances are really subtle but spell binding. people talk about taxi driver or raging bull as a classic but this is more my bag baby. the kings have arrived. move over Kubrick.... your nothing compared to the cinematic brilliance that is GONE FISHIN WOW WOWEE! Joe Pesci really excels with superb direction here. Danny Glover here is magnetic and plays the part immaculately justifying his performance considering Daniel Day Lewis and Sir Ian McKellen were turned down in favor of the Lethal weapon star..... and you thought he was too old for this s###. well f### you!!!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie is hilarious!!!!
shorty487 August 2001
This is just a funny movie! Not exceptional just funny. I laughed so hard. What a great movie that will just make you laugh. I had a really bad day and had purchased this movie last week. I thought I would put it in and I really wasn't sorry. I had enjoyed Pesci and Glover in the Lethal Weapon movies and they did not disappoint me in Gone Fishing. Just laughter from beginning to end.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Something went wrong here...
August19912 December 2003
Danny Glover and Joe Pesci are good actors in my book. But something went seriously wrong in this film. What?

For starters, the script is not funny. But the film is worse than the script. There are dumb scripts that attract a certain audience because the actors somehow manage to be funny/interesting/appealing or the director puts the whole thing together in a funny/interesting/appealing way. In this film, everything is pathetic.

Well, the film has so-called "production values". It's not a home movie. So, it's an example of what-not-to-do with several million dollars.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Gone Tarded
MarGab0u81219 August 2004
The previews for this movie made it look really funny. Especially the part where Glover's character says, "I don't want to squeal like a pig!" after a reference to the movie "Deliverance". However, I was extremely disappointed by the movie itself. When we got to the theater, we found only two other couples there, and they both left after about the first twenty minutes. Unfortunately, we stayed and watched the whole thing. The whole movie consisted mostly of two my favorite actors, Joe Pesci and Danny Glover, acting like retarded people and talking baby talk to each other. It is all this "baby talk" that makes the movie so unbearable to watch. I wanted to climb through the screen and slap them. I give this movie a borderline zeebo.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rare, Simple, Clean Comedy, Not Too Superb, Though...
rettaman3 September 2002
After finally watching this movie with a senior citizen and reading all of the other readers' comments about how terrible this movie "is", I thought I should have my say.

First, this movie isn't the BEST comedy ever. There have been better comedies before and since this movie. True, hearing the characters calling each other by their first names every so often can be annoying at times, I am PLEASED that I didn't hear much profanity in the movie.

I would much rather hear the characters' first names in every other sentence than profanity. So, this movie is rare in the sense of NOT having profane jokes and potty humor (like Austin Powers) to encourage laughter. But, knowing how today's society is, there is still the occasional "hell", "damn", and such.

Second, when I was watching this movie, I began to think of how the characters relied on some physical comedy and some crude slapstick humor. I do think the comedic routine could've been more refined and I have laughed at "The Three Stooges", "Oliver and Hardy", "Abott and Costello", and the older classic comedies more than I did in this movie. "Dumb and Dumber" was funnier, but somewhat vulgar.

Third, the plot and the characters could've been more refined, too. It seems as though about all the characters had to do was to act silly and get overly excited about winning a fishing trip and being very naive and innocent while creating havoc. But, this movie is simple and doesn't rely on some of the other crap that other movies rely on to get a laugh.

Finally, I would suggest this movie to older viewers who do appreciate a simple comedy without all of the unnecessary violence, potty humor, and profanity as evident in most of today's movies. (If this movie could've been more refined, I would've given it an "8" out of "10", but instead I give it a "5".)

PS--I don't think that most of mainstream society would appreciate this movie as they might appreciate potty humor and profanity, which I think is worse to think about than this movie itself!

Happy Viewing!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lost in the Everglades
jotix10016 September 2005
This attempt at comedy clearly didn't work out as demonstrated by the reaction of the comments to this forum. One could never guess what made the people behind "Gone Fishin'" even attempt to produce a substandard comedy that is an insult to movie fans.

We would have Joe Pesci and Danny Glover's heads examined in order for us to understand how did they agree to appear in this movie. It seems they must have been hard up for cash because this film will not add anything to their careers.

Let's just hope the joke is on us and the director, cast and crew had a fabulous time while doing this movie and that perhaps they managed to have "gone fishin'" themselves while they were in the area.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"Hey Joe, Is This Movie Good?" "I Don't Think So Gus."
MovieMan-11225 September 1999
This has got to be the worst comedy I have seen in a few years. Pesci and Glover must have been really desperate to take these roles. Their characters are mentally retarded people from New Jersey who win a fishing trip to the Florida everglades. Could've been a funny movie but everything from start to finish is predictable and NOT FUNNY! It gets even worse after you keep hearing the guys call each other by their first names in every other sentence. Here's an example of the dialogue throughout the entire movie:("Hey Gus, what should we do?" "I don't know Joe." "Gus, this is weird. They stole my car." "We can go find it Joe." "Will you help me find it Gus?" "Sure I'll help you find it Joe." "Thanks Gus." "No Problem Joe, Always glad to help Joe." "Thanks Gus. You know what Gus? You're a real pal!" "So are you Joe! A real pal.") Gus Gus Joe Joe Joe Gus Gus Joe Gus Joe Joe Gus.....on and on and on and on and on. Did the writer not pick up on this when he was writing the script? Maybe he did but he forgot to think about one thing....IT'S NOT FUNNY!!! * out of ****. Waste of talent. Pesci should get back in his mobster roles since he hasn't done a decent movie in 4 years. And Glover better start working on a Lethal Weapon 5. Get to work Boys!
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
stephan-3826 August 2000
I watched this on a flight to St. Louis, and it's the first ever movie I have had to stop watching. It is awful - I thought Men In White was bad, but this tops everything! What were they thinking? I was trapped for the full length of the movie at 36,000 feet! Never again...
8 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible movie and a complete waste of talent.
intotheabysss3 January 2006
This movie made me feel embarrassed for Joe Pesci and Danny Glover. It wasn't funny... Not funny at all... It disgraces of both of their names in my opinion and is my all time worst waste of time. Where can I get a refund for the 1.5 hours of my life?!?! Hmmm.. Well apparently I have to write at least ten lines about this horrible movie for you to learn of just how bad it is. This is really just another waste of my time but I feel that it is beneficial for people to be aware of just how much I disapprove of this wonderful display of inadequacy. Perhaps I should use the following 2 lines to write script that would be better, but unfortunately it's difficult to write blank script. So what I'll suggest is that the original film should be chopped up into tiny little pieces and used as confetti at REAL movie premiers. If I could vote lower than 1 I would. I guess that's 13 lines. :)
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really awful!
jmanovcanada24 October 2005
I went into this movie really looking forward to seeing Pesci and Glover as a team, boy was I ever let down. I don't know what those 2 were thinking when they signed up for that movie, temporary insanity perhaps. I personally like quite a range of comedies and I certainly like slapstick, this movie isn't slapstick, it's pure stupidity. Movie's like this are so painful because you want to laugh, but good luck trying to find many laughs in this one it's just pure tedium. I've sat through some bad movie's before but, with the exception of Pearl Harbor, I don't normally turn off a movie before the end, but this was just too much!! Be warned.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not worth the plastic it was printed on.
fromwithin15 May 2005
I was in the mood for something light-hearted, and usually that means that I'll laugh at even the most ridiculous of films. This abomination, however, ended up leaving me feeling like I'd just had all trace of joy sucked out of me. It's hard to describe just how unfunny it is, suffice to say that it never even raised a smile, let alone a laugh. The set pieces in the film are so forced it makes you cringe, and they are so obvious that you see the punchline coming a long, long time before it happens. The acting is pretty dreadful, but only to be expected with such weak dialogue. Maybe it seemed good on paper as it attracted a good set of names for the lead roles, but obviously the director had no concept of comic timing, pacing, or excitement. Think of the most cringe-worthy unfunny moments that you've seen in the most mediocre comedies that you've come across. Put them all into a single film and call it "Gone Fishin'". One of the worst films I've ever seen.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Doubly Tragic
sep105112 August 2003
Someone. I believe it was Truman Capote, once said that when he was bored at dinner parties the only thing he could do, to keep sane since there was no escape, was to analyze the other person to find out why he found them so boring. This is a movie which could generate a lot of analysis. The core of the problem is the characterizations of Pesci and Glover. They play, straight faced, a pair of extremely stupid friends to which infantile catastrophes happen. These are largely physical inasmuch as neither is bright enough for repartee. Historically the center of any physical comedy routine is an essential childlike innocence. Reference the films of Jerry Lewis or Jim Carrey. When Pesci and Glover, as tired middle aged men, try the same routines they simply look pathetic. Pesci has pulled off this role, albeit playing a character who thought he was smarter than he was, in Home Alone. However there he benefited from a much better script in terms of dialog and physical setups. However, in Gone Fishin', there is simply no good dialog and no surprises in the action. Only Gary Grubbs, as a shifty boat dealer, seems to generate any fun. The true pity of this film was that one of the stunt women, Janet Wilder, was killed in a boating accident while the film was being made. To die young for Gone With The Wind would be a tragedy lessened by one's achievements. To die young for this worthless waste of film is just doubly tragic.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can you say "Script" people? Obviously Jeffrey Abrams couldn't.
big_ego7 August 2003
To think that after a beginning like Raging Bull, and other stellar performances from the truly warped Tommy in Goodfellas to Simon Wilder of With Honors, not to mention actually funny performances in My Cousin Vinnie, The Super, and Leo from the LW series, that he would do a total stinker like this. Although Danny Glover often chooses "Acting Lite" in his roles he does have a fair degree of talent. Why these two paired up to make this "movie" I will never understand.

If you have difficulty counting without the use of your fingers you might find a measure of humor here. Otherwise be prepared for 94 minutes of the most horrendous bad acting caught on film. I firmly believe there was not actually a script for this movie. How many times can you watch these two morons look at each other with their mouths agape, saying "Oh yeaaaah."?

I saw this when it first opened, hoping for some light, funny comedy, what I got was an hour and a half of me staring at my wife, her staring back wondering if it was ever going to be funny. Needless to say, our answer came with the credits. "Gone Fishin'" has become a catchphrase for anything that is truly horrible.

As an aficionado of B movies, in the Mystery Science Theater sense, I thoroughly enjoy a bad movie. It is a wonderful thing to add dialogue with friends and jeer at the horrors of movies like "Surf Nazis Must Die" (an actual title, check it out) but this doesn't even make it to that worthy category of: So Bad You Have To See It. Spare your brain cells. If you want to see something stupid but funny there are an infinite number of choices. Too many choices for anyone to have a good reason to watch this.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
So Very Disappointing. Two Great Actors, One Lousy Movie...
MovieAddict20162 February 2003
Joe Pesci and Danny Glover, who most likely ran over ideas for this film while shooting "Lethal Weapon" 2, 3 or 4, are the stars of "Gone Fishin'", a very disappointing movie.

I am very fond of Joe Pesci's past performances. "Goodfellas," "Casino (a.k.a. 'Goodfellas 2')," "Raging Bull," and even "Home Alone". Danny Glover is excellent in all four "Lethal Weapon" films, as well as "Predator 2," even though the film wasn't great.

So, seeing how bad "Gone Fishin'" was, I feel the two guys were just filming this to have fun, sort of like the Rat Pack with the original "Ocean's Eleven."

1.5/5 stars --

John Ulmer
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A waste of time and $4
dek11581 August 2001
This review is only half as long as the ones I wrote for Flashdance and Top Gun. It's because I only watched half of the movie. I am quite disappointed in Danny Glover and Joe Pesci; they have made some entertaining films (with and without each other). I laughed once during the movie; I was making fun of the movie itself. There should be a disclaimer on the box: "Individuals under 10 years of age shouldn't watch this."
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Going, Going, Gone!
tfrizzell15 March 2001
A total waste of film that brings two great actors together (Joe Pesci and Danny Glover) for, of all things, a fishing trip. Anyway, the two get into all sorts of trouble and, if you are still watching by the end, you will be terribly disappointed by the ending. Then again, you may be cheering when the end arrives as you will be one of the few to sit through this movie. 2 stars out of 5.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed