Flatworld (1997) Poster

(1997)

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Unique must-see for animation lovers, fun for everyone else too.
michaeljsouth5 September 2005
This film is a remarkable animation achievement, and, as far as I know, the only one ever done with this particular technique of animation.

The sets are three dimensional, built entirely of paper and cardboard, and the characters are drawn onto little card stock cutouts, one cutout per frame. So they take a shot, replace it with another cutout, take another shot (actually it was two shots per placement iirc).

The effect is amazing. The story takes place in a world made of paper, and artfully explores the implications of that. The VHS version I have has a "making of" at the end of it that will have you watching it again just to catch some of the extra details they tell you about.

This film was truly a labor of love and every frame shows it. If you are into animation, it's worth buying just to see it once. Also a lot of fun for the kids, very imagination-bending.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A new reality
huineman30 May 2007
The story of "Flatworld" is a funny and entertaining one, a bit slow at times; nevertheless what this film is worth being watched for is the reality it develops. Let's explain it.

Greaves' second animated short after his 1991 Oscar winning debut displays loads of imagination by means of a three-dimensional environment in which all objects and subjects are actually two-dimensional and made out of stationery. The world resulting is a "Flatworld", coherent and consistent, where people can slip through crannies, one can get rid of an angry dog by just crumpling it, beard is not shaven but erased, police officers shoot no bullets but staples instead and if you get injured, just wrapping some tape around the wound will do.

In another turn of the screw, Greaves allows his flat world to encounter the standard two-dimensional cartoon world, thus enhancing the differences between them two.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious fun for the family
ro_binson1 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This film is a must for any animation fans, or anyone willing to spend just half an hour watching a very funny film. While there are no great surprises in the story, and no real emotive content, this film tries and succeeds in transporting us to another world where we can escape and forget about life for a time. Flatworld has animation that, while not ground-breaking, is decidedly different and interesting to watch. The characters, despite not speaking a word, still manage to be hilarious and engaging - of special note are the cat and fish! Essentially, we are taken to a grey, dreary world where everything is flat, and the hero of the story goes about his day to day job with a humdrum lack of enthusiasm. However, when a TV wire breaks and malfunctions, he is suddenly zapped into the TV with his cat, whereby he encounters a criminal mastermind amongst other adventures - the story follows his adventures as the remote control suddenly becomes an object of extreme power! Very good, hilarious fun for the family, this film is recommended by the vast majority of those who see it. Suitable for everyone, this universal cartoon should be sought after and supported!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Truly Innovative
lightningboy424 November 2002
This short film is one of the finest pieces of animation I've seen in a long time. I stumbled upon it one afternoon and I fell in love. The combination of 3D and 2D animation, 2D characters in a 3D cardboard background and traditional cel animation, is incredibly well recieved. The entire sequence of the battle between the hero, Matt Phlatt, his cat Jeff, and the Burglar, attempting to retrieve the stolen money through the water conduit is incredible. There may be no dialogue, but it's not needed. It's by far one of the best animated films that the BBC has produced in a long time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Flatworld
jboothmillard14 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not sure if it is the same makers of Wallace and Gromit, but it is a very good cartoon. On a planet where everything is flat and made of paper lives Matt Phlatt with his cat and fish. He one day (while working) electrocutes himself with TV wires and then after a short while touches a puddle. Then every person he touches could go into a puddle porthole to a world where you are on TV in a 3D world. The cat enters this world first and changes channels with the touch of his remote. Unfortunately, when opening this porthole Matt let out a dastardly TV villain from a cop show. The showdown sequence between them is good. It was nominated the BAFTA for Best Animated Short Film. Very good!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the most creative animation shorts I've seen...
tommy23021 April 2000
Flatworld is mind blowing, imaginative, animation short. The whole trick to the movie is the animation is flat three dimensional. Everything up until he zaps himself into the television alternate world is three dimensional. There is no dialogue which is also great because anyone in the world can watch it and understand it. It is unlikely you'll be able to rent this video but if you ever see it on tv, watch it! You will love it! Great film, great effects, great music.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I really love this animation!
frogmonsterrkp16 June 2006
I really love this short film, its so clever! Saw it a few years back in the BBC Christmas series of animations (when i was living in England) and taped it at the time but i lost the tape and have been searching for a copy of it ever since! (its very hard to find - and this is the first time my google search has brought up anything half decent about the film!) I've tried unsuccessfully to explain the cunning use of paper both as the medium of animation and the material the world is made of in the story. My favourite character has to be the fish - he has such an attitude problem towards the cat! I will have to do a bit more searching and see if i can find it on DVD.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How did this film NOT get an Oscar nomination?!
MartinHafer18 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Daniel Greaves won an Oscar for his short, MANIPULATION. I was not particularly impressed by this film and said so in my review. However, a few years later, he made what is probably one of the best animated shorts ever--yet it didn't even get nominated! Now to be fair, the 1998 Oscars was a tough year for this category, as there were so many wonderful and inventive animated shorts. GERI'S GAME (by Pixar) won, though it was among my least favorite of the nominees--and it's still a wonderful film. Somehow THE OLD LADY AND THE PIGEONS lost, as did Alexandr Petrov's sublime RUSALKA--and, as I already mentioned, FLATWORLD didn't get a nomination. While you might be tempted to chalk it all up to a tough year, FAMOUS FRED somehow got nominated and it was a rather annoying and lesser quality film. The only nominee that year I didn't yet mention was Disney's REDUX RIDING HOOD, as oddly, it isn't available anywhere and I've only seen a few tantalizing photos of the cartoon. It's on none of the Disney DVDs and was only briefly shown during animation festivals. Why--especially when the reviews of those who saw it were so positive? So why did I absolutely love FLATWORLD? Well, the biggest two reasons are that I've never seen a cartoon like it and because it's so funny. The animation style is just amazing.

The story begins in an odd world where all the people, animals and cars are paper-thin--sort of like the Paper Mario characters from the GameCube game. They live in a 3-D world that was apparently made up of an elaborate set--very elaborate. The story centers on a nice guy who has two pets--a nice cat and a nasty fish that's always messing with the cat and making it look like the cat is at fault. The interactions between these pets is very funny and it's nice to see the fish be evil for a change.

As this guy is going about his life, there is a bank robbery and the robber switches bags with the nice guy so the cops won't catch him. And, speaking of cops, I loved the big cop--he was a wonderfully drawn character. Now here's where it gets weird...our hero (the main character) has somehow gotten a jolt of energy from a cable that makes it possible for him to jump into puddles on his world and end up in a world that looks like a traditional animated film. Seeing him, the pets, the crook and the cops go back and forth is a real treat--as the styles change so abruptly and are so clever. Even better, later in the film, the traditionally animated characters start slipping into Flatworld.

It's really hard to give an adequate description of the film and I know my ranting over the last two paragraphs might not really make a lot of sense. The bottom line is that this is one of those films you have to see to believe and appreciate. It's currently posted on Youtube (hopefully legally) and I encourage you to take a look. It's great.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Flatworld Review
lucchipr26 October 2018
I think this movie it was pretty good, you could see how was the stop-motion but it seems like a real movie. The movie didn't have talking but it did have music. You could tell really good how the movie was with each part. Then you could see, the place where they film, it was a huge place. The movie to be a stop motion movie it is really good filming with really good music.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Masterpiece!
miladbathani27 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Flatworld is a masterpiece of a stop motion film. It provides the audience with a unique perspective of combining 2 dimensional scenes with 3 dimensional scenes/cell animation. The story doesn't go into too much depth as far as plot wise but it entertains the audience to an extent to where you don't feel bothered to really care. It enriched the way that stop motion films are made today and how they were in its time. I would recommend this film to anyone that is interested in animation and would very much like to watch it again!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great escape for all filmgoers
Jeremi10127 September 2018
Flatworld is a fun, light-hearted film that kept me engaged the whole way through. the world it developed through its combination of traditional cel-animation and cardboard stop-motion was truly spectacular. the overall care and attention to detail that the creators of the film put into the world was truly inspiring. i cant forget to mention the Flipworld that gets introduced in the second half of the film. The quality of the animation and the overall style of it fit perfectly with the film and meshed really well with the cardboard world introduced at the beginning. the film, although a tad bit slow at the beginning, didnt waste any time getting into the story or showing of its animation style. overall this movie was fantastic and would definitely have no trouble watching it again and again and again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super creative and fun ride all the way through
andyjung23 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Flatworld maximizes every tool available to stop-motion and cell-animation, and seamlessly blends them together. Uses the 2-dimensional characters to every means possible, for hilarious gags and fascinating transitions.

Every shot is painstakingly crafted and stocked with detail. Gets better on rewatch. Transitions between different "channels" are flawless and fun to watch.

I thought the plotline was somewhat lackluster, throwing sequence after sequence.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ahead of time back then
fynnprobst-7490523 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The movie: "Flat World" is a well done movie when referring to it's date of producing, 1997. Back then there haven't been techniques there are nowadays. Still the movie is interesting and entertaining because of the different locations and characters. All though it wasn't said at least one word one still understands what is going on and what the characters are up to. Nevertheless some scenes where kept a bit long for example when the characters switched the scenerys on and on. You could also predict the next steps that happen at some point. Still it was a well produced movie that I can recommend and rate it 8 stars out of 10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A comedy that was amazing not for the jokes.
brianhan-8490122 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The short film 'Flatworld' was a highly entertaining movie to watch, with aesthetically intriguing ideas everywhere. The genre, if it had to be classified, would be a comedy, even though its not definitive. The film contains classic slapstick comedy, with the archetype of the 'cop, robber, and the framed' scenario. However, the real beauty of this film does not exist inside it's subtle humour or its well thought out plot. The real interest of mine of the film was inside the making of the film. The film used different types of animation to animate this movie, such as 3D graphics and cel animation. This brought upon the most interesting part of the movie: the mixture of 3D and 2D. The film incorporates the different types of animation into different scenes of the movie, such as characters being 2D and buildings being 3D. Even the plot is affected by this influence. This was one of the most intriguing ways to use stop motion I've ever seen. Even though it was an amazing film, The plot was a bit stereotypical, and easy to predict. However, the idea of the mixture of different types of animation definitely covered that issue up. Overall, 'Flatworld' was one of the most unique and funny films I've ever seen. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone, but especially animation lovers. The short film 'Flatworld' was a highly entertaining movie to watch, with aesthetically intriguing ideas everywhere. The genre, if it had to be classified, would be a comedy, even though its not definitive. The film contains classic slapstick comedy, with the archetype of the 'cop, robber, and the framed' scenario. However, the real beauty of this film does not exist inside it's subtle humour or its well thought out plot. The real interest of mine of the film was inside the making of the film. The film used different types of animation to animate this movie, such as 3D graphics and cel animation. This brought upon the most interesting part of the movie: the mixture of 3D and 2D. The film incorporates the different types of animation into different scenes of the movie, such as characters being 2D and buildings being 3D. Even the plot is affected by this influence. This was one of the most intriguing ways to use stop motion I've ever seen. Even though it was an amazing film, The plot was a bit stereotypical, and easy to predict. However, the idea of the mixture of different types of animation definitely covered that issue up. Overall, 'Flatworld' was one of the most unique and funny films I've ever seen. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone, but especially animation lovers.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Film
willab-0438621 September 2018
I really enjoyed this film! The merging of stop motion and cell animation provided an interesting contrast between the two "worlds", and the concept of developing a stop motion world based on the mechanics of the materials it's made out of is something that not that many films explore, but which was done really well here. I also felt that the length of the film suited the style and story really well- as much as I enjoyed this, it might have dragged on if it had been too long. All in all, the style and concept were really enjoyable, and I would happily watch it again
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great, well told, story
guidocherchi21 September 2018
Flatworld is a short film by Daniel Greaves released in 1997.

The world in which the story is set is entirely made of paper and cardboard, so all characters and objects (like cars) are in 2D, while the world is in 3D. This is probably the first feature we notice, feature that makes Flatworld so different from other short films. The plot is focused on the life of Matt and his two animals, a cat and a fish. Because of an accident caused by Matt while working, the character of a tv show arrives in Flatworld causing various problems.

But is not just the plot that makes this short film so special. Flatworld is realized perfectly combining two different filming techniques: stop-motion and animation. Sound effects are extremely good as they greatly highlight both funny and serious moments. There are no dialogues, so anyone could watch it and understand everything.

I really appreciated Flatworld, I think that, even after 20 years, it still is a really enjoyable short film. It's funny and easy to understand (perfect for kids), but it's also a technical masterpiece.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Entertaining
parkerg-g21 September 2018
The story of flat world is truly a creative and unique idea, and the animation style really helps in painting the picture. The mixture of stop motion and animation is used very well, and the way that the world is shaped around people being two dimensional makes for an entertaining film. The story itself is very fun to watch, and the fact that the creators managed to tell it without using any dialogue was very powerful. I enjoyed the colour contrast and the over-the-top use of cartoon physics, it made for a great film to watch!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Flatworld, but definitely NOT a flat movie!
mati_dipietro21 September 2018
I honestly loved the movie Flatworld. It's very imaginative and innovative, considering that it was produced in 1997, without many of the technologies which are now available to us. The soundtrack is amazing: how many films are able to express theirselves in such a brilliant way without using a single world? I feel like it was because of the music choice, which I personally found very suitable in every scene. Let's not forget the main characteristic of this movie: it was all made with paper, using the stop motion technique. Pretty amazing work. The story was brilliant in its semplicity; it shows you a world where there's no three-dimensionality, but a "reversible world" underneath, which would be pretty cool if it actually existed in real life. I enjoyed how the animals were "humanized": both the fish and the cat got human's traits, and this made them even more appreciable, in my opinion. Last thing, I really appreciated when, at the end of the end credits, the version I saw proposed a short documentary on how this movie was made. Discovering the writer's and the film-makers' ideas was very interesting, so, if you haven't seen it yet, I suggest you do that!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An impressive movie for everybody
proedig21 September 2018
We watched that movie in class and the teacher told us to create a review...

I really liked the film, because it is impressive, what the creator had to do, to film this short movie! For me, it is the first step into the modern animation. it is actually 2D animation, but it looks like 3D, because of the cleverness of the film team.

But sometimes you can see the 2D. For example: There was one scene, where a dog hit his head into the paddle. There you could see the 2D animation for a short time...

But that is the only reason, why I gave it just 8 of 10.

I love it, that the movie was without talking anything. It is so simple, but I think it fits to the movie! It is also really good, that everybody all around the world could watch the movie.

All in all I think that "Flatworld" is a masterpiece of a movie! And I think, if I will get the chance to watch it again, I definite watch it again!





Sorry for some mistakes, but my English isn't that good!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Flatworld
ThiagoRodrigues720 September 2018
Flatworld is a film that catches my attention, it's admirable watch stop motion animation because it's a hard working job and creative. Some people say that stop motion is something of the past but the producers made it in the present/future situations, and it was great. The fact of everything be made of paper and no dialogues and funny make the film unique and authentic, the sound effects are also a positive point. A film with no dialogue is interesting because everybody in the world can watch. The 2 dimension worlds connected by the tv, for me, was the most amazing part of the whole movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Flatworld a beautiful stop motion film/movie
lucaschergen20 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Flatworld is for me a brilliant movie. I really liked that all the characters don't speak and in the whole movie they just used sounds. I liked the idea of a paper world and the special and creative story. I find it cool that the stop motion team switch in the story between dark and white(or less colored) and a colorful world and the idea that film character find their way in the real world( so the dismal real world becomes a little bit more exciting and more colored).

The only thing that I don't line about the film Flatworld is that I don't that the stop motion team made to different styles of stop motion (but that is only my opinion).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Really Good
tommasomarena20 September 2018
I Really liked this stop motion movie. The bast part of it I think is the fact that t has no spoken audio so it can be understood by everyone. I even appreciated a lot the plot, really funny.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Flatworld
aidanhardingschool20 September 2018
Flatworld is one of the better stop motion film that i have seen. it incorporates stop motion and cell animation in a flawless way. I love this movie for its simplistic point of view, and its universally understandable plot.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Perfect blend of different types of animation
wmberezowki20 September 2018
This film is lighthearted, fun, and enjoyable for anyone who watches. It involves 2 different types of animation which provides an intriguing aspect for those who love the technical side, and a very cool effect for everyone. I loved the switching between 2D and 3D and the playing with different dimensions. There was nothing bad about this short; an absolute pleasure to watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Movie Overall
spillerwilliam20 September 2018
I liked this movie, it was very entertaining and the ideas were great and constantly kept the movie going with fresh scenes that intrigued you after each one. Although the storyline was great and the idea itself was a great thought the idea of stop motion for me wasn't amazing. I personally don't like stop motion and i would much prefer a traditional animation of actual people in the shots. The ending was very good and the story was good its just the stop motion and some unrealistic aspects (such as being able to slip through the door cracks) kind of ruined it for me.

Overall it was a good movie
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed