A Goofy Movie (1995) Poster

(1995)

User Reviews

Review this title
110 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A great children's film!
stargunner26 April 2004
When I grew up I watched A Goofy Movie ritually, and it never ceased to entertain me. This is a great children's film and can still relate to today's kids. The humor is enjoyable, the characters are lovable. The music is definitely bearable, whereas with most musical animated films the songs can really grate on the nerves. Perhaps it's just because I practically was raised on this film that I enjoy it so much, but I have given it to my little brother and he loves it as well. It's a great experience for any kid and shouldn't be missed. It's even a little fun for adults, and I am not ashamed to say I still enjoy it as well. A Disney classic! 10/10
36 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I love this movie
steve-86216 April 2002
OK, I'm a grown up man and I love this movie. I know I have kids but shouldn't I want to watch grown up films? Maybe this is actually just a good movie that adults and kids alike can enjoy.

This is a well underrated full-length cartoon movie about Goofy taking his son Max camping for the summer vacation. You know what Goofy is like from his appearances in Mickey Mouse films and the name Goofy sums it up. To make things more interesting, Max is wanting to be the cool kid in school and his dad is an embarrassment.

The trek across the States in Goofy's little car and all the madcap things that happen to them reminded me of the original "Vacation" film only for kids and a little funnier.

The music in this film is excellent. Some of the tracks could have been singles in the charts in their own right. Maybe not nowadays though.

If you have kids then they will love this film. If you don't have kids go to the video shop, hire it out and pretend it is for the kids.
42 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More Then A Disney Kids Flick
SephsClone12 February 2006
I remember the old Goof Troop show when I was a kid. It was fun but perhaps a too well " Goofy" for me now. It was a cartoon after all, and when I heard about this movie I thought this would be the same. Boy was I wrong.

This movie truly reaches out for kids, teens, and adults. The whole plot revolves around Max trying to get the girl, making a name for himself, and well not trying to be a complete Goof. So he does what all kids in real life do, well more or less. Basicaly he holds a little surprise concert in the middle of an assembly, with him starring as the schools favorite singer Powerline. Well he gets Roxanne's attention, but also that of his father who thinks maybe he should spend a little more time with his son, making sure Max will turn out to be a good kid.

(The characters)

Goofy Its good seeing Goofy trying to be a real parent. To me in Goof troop he was more like Max's older friend. Though Goofy doesn't seem to be as goofy as he was on the old cartoons, this shows something of a better side him. Trying to be a good father, who just wants to be part of his son's life.

Max Well he's a teen now, and he certainly shows it. Really all he wants is an easier life. Plus to get the attention and heart of that one girl. I think he truly has the most character development of the entire cast. Making things right in the end with his dad and Roxanne.

Pete/PJ Nice cameo characters, its also nice to see Pete and Goofy acting as better friends. PJ really hasn't changed much but these two truly have some of the best lines in the movie. One thing is I don't get why everyone's all confused on Pete's wife and daughter. He said in the store that he's taking PJ camping to strengthen the father/son bond. So its obvious that Peg and the girl are still at home doing their own thing.

Roxanne Ahh that popular girl that steals the heart of Max. She seems like an interesting girl however she gets really little screen time, well not counting the visions Max keeps getting of her. I kinda wish she was in it more, so we could learn a bit more of her character. Well maybe if they do A Goofy Movie 3. Big Foot 3 words Funniest Character Ever!

Music The Powerline songs really have to be my favorite. You don't hear R&B like this anymore. Of course I also like some of the instrumental pieces as well. Not to mention the "After Today" these songs really wanna make you dance more then just sing. I'm even thinking about getting the soundtrack.

This movie really needs to be seen to get its true impact. Doesn't matter how old you are, hey I'm 17 and I think its great. So if your interested in a good family movie, or just want some humor and a good story, then this is the Disney movie for you.
24 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A movie that brings you the freshness of youth
dalton210 October 1998
This is one of the best Disney films I have seen. If you are young, you will fully identify with the characters, and if you're not so young, this film will make you remember many things you left behind. The expression of the characters is sensational, the music is very good, the screenplay is fantastic, and there are lots of intelligent cinematography effects used. I find it a little short, but I'm sure that children will appreciate that (as far as I can remember, I never was able to watch a long movie when I was a child). My final rating is 8-9 out of 10.
27 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Disney at its finest. A superb movie!
Max-2003 October 1999
A Goofy Movie ranks upon my top 5 favorites. It gives an accurate representation of adolescent life in an uplifting, comedic, and often heartwarming fashion. The animation is good, the songs are great, the screenplay is superb, the voices fit each character perfectly (Especially Max's. Good job Mr. Marsden!) and many nice cinematic effects are included. This "kids" movie is a real treat to the older, and, at times is symbolic of deeper messages. A real winner that should be in the hands of any Goofy, Disney, or movie fan, for that matter!
43 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Movie Awesome
crowoftheshadow5 March 2006
Perfect, it's cartoon. The music is awesome. It's perfect, funny, and clever. A must see even though your not a fan of Disney or cartoons this one just pulls you right in. Max is such a cool kids. It gives a good message. It tells you how some people act. How lying is bad. How there are consequence's for your action. You have to watch this movie even though your not a Disney fan or you are just not into cartoons. Is good for both teens and children of any age. Adults will find it suitable. Just please go out and rent this movie. Its So Funny. I gave this movie a 10 out of 10 stars. I will never ever let so one borrow my VHS because a movie this good must be valuable one day.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty solid
stamper25 December 2001
Goofy has always been one of my most favorite Disney characters and I always found it a shame he had no feature length film (like Mickey Mouse whom I really do not like that much). In 1995 though Goofy got his feature length film, but it took me until now to see it. It was not for rent here, but I was lucky enough to catch an English spoken version on it on German TV (films on German TV are usually overdubbed in German) so I was very happy to have caught it. I was not let down, neither by Disney, nor by Goofy. The movie was not as good as the Disney movies who are targeted for big audiences, but I still liked it quite a lot. The story was pretty realistic and good, there were enough laughs, but also some ‘emotional' moments. All in all, something of everything and something for everybody. From me, that gets a:

7 out of 10
18 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Probably not what you'd expect.
redneck-619 August 2001
This one seemed to pass without notice in the theaters which is what I figured it deserved, but upon seeing it some time later on video I was surprised at how much fun this buddies on the road flick really is.

Goofy is, for the most part, the lighthearted walking disaster we'd expect him to be. But surprsingly enough, he shows a serious range of emotion, and actually pulls it off. You really can sense his devotion to his son, Max, and you never have to remind yourself that Goofy would have ever been anything but a deeply caring father. It just works naturally as a genuine extension of his gregarious character. Max himself is believably adoloscent, primarily concerned with getting asked to parties and getting the pretty girl to notice him and hoping his father doesn't publicly humiliate him (which he does, frequently), until his dad forces him along on a fishing trip which becomes a test of conscience for the both of them. The movie mixes Goofy's classic slapstick comedy with serious drama and seems to know just when to switch gears to keep from getting too melodramatic or losing sight of the conflict at the center of the story. In the end, the dramatic bits feel surprisingly honest and human and the comedy is, as I said, classic Goofy schtick. It was made when Disney thought EVERYthing they did had to be a musical, but the songs here work into the story fairly easily, and a couple are even catchy.

The only sad part is that the age group which could probably stand to learn the most from it will unequivocally find it "uncool". Oh well, the younger set as well as more mature people who love to laugh will find it plenty entertaining.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Underrated Movie
Kitegr23 February 2012
I never though that this movie would be any good, until I saw it on Cinema when I was little. I didn't remember this movie to be that good until I re-watched it as an adult.

This movie capture the relation between father and son perfectly. On one side you have a typical child having a crush on a girl as he tries to act cool and draws her attention in every opportunity, and on the other side is the most uncool father a child would ever wish to have that could ruin his reputation in an instant. Max values "coolness" greatly and tries to sever any relation he has with his goofy bloodline (even though his bloodline is occasionally catching up to him in the form of embarrassing Goofyish trademark subconscious laughs). Goofy on the other hand is the caring father, that is oblivious of the worlds recent trends, have no idea what being cool is or how his action can damage his son's reputation, and believe that every experience he had at his younger years, will work just as well on his son. Thus begin an journey where Goofy will learn to respect his son and realize that not two people are the same, and Max will have to accept and learn to appreciate his father for what he is.

Also worth to note is that there is no main villain in this movie. Disney's traditional antagonist Black Pit plays an important role, but he never does anything bad, he does't sabotage the heroes's goal in any way, he don't wish bad for them, he does't get punished in the end, he even tries to help the occasionally with advices that he thinks are good. His role in the story is to represent a different opinion of how a father should interact with his son, and even though he is presented as the bad example, there is no solid proof that his model is entirely wrong.

This movie could had worked as well with any random cast of characters, but for some reason Disney threw goofy in those shoes, and that was both good and bad. On the good side, Goofy's recognizably goofy and slapstick personality fits perfectly the uncool father, without making him annoying to the viewer. On the bad side, most people thought of this movie as a long Goofy cartoon and it didn't get the recognition it deserves.

The movie designed to entertain and teach equally to both the child and the parrent. You should give it a shot.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dinsey gone Hip Hop
famelovingboy6822 August 2003
Max, the little eleven-year-old on Goof Troop, that's not him in this he's grown up, and this is not what I excpected, it's a rare movie they don't make often. The theme here is old-fashioned dad growing up in the 60's meets your typical 90's teenager. Max is a teenager in this movie after trying to impress Roxanne, the girl of his dreams by performing a Powerline concert with him without telling anybody, something that has great imagination. He gets busted and is threatened to get put in the electric chair so Goofy decides to take him on a fishing trip to Idaho. The films got great music that I enjoy listening to on tape. Max later changes the map so they can go to the Powerline concert in La cause he couldn't see it at the graduation party he had to miss. I can relate this movie to how we all fell sometimes as teenagers. Max is mean spiritted, and tries to avoid being around his dad, and is embarresed by him and slams him for being so old-fashioned and clueless to the teen culture. He evolves towards the end, and changes and is nicer and learns to appreciate and like being around his Goofy dad and except him. In one scence at the possum park Max almost says my life's a living hell but gets cut off by a possum which I got laughs from him decking the Chuckee Cheese like thing trying to Cheer him up in a geeky friendly way. The theme is an odd couple a 90's teen stuck with a goofy old-fashioned dad. This is one of the funniest, best Disney movies ever. There's plenty of slapstick comedy like on Goof Troop.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie ever
Jessicas875 January 2019
This is in my top favorite movies ever. And apparently, I'm not the only one. I'm sure it's 90% nostalgia, but damn, it holds up well.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best animated films ever!
hansabegum1220 February 2013
What made me suddenly come and write a review to a movie that released over a decade and a half ago? The answer is simple. This movie is sincere and touching, exciting and hilarious, tear inducing and magical. I remember seeing this as a kid and have watched it every year almost after that. It is one of those movies that you can watch again and again over decades and it will still be fresh, entertaining and lovely.

This movie is a definitive example of great, beautiful emotion that captures you and tugs at your heartstrings with its pure relatable and touching emotional storyline. SPOILERS AHEAD: A story about a father and son duo on a cross country trip with different plans and a story of parent-child bonding and seeing each others perspectives. A story that had me in tears with its honesty and masterful as well as emotional storytelling. It has intelligent wit and humor as well as catchy song that i still find myself humming 17 years later.

These days many animated films rely on the quality of animation but have a shallow story. This one, a great classic gem from the past, has lovely animation and a smart, intelligent and heart filled story that just warms your heart and has you in smiles and tears through out. An accurate depiction of father-son relationships and teenagers. One of those larger than life films i will see with my kids. They don't make fantastic, animated adventure films this great anymore. Very few live up to it.

Saw it on TV and was reminded of its heart warming, action packed adventure filled with some of the greatest humor Disney films have ever incorporated. A fun magical ride for all generations and a classic whose status as one of the best will be cemented int he years to come. SOME of the greatest films of all time are underrated and this gem is one of them. A testament to when animated films had that something special, something very few animated films can regenerate these days.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not my all time favourite Disney movie, but it is still very funny and touching
TheLittleSongbird30 April 2010
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. It isn't my all time favourite Disney movie, but it is very entertaining and touching. The concept may be a little old fashioned, and the film could have been longer, but A Goofy Movie does have a very good message, good characters and a good balance of humour and sentiments while providing an accurate take on life as an adolescent. The animation is really lovely, the backgrounds are beautiful to look at and the colours are audacious. The music is funky and nostalgic, and the story is sweet and realistic, even if it is quite ordinary but I don't particularly see anything wrong with that. I also loved the sight gags, the funny things Goofy says and the touching moments especially in the latter half of the film. And the characters are great, Goofy can't do anything right, then again he was like that in the original cartoons and that's why we love him, and Max is an appealing and not bland teenager. It was also nice to see Pete, and Roxann is really sweet and cute. I also thought Max's and Roxann's relationship was really sweet. Also the voice acting is great, Bill Farmer is amusing as Goofy and Jason Marsden is on the money as Max as is Jim Cummings as Pete. Overall, entertaining and touching. 8/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of those movies that surprises you
marksg_mit16 April 2005
A Goofy movie starring one of the heroes from children of the early Disney era is a surprisingly fresh comedy about the trials and tribulations that a family of goofs would endure. At the offset of the feature, Max, Goofy's son, is trying desperately to disavow any link to his roots as a Goof. Max is caught in that tragic stage of being a teenager who is both trying to find his place in his school's society, impress the girl of his dreams, and at the same time do it all without any help from his parents. Goofy on the other hand simply cares for the well being of his son, as most parents do, and only wants the best for him. As the plot of the movie fleshes out though the two become quite aware of the fact that their priorities sometimes lie at distant ends. It is interesting to see the chemistry between the two develop as Max's beliefs and feelings are completely rooted in the hope for his immediate future, while Goofy's are formulated from the great experiences of his past. The pure beauty of this under budgeted Disney film comes in the way in which the two reconcile their differences. Max comes to understand the beauty of his father's past as well as the fact that his dad only wants what is best for him. Goofy comes to realize that Max has to grow up on his own sometime, and that this will not limit him from still playing a part in his son's life. Through trials and tribulations that are both painful and funny, the two come to understand the meaning of the word "family." I went to this movie when I was a teenager, loved it then, and then revisited it many years later and I still love it just as much. A delight for both parents and kids 10 of 10.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Forgotten Classic
TheHande10 May 2007
I hadn't realized how great this movie was until I saw it once more today.

An touching story of father and son, plus the story of a growing youth. Wrap this in with an unusually high quality comic-content and competent animation and you have one of the greatest films by Walt Disney.

One wouldn't think that a movie based on a TV-series could be this good. The intelligent story and goofy comedy plus excellent drama provide the frame for an excellent viewing experience. Additionally the musical output is excellent and not at all as cheesy as one might expect.

It is therefore my distinct pleasure to declare it the third greatest Disney animated feature film ever. Why third? Because it's just not "Bambi".
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's goofy, but I love this movie! Stop goofing around, and get this movie!
ironhorse_iv21 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Having grown up watching it, it's one of my personal favorite kid movies of the 1990's. If you ever wanted to take a 90's nostalgia summer road trip, A Goofy Movie is a great place to start. The entire movie just screams 90's. When the animated series Goof Troop aired on television in 1992, it was very popular to the point that a sequel movie had to be made. In 1995, such a film was indeed made, titled 'A Goofy Movie'. Directed by Kevin Lima, the movie is about the father & son relationship between Goofy (Voice by Bill Farmer) and his son Max (Voice by Jason Marsden). Max got into trouble in school trying to impress the girl of his dreams, Roxanne (Voice by Kellie Martin), and now Goofy believes that Max is growing up too fast, and fears of losing him to a life of crime. While Max believes in his independence, and wanting no part with his father, Goofy. Goofy want to work on their tense relationship, by wanting a family cross country trip to Lake Destiny, Idaho for some father and son bonding while fishing. The only problem is that Max promised to Roxanne, the girl he has a crush on, that he'll be at the Powerline concert in L.A. This gives Max the problem of whether to tell the truth to Roxanne or screw up Goofy's fishing trip just to be at the concert. While the movie is a cartoon, and it has a lot of humor. I do find it's mature in some places. It focuses a lot of the chemistry between father and son. This was the first time, I even saw Goofy as a father figure. While on Goof Troop, Goofy was still a father to Max, but the character on the show never went into development. He was always a stupid adult of a person who can't do anything right. In the film version, we see how his dad's antics has alienated the boy to the point, that he fears being like him, due to people mocking them. Max is actually growing, and I can totally see him as a teen. Max is one of the most believable Disney character that I can related to. Max, much to his own dismay, takes after his father at times, whether it be mannerisms (including Goofy's trademark laugh) or occasionally being clumsy. He feels that he is much cooler than Goofy however, and is not as earnest and humble as his father, as he can be somewhat of a show-off at times when he excels at anything. Adolescents are very private about their interests and are especially reluctant about sharing them with their parents. While Goofy is still clumsy, he works hard to be a good father towards Max. Goofy wasn't one-dimensional in the film like he is in his earlier cartoons. Who knew, Goofy could show angry, pain, and love? It's one of the very first Disney movie seems to actually try and convey the generational conflict between parent and child; and portrays this relationship in a very real way, full of ups and downs. I can't think of another Disney movie before this, going to this level. I think the movie works so well because of that. I have a soft spot for this movie - simply because it mirrors a lot of people teenage years so much. The embarrassing parent, the awkward kid who just wants the world to know that they're more than just some curb stomp, and wanting to prove themselves. I have to admit, it was probably this movie that convinced me to come out of my shell and made the rest of my life more enjoyable and memorable. I have to say the humor works, physical slapstick, and jokes. Some of its jokes are pretty out there like odd breaking the fourth wall humor. I loved the Lester's possum park. I don't know if it was making fun of Disneyland or not, but it was funny. Always made me laugh. This always reminded me of Chuck E. Cheese. The big foot scene was hilarious as well. The supporting cast work even Pauley Shore as Max's friend, Bobby. I'm just glad, he had a small role. Good to see Jim Cummings voicing Pete. He is a voice actor legend. The animation was pretty OK, it wasn't catchy. It look like animation, you give a TV show, not a full length animation movie. The title also is kinda wrong. It's not a Goofy movie, but a movie about Max. Goofy only plays a supporting role in the film. Kinda like a second banana. I do have to say the movie have a musical like theme throughout the film. I love every song in the film. After Today is 'The Part of your world' emotional ballad for the Disney teenager male setting the table type song that mostly sang by Disney heroines. The Tevin Campbell songs 'Stand Out' and 'Eye and Eye' are catchy. "On the Open Road" and 'Nobody Else But You" are just too cheesy for me. I don't know, but I always thought Powerline was supposed to be Bobby Brown or Michael Jackson. A direct to video sequel was made in 2000 worth checking out. The second uses a much more cliché theme of old vs. new, and though it does work and is interesting, never goes the extra mile to address anything of true importance. So I like this movie, better. Overall: There is something for both parents and the children with this film. It just had the right mix of elements for me. It had an old concept, the buddy/father-son/coming-of-age adolescence film. But it did it in just a very fresh, very appealing way for me.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very underrated film
TOMNEL25 February 2007
I do not see why this isn't on the Disney classics list. It is well animated, well scripted, heartwarming and it has better songs than many other Disney films. It deals with Goofy taking his son Max out on a road trip after Max sabotages an assembly. Meanwhile Max wants to stay so he can go to his favorite singer's concert and go out with his crush from school Roxanne. When compared to almost every other Disney cartoon, this one has more emotion. You feel genuinely sad or happy when Goofy and Max are getting along, or when Goofy is trying. I actually felt sad when Max gets mad at Goofy for taking him to the Possom show. It's a great movie, and I highly recommend any fan of animation find it.

My rating: *** 1/2 out of ****.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny movie
YouMakeMe13 June 2019
My daughter and I still laugh with this movie even though she is 34 and I am 59. I remember taking her to see this as a kid.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Solid Cartoon Flick At A Fascinating Time
zkonedog3 March 2019
When it comes to animated cartoon features, the delineating line is now almost as simple as "pre-Toy Story" and "post-Toy Story". Before that Disney-Pixar team-up cartoons in theaters were for kids and kids alone. Young kids, at that. What Toy Story proved, however, is that an animated flick could transcend that boundary and appeal to adults as well as children.

Just 6-7 or so scant months before Toy Story changed everything, A Goofy Movie premiered and largely got "lost in the shuffle", I believe. Had it dropped a bit later, perhaps it could have better captured the momentum. As it was, A Goofy Movie transfixed pre-teen adolescent audiences--including yours truly--for a (very) short time with its odd-yet-winning mix of music, humor, family relationships, and shenanigans.

For a basic plot summary, this story tells the story of Max (Jason Marsden), son of the infamous Goofy (Bill Farmer), going through his adolescence. Despite being extremely self-conscious of his appearance and gulp-like chuckle, he strives to win the attention of Roxanne (Kellie Martin). Just when things seem to be looking up on that front, Dad Goofy decides to take him on a weeks-long, father-son fishing excursion across the country. Max promises Roxanne he's going to the Driveline concert--the most popular band ever!--setting himself up for a tangled web of decisions and emotions out on the open road with Pops.

I know it sounds ridiculous considering this a cartoon starring Goofy, but I honestly believe this little film (about 78 minutes in total) could be watched 100 years from now and still have the same effect on viewers. I truly don't think this is a case of me suffering from "90s nostalgia" and rating this film higher because "I liked it as a kid".

The beginning of the film feels very much High School Musical-esque, with teen drama taking center stage. I don't care if it's 1995 or 2025, the concept of awkward teen boy trying to talk to/impress equally awkward teen girl is universal. The same can be said for when Max and Goofy hit the road together, as the tenuous relationship between pre-teen son and goofball father is once again ageless. Whether through great writing/directing or pure dumb luck, this movie stumbles upon a gold mine of relevant themes.

Like I said, if only Disney knew what they potential had at this point. No self-respecting adult would have willingly sat through this in theaters at the time (there was no precedent for that), and Disney had not yet figured out how to market such fare to wide audiences either. As a result, the movie gets sucked into a sort of "black hole" of quality content that had an extremely short shelf life.

The bottom line, though, is this: I watched A Goofy Movie while I was still in grade school and loved it. I watched it as a 33-year old adult...and still enjoyed it. All things considered, I view that as a remarkable achievement. Sadly, only those within a year or two (at most) proximity to myself will have any real knowledge/appreciation of this movie, but that set will show it to their children at some point, I can almost guarantee you that!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I liked it as a kid, and I like it for different reasons now
squirrel_burst28 March 2015
I tend to like movies about fathers and their sons and I don't think there's nearly enough good ones. If you feel the same and you want a comedic take on this aspect, I think you will enjoy "A Goofy Movie". It has some good, memorable songs, a lot of visual and cleverly written humour and a few touching moments too. The best part of the film is the really strong message about the importance of a relationship between fathers and their son(s) and how as the two get older that relationship needs to change and evolve for the bond to stay consistently strong. I like that the story is absolutely ludicrous. You might even call it "goofy". I actually wish it was longer because there are a few scenes that feel like they're missing. Our two heroes are in one location and then it cuts to days later and they've traveled a great distance. I wish we could have seen that journey. As far as animation goes, it's not breaking any new grounds, but it more than does the job. There isn't a villain in this story, just the drama between Goofy (Bill Farmer) and Max (Jason Marsden) and the struggles come mostly from the fact that as boys grow up into men, the relationship between father and son shifts in unpredictable ways. It's earnest and heart warming but it doesn't feel cheesy. It's good enough to watch by yourself but it will be a lot more effective if you watch it with your old man for some nostalgic goodness or with your own children. (On DVD, July 9, 2012)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A new favorite!
RoamingTigress12 October 2011
In spite of having been a faithful Goof Troop regular watcher when it aired, I hadn't watched A Goofy Movie until yesterday, 16 years since it was in theatres. And I have to say, I have no regrets! The movie was far more deeper than I imagined. I expected a lighthearted movie with plenty of laughs, and I got that, and more, and I was impressed by how well they fleshed out the characters.

I would definitely consider A Goofy Movie an underrated Disney movie, in my eyes. Whether or not you're looking for the nostaliga rush that I got when I saw it or just looking for a good family movie to watch with your family, I highly recommend A Goofy Movie!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
rich in content and exquisitely-colored, "A Goofy Movie" is a charming, underrated Disney gem with a touching father & son story
TheUnknown837-127 August 2010
"A Goofy Movie" is certainly one of the most underrated films produced by Disney since the company's founder passed away in 1966. Everything about this sweet, tightly-paced, humorous, and touching little gem is enthralling for audience members of all ages. It produces the funny gags and smile-producing whimsies that are promised in every feature or featurette about that clumsy and lovable anthropomorphic character. But it contains something a little more than just that.

The filmmakers in all their wisdom realized that a little more was required to expand a feature about Goofy from a seven-minute cartoon to a feature-length movie. And unlike other translations from cartoon-to-screen, it does it with intelligence and delicacy. The movie is a spin-off of the once-popular and wholesomely entertaining cartoon series "Goof Troop." The big difference is that a few years have advanced since then. Goofy's son Max (voice by James Marsden) is now a teenager and not so close to his bumbling father anymore. Now Max finds his father as an eternal brand for humiliation and wants anything but to end up like him. Heartbroken that Max is pulling away from him, Goofy (voice by Bill Farmer) on a whimsy decides to take his son on a fishing trip. Much to Max's dismay, it's on the same day he finally sealed a date with Roxanne, the girl of his dreams.

It promises lots of funny moments and "A Goofy Movie" delivers with ample satisfaction, but that is not why the movie has, I say, gone on to become such a beloved cult classic for those who have found the motivation to sit down and see it. As Gene Siskel noted in his great review of the movie, the charm of the film is that it is a father and son story, which is a rarity in animated features, especially these days. A lot of Disney movies about growing up seem to be about the young generation learning to live without their parents (usually because of parental death, et "The Lion King"). This film is about growing up, but at the same time, preserving a healthy relationship with one's elders. Like many teenagers in real life, Max is getting fed up of being treated like a child and is seeking his own life, and at the same time, not realizing what he is slowly losing. And poor Goofy, realizing this, desperately tries to reconnect with his son before it's too late. And the chronicle of their eventful and sometimes chaotic fishing trip is composed of a perfect blend of funny and touching scenes. Some moments are truly tear-jerking, but in the end, the tears are flowing with joy.

Watching the movie again for the first time in years, I was initially fearful that the romantic angle (the scenes between Max and Roxanne) were going to be sappy, irritating, and tiresome. But no, their story is really very sweet and intelligently-written. In addition, this subplot also has something to say about maturing and relationships. So instead of bothering me or stopping the movie, the romantic elements are sort of personal favorites of mine.

In an era where so many animated features are drawn sketchily and without any real vibrancy or imagination, "A Goofy Movie" glimmers like a jewel. One of the most enthralling elements about the movie is the fact that it is so darn beautiful and wondrous to look at and admire. Every single scene is painted with a wide variety of colors that prove that the animators were trying instead of sketching away and taking a check. Animators are seldom paid what their craft is truly worth, so it's even more admirable when we see them really shell out an effort. The drawing style is not only colorful, but smooth and the character design is brilliant. Goofy, his 'buddy' Pete, Max, and others resemble their classic versions from the Walt Disney era and new characters are also crisply-drawn. And I have to confess that Max's crush Roxanne is, as far as anthropomorphic dogs are concerned, pretty cute.

Also worth mentioning are the musical numbers, some of which are pretty memorable. My personal favorite is "On the Open Road" as an ecstatic Goofy and a dismayed Max begin their trip on...guess where. Perhaps these songs are not "Wish Upon a Star" and "The Bare Necessities," but they are refreshingly imaginative. The songwriters were putting up an effort, too.

Bottom line, "A Goofy Movie" is a remarkably sweet and enthralling little jewel from the Disney company that deserves far more recognition than it receives. I'd seen the movie before as a kid, but it clutched at my heartstrings with even more emotional grip as an adult. It's a movie that people of all ages can enjoy and not just for what it is or the kind of movie that it is, but as a genuinely sweet story about a father and his son. And parents with children starting to grow up and seek a life of their own might want to talk their young ones into seeing this movie and considering it as more than just animated escapism.

There is something really honest and wonderful about this film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Huy-uck!!!!!
sethn1724 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Disney's 1995 animated feature, "A Goofy Movie," had our usual "Goof Troop" characters in there - Goofy and Max, Pete and P.J., and more!!!!!

In it, Max was in huuuge trouble at school, and Goofy had received a call regarding this (the principal's threat of "I'll put him in the electric chair!!!!!" was very original and quite hysterical, might I add), so he and Max went on a very long and exciting vacation through America. This whole film IS a whole adventure!!!!!

I've seen this twice in the theaters in 1995, and I got the soundtrack to this movie in 1995 (This was my very first compact disc that I had ever had) because I liked it so much. I kind of wish that I could this film again; this sure was genius!!!!!

"A Goofy Movie" is great for the "Goofy at Heart!!!!!" Heh heh heh...get it? Young at Heart = Goofy at Heart?????

10/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Extremely Underrated Disney Flick
FurBallsUnite21 July 2006
As an avid Disney fan, I feel that this is one of Disney's most underrated films. The score and songs are great, the characters are excellent and somewhat believable, and the animation is nice. I used to watch this movie daily when it hit shelves when I was ten, and I still love it as much as I did then. My entire family loved watching this movie over and over again. Younger people will relate to Max's struggles with popularity and teen life, while older viewers will enjoy watching Goofy try to reconnect with his son. I recommend this film to Disney fans, Goofy fans, "Goof Troop" fans, adolescents who "hate" their parents, parents, and anyone looking for a family-safe comedy. The comedy, while a little slapstick at times, works. The father-son message is great but never preachy. Max's love interest, Roxanne, looks realistic; she has wide hips, slightly tangled hair, a normal-sized bust, and is not a stick figure unlike Disney's Esmeralda and Pocahontas characters. As an added bonus, fans of 90's culture will be in Heaven while watching this movie. Several references are made to 90's culture, including several articles of clothing, songs, etc. Unlike timeless Disney movies such as "The Little Mermaid," or "Alice in Wonderland," this movie makes its era obvious. Nostalgia alert!

Overall, highly recommended. One of Disney's best, and it also has high replay value and lots of 90's nostalgia.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed