Frankie and Johnny (1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
83 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
real love in the real world
andalosia2k21 May 2002
This is one of the best romantic movies I have ever seen. It is not one of those movies that shows love in a fantasy world where there are no rules, this is real love in the real world. Michelle Pfeiffer gives one of her best performances on screen. this movie is not only about a cook who falls for a waitress, but it is about the fears and hesitations we all have in starting a new life. The director did a great job in setting the right environment for the movie, which gave it a real realistic touch. Al Pacino gave a good performance, but Michelle Pfeiffer was perfection. There is a line in the movie that says it all , when Pfeiffer and Al Pacino are in the same room, he says : "everything I want is in this room". Don't miss seeing real love in the real world. Don't miss seeing "Frankie and Johnny".
56 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Do you believe?
Fredda16 March 2004
The first time I saw this movie, I fell in love. The second time around, I was already in love, watching it with my love who also fell in love and now we're all in love. All because of this movie.

Set in New York, the movie deals with loneliness, different ways of coping or letting go, it deals with love, the yearning for it and also the fear of it, this magical feeling you almost don't dare hope for. The simple but genuine approach to these important themes makes the story stand out and makes you want to believe, because deep inside you already do.

You can tell the movie is based on a play, primarily because of the special atmosphere created by the careful progression of the story, scene by scene, not to mention the wonderful and individual characters we get acquainted with. Both Michelle Pfeiffer and Al Pacino make outstanding performances and the on screen chemistry between the two is perfect.

This is an absolute must see for all you dreamers out there, and if you ever come across the play, you probably should check that out as well. Remember, the elephant must face the window and a VCR will never be a substitute for love. Sit down with this movie, and I promise you, from the first shot of the Greyhound accompanied by Terence Trent D'Arby's wonderful title track, you'll never want it to end.
60 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Overlooked.
Peach-210 December 1998
This film has been overlooked by everyone I know and to me it was one of the best movies of 1991. I didn't think the chemistry between Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer would be any good, but their on-screen romance was very enchanting. Garry Marshall did a great job directing this movie and Terrence McNally translated his play to screen beautifully. All the characters in this movie could have had a film of their own. My favorite character is Nathan Lane's portrayal of the gay neighbor. Lane is very funny and I love the way his character encourages Pfeiffer's character to fall in love. Falling in love can be dangerous, exciting, scary and blissful all in one night. This movie captures love in a way that made me feel really good.
51 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pacino and Pfeiffer ignite the screen again...
Isaac58557 December 2005
After their brief encounter in SCARFACE, Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer were reunited for FRANKIE AND JOHNNY, a charming romantic comedy about an ex-con hired to work at a restaurant where he falls in love with one of the waitresses there. I absolutely love this move...Pacino has rarely been more sexy and appealing on screen and no matter how much they tried to make her look like a Plain Jane, Michelle Pfeiffer is just beautiful and also gives a very affecting performance as the repressed Frankie, afraid to release the love she has to give due to a troubled romantic past. Pacino and Pfeiffer make the most of a clever script, buoyed by Garry Marshall's sure-footed direction and solid comic support from Nathan Lane, Kate Nelligan (hysterically funny as another waitress at the restaurant) and Marshall's good luck charm, Hector Elizondo, as the restaurant owner. A warm romantic comedy with an unexpectedly quiet denouement.
29 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
romance in the Greek Apollo-restaurant
charbrom25 March 2001
Very pleasant love-story that wouldn't have been this good without the great performances by Pacino and Pfeiffer. Pacino is the cook with the romantic heart who just got out of jail (of course he wasn't a real criminal) starts working in a Greek restaurant and falls in love with Pfeiffer, the waitress, who just wants to watch videos and eat pizza after a few bad love-experiences. Pacino has to do a lot (read Romeo & Juliet, dance like a madman, chop vegetables and be very patient) to win her love and is finally helped by the sound of Debussy's 'Claire de Lune'.
33 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see; Pfeiffer surprises
MarieGabrielle29 September 2006
with an excellent performance as a waitress in a down-at-heel coffee shop in NYC. Sounds unlikely, but she actually adapts to the role. Having seen "Dangerous Minds", which was a good film, but somehow she didn't fit that role. "Frankie and Johnny" is a great film to watch; I happened to watch it after a bad day, and it does take you out of your own problems.

Pacino plays a man just released from prison, who lost his wife and child to another man, trying to remake his life; this was based on a play by the same name, "Frankie and Johnny in the Claire De Lune" and basically addresses loneliness and isolation, even in a city as overcrowded as NY.

I wish Pfeiffer had done more of these roles. She was so often used as a decoration, her acting ability was not allowed to standout ("Scarface", "Witches of Eastwick") etc. She was also very good in "White Oleander" an excellent film based on the novel by Janet Fitch.

Overall this film is particularly good if you are having problems in your life, and happen to watch this basic story of people, how they stay isolated, how they eventually find each other and a commonality in their life. It is also not an over the top romantic comedy, so it has credibility. 10/10.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Proves Michelle Pfeiffer is not just a pretty face!
pzivojinovic30 November 2016
This is one of the lesser known and appreciated screen gems of the 90's. It's a superior romantic-comedy-drama which stars screen legend Al Pacino and screen goddess Michelle Pfeiffer. The movie is so much more about the love story. It is a very perceptive movie about people who are lonely and people who are trapped into their own lives. The movie has an achingly melancholic mood. Pfeiffer was phenomenal and proved that she deserved the part. Her beauty was toned down to make her look as ordinary as possible. The character she played has so much depth and layer that is pretty uncommon for films generally regarded as romance films. Pacino of course was good, this is his and Pfeiffer's second team up after "Scarface" of course I love the fact that he played the role with such ease and charm which is a lot different from his more serious roles before. The supporting actors Nathan Lane and Kate Nelligan stole some scenes.

There are some lovely moments,. I liked the scene in the flower market, where the two are standing together and the metal door slides up to display a dazzling backdrop of red and orange flowers. Also, the final scene with the toothbrushes and Claire de Lune is nicely done. Pfeiffer is particularly good here and Pacino backs her up all the way. Still there are so many hackneyed clichés. Perhaps its just that we have seen so many films, good ones in which people are more realistically portrayed that it's annoying to see so many old-timey stock types: the good hearted gay buddy, the good hearted but slutty waitress buddy, the good hearted Greek restaurant owner, the good hearted homely waitress buddy, the good-hearted Puerto-Rican busboy and the good-hearted black busboy. Then there are the good hearted clients. If they had gone for realistic characterizations of some of these people rather than going for heart-warming "types" this could have been a much better film. I blame Garry Marshall for this. Pacino and Pfeiffer did their best to bring some class to this film.

Overall rating: 8 out of 10.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Realism at it's best
CineMan-813 October 1998
Frankie and Johnny is one of the best love stories in the history of cinema. The scipt is excellent and all the performances are superb. Pacino and Pfeiifer seem to be made for each other, while all the supporting roles are equally impressive.But the most important element of this picture is that it is truly realistic. We can at last identify ourselves in this movie. It's a movie about real people not about cinderella-like characters that once thay find love are happy. Frankie and Johnny fall in love but can't stop being hurt by this love. They are two every day characters that live in today's world and face their lives and problems with realism. With a pessimistic mood Frankie refuses to fall in love as she is afraid she'll get hurt, while Johnny thinks that the only thing that can give a tone of optimism and satisfaction in his life is Frankie. In short. Frankie and Johnny is a delightful picture that no one should miss.
36 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A romantic, popcorn-and-wilted-roses kind of comedy-drama...
moonspinner5525 April 2006
You have to give the filmmakers credit: they did attempt to deglamorize Michelle Pfeiffer to fit into Kathy Bates' off-Broadway role of a waitress with no prospects who finds herself attracted to the new cook at the restaurant. Michelle's innate sparkle manages to shine through the dowdy clothes and plain-Jane appearance, and yet the miraculous thing is, her casting doesn't hurt the movie and her performance is one of the best things about "Frankie and Johnny". Pfeiffer and Al Pacino are a good screen match, and if they don't especially resemble the characters they're playing, they at least don't throw the tone out of whack (this is a Garry Marshall movie after all, so it's bound to have a bumpy narrative). Terrence McNally's play was about hard truths and sex on a low income; this is a big, charming commercial comedy-drama, directed with energy but no real flair. Pacino lays on the Prince Charming-pizazz a bit heavily, and Nathan Lane works overtime at being adorable as the proverbial gay best friend, but it certainly isn't a bad movie. It works on a certain level, even if it doesn't resemble reality or the original play. *** from ****
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this film
thisforestpath7 May 2004
I watch this movie over and over and never tire of it. Each time I notice more nuance. A great exploration of despair and hope, of class consciousness, and true eartly aliveness. Poignant and honest.

Michelle plays a depressed soul, beaten down who has given up completely. And Pacino is a beaten down battered ex-con, who somehow, has held onto "the dream". Nathan Lane is great - It's romantic, poignant, funny, sad, ecstatic. I love the last scene so much. What more can I say?? Don't miss this film - it's a treat.

Nancy Mehegan, Montclair, NJ
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A true and successful romance film + brilliant direction and acting
lisacamillek10 January 2009
This is definitely one of my all time favorite movies. It has an amazing positive atmosphere, great romance and a good handful of funny moments. But it also has serious stuff in it that connects to the realism of love. It shows the damage of what love does to people and when the right person comes along to make it better.

Frankie (Michelle Pfeiffer) has had bad experiences with love in the past and it causes her to retreat when Johnny, (Al Pacino) an ex con newly hired in the restaurant where she works, asks her out. With the help of her friends, she agrees to go on a date with him. But the more their romance blossoms, the more Frankie becomes scared of being hurt again.

There are important things to learn from this movie. If you found someone really special, don't let the mistakes of the past ruin it for you. The film itself has a lot of references to songs which makes it even more romantic. Romantic dramas often end in tears, but this one doesn't. It's truthful and simple. 10 out of 10.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Critics missed the boat on this one.
SarahB-23 October 1998
The scene where Al Pacino kisses Michelle Pfeiffer in front of the flower truck is, I think, so romantic it makes me want to lay down and SCREAM. But beyond that, there's a lot in this movie. It makes you think very hard about the negative impact of bringing emotional baggage from the past into your present relationships, and it also makes you ponder the positive impact -- well, the need, really -- to bring healthy new people into your life. I found each character to be interesting, and you find yourself caring about them all -- hey, they're all trying to get by the best they can in a mean world. And what might seem like "gratuitous" sex in the film (to some), really isn't -- if you're paying attention, you learn something about the characters, and even a little bit about yourself. I'm aware that this film didn't get great critical reviews, and there are the inevitable comparisons to the play (which I have not seen, but which I think I would like, even though it's reportedly much grittier than the film). IMNSHO, I think the critics totally missed the boat on this one. "Spoon up" with your lover on a rainy Saturday night and watch this one!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
where there is life, there is love
Therese-23 August 1999
Love CAN be scary. Especally if you don't expect it. This movie is very good at describing how love can be. Fate can bring two people together. Believe in it. And how perfect the theme song Clair de Lune is. It's worth a listen. Love can happen....only if you believe in it.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"Pretty Good Romance Flick!"
gwnightscream6 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Al Pacino, Michelle Pfeiffer, Nathan Lane, Kate Nelligan and Hector Elizondo star in Garry Marshall's 1991 romance comedy-drama based on a play, "Frankie and Johnny in the Clair De Lune." This takes place in New York where we meet Johnny (Pacino), an ex-con who gets a job working as a short-order cook. We also meet waitress, Frankie (Pfeiffer) who is afraid of starting over because of her past, abusive marriage. Johnny also had a failed marriage, but when he meets Frankie, he instantly falls for her. She's reserved at first, but eventually tries to move on with him. Lane (The Birdcage) plays Frankie's neighbor friend, Tim, Nelligan (Dracula) plays waitress, Cora and Elizondo (Pretty Woman) plays boss, Nick. This is a pretty good romance flick that also references the love song. Pacino & Pfeiffer not only reunite 8 years after "Scarface," but are good in this and have great chemistry. I recommend this.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My Favorite Romantic Comedy Full Summary
mrankh-519-3227882 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer star in this wonderful whimsical tale of romance and second chances. However, the underlying glimpse of differing relationships, their complexities, and the varied loneliness can often escape or even mystify some audiences.

One such audience was in the early 90's when this film was in theater where exiting Lake Geneva, Wisconsin viewers were shaking their heads and mumbling about the movie being weird, dry, and boring. Whether influenced by values and relationships that went against their personal beliefs or a failure to comprehend the deeper meanings, this audience overwhelmingly found the film distasteful.

Gary Marshal provides a wonderful layering of coincidences that one imagines wasn't in the original stage-play. The opening of the movie has Frankie off to a baptism in her hometown were we glimpse the deepness of her tragic sorrow filled life. The title song playing in the background upbeat sets the tone of possibilities to come as Frankie's train passes the very prison Johnny is being released from at that moment.

Al Pacino plays the part of Johnny who is released from prison who heads to New York to find a job and start anew. Frankie, played by Michelle Pfeiffer, is waiting on various customers providing clearer focus on her sometimes-playful side while occasionally drifting into thought as the camera focuses past her and to Johnny in the street approaching the cafe for a job. He lands the job and immediately notices Frankie. Johnny fumbles about a few "relationships" with other women as Frankie is cool as a celery stick at first and the film unravels the layers of the two main and several supporting cast of characters lives.

You have the owner of the Apollo Cafe, an old world Grecian who loves his family and soccer, the "sluttish" waitress with a good heart and bad luck in men, the loner waitress who lives alone with her pets, the young studly busboy who can't keep off the phone. At home Frankie has a gay neighbor who is constantly having as much problems in relationships as she is and has been a close friend for years. Frankie's crisis over her feelings for Johnny allows dialog to provide retro-glances of her and her gay neighbors past relationships while revealing the intricacies of their current ones.

Johnny is vivacious and people can't help but like him. Through the death of a long-time waitress Frankie becomes intrigued with the compassion of Johnny who never knew her. Even so it takes tenacity and a bit of comical confusion before Frankie ends up on a date with him that she's not sure she agreed to in the first place. Johnny finally thaws Frankie's heart with a dance on that date at a going away party where she refuses to dance a traditional Greek square dance. He dances with another waitress but during a solo in the circle they can't keep their eyes off each other as he dances flirtatiously for her.

Nearly ever type of relationship is seen in the film. Frankie watches neighbors from her window revealing yet more relationships from an old couple obviously married for years and in the same old routine to a couple where the woman is being abused. The scenes from Frankie's apartment are truly shot as windows into the lives of others and are accompanied by a lonely melody that turns sour at the moment of the neighbor being abused by her husband then back down as the night fades forward.

It is the beaten woman that provides Frankie with the potential to grapple with her own inner demons as she seeks out the lady to try to help in some way. These demons nearly destroy what she and Johnny could have but…you'll have to watch to see how it turned out. I will let you know that the film hooks you like a fish then taunts you, reeling you in and just when you think Johnny is going to land Frankie's heart, she makes a run for it.

Timing is wonderful in the film. From the comedy, the tragedy, the romance, and the intrigue of how or will it turn out. The "set" is wonderfully conceived and appropriate for the events to be believable, even the coincidences are cunningly staged to make it a wonderful feel good film and intellectually complementary too.

Music is used to focus the mood from lighthearted, almost without hope acoustic music for transitional scenes, to the use of hard-rap to fortify the downtrodden area in which Frankie lives. Lighthearted Grecian melody augments some of the lighter moments. Throughout the film a jazzy composition that highlights some of Claude Debusy's Clare De Lune (their song later in the film) periodically is used during the growth of their courtship. At least four renditions of the song Frankie and Johnny pepper the films romance and comedy.

Key to the film's success is the actors' ability to effectively portray their characters every nuance and character as flawlessly as they did. Facial expressions permeate the film to communicate subtly and often overtly to augment the dialog of the scene. Most of the characters of the film find themselves in a rut they call their lives and seem mostly oblivious to it. This helps drive home the deepness of the loneliness of many of the characters and helps to accentuate Johnny's positive never say die attitude.

Gary Marshal successfully directs the film and the audience along a roller coaster of emotion. Sometimes angry, sometimes sad, often laughing, and a dash of puzzlement accent the warm and fuzzy that sneaks in. The story may be less popular due to the movie staying true to life in that not all things end as we hope, but shows that hope is worth not giving up on. 1991 must have been a busy year for this wonderful film to lack the awards well deserved by the cast and supporting crew.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bittersweet and hopeful
neil-4765 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Frankie and Johnny is a simple love story - incorrigible romantic Johnny, working as a short order cook in a Greek restaurant following his release from prison, sets his sights on waitress Frankie despite the fact that she is clearly bruised by the experiences of her life. Will his positiveness overcome her negativity?

In an effort to be objective, I have to say that I don't find the character of Johnny easy to believe in - you could specify the qualities you want in the bloke to rescue your damaged psyche from the walls you are building for self-protection, and Johnny has all those qualities plus a handful more for good measure. But Al Pacino invests him with such magnetic presence that it is easy to overlook this.

Michelle Pfeiffer's Frankie, on the other hand, is all too believable, both in the construction of the character - wounded, hurting, and scared of having those wounds reopened - and in its performance. Pfeiffer is almost too painful to watch.

The gentle humour which runs through Frankie And Johnny makes the painful emotional heart easier to bear, but this would ultimately be a bleak piece were it not for the hopeful note upon which it ends.

The supporting cast are solid, and the screenplay has been opened up nicely from the source stage play.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I just got shivers....
Pi-y12 November 2007
This is a tale of two people, one looking for love and the other hiding from it and them finding each other. Michelle plays a beat down woman who has taken off her rose coloured glasses about love a long time ago, while Al plays a man with a new lease on life and not wanting to waste any of it. For him it is love at first sight, but will his persistence keep her or drive her away? A tale that is real and raw, it reveals the other side of Love, dealing with past hurts and insecurities. A beautifully written, well directed, excellently acted movie (with a great and perfectly funny supporting cast)of life after love. A must see!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Love of Mr and Ms Average
JamesHitchcock19 September 2007
In "Alice in Wonderland", Lewis Carroll popularised the word "uglification"- the act of making something more ugly. I think that this would be a useful word to describe the process whereby some of Hollywood's most beautiful actresses deliberately use make-up to mar their looks in the belief that they will not be taken seriously as actresses unless they do so. Yes, Nicole, I am thinking of you. And you, Charlize.

The role of Frankie in "Frankie and Johnny" might seem to be a candidate for the uglification process, given that the character is supposed to be a plain and drab waitress and that the part went to Michelle Pfeiffer, probably (along with Kim Basinger) the loveliest Hollywood star of the eighties. Fortunately, this temptation was resisted. (I say "fortunately" because, unlike the Academy which handed out Oscars to the uglified Nicole Kidman and Charlize Theron, I am not impressed by that school of thought which equates beauty with shallowness). There is no attempt to hide Michelle's loveliness, even though Frankie is clearly a woman who makes little effort to enhance her looks, dressing dowdily and wearing little make-up.

The film is not based on the well-known popular song about a woman who murders her unfaithful lover, although that song is referred to at several points. It is actually based on a play entitled "Frankie and Johnny in the Claire de Lune", shortened to something rather snappier for the film version, even though Debussy's beautiful piano piece still plays an important part. I have never seen the stage version- as far as I know it has never been put on in Britain- but the film, with its concentration on indoor scenes and greater emphasis on dialogue and character development than on physical action, clearly betrays its theatrical origins.

Frankie is a waitress in a cheap New York diner; Johnny is the cook who has recently been released after serving a jail term for forgery. He learned to cook in prison (where he also acquired a love for Shakespeare and other classical literature) and has been given the job by Nick, the gruff but kindly owner, who believes in giving a man a second chance. Johnny falls in love with Frankie, and tries to persuade her to go out with him, but she is reluctant. It is clear that her reluctance stems from her having been hurt by some romantic disappointment in her past, although we never learn the full story. Eventually, however, she agrees to a date with him.

This does not seem the most promising scenario for a film. Admittedly, "Marty", which told a similar romantic story about two ordinary New Yorkers, was a great success in the mid-fifties, but audiences in the nineties generally demanded more in the way of action. "Frankie and Johnny" works, however, because Pfeiffer and Al Pacino make us believe in their characters. Pacino gets the chance to show that he can shine in films other than crime dramas. Pfeiffer gets the chance to show here (as she was to do later in films like "The Age of Innocence" "What Lies Beneath" and "White Oleander") that she is a genuinely talented actress, not merely eye candy. They are well supported by some of the others in the cast, especially Hector Elizondo as Nick and Kate Nelligan as Frankie's colleague Cora. I was less taken with Nathan Lane as Frankie's gay friend and confidant, Tim, who seemed to have too much of the limp wrist about him.

Director Garry Marshall is noted for his ability to bring out the best in his female stars; Goldie Hawn and Julia Roberts both gave one of their best performances in one of his films, Hawn in "Overboard" and Roberts in "Pretty Woman", and he seems to have done the same for Pfeiffer here. "Overboard" and "Pretty Woman" were both (although good examples of the genre), standard Hollywood rom-coms, based around a zany, and frequently implausible, screwball plot. "Frankie and Johnnie", although sometimes characterised as a romantic comedy, is a very different type of film, based on more realistic characters and situations and with a greater emphasis on the romantic rather than the comic elements. It shows that it is still possible to make an effective, and often touching, drama about the love of Mr and Ms Average. 7/10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Frankie and Johnny
jboothmillard13 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It is quite rare you see Al Pacino in a film that doesn't involve crime or drugs, and this was the second time he and Michelle Pfeiffer had worked with each other, 8 years since Scarface, and from director Garry Marshall (Beaches, Pretty Woman, Runaway Bride). Anyway, basically Johnny (Pacino) has just been released from prison, and after a while he gets a job in a Greek family's restaurant. There he meets waitress Frankie (Golden Globe nominated Pfeiffer), a woman who looks like she isn't happy with all her life. It takes a little while before she agrees to go on a date with him, but after a while it is clear that they are destined to be together. There is a point where Frankie feels lost in her monotony, and I think something to do with Johnny married, or just him unable to convince her of his feelings, but the ending where both of them listen to the radio, while both of them are brushing their teeth, to hear the song "Frankie & Johnny" (Johnny mentioned the coincidence), and she eventually gives in and the film ends happily. Also starring Hector Elizondo as Nick, Nathan Lane as Tim, BAFTA nominated Kate Nelligan as Cora, Jane Morris as Nedda, Greg Lewis as Tino, Al Fann as Luther, Glenn Plummer as Peter, Sean O'Bryan as Bobby, Fernando López as Jorge, Ele Keats as Artemis, Phil Leeds as Mr. DeLeon, K Callan as Frankie's Mother and Shannon Wilcox as Christine the Hooker. A nice romantic drama, with tiny giggles (probably not intentional) thrown in. Very good!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love love love this movie
Snoopymichele2 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
What is there not to love about this movie? It's got Al Pacino and Michelle Pfeiffer (who were so amazing together in Scarface) together again-and believe me, lightning does strike twice with them, great writing, an outstanding supporting cast (wouldn't we all love a neighbor like Nathan Lane? Or a boss like Hector Elizando?), and great direction.

The chemistry, so palpable between Pacino and Pfeiffer in Scarface, is abundant here in this film. The love scenes between them are realistic and beautifully done. From beginning to end, this movie is entrancing. The lead characters are so earnest and so good that you just want nothing but happiness for them both. After all the hemming and hawing that Frankie does, they do manage to make that elusive connection that Johnny is seeking-both with each other and with the audience. This is an outstanding, highly underrated movie, and I give it a 10.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic Romantic Comedy
ozzybat6 October 2006
I am not usually into these sort of films that much but this is one of the best I've seen. I must admit being a huge Al Pacino fan helps in a way but apart from his great performance as Johnny, there is also a great performance from Michelle Pfeiffer playing Frankie his love interest. The support cast is also excellent with Nathan Lane in particular adding memorable comedy moments. This is overall a real feel good movie which deals with some serious issues amidst the humour and has parts in the film we can all relate too. I think the chemistry between AL and Michelle particularly makes this a lot better than most films of this type. I would strongly recommend this film a classic for me.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing film
californianalex4 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I only bought the DVD of "Frankie and Johnny" recently, and already it is one of my ultimate favourite films. The story is heartwarming and totally believable, and the acting is superb. Michelle Pfeiffer is wonderful as Frankie, a waitress, who is done with dating. Al Pacino is great as Johnny, a chef who falls in love with Frankie. Both lead actors are superb in their parts, and the supporting cast are laugh out loud hilarious: Jane Morris is so funny as Nedda, a waitress, and Nathan Lane is so good as Frankie's best friend, Tim. He makes me want a friend like him! Also, the character: Frankie reminded me of myself. "Frankie and Johnny" made me laugh a lot, and it also made me cry when Frankie is sitting on her bed with Johnny, crying over not being able to have kids. "Frankie and Johnny" is an amazing film, with characters you can really relate to. Watch it and don't miss out!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best love stories I've ever seen
Zardok3 November 2000
This film is simply great. One of the reasons I like it is that here romance is not reduced to some sappy idealistic fable, but is instead shown as realistically as life itself. There are no fantastic events or stretches of plausibility here. Just great performances and a well-written story. In short, this is what real movie-making is all about.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Almost a perfect romance movie!
larrysmile119 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I don't think I have spoiled the story in comparing the stage play with the movie.

This film is almost perfect. Terrence McNally wrote both the stage play and the screen play. Clearly, he wrote the screen play better than the stage play. In the stage play, there are only two actors, Frankie and Johnny, and all the scenes take place in Frankie's apartment. And, in the stage play there is so much indiscriminate banter back and forth between the two that the story line seems to get confused at times.

But, in the movie, McNally really develops a smooth story about how both Frankie and Johnny became who they are, and, merges them both together into a possible love duo. By introducing other characters in the restaurant where they both work and in the apartment building where Frankie lives, McNally helps show the life-style being led by Frankie and her vulnerabilities, which Johnny is there to assure her that he will always be there for Frankie.

Both Michelle Pheiffer and Al Pacino are the perfect couple to act these roles. Michelle is a dreamboat whom any man could fall in love with. Frankie is defensive and seeks protection from life's bad turns. Michelle's "emotional breakdown" when she finally shares her past life experiences with Johnny is so well acted that one hangs on her every word.

Johnny has fallen head over heals in love with Frankie and is blunt about telling her. Al Pacino is fast paced and typifies a person with a New York way of life. The conflict between the two characters is strong and makes for an interesting movie which will glue the viewer to their seat.

I watch this movie whenever it comes on cable and I also have the video and play book. Clearly, I prefer the movie to the play in spite of the great reviews the play receives when it is performed on the stage.

The play has much more cursing than the movie. Somehow, I don't think that the soft and subtle character of Frankie is right for her to curse so much in the play. In the movie, her cursing is minimal and gets the point across to Johnny.

Garry Marshall captured the romance in directing this outstanding movie. It is destined to hold a place in romance movies parallel with Romeo and Juliet and You've Got Mail. Watch this movie with a date by your side!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My favorite love story
tom_smidth9 March 2000
This film has everything you can expect from a love story, and a little bit more. There is great play between the leading parts, but the subordinate parts are just as well played. Take a look of the lonely older woman, who dies in the movie. That is master performance, or take a look at the owner of the restaurant. There is so much love and understanding in the way all the parts are playing. Great movie
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed