Doc Hollywood (1991) Poster

(1991)

User Reviews

Review this title
71 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
I have to laugh!
Thubanstar8 December 2004
I have to laugh at all the comments on this board which say this movie's plot or the characters are not "plausible".

I live near the town this movie was shot in, (I was an extra for one day, and a "stand in" for two days on this film. It was neat!) and believe me, the characters are not only believable, you can meet versions of them in small towns all through the south.

There is a big difference between city and deep country life. Maybe people in very urban areas and countries tend to forget that. Quite honestly, I know several people down here in the boonies who make the folk of "Grady" look downright sophisticated.

That criticism shot down, I just have to say it's a really sweet film. It has a lot of atmosphere and some good character development, even in the minor roles. It portrays small, small town America pretty accurately and with a great deal of charm.
77 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Michael J. Fox Country Charmer!
cariart27 October 2003
When future film critics decide to analyze the career of Michael J. Fox, they will likely say his talents were best suited to television, with an acknowledgement that he did star in the BACK TO THE FUTURE series. This will be a shame, as Fox has been an ingratiating, very enjoyable actor to watch, in most of his films, and DOC HOLLYWOOD is one of his best roles.

As breezy, fast-talking Washington, D.C. surgeon Dr. Ben Stone, who dreams of making big money doing plastic surgery in Hollywood, but finds his true calling as a general practitioner in a small southern hamlet, Fox is so 'right' that you can't imagine any other actor in the role. After a minor traffic accident enroute to California forces him to do 'public service' in fictional Grady, South Carolina, taking on much of the workload of a crusty old local physician (the always enjoyable Barnard Hughes), Stone becomes the 'talk' of the town, and rustic but wise Mayor Nick Nicholson (David Ogden Stiers, in one of his most engaging performances), starts 'selling' the joys of country life to the cosmopolitan young doctor. A quilt with 'magical' powers provides a nude vision of the girl he's destined to love, 'Lou' (Julie Warner), who turns out to be working at his office; his hormone-fueled pursuit of her, and her pragmatic 'indifference' to his flirtations make their gradual romance edgy and fun to watch.

In a town full of colorful characters, two 'stars in the making' stand out; Woody Harrelson, as 'Lou's' suitor, Hank Gordon, a country variation of his bartending character from 'Cheers', talks dumb but has a knack for selling, only lacking a place to make big money at it; and Bridget Fonda, as Mayor Nicholson's oversexed but 'out of place' daughter, hopes Stone will take her away to the bright lights of Hollywood. Both stars are terrific in their supporting roles, and show the charisma that would lead them to stardom.

DOC HOLLYWOOD is full of charming vignettes, from Stone vicariously reading the mail for an illiterate farm couple, to being paid for services rendered with a rather large pig, who ultimately becomes his 'pet'. The film abounds in warm comic touches that are guaranteed to bring a smile!

With a very funny cameo by George Hamilton, as the Hollywood plastic surgeon Stone dreams of working with, DOC HOLLYWOOD hits all the right notes for a terrific entertainment. My only complaint about the film is that it was actually filmed in Florida; as a South Carolina resident, I can attest that MANY of our small towns could have doubled quite nicely for Grady...

DOC HOLLYWOOD is a film I'm proud to have in my collection!
32 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exceptional
yrok11 June 2003
Hard to imagine that this film is rated under a 6.0 on imdb. I would place it easily among the top 50 comedies of all time.

Michael J. Fox plays a hard charging Dr. Ben Stone, with David Ogden Stiers giving a world class performance as the small town mayor that needs a new doctor, and also knows a thing or two about happiness.

And then there is Nurse Packer who believes in procedure and punchcards, Julie Warner providing a memorable 'swimming' performance, fishing without hooks, the squash festival, a great rendition of Patsy Cline's "Crazy", and of course, the Pakistani.

Way underrated movie that stands up over time.

9 out of 10
56 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a gem of a movie
saimahuq2 January 2003
I didn't like Doc Hollywood the first time I saw it in 1991 --- then I watched it again a few years ago and was blown away by the writing, acting and all-around sweet nature of the film.

Dr. Ben Stone is leaving DC for a job doing plastic surgery for celebs in LA when he runs into a picket fence in a small Southern town and has to do 3 days of community service at their clinic as penance. His fancy sports car is totaled anyway and he has to get it fixed. Miffed at being waylaid in such a hokey place, he tries to get through the next few days in time for his new job.

He meets a wide cast of characters -- and to their credit, not everyone in a small town is so gosh-friendly. Some are mean, some are troubled, some are nice -- like any other array of people. Ben meets Lou, a single mother who drives the ambulance, as well as Nancy Lee Nicholson, a confused beauty who wants him to take her to LA.

This movie is great because it is about many people deciding for themselves how they want to live -- whether in a big city or in a small town -- and why they value what they do. It is also about an epiphany for Ben Stone and changing of his ways internally.
36 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The end of an era
RNMorton24 May 2003
Few stars can claim as good a comic feature-film run as Michael J. From 1984 to 1991 he went with nary a dud (unless you count BTTF II). This film is pretty much the last in that streak. Michael plays a hotshot med school grad who wrecks a fence and his car on his way to a high-paying LA plastic surgery gig. Small town Southern judge holds Fox hostage and orders him to work off the damage by helping out the local doc, well-played by Hughes. Some of the rural stuff is laid on a bit too thick (and exactly WHERE is this town on the route to LA?) but the film is otherwise cute and enjoyable. Warner is rock solid as always and properly intriguing as the obligatory love interest.
45 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than I imagined.
Peach-227 November 1998
When I sat down to watch this film I thought I would be very bored. It turns out that this film is intoxicating. I couldn't stop watching it at all. Michael J. Fox does a good job in the lead role, and there are great character turns from Woody Harrelson and Bridget Fonda. The love story between Fox and Julie Warner is very funny to watch develop and their timing is classic romantic comedy. The director, Michael Caton-jones, does a great job with a typical fish-out=of-water script and the score from Carter Burwell is exceptional. I had alot of fun watching this film.
38 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
All the Good Things Michael J. Fox Represents.
tfrizzell14 August 2002
Entertaining little film that has Michael J. Fox on his way to Hollywood to take a job as a plastic surgeon. However, a freak accident causes his car to be wrecked in a small country town that he just cannot seem to get out of. Naturally his very expensive car needs special parts that are not available. Thus the townspeople try to get Fox to stay as the community doctor to take the place of the elderly acid-mouthed Barnard Hughes. While in town Fox locks horns with Woody Harrelson, becomes friends with the priceless Bridget Fonda (who has her eyes on Fox) and falls in love with ambulance driver Julie Warner. George Hamilton is also a real scene-stealer as the all-world plastic surgeon that Fox should be working with. A really good over-achiever that represents all the things that make Fox a likeable screen presence. Far from excellent, but a charming little production nonetheless. 3.5 out of 5 stars.
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Feel Good, Funny/Romantic Movie.
LebowskiT100025 November 2002
"Doc Hollywood" is an excellent film and very well done. The comedy is very good throughout the film and the characters are all very interesting. I personally, love small towns like the one depicted in the film.

The cast in this film is very good as well. Michael J. Fox is excellent as always and rakes in a good amount of laughs in the film. Julie Warner is an excellent love interest for the film and looks fantastic in the film. Bridget Fonda looks better than ever and does a great job acting. Woody Harrelson does a fine job with his role, and plays a particularly interesting character. David Ogden Stiers plays a very likeable town mayor and does an incredible job with his role. The rest of the supporting cast is very good as well. Director, Michael Caton-Jones, adds another fine film to his list of films.

I also feel I should mention the music in the film. I thought all the music was very likeable and very good choices. I especially like the title sequence and the song (I have no idea who the song is written/performed by).

This is just a feel-good, fun movie. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone that likes stories about the small town lifestyle and romantic comedies. I hope that you enjoy the film as much as I did. Thanks for reading,

-Chris
23 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A simple down-to-earth feel-good movie
johnrp-124 January 2003
No surprises. No twisted plots. No complex love triangles. This movie is pure and simple entertainment. Okay, it's hokey and it's trite, and the acting at times is marginally acceptable. But it goes with the terrain, for this is America, this is life, this is real people.

It's a nice movie. See it. Don't expect much, but do expect to enjoy it.
25 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The little movie that could.
Doctor_Bombay1 March 1999
The title immediately put me off. The star, Michael J Fox immediately put me off. But once I got past those 2 major obstacles and settled in, I found a little gem of a movie.

Fox's young doctor, all full of spit and vinegar, sets off across country to medical nirvana: a highly sought position in a prestigious Beverly Hills plastic surgery practice. On the way, Doc Hollywood is waylaid in definitive small town USA, Grady Ga. on the cusp of the annual squash festival.

Am I boring you? Likely, but this film is never boring, a character driven comedy with superlative performances in each and every nook and cranny-particularly David Ogden Stiers (no Maj Winchester here) and Barnard Hughes. Woody Harrelson and Bridget Fonda have smallish parts. Even George Hamilton is bearable in a cameo.

Liked it so much, I headed out to find director Michael Caton-Jones previous effort, Memphis Belle.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Doc Hollywood" is much better than advertised
chuck-reilly29 September 2008
Warning: Spoilers
"Doc Hollywood" is an under-rated comedy that was pretty much passed over by critics when it was released in 1991. Nearly twenty years later now, it has aged well and is a prime example of why Michael J. Fox was such a huge star of his era. Here he plays an ego-centric yuppie doctor named Benjamin Stone who is headed for a big payday as a plastic surgeon in Beverly Hills, until he's waylaid in a small southern town (Grady, Georgia) after a minor car accident. The judge (Robert Blossoms) of this municipality is convinced that Stone is at fault (for plowing through a fence that the judge built himself) and sentences him to do a week's worth of community service in the town. At first, Stone is totally aghast at the prospect of staying in this rural hicksville, but after catching sight of gorgeous Lou (Julie Walters) emerging from a pond without a stitch of clothes on, he begins to see the advantages of living and working in the country. The citizens of Grady also see the obvious plusses of having Fox around. It seems that the town's only physician (Barnard Hughes) is on his last legs, and young doctor Stone is the perfect man to step into his shoes. Thereafter, an assortment of townsfolk do their best to convince Stone that his future is in Grady. They include the mayor (David Ogden-Stiers), the town sexpot (Bridget Fonda), and Lillian the Welcome Wagon lady (Frances Sternhagen). They needn't bother, however. Doctor Stone and Lou are really the perfect match for each other and the audience knows it from the start. The only question is whether they get married in Georgia or Los Angeles.

"Doc Hollywood" is the perfect vehicle for Michael J. Fox's talents and he carries this movie with ease and self-assurance. His character never mocks the constituents of Grady and he handles his role with just the right amount of humility and self-effacement. Fox's Doctor Stone fits right in with these people and the film smartly avoids cheap shots and easy laughs. It's actually a serious movie disguised as a comedy and is firmly grounded in reality. As for the love interest, Julie Walters is excellent as Lou and she provides plenty of depth to her character, enhancing the movie with her mere presence. Why she didn't become a major movie star after this film is a Hollywood mystery that will never be solved. The rest of the cast is uniformly excellent, including Woody Harrelson playing the local insurance salesman. His only dilemma is whether or not he should punch Doctor Stone in the face or sell him a term life policy. The directorial duties are handled capably by Michael Caton-Jones. For a Scotsman, he sure knows a lot about your basic Americana. "Doc Hollywood" may get a well-deserved reassessment one of these days. Until then, it will remain one of the more under-appreciated films of the 1990s.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A great little movie.
ajdbatfan23 November 2007
my trepidation upon watching this wasn't Michael J Fox. I've long thought that the knocking he takes is nothing to do with him being a poor actor. Far form it, he's a great actor. The bad mouthing is because of his success. It becomes 'trendy' to put a successful actor down.

Any trepidation I had was purely down to the fact that it was described as a rom-com. And it isn't. Not really. It's only a rom-com in the way that Groundhog Day is a rom-com. It has a magic that lifts it far above labelling it as a rom-com.

Fabulous little movie that deserves a space on anybody's DVD shelf.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny Yet Wistful
Uriah4326 October 2013
I really enjoyed this movie. Essentially, "Dr. Ben Stone" (Michael J. Fox) is a promising young surgeon who, after two years in the emergency room at Washington Presbyterian Hospital, has his heart set on a cushy job doing cosmetic surgery in Beverly Hills. As he begins his drive from the East Coast to California he happens to have an automobile accident in the small town of Grady, South Carolina. Unfortunately for him, his accident demolishes the picket fence belonging to "Judge Evans" (Roberts Blossom) and he gets sentenced to perform 32 hours of medical care for reckless driving. In no time at all the sly mayor of Grady, "Nick Nicholson" (David Ogden Stiers) is leading a campaign to get Dr. Stone to take up permanent residency. What follows is a funny yet wistful story that involves a bunch of amusing characters. I really enjoyed the performances of both Michael J. Fox and David Ogden Stiers. Also quite amusing was the mechanic named "Melvin" (Mel Winkler) and "Nurse Packer" (Eyde Byrde). Along with that, both "Vialula" (Julie Warner) and "Nancy Lee Nicholson" (Bridget Fonda) were quite pleasing to the eye as well. In short, for a romantic-comedy this one is definitely above average.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
No wrong notes in this enjoyable tale
verna-a4 August 2013
Ambitious doctor chooses between small town life and success in the bright lights -- we all absolutely know where this story is going, but there is plenty of entertainment on the way. The story is hackneyed and the messages predictable, but the creators of this film deliver it with a light touch and the odd unexpected twist. Michael J. Fox is a likable hero in the picaresque tradition, bouncing back from all kinds of encounters and events. The character vignettes are entertaining, especially when they behave out of stereotype, for example Woody Harrelson as the home town lunk. You'll enjoy George Hamilton as the toasted-to-a-crisp LA doctor. Having viewed this film twice in recent years, I liked it just as much the second time. It's well done, and I'm rating it as a 7 only because of the triteness of the story. On quality it would earn a higher rating.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Gentle Jackpot
bkoganbing22 June 2009
In Doc Hollywood young Michael J. Fox having completed his residency looks like he has his future by the short hairs. He's going into plastic surgery, much money to be made there and nobody dies. Usually the only thing that approaches a dearth in fatality like that is dermatology. But a traffic jam on I-95 and a couple of stray cows on the back road he's traveling gets him into a gentle jackpot of an accident. It just happens that he plowed into a freshly put up fence by the local judge Roberts Blossom.

For the first offense in the town of Grady, Florida Fox is given community service in the local hospital where crotchety old doctor Barnard Hughes is ready to pack it in. In their own hospitable ways the good citizens of Grady set out to make the man Hughes calls, Doc Hollywood welcome. There's one particular citizen played by Julie Warner who wants to offer the ultimate in hospitality even though her ever present steady boyfriend Woody Harrelson is around.

In many ways Doc Hollywood is an updated version of the Paramount classic Welcome Stranger with Bing Crosby, Barry Fitzgerald, and Joan Caulfield. In that one however, the town folks don't take to city boy Bing right away, here they're going out of their way to make Fox welcome as they know that Hughes will not be there forever.

One of the really nice things about Doc Hollywood is the impeccable casting of some of the rustic characters you might find in the Florida wilds. Two of the best are Eyde Byrde as Nurse Packer who runs the hospital like a drill sergeant, a kinder, gentler and black version of nurse Ratched. And it took me a while to realize the actor playing the rustic southern mayor was David Ogden Stiers, formerly Charles Emerson Winchester of Hahvard and the 4077 MASH unit. For those who best remember Stiers as Major Winchester, this performance will come as a very pleasant shock.

If you saw Welcome Stranger than you have a good idea of how Doc Hollywood turns out. I think it was one of the best films of the previous decade, a pleasant and gentle diversion of entertainment.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The warm golden glow of a ripe squash
Varlaam25 November 1998
Admittedly, the premise of Doc Hollywood is more of a sentimental ideal than an actuality: high-powered big city surgeon falls for the charms of a small town full of colourful characters and in need of an old-time country doctor.

But Michael J. Fox is perfect for his part. He can be manic and money-oriented, or compassionate and charming. Whether he's keeping a beribboned sow on a tight leash, spreading his scent through the woods, or floundering around with fresh fish, he's right at home in this film, down home.

When I first saw Doc Hollywood, I didn't expect to fall under the spell of this Mayberry of Squash either, but the locals really grow on you. Like kudzu.

Michael J. Fox winds up as happy as a pig in silage and so will you.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Still a charming, funny romance with a terrific cast and setting, if you've missed it, get it
inkblot1112 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Dr. Benjamin Stone (Michael J. Fox) has just finished his residency in the DC area and, now, is off to the big bucks in Beverly Hills! You see, the young croaker has an appointment with a famous plastic surgeon (George Hamilton) to become a member of his staff. There is little doubt in Stone's mind that he will be chosen because "he's not just anybody". But, as he begins the long journey with his Porsche, some construction and other rural hazards makes him lose his way. When he almost hits come cows crossing a road, he steers his auto into the fence of the local judge, totally destroying it. In return, the judge sites Ben for reckless driving and sentences him to 32 hours of service at the local hospital. Our Ben is livid! After securing another interview in California at a later date, Stone reluctantly begins his obligation in a town he describes as hee-haw hell. But, amazingly, it might not be as bad as the city doc thinks. First, the mayor (David Ogden Stiers) welcomes him with open arms and the town folk make a big fuss over Stone, too, hoping he might stay, since their resident physician, Doc Hoag (Barnard Hughes) is old. Then, a hotshot mechanic, Mel (Mel Winkler) fixes his precious car. Most importantly, a local gal who drives the hospital ambulance, Lou (Julie Warner) is a lovely divorcée with looks and smarts. Almost before they can believe it, these two are in an undeclared love. Will Ben be making the trip to California after all? This is a lovely and funny romance from over 20 years ago that is still fresh and appealing. Fox, naturally, is a charming comedian and the other cast members listed above as well as Woody Harrelson and Bridget Fonda are most delightful. The small city and its surroundings are rustic beauties while costumes, photography, script and direction are most worthy. Make an appointment with this Doc, y'all, you will be glad you did.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Julie Warner introduced me to manhood.
tbills211 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing this in the theaters with my parents and a friend when I was little. Boy, do I remember! I was 6 years old (1991-1985=6) apparently, but I'll never forget that moment when I first noticed a totally naked Julie Warner on the massive movie screen. My parents obviously didn't want me to see an R-rated flick so they took us to see Doc Hollywood, only PG-13, may be a little risque but surely nothing too bad. Well, it was a lot risque, and it was surely something too good! At 6, I certainly was not expecting it when Julie Warner busted out of the lake totally naked and started walking right towards Michael J. Fox, at which point in the movie theater I definitely let out a huge gawking sound, like, 'UGGHH', that I think the whole theater heard. I think I was trying to breathe, but Julie Warner just wasn't letting that happen. She then chats up MJF totally wet and totally bare chested for like 30 seconds. 'You can blink now.' Thank you, Julie. What I remember after the movie was over, is as we were all walking out to the parking lot, my parents were asking us about what our favorite part was and my dad made a joke about how he thinks the entire theater already knows my favorite part. Funny guy, he was right, and it still is.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A really nice and charming comedy
Woodyanders5 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Ambitious yuppie doctor Ben Stone (a supremely assured and affable performance by Michael J. Fox) completes his internship at a Washington hospital and rushes off to Los Angeles for a cushy high-paying job as a plastic surgeon. En route to California Ben finds himself stranded in the quaint small South Carolina hamlet of Grady, where he's forced to do 32 hours worth of community service. Ben plans on leaving town as soon as possible, but has second thoughts after meeting feisty and fetching ambulance driver Lou (a delightfully spunky portrayal by the deliciously lissome Julie Warner). Director Michael Caton-Jones, working from an amiable script by Jeffrey Price, Peter S. Seamon and Daniel Pyne, keeps the pace bubbling along at a steady clip, gives the picture a gentle, folksy charm that never becomes too corny or sappy, maintains a pleasant, good-natured tone throughout, and displays a sincere affection for the colorful and likable salt-of-the-earth rural characters. Fox's ingratiating presence keeps the movie humming from start to finish; he receives fine support from Warner (her nude skinny-dipping introductory scene is a genuinely sexy corker), Woody Harrelson as shrewd, dashing life insurance salesman Hank Gordon, David Ogden Steirs as hearty, jolly Mayor Nick Nicholson, Barnard Hughes as cranky veteran physician Dr. Aurelius Hugue, Bridget Fonda as aggressively flirtatious man-hungry tramp Nancy Lee Nicholson, Frances Sternhagen as sour old maid Lillian, Roberts Blossom as crusty Judge Evans, Mel Winkler as laid-back, gregarious Melvin the Mechanic, and Eyde Byrde as stern, by-the-book Nurse Packer. George Hamilton contributes an amusing cameo as hotshot plastic surgeon Dr. Halberstrom. Michael Chapman's sunny cinematography gives the film an attractive sparkling look. Carter Burwell provides a tuneful, jaunty, countryish score. A sweet little winner.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
All t feel good emotions tat cinema can evoke
Shashiishere30 May 2008
Well this is not a kind of a movie where u can shout its amazing after watching but in very subtle ways it does leave its mark.. Ya its a touching film.. may seem trite but thoroughly enjoyable.. It Starts wit a big city doctor who's headed for a major interview to achieve his dream of becoming a plastic surgeon.. Unfortunately or fortunately he has an accident n gets stuck up in a small town where he's sentenced to community service in t hospital..Cant help but recognise t resemblance to t animated movie 'cars'! Yes there r a few predictable characters but many r really fresh n realistic.. T ending may not leave u jumping out of ur seats but this is a movie u can watch wit t entire family..Its moral is very sensibly portrayed n down to earth..Its heart is in t right place..
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hokey story is more enjoyable than it has a right to be.
TxMike30 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
"Doc Hollywood" came out right after the third of Michael J. Fox's career roles in the BTTF movies. Here he is Doctor Ben Stone, just finishing his residency at at Washington, DC hospital, anxious to get to Hollywood and start a new job as a plastic surgeon, making the big bucks and having all the beautiful young ladies at his disposal.

On the way out west he comes upon a traffic jam at a road construction and, being both impatient and wily, takes a side road, but gets lost in the back woods of small town South Carolina (actually filmed in Central Florida). That's where the fun begins, and the Doc gets tested in a way he was unprepared for. Naturally there has to be a love interest and she is played by pretty, petite Julie Warner (25) as Lou the ambulance driver. We (as well as the Doc) first meet her as she walks out of the water, bare from the waist up in a daring scene for this PG-13 movie. But the nudity never seems gratuitous, but is in character for this realistic young woman who has a 4 year old daughter.

One of the best scenes is when Lou and Ben are making a house call (his car was damaged) and she suddenly stops. She spotted red marker ribbons on trees, guiding the way to a deer stand. So she drops her pants, squats, and begins to relieve herself on a bush. Explaining that the smell of human urine will spook the deer away, soon both of them are "scenting" all the nearby areas. It sounds very hokey on paper, but comes across as very fitting and very funny for the situation.

SPOILERS: Lost in SC, Ben is trying to read a map when he comes upon a person with cattle in the road, he swerves and, in a scene very similar to BTTF #1, his car runs off the road, through some bushes, and over a white picket fence. The owner happens to be the judge in this very small community, and sentences Ben to 36 hours of "community service" in the hospital. The ulterior motive was to keep him there, to replace the very old doctor, but Ben just wants to get to Hollywood. he finally does, but realizes he would rather be back in SC with Lou, and returns there. Good supporting cast, too -- Woody Harrelson, David Ogden Stiers from "Mash", Bridget Fonda as the girl looking for a way to get out of town, and George Hamilton as the slick Hollywood plastic surgeon.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Michael j. Fox is amazing
Keanu-1011 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Michael j. fox is brilliant at playing doctor in this comedy about a small town doctor wishing to be a plastic surgeon in Hollywood. The film is good - especially the opening scene with Fox driving his car to Chesney Hawkes "I am the one and only" The characters are played nicely and there are quite a few good jokes. The sound makes the film look old and boring but its not. The ending scene is a good conclusion to the film but you cant help but thinking... is that it? As you may have expected to happen in this film happens. Basically this film is really suitable for a 12 rating - yes there is a nude scene - but its not as long or as bad as the one from Titanic (1997) which has a rating of 12 and not 15. Overall Doc Hollywood - brilliant film - classic Jokes and the soundtrack is amazing.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cute....
juliarobertsla2-227 February 2005
Doc Hollywood....when i was started watching it on HBO, and i first saw the cheesy title i decided to switch the channel. However my batteries of my remote control had died, and me being as lazy as i am, didn't want to get up and switch the channel. So i just sat there, and thought Michael J. Fox, how bad could it be? As a fan of Back to the Future i also happen to think Michael J. Fox is extremely cute...and in this movie his charm and good looks don't disappoint you. Of course his acting ability is another story. There were definitely a few parts of the movie that I felt bored in and at times i thought how long is this movie going to last?!?!? But then there were times when i actually liked it and laughed (a little bit)...Anywayz Doc Hollywood is nothing to rave about, I probably would not see it again, but if there is nothing better to watch on TV then why not?
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Great Romantic Comedy!"
gwnightscream8 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Michael J. Fox, Julie Warner, Woody Harrelson, David Ogden Stiers and Bridget Fonda star in this 1991 romantic comedy. A Plastic surgeon falls for a woman in a Southern small-town community. Fox plays Ben Stone, A plastic surgeon on his way to Beverly Hills who gets into a car accident in a southern town, Grady. He's sentenced to perform community service while his car gets fixed and the town is short on doctors. He meets Lou (Warner) who is an ambulance driver and they fall for each other. Soon, Ben makes a difficult choice to stay or leave. Harrelson plays Hank, Lou's fiancée whom she's not in love with. Stiers plays Mayor Nicholson and Fonda plays his daughter, Nancy Lee. This is one of Michael's best and he and Julie have good chemistry. I recommend this great romantic comedy.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I have watched Doc Hollywood umpteen times and like it more each time .
macpherr20 October 1999
To most people this movie is about a small town in the South. To me that one small town street is the place where my husband and I used to day dreaming about buying antique furniture after he would finish graduate school at the University of Florida, in Gainesville, Florida. The movie location, the one street town of Micanopy, is just a few miles away from Gainesville. They show the entire downtown! As I have watched Doc Hollywood umpteen times, I love to see the corner store, which was a jewelry store called the Strawberry Bank specializing in antique jewelry about seventeen years ago. I would put stuff on lay-way as graduate students could not afford the luxury of buying something faster. Then we would drive around those back roads full of trees and Spanish moss and eat an early dinner: fried cat fish, fried okra, rice, and whatever fresh thing they had that our small stomachs could contain. It was such a great time in our lives! That area is surrounded by students. I guess we did not realize how little we had as graduate students, since we were even able to afford an off-campus apartment! Everybody else had about the same youth and enthusiasm and we were looking to our bright futures. I would go to the library and get books on antiques furniture, old lace and antique jewelry. I would audit French classes, take classes in jewelry making techniques: such as lost wax and casting. I learned so much about life in that town, and biked until I ended up tan without ever sitting in the sun.

Like Michael J. Fox (The American President) "Dr. Benjamin Stone," I was fascinated with the big city. Coming from one of the largest cities in the world, I just wondered what I was going to do after I finished my classes as a Visiting Student at the UF. Well after living there for about four years, I learned much more than what graduate school could ever teach. Like Dr. Stone, I fell in love with the place, I would not mind having a pig named Jasmine, I fell in love with the quilt making, the silence, the southern hospitality, and how "they all" thought I had an accent. I can even do a pretty good southern accent now myself! Every once in while a celebrity would come to town like Sally Fields (Forest Gump) raising support for a project that her brother a physics professor at UF was working on. Those college folk, they sure come up with strange ideas. That was so cool!

Julie Warner (Mr. Saturday Night) "Lou" was so adorable with her down to earth attitude. I loved to see the Mayor dressed like a squash. That is the South! This is an excellent movie. It has values. Ben Stone realized that being a Doctor in a small town might even mean having to read to your clients personal letters to them because they could not read. He in the end realizes that being needed is far more important than money. My favorite quotes: " Watch your language Doc, you are in the belt of the Bible belt." Stone: "There were cows in the middle of the road! I told you my insurance company will be happy to pay for that fence." Judge:"I built that fence myself. Neither you, nor, your insurance company can pay for a fence that I built myself." My favorite scenes: the one street in Micanopy, the cute wooden cabin, the little old ladies quilting and arguing. Ben Stone and Lou driving around on that old huge ambulance, and acting like real animals demarcating their territories by scent. They would urinate and distribute the liquid around to detract deer that would attract the hunters. My husbands favorite scene is Julie Warner slowing rising from under water when she was skinny dipping. Not lewd, but enchanting. Well we are going to "visit all " the relatives down south and eat fresh catfish in some back road "ma &pa restaurant." I guess " you all" have to go buy or rent this movie.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed