Eerie, Indiana (TV Series 1991–1992) Poster

(1991–1992)

User Reviews

Review this title
41 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Beats all competition
Pythe2 January 2003
I fondly remember watching reruns of this show on MoviePlex two or three years ago, when I was twelve or thirteen. Even back then, I knew how much better this was than the more popular shows of the time--"Are You Afraid of the Dark" and "Goosebumps." There are so many reasons, I don't even know where to begin.

I'd say the principal reasons this show was so good was mostly because A) it didn't take itself too seriously and B) it didn't talk down to kids. Too many shows underestimate a child's resilience, and so they throw tired plots and cheesy "scares" at them, thinking (and unfortunately, they are usually correct) that these children will be satisfied. I only believe this works because most kids don't know until later what they are missing. But the thing that irks me most about Goosebumps (and, sometimes, Are You Afraid of the Dark) is that they take these cheesy scares so seriously that it quickly becomes not just silly, but in fact plain ridiculous. Not so with Eerie. Here, the plots are outlandish, unbelievable, and perhaps outright absurd, but the makers realize this, and so they are never _silly_. For example, one episode I remember concerned a group of ladies who are obsessed with a brand of Tupperware called "Foreverware," or some such thing, which keeps all food products fresh forever (one lady comments that she packaged some peas "when Jimmy Carter was president, and they're still as fresh as the day I opened them"). But, Marshall and Simon discover the ladies use Foreverware for more than just food storage--like remaining eternally young! Sounds about as frightening as a killer sponge under the sink (*cough R.L. Stine cough*), but not only do they make it work, they make it fun! I don't believe the intention of the show was ever to frighten (although it does get suspenseful at times). I think it was made to cause wonder, explore some of life's little mysteries, and perhaps even spoof the world we live in. I wouldn't go so far as to call it a satire, of life or of other horror shows, but it definitely has a tongue-in-cheek approach to things, and a dry sense of humor is usually present.

To conclude, I can only say I really hope this is out on video somewhere. It's better than Goosebumps in every way imaginable, and more consistent than Are You Afraid of the Dark. And best of all, it won't induce an urge to puke, groan, or even roll your eyes.
38 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
They don't make em like this anymore.....
Estella12 August 2002
My sister and I saw Eerie Indiana when it was first screened on UK TV. We became instant fans of this funny quirky show. It's a rare kind of kids programme in that it is one that adults can enjoy. My sister and I were 13 or so when it was first aired, and now at almost 23 we're still huge fans! It was repeated a few years ago, and we made sure we recorded them all. They don't seem to have aged a bit, and certanley are not 'childish' at all. Omri Katz is just brilliant (come out of retirment Omri!!) and Justin Shenkarow and Jason Marsden are fab too. I recommend this to anyone, kid or adult. A gem that they just don't make anymore.....
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
don't be fooled by the comparison to X-files, etc.
detoplo2 April 2002
"The X-Files" is sometimes an imaginative, funny show, but "Eerie, Indiana" during its first season was consistently so. It was far superior to "Are you afraid of the Dark" and "Goosebumps". I think in its more recent Fox incarnation, it probably lost something.

A better comparison than any of these would be to "The Adventures of Pete and Pete".
21 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A show ahead of its time and with depth
Apogee_7 August 2002
Eerie Indiana is a show about a kid called Marshall who moves to the suburban city of "Eerie Indiana". But behind this American dream lurks a much more sinister reality. Apparently, Marshall and his only friend Simon (the loyal sidekick) are the only ones who can see all the weirdness going on, and they have made it their mission to uncover the truth!

This is simply a great, great show. I first watched it when I was a kid, but later on I watched it again with equal facisnation and passion. Although the show is meant for the younger audience, it can certainly be viewed by the older crowd too. It has creative and interesting stories, some of them are inspired by 50's horror and cult movies, but they still manage to stay in their own little universe. The acting is superb, far better than most other kid shows I have seen. Eerie Indiana has it's own mood and aura, something which is very rare in a show like this. It's really a shame that the show was cut after only 19 episodes, it had so much more to offer. Like another reviewer I also agree that the only show that this can be compared to is "The Adventures of Pete and Pete", because of the two shows resemble each other in many ways. Not to be mistaken though, they are completely different shows plot and genre wise, but they offer something out of the ordinary, not just another all-too-familiar show. Both of these shows should definately be considered cult, because they are...atleast by my generation.

By the way, there is a DVD released containing the first 4 episodes, and I seriously hope that they will continue to release all. Oh and don't even bother checking out "Eerie Indiana: The Other Dimension" it's nothing like this, but rather a poor attempt to create something ala "Goosebumbs" or "Are You Afraid of the Dark?".
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fantastic Finale
jaiken0078 March 2001
As sad as I was to see this excellent quirky show end, I was blown away by the final episode. In "Reality Takes a Holiday" Marshall (Omri Katz) suddenly finds himself on a t.v. sound stage and his family starts calling him Omri saying that they are all characters on a show called "Eerie, Indiana. He finds a script which has everything he does magically appear seconds after the fact. He then finds out that he is being written out of the series and will be killed. Many of the crew have cameos in this episode and it is a fitting finale to one of my favorite modern shows. I think that it was just too weird for most people to handle.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I loved this show when i was 8.. i love it now.
Loz827 October 2000
Hi :) When i first saw "Eerie" as i now affectionately dub it, I was 8. I lived in England and i remember it was on Channel 4 (pretty good memory since i am now almost 17). I adored it. Omri Katz (Marshall Teller) reminded me of my older brother and I sometimes wished my brother was as cool. 3 years ago, i saw the title "Eerie Indiana" in the Cable TV guide here in Oz. And all my fond memories came rushing back. I remembered 3 episodes quite clearly. This show made an impact on me so large... i don't know how to explain it! Luckily i got to see it over and over again on cable. I can't believe they axed "Eerie" after only 19 episodes, leaving me with only 6 episodes with my now favourite actor Jason Marsden. If you can, watch an episode of Eerie Indiana, no matter what age you are. You will love the references to other TV shows, and common knowledge, the kooky music.. characters, plotlines. And.. perhaps, you will see that there were some programs which tried to be revolutionary. Shame the kids of that era (minus myself of course) didn't see it, coz it's a cult classic now!
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
1 of the greatest shows of the decade
the13each13um10 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This show was phenomenal. I mean wow lol. I just recently bought this on DVD, this show was way ahead of its time. The dialog and the writing was very smart. IF you watch closely in some episodes, you will notice different things. The characters were great 2. I especially like 'The Lost Hour' episode in which Marshall gets... well lost lol. This show, when you watch the full series in order, you will be yearning 4 more. This is full of guest stars as well, ranging from Tobey Maguire, John Astin 2 Matt Fewer. If your yearning 4 more, sign this petition. http://www.petitiononline.com/eeriemov/petition.html Don't Believe me, you will....
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This shouldn't have been cancelled
freak-3916 July 2000
Eerie, Indiana is usually shown on Channel 4 in the hollidays in our country and I never miss it even though I have taped most episodes. My favourite episodes had to be the ones with Dash-X(Jason Marsden). I was upset when I realised there was only 5 or 6 in that series and it was then cancelled. There was so much that wasn't answered, for example, where did Dash-X come from? Why did he have grey hair?

This is The X-files but for kids and don't watch Eerie Indiana The Other Dimension because it doesn't have what the original series had (it doesn't even have any of the original characters). So if this is on TV watch it and see for yourselves that this is a good and entertaining show that shouldn't have been cancelled.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful show
mewmew882 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I recently bought this show on DVD and it brought back so many great memories from when I used to watch this on TV. I was only 4 when it was made and was 9 when I first saw it on Fox Kids. From the first time I saw it I was hooked. Omri Katz is a wonderful actor as is Justin Shenkarow and the rest of the cast were great. I thought the show couldn't get any better and then Jason Marsden as DashX appeared and it got greater. Marsden added a great amount of depth to his role as the sneaky grey haired boy with no name. Even though he only appeared in 6 episodes he certainly made an impact on the way I watched the show. I loved the way he wasn't exactly a good guy but he wasn't bad either. The final episode "Reality Takes A Holiday" was a work of genius in my opinion and the final conflict between Marshall and Dash left me hankering for more. In my opinion it's a shame they never made any more of this series as I would like to have found out more about Eerie and why it was so strange and also where DashX came from or what he was.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best kids show of the 90's!
braintumour4breakfast15 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Having just rewatched the DVD boxset of this, a childhood (I was 10 when it originally aired.) favourite of mine, i can honestly say its as relevant and original as it was way back then. Like a junior Twin Peaks or X-Files this show has a dark surreal streak unlike anything seen in children's TV before or since. There are a plethora of great genre cameos (John Astin, Matt Frewer even a pre Spider-Man Tobey Maguire!) in among an already stellar cast. Its no surprise to find out that shlock/genius director Joe Dante (Gremlins, Innerspace, Burbs.) is involved as "Creative Consultant" and occasional episode director as his stamp of quirk is evident throughout the series. There are few downers in this 19 show series and it successfully manages to give depth to one of the most ridiculous premises of recent times. Easily enjoyable for both adults (I used to watch it on TV with my mum and dad!) and kids this is highly recommended.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great show
seiver28 October 2002
I used to love this show when it first aired. One episode in particular that I remember was the one where Marshall had another friend and they were competing over this girl. She had a heart problem and needed a transplant. Marshall's friend ended up getting hit by a truck and the girl got his heart. Then when Marshall started getting close to her, the heart started giving her trouble. It was pretty sad. When I saw a while ago that the series was being aired again on cable, I tried to catch every episode. I saw the tornado episode about 5 times but of course I missed my favorite one. I just wish they'd release it on dvd (like practically everything else). And if there's any show that compares to it, I would say Disney's "So Weird". It's a really good show. There are some lame episodes, but a few of them are extremely well written for a kid's show. Of course, it went through the same problems as Eerie, Indiana. Some of the characters left and it was cancelled, but at least it lasted a couple of seasons. I hope the next time a kids series comes along that is well written and can be enjoyed by anyone, it will be given a better chance.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great show
quallevra20 November 2001
I watched this show faithfully when it was on Fox Saturday mornings, and any other time and place I could find it. It's really too bad it isn't on now, because it's a terrific show. The stories were clever, and many of the details were incredibly funny. Other parts of it were very serious. The neat thing is, they managed to mix both elements and make it work perfectly. The acting was really good, and the whole mood of the show was perfect. The longer it went on, the better the episodes got, in my opinion. I wish they hadn't cancelled it, or if nothing else, that it was on in reruns more often. This show is too good not to be on.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Anywhere but Here
Jessie_Enchanted19 October 2002
Well I used to watch this show when I was a kid. And i can only say i wish Indiana was that weird. Its a pretty good series, good for pre teens... Wouldn't mind seeing an episode again it has been years..Omri KatZ was good in this series along with his sidekick Justin
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Before The X-Files. Before Buffy. There was Eerie, Indiana
DavidSim24018315 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Few TV shows that have been so shortlived have had the impact of Eerie, Indiana. Despite only 19 episodes, its gone on to become a cult phenomenon, winning over adults and children alike. And its not hard to understand why. Its such a groundbreaking show. With a dizzying intelligence. Truly unique plot lines. And its fun too! I've never met a single person who didn't find something to enjoy from Eerie, Indiana.

The whole concept of smalltown weirdness is not a new one. In fact Eerie was beaten to the punch a year earlier by Twin Peaks. But its what it does with the idea that makes it stand out so vividly. The Creative Consultant for the show is the greatly underrated Joe Dante, the man behind similar classics like Gremlins and The Burbs. I think the idea of a not so nice interior lurking beneath the shiny exterior is something that appeals a great deal to Dante, and Eerie, Indiana may be the peak of Dante's conceits.

If all television was as good as this we'd be living in much happier times. And Dante put some of his best work into the show. In the films I mentioned, Joe Dante seems to enjoy watching small havens of utter normalcy being overturned by sinister forces. Whether it be vicious monsters or nutty neighbours, the mayhem he unleashes is always entertaining. And Eerie, Indiana is no exception.

One of the series' striking elements is the way it takes these bizarre plot lines and makes them oddly plausible. And that is no truer than in the first episode, Foreverware, a story that does a superb job of introducing us to the world of Eerie, Indiana. Try to get your heads around this! The women of Eerie seal themselves into giant tubs of Tupperware so they can stay young (and fresh!) forever. In any other TV series, watching such a plot line unfold would be monumentally stupid. In Eerie, it works!

And that's just for starters. You're constantly being knocked out by the way it courts unbelievable lunacy and turns it into great viewing. Eerie seems to be the focal point for just about every unusual happenstance in the entire world. The Losers is a particularly interesting episode where we discover a vast storage depot for lost items hidden beneath the streets of Eerie.

Eerie, Indiana was a TV series that was far, far ahead of its time. Some of the issues it chose to address were eerily(!) prescient. In particular the last episode, Reality Takes a Holiday. An episode that predates reality television (before anyone even coined the term) and The Truman Show by staging it in the real world. The town is nothing more than a set on a studio lot. And the actors play themselves. Keep an eye out for Joe Dante! The series was unexpectedly cut short after that but it was a good episode to go out on. A staggering episode that actually forces you to question your own beliefs in what you've been watching all this time.

The production staff selected a really fine cast to help the show along. Omri Katz is perfect as Marshall Teller, the new kid from New Jersey, who firmly believes Eerie is the 'centre of weirdness for the entire planet.' A quite wonderful young actor, his self-reliance never lapsed into smugness, and he was always a hero you rooted for. Justin Shenkarow is equally engaging as Simon, Marshall's sidekick. The two of them are a regular Mulder and Scully as they catalogue the oddities that come into their lives.

The rest of Marshall's family is great too. Francis Guinan is amusingly nerdy as Edgar Teller, a scientist into product testing. Mary-Margaret Humes is an appealingly sexy Mum, Marilyn Teller, a disorganised party organiser. And Julie Condra is annoying big sis Syndi Teller, a girl with the scariest eyebrows I've ever seen!

Along the way, the show picked up some additional characters. John Astin is aptly cast as Mr Radford, the owner of "World O'Stuff", the local youth hangout. Gregory Itzin is suitably slimy as Eerie's double-dealing money grubbing Mayor. And best of all is Jason Marsden as Dash X. Dash X comes into it halfway through. A boy of mystery with a head full of grey hair, he becomes an unwilling ally to Marshall and Simon during their adventures. Years ago, I found Dash X an irritation. I preferred it when it was just S & M. But in recent years, his character has grown on me. He's quite a good actor, and whether it requires him to be sharp, cynical or occasionally sympathetic, he's never less than impressive.

One of the things that's made Eerie, Indiana endure for so long is its shrewd intelligence. It never feels patronising. In fact, its a quite sharply cynical show when you stop to think about it. The Mayor even delivers a scathing speech regarding the people's ignorance of what really goes on in Eerie. They prefer not to know so they don't have to deal with it. They're happier that way!

Every Eerie fan has they're own favourite episode. Usually they vote for Reality Takes a Holiday, or the deeply creepy episode The Lost Hour, when Marsall ends up in a parallel Eerie just by setting his watch back. Mine is Just Say No Fun, an equally creepy story about a school optician who brainwashes the students into becoming model pupils when they're given an eye-test. It has quite an anarchic message the way it champions slacking and underachievement over good behaviour and schoolwork.

Eerie, Indiana has withstood the test of time. Its highly impressive the way the writers pull off feats of greatness, one after another. It never feels too juvenile. Its observations are often astute and witty. And there are plenty of joyous in-jokes and cameos for die-hard horror fans.

A superb show that ended long before its time.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My review of Eerie,Indiana
shannonm7516 March 2006
This will always be one of my favorite series of all times! Even if it was short-lived. Each and every episode was unique. Just when you thought perhaps Marshall(Omri Katz) and Simon (Justin Shenkarow) would spend a normal day doing what all normal kids do, something weird starts to happen and the two have to investigate or prevent more trouble than they already have from happening. The show seemed even better when Dash X (Jason Marsden) entered the picture, shortly before the show was canceled. This gray-haired kid,Dash wanted only to do away with Marshall and he almost had his chance. I would compare this show to The Twilight Zone and the X Files. You don't want to miss a single episode!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Avoid the Foreverware...
Sparrow_in_flight2 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When Eerie, Indana first emerged, I was thrilled. It wasn't a cartoon, it had interesting characters, and every episode featured something weird. Urban legends, monsters, UFOs, and more...it was great.

Now, as an adult, I've re-watched the series on DVD. And I've discovered I still love it. The acting is just as great as I remember, and to see great acting in a kid's show is somewhat of a rarity.

Eerie, Indiana also had some innovative moves for a kid's show. Rather than every episode being a separate plot in its own, with no tie to the series as a whole, Eerie actually tried to work in a myth-arc. Unfortunately, the show was killed early before we could see what would emerge in regards to Dash X. And most shows would like to pretend they're not anything else. But "Reality Takes a Holiday", in which Marshall suddenly finds himself on the set of a show called 'Eerie, Indiana' and that everyone thinks he's an actor, proves the show knows exactly what it is: a TV show meant to entertain and slightly creep out. It took itself seriously, but no so seriously that it forgot that.

After Eerie ended, a horde of other kids' shows in the same niche emerged, including, of course, a remake of the original. While the new Eerie show followed the adventures of Simon and Marshall's counterparts in an alternate universe, and had some creative ideas, it missed the mark.

This show broke ground for this genre of kids' television, since I don't recall many other kids' shows of the area dealing with the supernatural. Perfect for anyone who likes weird stuff.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another good show that didn't get it's due.
DraginBallZ30 April 2003
Yeah, I don't think I was even ten when this show came on, no, I was about 8, and I've never caught any reruns of it, but I still remember fondly that this one was good freakin' show! If you get the chance watch it.

Oh, and like someone else said, the remake show from about five years ago, it didn't compare with this show at all in the least. Quite sad that it even had the same name.

Another show, that's fairly good, that's on now, is Smallville. It reminds me of Eerie, Indiana, because Clark Kent(the young Superman) is always havin' to fight off weird people mutated by the meteors... It's good.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Contained an excellent dark edge.
guivan2529 March 2001
I only saw about three episodes of this show when it aired on the Fox network, but of what I remember I like. Key to the show was its dark, almost Tim Burton-esque view of a 'normal' suburban town -- from a psychotic 1950's-era mom whose unique use of Tupperware allows her immortality, to a ritual designed to appease an annual Midwest tornado, the show consistently showed a creativity well worth a half-hour on Saturday mornings. And yet, as most good network shows seem to be these day, it was canceled after its first season. Go figure.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of my favorite shows
Brad_Dharma16 March 2001
I remember watching this show when I was younger and a year or two ago, catching the re-runs on Disney channel. It was like an Outer Limits for kids. Every week it was original with great special guests like Matt Frewer, Henry Gibson, even Tobey Maguire as a lovelorn ghost. The follow-up to the show was Fox's Eerie, Indiana, the Other Dimension which could have been an interesting idea, but was not as good as its original. My favorite episode was when the town found out that the owner of the general store was actually a maniac and had tied up the original owner in the basement. The original owner was played by John Astin. I wish they would release them on DVD.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Impressive
startide29 September 2000
I saw one episode this morning and was very impressed. I always enjoyed Who's Afraid of the Dark and the like (though Goosebumps was a little ordinary) and it's Outer Limits, X Files type storyline is very good for a kids show (and I'm 23).
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
memorable
elikinguk8 January 2002
i loved this program when i was a kid, dash x was my fave character, he was so cool, i loved his hair and his whole sadist attitude. i could tell even now when he was in a cartoon like the weekenders and the lion king 2. although some of his other atributes are a supprise, i can't believe he was eddie in the munsters!! and i can't believe i didn't realise. but the little ginner kid was annoying-symon. and also the way they didn't finnish off the series. or maybe i didn't catch it-or it wasn't shown on uk television. it would have been to end it with out probably finnishing everything. but they could have at least have given it an ending. but even though when i see the repeats and i can hardly stand the cheesieness of it, even dash x, i will never forget how much i used to love it, and i know all my friends loved it too. it is definetly memorable, and will stay with me for as long as i can remember it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Omri Katz: The Brilliant Star Of The Show!
famousgir14 January 2002
When Marshall Teller moves to a small town called, Eerie Indiana with his family, he realises that things aren't as they seem and the town is REALLY strange. He and his friend, Simon are the only ones who can really see the weirdness of Eerie Indiana, so together they collect evidence of the creepy things that happen, to find out the truth. Omri Katz who plays Marshall Teller is of course the star of the show. He's absolutely brilliant as usual. Eerie Indiana is great, sci-fi show, which keeps you interested in every episode. It's always been one of my favourite shows, so catch it if you can. It's REALLY great!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great Kids Show
Leikela423 July 1999
I remember watching Eerie Indiana when it was on and I loved it. I am really into X-Files now and it is like an X-Files for younger kids. There are two boys that are best friends that go around their town and reashearching all the weird things that are happenning. It is done like the Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark series. And just like X-Files they never really finished anything. You were left to use your imagination to finish it for you. Overall it was a wonderful show.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed