Jaws: The Revenge (1987) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
435 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
More Like Montezuma's Revenge
bordentownfilms27 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS

Do you want to know how they kill the shark in this one? Do you want to know how stupid the producers of this Bahaman hunk of crap think you are? SHE SAILS THE BOAT INTO THE SHARK AND IMPALES IT WITH THE BOW. No, you read it correctly. The last Starfighter is standing on the deck, flashing some strobe at the shark. The strobe reacts to the electronic gizmo that Mario Van Peebles dropped in its mouth (naturally), the shark stands straight up in the water and roars--I said ROARS!!!--just at the moment Ellen Brody sails the boat into it. Smile you son-of-a-career-ruining-sequel!

This is the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. The shark eats the Last Starfighter's younger brother in New England, then IT FOLLOWS ELLEN BRODY TO THE BAHAMAS. Apparently, even sharks need a Caribbean getaway now and again. The story is impossible for anyone with even a single connected synapse to believe. I half expected the shark to somehow regurgitate Robert Shaw up onto the deck to help with the navigating of the boat directly into the heart of the beast.

About half way through the movie, my right hand jerked up involuntarily and smacked my face. Minutes later, my left hand did the same thing. That's right; this movie was so bad, that my body tried to stop me from watching it. Loss of bowel/bladder control followed quickly thereafter.

They should play this in hospitals to snap catatonics back to reality and wake coma patients who will jump out of bed and run screaming down the hall to get away from its sheer nightmarish stupidity. This isn't just bad-it's an atrocity.

I know in the director's cut, Mario Van Peebles--even though he was chewed up by the shark--doesn't die. He limply paddles back in after the great impaling, smiling and joking--it's alright, everybody, Mario Van Peebles made it! Had I seen that, my head would've exploded, ruining my couch and un-scotch guarded carpet.

Oh, Michael Kane. Why? You're an Oscar-caliber actor. What did you think it was going to do for your career, standing on the deck of 'Neptune's Folly' in-between the Last Starfighter and Mario Van Peebles? Hoagie, indeed my friend.
70 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This time it's personal!
JonDubya200413 July 2004
It's personal because I hate this audience-insulting movie. This has got to be the stupidest horror flick of all times. The ending (all of them) alone would be enough to justify this film's place on the bottom 100 list. I mean the premise (shark is after the Brody family for revenge. It chases (and beats) the Brody's to Jamaica to harrass them and snack on a few extras).

The effects went WAY downhill for this one. The shark on the Universial Studios tram tour is more convincing then this duct-taped-at-the-seams roboshark. The acting is atrocious (especially Mario Van Peeble and his grating "hey mon" accent)
101 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst
saltandpepper6627 December 2005
The movie is one of the worst I've ever seen. The attack scenes are worse than what I used to do with Fisher Price Town and a stuffed seal from Marineland. The shark follows them to the Bahamas; apparently for revenge...revenge for being killed in earlier movies! Or is the shark exacting revenge for his friends who were killed? Or maybe (and here's something they could have pursued) it was the WIFE of the previous shark who decided the wife of her husband's killer should suffer. Well she did suffer, by appearing in this movie. For Jaws 5 I suggest the surviving family members of Mrs. Brodie swim back to New York and start biting sharks.
108 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad, it's incredible...
mentalcritic29 October 2004
If there ever were proof of the law of diminishing returns, the fourth entry in the Jaws series is it. The original was a taut thriller that launched the career of one of Hollywood's most celebrated directors. By comparison, Michael Caine often looks as if he is incredibly upset to be missing his award ceremony in order to appear in this piece. Lance Guest and Mario Van Peebles frequently appear to be wishing to have better things to do, while Lorraine Gary frequently looks stoned in moments when she is supposed to look frightening.

Clearly, the budget spent on this film didn't go into the research, script, or mechanical shark. Exactly why Michael Brody and his pals are putting what are apparently tracking devices on conch shells is never explained. Perhaps any explanation they thought of was so incredibly stupid that they thought it best to give up. An alternate explanation of why Michael is working in the water was never thought of, either. The true Ed Wood moment of the film comes towards the end of the piece, when the shark rises out of the water, and roars at Elaine. This is the first time I've heard of sharks having vocal cords. Given the box office draw this stinker had, I suspect it will be the last.

The shark takes a real beating here, too. The reason the shark wasn't seen often in the original was because Spielberg noticed that if one put it in front of the camera for long enough, the audience would notice that it doesn't move like a real shark. In this edition of the Jaws story, not only do they keep the camera focused upon the shark for more than enough time for the audience to notice the model's flaws, in so doing they make it crystal clear that this shark was made on the cheap. There are some shots in which the support structure of the shark is visible under the outer layer. There is even what appears to be a seam in the back of the shark's main fin.

To its credit, Jaws: The Revenge is well-photographed. While the 2.35:1 frame is often sparsely populated, depth of field is used with great effect in several shots. The fact that even frames with one character in them won't make sense when cropped to fit analogue television is a credit to the director and cinematographer. If only this kind of workmanship could have been seen in other aspects of the film.

Another area where Jaws: The Revenge deserves due credit is the score music. While the score is very much inspired by that which John Williams provided for the original, it distinguishes itself and genuinely works in its own right. In fact, one could almost say that the score music is more than the rest of the film deserves. The music is literally able to inject dramatic tension into scenes that, by all rights granted under the accepted rules of film-making, really shouldn't have any.

When all is said and done, I gave Jaws: The Revenge a one out of ten. It works as a comedy in the sense that it is a stinking pile of crap, but there are precious few moments when the people making it seem privy to the fact. As a result, the film winds up in a class all of its own. It's not just so bad its good, it is so utterly bad it is incredible.
110 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An embarrassing film.
theshadow9088 June 2006
Jaws: The Revenge is the final entry into the Jaws series, and thank God for that. Ellen Brody is now living in the Bahamas after her youngest son Sean, who has followed in the footsteps of his father and become Chief of the Amity police, is killed by another Great White Shark. In what is the most ridiculous plots of all time, we find out that one specific shark is holding a grudge against the Brody family, and after it kills Sean, it swims against the Gulf Stream down to the Bahamas so it can kill Ellen and Michael as well. Jaws: The Revenge is an embarrassment to anyone who knows anything about sharks, and is the worst of the series.

The plot is completely wrong in this movie. The whole plot is built off of bs. I can't even allow suspension of disbelief to let me ignore that the shark is hunting the Brody family. It's ridiculous! Aside from that is that the film contains any number of factual errors about sharks ranging from having the shark swim backwards, roar like a lion, stand on its tail, and devour a helicopter. The shark in the first film did unusual things, but nothing that would make a shark lover cry.

The acting in this movie is so bad that...You know what? I don't even want to discuss it. It's bad. Terrible. Loathsome. Repugnant. What else is there? Lorraine Gray played Ellen just fine in the first film, but for some reason in this film she let all of her acting skill slip away. Even Michael Caine, who is a vastly talented actor, shows absolutely no skill at all.

Every copy of Jaws: The Revenge should be swallowed by the shark from the first film.

1/10
92 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Arguably the worst film ever made
Farp_rock28 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I would like anyone to present to me, a greater scale of difference between the greatest film ever made in Jaws, and the worst film ever made in ...the revenge. This film within the opening minutes, commits the ultimate sequel sin-it kills off the youngest Brody boy, Sean- as seen as the the little boy in the first 2films. If Jaws fanatics don't get up and leave at this point- it gets worse- our hero Chief Brody is now deceased!! Apparently by heart-attack. So what a start, this leaves us with two members of the Brody clan remaining- Widow Lorraine Gary, and her son Michael, now a marine biologist in the Bahamas. This event of Sean's death forces her to flee the shores of Amity Island and head for her son 2000 miles away in the Bahamas. The despicable opening to the movie suddenly now takes a bizarre and utterly ludicrous twist. Sharky, revenging the death of it's fellow Sharks by Mr.Brody- wants to eat all Brody's and intends to stop at nothing to do so. This shark obviously catches wind of Ellen's intentions to flee the area, and the Shark sets off to follow her. I mean it. A STALKER SHARK! (He would have been just as well getting out of the water, and knocking on her door.)

So as she heads off in the plane, our Shark follows the plane all the way from New England to the Bahamas. The viewer has now realised all common sense behind the movie has been thrown out the window and we are left with a super-shark with powers to follow a plane at maybe 500miles an hour and travels 2000 miles following this plane. How? no idea ask the script writer and the producers. The utterly bizarre becomes a comedy from here on in. Michael Brody, a well meaning kid in the first 2, has turned into an utter idiot. He discovers the shark is in the Bahamas but for some twist of reasoning decides not to let anybody know-putting everyone in his family in jeopardy. He is married but seemingly cares nothing about the wife, as he spends his occupation money and time putting his efforts watching sea snails. His wife announces to her mother-in-law she plans on having an active sex life with him, why does she do that? no idea...ask the writer. Meanwhile we are introduced to Michael Cane whom is furiously trying to woo Ellen Brody.

Every so often the episode of Family Affairs, is interrupted by a rubber 'fish'and the attack scenes are minimal, Lorraine Gary gets attacked, but get this-it was all a dream!!So what little of the shark we do see is in fact a dream- uh-huh great...

The director really has little interest in the shark, every so often it rears it's rubber head but if you look closely we can actually see at times the railing that follows it along. All this clearly gets too much for Lorraine Gary, as she clearly can't take any more of the film thus she rushes onto a boat to find the shark herself. Cue, the most bizarre and worst ending in cinema history. En route she is intercepted by her incredibly inept son, who plans on sending electric impulses on the shark to electrocute it. Sure mate, whatever just do it so we can end it OK?! Ellen's over 50's love interest Michael Caine gets his plane capsized and attacked underwater by our shark. But good news, he emerges from the water unscathed with a newly pressed shirt, perfectly dry emerging form the water declaring "that thing had bad breathe" or something to that effect. Yes, that is the depths this film has reached. We see the shark proceed to bite the boat and the poor Bahamas guy, the only half decent guy in the movie-but he serves a purpose to put the electric thing in its mouth. The next few minutes sees the shark have seizures and leap high in the air balancing on its fins- think 'free Willy' on Ecstasy.Ellen Brody then proceeds to have flash backs of scenes she didn't witness-such as the "Smile u son of a B..." scene at the end of the original- At this point the shark leaps up perfectly straight for an extended period (U know for a shark thats meant to to have superpowers, it seems pretty dumb)but regardless it lets out a dinosaur roar-i'm not kidding- and balances on the water like a trapeze artist, long enough to get lampooned by the boat. Inexplicably it um....blows up! Yep, it blows up and Mike's mate the Bahamas guy comes out alive and well. And that my friends is the tale of the most bizarre movie i have ever witnessed. Joseph Sargeant the director clearly took what Spielberg said in an interview about the demise of the shark in the original the wrong way- Spielberg said "if you can carry the audience for 2hours; 2minutes of the sharks ending won't make a difference." Sargeant decided that if he can carry the audience for 2minutes he can throw-the craziest most bizarre things for 2 hours! like a roaring shark who balances on its fins and stalks a family while having psychic connections with the woman. Not only that the shark can blow up when it gets stabbed! Sargeant might need to review his logic!
33 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Majorly flawed but entertaining.
amesmonde7 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
A great white shark stalks a woman to the Bahamas to kill the remaining members of her family...

I'm fond of Jaws the Revenge, there I admit it. Although it may be a bad movie, also an incompetent one, to its credit it ignores Jaws 3- D and stars Lorraine Gary of Jaws and Jaws 2. Yes, Ellen Brody returns, the wife of chief Martin Brody. Director Joseph Sargent opening is probably the strongest segment of the film. We return to an atmospheric Martha's Vineyard but this time it's Christmas time where Ellen's youngest son has his dad's old job and after a call is eaten by a shark while a choir drowns out his screams. There's some good to come out of this event as we get some cameos at the funeral by the actors of the original. Grief stricken Ellen flees the Bahamas to stay with her eldest son Michael played by Lance Guest (of fricking Starfighter) - but, get this, the shark has somehow followed her, it wants to eat her entire family possibly as revenge for its parent sharks being killed by Brody in part one and two, who knows?! Yes it's a paper thin plot with a series of shark attacks but if you can look beyond that and the shoddy shark models there's something quite endearing about 1987's Jaws: The Revenge.

At the time criticized for its jumping shark (no Henry Winkler pun intended) it has since been established that sharks in fact do propel themselves out of the water (although in the critic's defence I'm sure the filmmaker had no idea of their over 15 feet leaps at the time). That said, to date no shark has been heard roaring like Bruce 4 does in this film. Guest's performance is excellent, he really is likable (honestly) as the marine biologist and over protective son. Mario Van Peebles' Jake with a terrible accent and an unlikable attitude makes you secretly glad he gets eaten, depending on which version you watched, you still feel sorry for his wife.

There's a handful of imaginative scenes which makes this instalment worthwhile. At one point Jake attaches a device to the shark so that he can track it through its heartbeat. These heart beat noises build up some tension akin to the barrels in the 1975 Jaws. Interestingly, there's set up where Michael is chased through a wreck and escapes using his air tank - James Bond style! In addition there's also banana boat scene where Jaws (Bruce 4) tries to chow down on Ellen's granddaughter. Another positive is that Gary really shines as the credible paranoid grandmother and mother. It's refreshing to see (albeit cringe worthy) the older lady falling in love with a local pilot Hoagie (Michael 'Get Carter' Caine). Oddly writer Michael de Guzman injects an overbearing amount of sexual dialogue. With every adult character in the film acting at times like a frisky teenager under Sargent's supervision.

For tradition and impact Sargent wisely uses John Williams classic theme and unsurprisingly Michael Small fills in the rest delivering a near on perfect score. In the closing Caine's Hoagie is so Dirty Rotten Scoundrels cool he crash-lands his aeroplane in to the sea and when he emerges onto the boat he's completely dry, "Blood 'ell, the breath on that thing".

So long as you're watching the version where Jake dies and shark gets stabbed, sinking breaking the boat up and not the one where Jaws inexplicably explodes (recycling footage from the original Jaws) it's a more fitting closure. Either way both versions are choppily edited and you can't help feel that with more care or a different director even with the preposterous, yet, novel premise it could have been better.

Overall, hugely flawed but somewhat entertaining.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Apparently sharks do take things personally.
Aaron137521 February 2003
In Jaws 2 a person told sheriff Brody that sharks don't take things personally...in this one they apparently not only do, but they also will hunt you down to the ends of the earth. This focuses on the most mediocre character of the first two Jaws, Ellen Brody. It starts with one of her sons being out on a boat and being killed by a shark. Why he is out on the water is anyone's guess seeing as he was afraid of water in 3, which I do believe this one completely ignores. This attack is probably the only real good scene in the flick cause we are off to the Caribbean where Ellen goes to visit with her other son who just doesn't seem all to upset by his brother's death. What is waiting for her here, but the exact same shark that killed her other son. Michael Caine is in this and this somehow makes me wonder why couldn't they have just forgotten about the Brody's and maybe have it be about Caine in Australia or something as a shark hunter...why do we have to have the same family, you have a better chance of being struck by lightening than you do of being attacked by a shark yet this family is constantly being attacked by sharks. Maybe they all bath in fish blood before swimming? Anyway this film is quite bad and was a pretty bad way to end the franchise.
44 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utter claptrap... and that's being generous
eddy-4923 May 2004
Please...I have heard some nonsense in my time, but the defence of such a monstrous production is well...indefensible. Spouting claptrap about Shakespeare doesn't dignify what is a ridiculous and feeble offering of a motion picture.

This movie was so bad it virtually spoofed itself. Hey I know, why not on top of the shark following them all to the Bahamas doesn't it learn to walk too, and then it could follow them if they decided to move inland.

Michael Caine is a very good actor who has a habit of appearing in bad movies. In this one was impressive as he managed to keep a straight face throughout.

So bad it's beyond redemption of any kind and richly deserves it's place at #33 in the bottom rated IMDb movies. It's amazing it did that well.

I'm glad the director has taken the time to submit his review though.
52 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dumb… Dumb... Dumb-dumb-dumb-dumb!
lost-in-limbo4 June 2006
On the island Amity during the Christmas break, Mrs. Ellen Brody's younger son Deputy Sean is taken by a great white shark one night after being called out to move a piece of wood tangled up with a buoy. After this happens Michael who lives in the Bahamas with his wife and daughter studying sea snails, visits his mother and asks her to come down there with him and the family. Ellen wants Michael to not go near the water, but he convinces her that it's all fine, since great whites don't like the warm water. But hold on as the shark that killed Sean is now stalking the family and has only one thing on mind - to wipe out the Brody family.

Leave those Brody's alone! Err, what crud… yeah reading the outline above you'll be just rolling your eyes at how ridiculous this film does get. The last sequel "Jaws 3" was a bad film, but I actually enjoyed it to some degree, but here the personal agenda format was just rubbish and the special connection between the Brody's and the shark was just plain risible. I just found this clunker quite lacklustre with it's melodramatic, soap opera of a story and it's lack of thrills and suspense. It was quite a drag and it did have that cheap TV feel about it, despite it's more than capable cast. The only thing that I thought was decent was the terrifyingly, bloody and macabre opening death. Although, few of the performances ( mainly Lance Guest in the key role of Michael Brody and Michael Caine's happy- go-lucky pilot character Hoagie ) made sure that the film didn't sink too fast. While, the rest were simply one-note and Mario Van Peebles' Jamaican accent was just so dodgy. But what was in need of a life-jacket was the dire script that threw out many awful lines of dialogues. "I've always wanted to make love to an angry welder. I've dreamed of nothing else since I was a small boy." What?! The repetitively, diluted story is full of crock with many implausible situations and it doesn't leave too much up to the imagination. Was the writer and the director drinking sea water on this project? Maybe so, because Michael's wife's supposed piece of art resembled… what? I just don't see it. Well, the sprawling beach lines and crystal blue waters were a nice sight. Too bad that the mechanical, but crooked plastic shark slowly got in the way. The ramshackle design looked dreadful, but the makers didn't seem to notice because they constantly kept showing the abomination in it's full glory. I even got the feeling that the shark just couldn't stop grinning. The (few) shark attacks are rather furious and quite graphic, but I found the latter ones to be laughable because of the execution. Really, it goes all out to outdo itself, but this puddle turns out to be simply inept in mostly every single department. Overall, a fatally disastrous novel production that never should have seen open waters and you won't be laughing too much, but you'll be a daze of bemusement to how this franchise fell apart.

It's definitely as bad as its reputation. This is one shark that just won't let go!
34 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Jaw dropping
darthquincunx29 June 2004
There is Montezuma's revenge and then there is Jaws: The Revenge, in either case diarrhea is produced. This is really a terrible film, as if a shark would go out and take revenge on the family that "murdered" his cousins. Nonsense! It is awful to see Michael Caine in this film, I don't know why Michael appears in films like this, he must only do it for the money because the artistic merits of this film are zilch. Poor Lorraine Gary, went into retirement and then only to come out of retirement to do this turkey, and to think she felt obliged to as well, hardly a fitting finale to the end of a career. This film should have won more Razzies than it did but then against it was up against Leonard part 6!
31 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A much maligned, yet entertainingly daft sequel
Red-Barracuda18 December 2015
Lorraine Gary returns as Ellen Brody, whose son Sean is killed by a shark in the waters off Amity Island. She moves to the Bahamas to get away from things but...the shark follows her!

Jaws: The Revenge is the third and final sequel to Jaws (1975). It's a film that almost requires no introduction on account of its reputation as such a monumental mess of a movie. It's easy to see why it attracted such scorn to be fair as its story-line about a shark that has the ability to follow someone – presumably via psychic powers – hundreds of miles, it's beyond ridiculous; while what the shark is precisely seeking revenge for is never fully explained. The great white itself is notable for having the unusual ability to roar like a lion, which is at the very least an unexpected skill given sharks have no vocal chords. But you know what, I consider all of the above nonsense as positive aspects which go in this film's favour. Its sheer ridiculousness kind of makes it so entertaining. The real drawback to Jaws: The Revenge in my book was the excessive amounts of tedious melodrama which accounted for quite a bit of the run-time of the middle third of the movie. But whenever the shark popped up to play, things got a lot more agreeable and thankfully he appears pretty often throughout. And while it did look fake, the shark sort of still looked quite cool nevertheless. Essentially all the attack scenes are good value in my opinion and, aside from some fast-editing used in the earlier moments, I thought the cinematography was actually more than decent in capturing those moments rather effectively.

Famously Michael Caine missed out picking up his Oscar for Hannah and Her Sisters (1986) in order to film one of the re-shot endings for this. The one I saw has Mario Van Peebles character ludicrously survive being pulled down into the depths of the ocean while clamped into the jaws of the shark - he tiresomely re-emerges with a few light scratches and several wise-cracks. The actual destruction of the shark itself was also somewhat unclearly achieved as well but what the hell. It's such a silly film that such issues become relatively moot points by its conclusion. Also of note was the blink-and-you'll-miss-her re-appearance of Lee Fierro reprising her role as Mrs. Kinter, so memorable as the mother of the little boy who was killed on the beach in the first movie, leading to her angry and emotional dockside confrontation with Chief Brody. In this one she now appears to be a friend of the Brody family, so bygones must be bygones.

Despite its reputation, I definitely prefer this sequel to the somewhat annoying previous entry, Jaws 3D (1983). It does feel like more of a continuation of the story, even if it takes the characters into an extremely silly direction. But the sharksploitation genre has produced films over the subsequent years that have rarely been known for their understatedness and intelligence. Jaws: The Revenge is no different, it just achieves the same level of daftness on a massively bigger budget. The honest truth is that this is definitely much more enjoyable than the majority of other shark-attack monster movies.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Legendary because of it's lame ending
erwan_ticheler20 December 2003
Furthermore there is nothing to say about this really bad movie. The acting is horrendous,especially by Lorraine Gray.

But the ending is,because it is so bad,very enjoyable to watch.

Still,of course,that don't make up for it. 1/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Even worse than #3
Keith-7819 August 1999
Ok, to sum it up. The shark roars and stands on it's tail for more than 5 seconds. It purposely hunts down members of the Brody family. Thea is annoying and should have been swallowed whole by Bruce. The shark somehow explodes when being punctured by a sharp piece of wood. ?????? A bad film, I think so!
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Forgive me lord for I have have sinned, I watched Jaws: The Revenge
CharlotteBobcats198512 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I can't even give a real introduction this movie is so bad. Everyone should know, but let's take a little history course. In 1975, a movie titled "Jaws" (directed by S. Spielberg) hit movie theaters and was an instant success. A sequel was released a few years later, simply titled Jaws 2. That did alright, but wasn't anywhere close to be going good. Around 1982, a 3rd was filmed... in 3-D (titled Jaws 3, sometimes 3-D). The movie sucked (and is ranked somewhere in the worst 75 movies of all time list here), but not enough for someone to say "Hey! Maybe this should be the last!" So we get Jaws: The Revenge...

(blows flatulence) That is what I think of this movie.

First, you have a pretty bad excuse of actors... and Michael Caine (who did the movie thanks to a s**t load of money, a trip to the Bahamas, and a new vacation mansion built with the money). You have Mario Van Peebles playing the worst stereotype Jamaican of all time, and some other douche with a beard as Michael Brody.

The plot is even more ridiculous. A Great White Shark TAKES REVENGE ON A FAMILY. Didn't ANYONE watch Jaws 2, where the woman says "Sharks don't take things personally"? I would assume not. So, in a MAJOR SPOILER, Sean Brody is killed by a mysterious shark (while getting his limbs ripped off, losing bucket loads of blood) he is still very much conscious, and able to scream for his life with the energy of a 6 year old on crack. Last I checked, people who lose THAT much blood are either passed out or dead, not screaming and clinging on to things the whole time, pretending nothing happened.

So, Ellen Brody decides to go on Vacation with her son Michael, and his wife and daughter... TO THE BAHAMAS. Yes, going from an island of the coast of whatever to another Island makes so much f****** sense. Somehow, a shark, mind you ones that cannot survive in the warm waters off the Caribbean, follows them... 5,000 miles in a span of 2 days. Sharks can only travel 30-ish MPH I thought, and if it takes a plane to fly from Eastern United States to Japan 18-20 hours, it will take a s**t load more time than 40 hours for a f****** shark to swim from the Northeastern United States to Carribena Islands.

The Shark is also excruciatingly bad. While the first one at least looked SOMEWHAT real, this one looks like a condom painted gray and with eyes, a.k.a a piece of s*** rubber. Not only that, the thing barely has ANY movement, and in many scenes, the contraption DRAGGING the "shark" along the ocean floor is clearly visible. I guess filming in such light and warm waters wasn't such a great idea, was it? Also, you can even see the outer working material holding the shark together!!! The less said about how this thing could stand on its fin and roar like a lion... for 30 seconds, the better.

I think I've said enough, as right now it's just pissing me off that they went from an All-time Classic in Jaws to this pile of garbage. I would rather watch The Cat in the Hat on a 72 hour loop than watch this crap again.
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So there is a category beneath 'so bad it's good'...
pyrocitor18 July 2008
There seems little point in writing a review for such a film as Jaws: The Revenge, as those who have made it past the tagline and still given it an iota of consideration have likely already made up their minds as to whether or not they can stomach such an overwhelming inundation of garbage. With that in mind, as no reader could feasibly read with the intent of deciding whether the film is bad or good, this review will focus on a more comprehensive breakdown of the film's countless flaws. And rest assured that no matter how many innumerable detractions the movie has garnered, its atrocities becoming almost over-hyped, the film still manages to astound by the numerous fronts in which it completely fails to register any vestige of quality whatsoever.

Even those seeking the film as an entertainingly terrible comedy will find themselves disappointed, as the film somehow manages to avoid the pitfall of usual B movie melodramatic hysteria, emerging as simply dull and all the more terrible as consequence. The film's complete lack of quality becomes instantly clear from the chaotically choppy cinematography and editing, betraying the film's seemingly near non-existent budget. Similarly, the creative black hole of a script somehow bests its own storyline absurdities by shamelessly stealing elements from Spielberg's classic original through clunky, senseless flashbacks (Ellen Brody recalls her husband killing the shark, despite not having been there to witness it) and in certain cases blatant plundering and rehashing of scenes (the charming interplay between Roy Scheider and his son from the first Jaws is leeringly plagiarized, devoid of any redeeming values whatsoever).

All of which goes without mentioning the most glaring absurdities of the very premise: a shark seeking vengeance against family members of one who once killed a completely unrelated shark, enough so to track them to the Bahamas shows such a staggering lack of logic that one wonders how the film could possibly have been greenlit in the first place. But in this twisted reality, such qualms are easily explained away, as is the shark's outracing planes, standing on its tail, roaring and spontaneously combusting - it is difficult to imagine anything sealing the film's utter absence of quality any further.

While Spielberg masked the clunky falsities of his mechanical shark by mostly obscuring it with subjective point of view camera work, director Joseph Sargent appears to positively revel in his antagonist's foibles, keeping his obviously fake shark in plain view to a comical extent. Similarly, viewers are even denied a high body count of entertainingly poor shark attacks, as the film's near non-existent carnage is devoid of any campy gruesomeness, resorting to extreme close-ups of the absurdly unconvincing attacks, generating less menace than watching a snail crawl.

As a secondary character, the relatively poor acting of Lorraine Gary's Ellen Brody was for the most part easy to miss, but thrust into a lead role and her complete lack of a performance is unmistakable. Embarrassingly melodramatic or completely devoid of emotion depending on the scene, the banality of Gary's imbalanced attempted character is one of the film's weaker points, which is saying a lot. As her allegedly heroic son, Lance Guest's height of emotional intensity appears to be a slightly bewildered stare, proving comical at best, but little more. The hilariously ill-advised Michael Caine (the only cast member to escape with his career intact, and must have collected a considerable paycheque) usually appears to be reading his lines from a teleprompter offscreen with the same lack of emotion one would expect, and the absurdity of his sporadic romance with the far older Ellen Brody only furthers the stupidity. Finally, Mario Van Peebles is simply inexcusable; his atrociously bad Jamaican accent is a constant tarnish on the film's already consistently sullied quality, and once again, he fails to be over the top bad enough to prove enjoyable, simply resulting as noisy and pathetic.

Astoundingly horrible only scratches the surface of what can be considered no less than a masterpiece of lapsed logic and catastrophic film-making, even failing on the front of being overblown enough to make a suitable unintentional comedy. While the film's atrocious quality is hardly a surprise, it still boggles the mind simply how bad an outcome it was possible to achieve. In fact, the film's laughably ludicrous tagline "This time it's personal" could well apply to the audiences watching the film: this time the franchise is not only resoundingly poor, but a personal insult to every last viewer unfortunate enough to find themselves watching it.

-1/10
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
At least its better than Jaws 3 and a masterpiece compared with Shark In Venice!
sloulos31 July 2011
OK OK...Sharks don't take things personally. Sharks don't roar etc. BUT Sharks don't like eating humans so in the first hand Peter Benchley's best selling novel is not based on accurate facts. What i am trying to say? Movies are fiction hello? So ANYTHING can happen. I admit that the shark's personal quest for revenge is stupid even for a fictional movie universe, but at least makes the movie work because Jaws 3 was a total mess, and in my opinion is even worse than Jaws 4.

Now lets think about it. After the first movie (a true cinema masterpiece) everyone got the "jawsmania" and wanted to go to the theaters and watch the shark eating his victims. So the shark became the driving force behind the whole franchise (even they never planned to make it one). Bottom line we all watched the sequels for the shark and the shark delivers big time in this one. This movie its mindless fun and full of carnage.

In conclusion. The producers wanted the Brodys in the film, (this family with sharks is like John Mclane with terrorists), they had the shark and they needed to find a way to make the Brodys get in a situation against a shark again. Someone said to make it personal, and the others agreed! So what? At least is not Shark In Venice!. Sure the movie could been better but it's entertaining and a fun movie to watch with a couple of beers.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Roaring sharks and family angst
luckyunicorn2 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Whether you like this film or not depends why you're watching it. If you're going to compare it to Jaws 1, fergeddabout it. It doesn't have the suspense or grit or great cast of that movie. But if you like big sharks, then this is pretty good- the shark is a better one than the models in 1 & 2, and they use a lot of real shark footage. There are some great moments- really great- where the shark comes up out of the water just like in the old Universal Studios ride, and munches folk down. There's even a part where it rears out of the water and ROARS.

Apart from that, it's a fairly weak film- Lorraine Gary returns from the first 2 movies as Ellen Brody, and we have yet another two actors playing her sons. There's a lot of backchat and wrangling going on between the characters, which neither informs or entertains. And yes, of course the plot is completely silly, but it'd be churlish to hold that against it.

I was moved to shout "More shark, less talk!" at a couple of points, but it's far from being the terrible fiasco I thought it would be after reading other reviews.

It starts with quite a solid bit of action on Amity Island, where younger Brody son Sean is devoured by a vengeful Jaws- Ellen Brody then goes out to the Bahamas to recover with older son Michael who seems to have changed, not just physical appearance since 1, 2, and 3, but has also swopped his marine expert girlfriend of 3 for a drippy artist chick who whines throughout the whole flick. The shark duly turns up, and chases them around until they finally spear it with the broken-off prow of their boat- which seems to make it explode. Cool.

Michael Caine is solid as the love interest, and English accents always sound so funny in American films, don't they?
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very Underrated
glassesguy19 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
WARNING! Might contain spoilers.

A very underrated film. Sure it's junk, but it's not as bad as people make it out to be. I keep reading reviews about how it's the same hash recycled from the last three movies, and yes, they are right. But there were parts of this film where I wasn't sure what would happen next. Okay, I could, but I was never sure whether Michael Brody would live or die. I figured he'd live, but I thought they might kill him off to create some dramatic tension (killing off Sean wasn't enough). And eventually, they killed off Jake (though in some versions he lives) and I was kind of upset, I liked Jake and his reggae attitude. Frankly, Mario Van Peebles was probably the best actor in the movie. Bottom Line: Considering Jaws, BAD. But I think Jaws: The Revenge is better than Jaws 3 and about the same as Jaws 2. Doesn't compare to Jaws.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Slightly better than 3, but not much
jpintar10 July 2004
Jaws The Revenge is slightly better than Jaws 3, but since Jaws 3 is only so-so, that isn't saying much. The acting is slightly better, such as by Lorraine Gary and Mario Van Peebles. The movie tries to go back to the series roots. However the plot, the shark follows the family from Amity to the Bahamas, is ridiculous. Michael Caine does not help in his supporting role, but he does try hard. Don't feel bad for the actors in this movie, though. They got to work in the Bahamas!!! I would take any job that would put me in the Bahamas. Still, the movie has the worst climax of the series and I have to deduct points for that. 5/10 and I am being very generous. It's sad to hear that the little girl who played Gary's granddaughter was murdered by her own father along with her mother. This is a very sobering postscript every time you see this movie.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Alternative Intro. and Ending. Cool!!!
rogelioduron6 April 2004
Well, I always loved all the JAWS movies,More than ever the first one and by loving "Bruce" the shark i love all his family,but the one in this one takes the cake, I have heard the Alternative introduction which explains how for incredible it may seems whats going to happen we are the ones to choose from fact and fiction..yeah right!!! and the Alternative ending where Jake dies and we see the shark carry down part of the boat underwater and before that expell a lot of blood from its mouth,I taped this version from television a long time ago and then i kind of loved the movie more because it was part of the JAWS family..i have accepted all the bad about it and i applaud that Michael Caine still have a carrear after this one,Ill give it an 8 out of 10. And i love the videogame too where you can kill the roaring shark just like in the film. Question: -When does a shark roar? -When does a shark dance out of the water in his fins? -How can you have flashbacks about thing youve never lived? -How do sharks migrate from cold water to milder ones in a week? -Do all color guys love the jamaican look? ps: In the other version they used the same ending as in JAWS the original,I dont know if hey ripped it off,asked for it or payed for it but i knew it was the same,checked and yes...it is.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pant-wettingly hilarious
CuriosityKilledShawn14 November 1998
Warning: Spoilers
There's no new bad things I can say about this film as they are all pretty much common knowledge (like how can someone have flashbacks of events they never witnessed?). But I will say that no collection is complete without this movie. It is so wretchedly bad it's funny.

First of all, hardly anybody gets eaten. After Jaws gobbles up the youngest Brody son Mom goes on a holiday to get away from Amity Island and it's history...to the Bahamas! Total change of scenery huh? Jaws follows. How? Don't ask me. And he gets there in a day when it would take any ordinary shark about a week minimum.

Her elder son works as a marine biologist (surely being attacked by sharks in the first two movies would put him off going in the ocean) and is studying sea snails (presumably he got fired from Sea World after Jaws 3). By pure coincidence (or contrivance), Jaws shows up and pokes his nose into the sea snail research.

The shark looks sooooooooooooo fake. It's very obviously nothing but foam rubber with plastic teeth. And it's incredibly stupid. The shark in the first film (and in the surprisingly good second) seemed to be kind of smart and cunning. But now it's just a big lumbering idiot.

Why on earth Michael Caine agreed to be in this is beyond me. He even couldn't get to the Oscars to accept his award for Hannah and her Sisters because he was too busy filming this turkey. And the story with him dating Mom Brody takes up a tremendous amount of the film's running time and ends up turning it into a soap opera.

The worst thing tho, isn't the elder Brody son's beard or Mario Van Peebles' Jamaican accent. It's the ending. Let me explain what happens...

Jaws stands on his tail! On the Water!! Roars like a Lion!!! Is stabbed by the broken mast of a ship... ...and explodes!!!!

Of course!

Where on earth the idea for that ending came from is probably best kept a mystery. The fact that it recycles footage from the first film into this ending is a mockery of the original's genius. It should also be noted that this version includes the happy (alternate) ending in Mario Van Peebles survives being chomped across the belly by the big fish.

Universal stained the legacy of a great movie with this turd.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"I've always wanted to make love to an angry welder."
bensonmum28 October 2005
I am completely dumbfounded. What in the world were the people behind this mess thinking? When the movie was over, Jaws: The Revenge left me with more questions than answers. Here's a laundry list of my questions:

1. How did a movie as good as Jaws spawn this junk?

2. Regardless of where the shark is in the ocean, how is it capable of knowing the moment a Brody sticks so much as a big toe into the water?

3. If you attributed your husband's and son's deaths to a great white shark, wouldn't you want to go to someplace like Oklahoma instead of the Bahamas?

4. Do all Bahamians slip in and out of their accents the way Mario Van Peebles does in Jaws: The Revenge?

5. Could they have possibly made the shark look any more fake?

6. Snails?

7. You mean that piece of welded together scrap metal was supposed to represent all that is good about the Bahamas?

8. Do sharks really jump out of the water like Shamu and roar like a lion?

9. What's more frightening - a great white shark or Ellen Brody's hair?

10. Is there a bigger acting whore on the planet than Michael Caine?

The best way to watch a movie like Jaws: The Revenge is with a group of friends. There's plenty here to make fun of.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not Half as Bad as Most People Make it Out to Be
gavin694212 October 2010
The shark (or sharks, assuming the original shark is quite dead) has it in for the Brody family of Amity. But Ellen (Lorraine Gary, the only original cast member) is determined to stop that son of a gun. But she just might lose a few family members along the way...

It's really great that Lorraine Gary came back to keep the continuity strong, even as we reach the fourth installment. There is also a large, prominent photo of Roy Scheider in the police station, so he made an appearance here, as well (sort of). After that, it becomes a bit of a stretch.

The "script is lamentable," according to Howard Maxford. Apparently he hasn't watch a lot of horror sequels -- this one is something like Shakespeare in comparison. But he is right if he is implying that it makes no sense. What's with the extremely unlikely attacks on the Brody family... what the? Sharks that have picked them out and even (through some magical power) tracked them to the Bahamas?

There are some respectable guest stars, including the gambling-addicted Michael Caine, and Mario Van Peebles. Caine alone makes this film a lot more tolerable. His voice soothes me in a way that not even warm milk and a shoulder rub can match.

I'm not going to lie to you and say this is on par with "Jaws", but I will say this: it's not as bad as other sequels (like "Leprechaun in da Hood"), and not even as bad as other shark movies ("Megalodon"). If you make it through the first three films, give this one a go.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Passable final entry to the series (spoilers)
alainenglish2 January 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Arriving nearly twelve years after the original, and only four years after the dire second sequel, "Jaws: The Revenge" may be considerably inept in a number of departments, but it does improve on the last sequel and in absolutely no way does it deserve it's title as "One of the Worst Movies Ever Made". This effort, while not Spielberg, deserves a little more respect than that.

The action has returned to Amity Island, where an interesting opening credits sequence has the unseen shark hide itself in the town's harbour. Ellen Brody (Lorraine Gary) is now heading up the clan following the death of her husband Martin (the Roy Scheider character from the first two). After her youngest son is killed by a shark whilst on harbour patrol, Ellen believes the shark to hold a grudge against the family. Shortly afterwards, she moves to the Bahamas for Christmas to be with her marine expert son Mike (Lance Guest) and his family. The shark appears to follow her, though, and mayhem quickly ensues..

The script is not actually too bad an effort. It is never an absolute given that the shark Ellen meets in the Bahamas is the same one from Amity, and the script does well to play on the notion that she's really imagining it all. However, the story falls flat when trying to provide substantial dramatic material to pass time between shark attacks. The Ellen/Mike relationship; her romance with an amoral pilot (Michael Caine); and Mike's own relationships with his family and his best friend (Mario Van Peebles) have potential, but due to the script and the short running time are never given any chance to develop.

Performances are of mixed quality. Gary is excellent as the haunted Ellen Brody, easily conveying the fragile, paranoid nature of her character. Lance Guest isn't too bad as her son Mike, and Mario Van Peebles hams it up with his corny lines as his unflappable, comic relief partner. Skilled British actor Michael Caine does what he can with his limited material. Karen Young may be attractive, but her performance here is weak, her Boston accent inexplicably turning Cockney in one scene.

Technically, the film is interesting in terms of both its merit and flaws. It is essential to have seen the first "Jaws" in order to completely understand this one, as sepia-tinted shots from the original have been spliced into this movie. Whilst this is a little choppy in places, it does enhance the feeling that this is the final movie even if it renders the finale a touch incomprehensible. Michael Small's score upgrades and speeds up John William's classic theme to good effect.

Then there is the shark. This is a far better-looking replica than the one that appeared in "Jaws 3", and much has been made of the various tricks it performs in this movie. For starters, sharks don't attack boats. But even the first "Jaws" got this one wrong, so that is forgivable. However, sharks can rise out of the surface in order to attack prey, sometimes taking it's whole body with it. Sharks have not been known to growl, but reports say South African Great Whites make a roaring sound when they hit they surface, so this is not as implausible as might first appear.

The problem is not what the shark does, but how it does it. Every time the shark attacks, it moves with a mechanical slowness that makes it painfully obvious it is not the real thing.

By no means a film classic, "Jaws: The Revenge" on a certain level remains overall satisfying viewing and works well as the swansong for the "Jaws" series.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed