Innerspace (1987) Poster

(1987)

User Reviews

Review this title
90 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Simply very good entertainment.
Boba_Fett11385 February 2005
This movie offers perfect entertainment.

The main characters and the performances by the actors are very good and comical. The movie is filled with some crazy 'not-so-everyday' characters and the villains are deliciously stereotyped and highly entertaining and there are some simply hilarious moments throughout the movie.

The movie can be described as an adventure science-fiction comedy. Surely the movie will not be remembered as one of the best of all time but I will always remember this movie as a very entertaining one and of which I have some very fond childhood memories.

The nice 'unknown' musical score by Jerry Goldsmith is very good, I actually watched this movie in honor of his death the day he had died, on 21 July 2004.

As long as you don't expect a masterpiece and merely want to be entertained, this movie is perfectly recommendable. Also very watchable for the entire family.

7/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
33 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watch it before it gets remade
bowmanblue30 April 2018
Everyone remembers that eighties sci-fi classic 'Back to the Future,' because - let's face it - it's awesome. It deserves it's spot in pop culture. Yet many people don't seem to hold that other eighties sci-fi popcorn flick 'Innerspace' in such quite high regards. And that's a shame... in my humble opinion, because it really is quite good fun.

In these days of 'shared universes' (thanks, Marvel!) I find myself seeing films that look like they could belong in the same 'universe' as others (like 'Universal Soldier' and 'Terminator 2' - again, just my opinion). And, after my most recent re-watch of 'Innerspace' I couldn't help but thinking how much it would fit alongside that time-travelling DeLorean and uber-cool hoverboard.

It's about a test piolt (Dennis Quaid) who gets miniaturised inside a pod during a lab experiment and then (inadvertantly) injected into some random guy's backside (Martin Short). The two of them form an unlikely bond as they try to reverse the effects before Quaid runs out of oxygen (or the baddies get hold of them!).

Now, it's fair to say that 'Innerspace' didn't set the Box Office as on fire as its producers would have liked. I don't think it bombed, but the film-makers were hoping for something akin to 'Back to the Future' in terms of success-levels. However, there's just something so fun about it that it deserves to be remembered, especially during this period of eighties nostalgia.

It's first strength is that it never slows down. It's perfectly edited so that you get almost straight into the action and learn to love the characters without any need for lengthy exposition or backstory. And the action flows thick and fast. There's one chase scene that reminded me of 'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.' In 'Indy 4' they had to rely on awful computer graphics whereas 'Innerspace' managed it with stunts.

Another thing that's worth mentioning is how when there's no action, there's humour. And this is down to the rapport between the actors. Everyone plays their part well. And, possibly the most important thing about 'Innerspace' is that it's a film that the whole family can enjoy. There's no need for violence or bad language. It acomplishes everything it needs to without any over-the-topness.

If you saw this back in the day, give it another go. Or if you're just looking for something to entertain the kids on a wet weekend, this should be enjoyed by all (even if you're not part of this current eighties revival!).
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny Sci/Fi Adventure
mjw230514 January 2007
Tuck Pendleton (Dennis Quaid) is a hotshot Navy pilot on an unusual and top secret mission; he is to be shrunk down and injected into the body of a rabbit, but when things go wrong he ends up inside Jack Putter (Martin Short) instead. Jack must now work with Tuck in order to stay alive; and it's a great ride.

All the cast are good in this film, but Martin Short is brilliant; it's wall to wall action, adventure and laughs, and with a little romance thrown in, it's a winner. The special effects are outstanding for the time and Joe Dante's direction is excellent.

Innerspace is fun for the whole family 7/10
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A good way to get on someone's nerves--literally!
AllisonLVenezio18 April 2001
I just saw this movie today, and I must say, it was rather interesting. The scenery looked like something out of a Walt Disney World attraction, and the special effects were good, making this a very fascinating movie.

"Innerspace" is about a pilot, Tuck (Dennis Quaid) who is accidentally injected in grocery store assistant manager Jack (Martin Short) when the needle was originally intended for a rabbit. Jack had only 1 day to get Tuck out before his air supply ran out, making for an interesting plot.

Martin Short was hysterical in this strange comedy that kind of looks like "All of Me." He physically thrashes around, and the comedy suits him perfectly. Dennis Quaid is good in the role of Tuck, who is arrogant, and begins to appreciate things after this little "incident."

Of course, no movie would be complete without key scenes that add to the movie. And of course, no movie review would be complete without mention of these favorite scenes. The scene where Tuck and Jack get drunk off of Southern Comfort together was a riot, because I was wondering how much JAck actually drank. I like how he hiccupped and stumbled around, while Tuck asked, "Jack, are you drunk?" My other favorite scene was when Jack first hears voices and yells "I"M POSSESSED!" The fact that the first scene that introduces him in the doctor's office sets the stage, so we know he's a hypocondriac.

This movie was very funny and very cute at the end (won't give it away). Although it plays like a Disney attraction,it probably would be cool. I highly recommend this movie to Martin Short, Dennis Quaid, or Meg Ryan fans. Watch out for the vaccinations, and definitely don't ignore that little voice inside you, it could be a space pod. Enjoy!
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Joe Dante Classic
michaelkendall210 July 2005
This 1987 film is a wonderful combination of sci-fi, comedy, romance and thriller elements. It is briskly paced despite being almost two hours in length, and features superb performances from the leads; Dennis Quaid is excellent as usual, as is Meg Ryan in her best role. Yet the plaudits must go to Martin Short in a truly great performance he has never matched. He just needs the right role. The supporting cast are great as well; the delightful villainy of Vernon Wells who is unrecognisable as usual! Also Robert Picardo camping it up superbly as The Cowboy, one of his most memorable creations, plus the great pairing of Fiona Lewis and Kevin McCarthy, who memorably says to his dog before feeding it: 'Never beg, never beg!' The cinematography and special effects/makeup are all great as well, and Jerry Goldsmith's score is brilliant, perfectly complementing the tone of the film, alternately exciting/sprightly/romantic. Joe Dante binds it all together with magnificent verve, plus Dick Miller makes his trademark appearance! A great, timeless classic. Highly recommended.
41 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a nice little comedy
MichaelM2411 March 2002
Why INNERSPACE was not the hit it should have been will remain a mystery for years to come. And old concept (FANTASTIC VOYAGE) is given an update with spectacular (for the time, but still good) special effects and an excellent cast. Martin Short is a real delight as a neurotic supermarket clerk who at first thinks he's possessed, only to discover that the only thing in his body is a miniaturized Navy test pilot, Dennis Quaid, who was accidently injected into him instead of a lab rabbit. Meg Ryan is cute as ever, and Robert Picardo co-stars in one of his best roles, The Cowboy. The late screenwriter Jeffrey Boam keeps the story simple but allows for some good suspense and laughs, and director Joe Dante keeps the pacing just right. The battle between Quaid and an enemy inside Short's stomach is the highlight of the film. I remember how much I wanted to be Quaid's Tuck Pendleton (and have his little pod) when I first saw the movie. The ending seems obvious for a sequel, but due to the film's surprising box office failure, it was not to be. Still, this is a really fun movie for the whole family, and I hope a Special Edition DVD is not far away.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very funny and exciting adventure!
dalben1 January 1999
What a funny thrill ride this movie is! A man (Dennis Quaid) volunteers to be shrunk down to the size of a cell and injected into a rabbit. But terrorists are after this scientific breakthrough and by various hijinks he winds up being injected into the butt of a nervous grocery clerk, played by Martin Short. And that's just the beginning.

Innerspace shows Dennis Quaid at his most winning, and Short at his funniest. And of course, there's a very young Meg Ryan as their love interest. The jokes resonate with both kids and adults, and unlike most action-adventure films, the plot here is never short of ideas. And the effects are pretty neat too: as we see Quaid's character wander within the human body, we feel as much amazement and wonder as he does. LOTS of movies attempt to put you in outer space and worlds far away, but I can't think of one that has made the creative attempt of exploring our inner space.

I first saw "Innerspace" when I was 11. I didn't know who any of the lead actors were. I'd never seen Saturday Night Live. And I thought it was a great movie. Twelve years and hundreds of movies later, I still think it's wonderful.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fantastic Voyage Too
george.schmidt10 April 2003
INNERSPACE (1987) *** Dennis Quaid, Martin Short, Meg Ryan, Kevin McCarthy. Fast-paced and frenzily funny action/comedy/sci-fi film with Quaid as a washed up military pilot who volunteers to be miniaturized in a scientific experiment a la "Fantastic Voyage" inside a bunny but is mistakenly injected into hyper hypochondriacal Short (in arguably his finest comic role) who provides the physical comedy with Ryan as Quaid's long-suffering journalist girlfriend. Nice performances and some truly eye-popping Oscar-winning visuals. Directed by Joe Dante
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Silly, But Not A Kids' Film
ccthemovieman-19 October 2006
This is an updated "Fantastic Voyage" and interestingly done, I thought. Joe Dante directed a number of fun movies to watch.

It's not the innocent Steven Spielberg "E.T."-like movie I expected because of the language and several sex jokes. In other words, this is not a kids' movie.

Dennis Quaid stars and plays his usual cocky self. (He's mellowed in recent years.) Meg Ryan is her usual cute-but-of-little-substance self and Martin Short is just plain funny - the best guy in the movie.

The film offers a good combination of humor and science-fiction suspense. It's a fun movie I would rate higher if it weren't so silly in spots.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An Adventure of Incredible Proportions
Lady_Targaryen20 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
'Innerspace ''is a science fiction movie from the 80's, full of comedy and full of stars, like Dennis Quaid, Meg Ryan (this one very young and very thin in her 20's), Martin Short, and Kevin McCarthy. I personally find this movie adorable, since the scenes showing Tuck Pendleton inside of the human body, amazes me until today, seeing all those organs, embryo and even the cells in the veins.

I am not surprised to see that this movie is produced by Steven Spielberg, since the guy has a natural talent to make most of the movies a great success, with incredible stories.

The plot: Pilot Lt. Tuck Pendleton is a member of a top-secret miniaturization experiment, that sadly goes wrong when a rival team of scientists, try to stole their plans and ideas to make miniaturization a success for them. Instead of being inside of a rabbit, Tuck ends in the body of Jack Putter, a hypochondriac who thinks that now is listening to strange voices inside his head. When Jack discovers about Tuck, an awesome adventure begins, with Jack, Tuck and even Tuck's girlfriend, trying to help Tuck to be back in his natural size.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Criminally under-rated 80's flick. Deserves to be held in the same esteem as "Back to the Future" and the like.
Howlin Wolf29 March 2001
Warning: Spoilers
Can anybody tell me why almost everybody loves "Back to the Future" yet nobody ever deigns to mention this little beauty in the same breath? It more than deserves it.

Quaid is excellent as the cocky yet likeable "Tuck Pendleton". Here is a character who has personality to spare and a nice line in putdowns. You get the sense that he gets as exasperated with Jack as we the audience do. Quaid can really deliver when given the right material, something that Hollywood provides all too scarcely.

(POSSIBLE SPOILERS HEREON)

Short overacts but is still pretty funny, and anyway, I suppose exaggeration is forgivable given that he's playing a neurotic. Ryan is cute but in all honesty is not given that much to work with. It's credit to her talent that she manages to stand out at all.

Mr Igo is a cool villain, but one of many elements in the plot that aren't exploited to their full potential. The film is so bursting with invention that often things are touched upon and then dropped before they've really been explored. This all goes to show, however, that the film doesn't stand still for a minute, which can only be a good thing, especially when you have Quaid firing off the wisecracks.

It's fair to say that amidst all the general good fun the special effects aren't always something you notice, but they are superb, especially for '87. Never once do they undermine the story.

It really is Quaid's film though, personal favourite lines including "Dip, Dip, Dip all you like. Nothin's gonna fit ya" and "You better, you two-faced sonofab**ch"

An absolute blast from start to finish; this really is unfairly overlooked as being 'just another remake of 'Fantastic Voyage'", when in reality it compares well with acknowledged classics of the comedy adventure genre such as "Back to the Future".
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
If you can tolerate Dennis Quaid's faults you will enjoy this one
utgard1429 January 2014
Joe Dante reworks Fantastic Voyage into a buddy comedy for Dennis Quaid and Martin Short. Quaid plays a cocky fighter pilot who is chosen to take part in an experiment where he will have to test a miniaturized craft. While inside the machine Quaid is shrunk down to microscopic size. But some bad guys try to hijack the experiment and Quaid winds up injected into the body of a hypochondriac grocery store clerk played by Martin Short. From there, hijinks ensue.

Quaid is annoying, as he almost always was and is. His Joker smile and constant mugging grates on the nerves in the early scenes. He's better when things settle down some. Martin Short is the best part of the cast. Very funny and likable. Always love seeing a pretty young Meg Ryan. Although it reminds me of what she's done to herself since, which is tragic. Kind of the same feeling I get when watching young Melanie Griffith. This is a fun movie. Joe Dante gets to play with special effects and comedy, which is right in his wheelhouse. It's not as interesting or innovative as Fantastic Voyage but it's a very enjoyable movie in its own right.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't shrink this movie's prominence.
lee_eisenberg18 October 2005
Joe Dante may be the zaniest director out there, along with Tim Burton. "Matinee" is my favorite of his movies, but "Innerspace" is certainly also up there. For the for couple of minutes, I couldn't figure out what was going on, but suddenly, the plot became clear. Lt. Tuck Pendleton (Dennis Quaid) is shrunk down to the size of a dust speck to be injected into an animal - a la "Fantastic Voyage". But then, a terrorist group seizes the lab and one of the scientists carries the hypodermic out. With his last bit of strength, he injects Tuck into local dweeb Jack Putter (Martin Short) - without informing Jack of this. From there, some very embarrassing predicaments arise for the two men, not the least of which is how to explain the situation to explain to Tuck's hubby Lydia Maxwell (Meg Ryan).

Throughout, "Innerspace" has Dante's quirky mark all over it. Dante of course gives a role to Dick Miller: in this case, Miller plays a cab driver. Dante regulars Kevin McCarthy and Robert Picardo also star, the former as villain Victor Scrimshaw, the latter as Scrimshaw's associate Cowboy. With some crazy lines, this movie is pure fun for everyone.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of Joe Dante's best.
DavidSim24018320 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
When Joe Dante wanted to do a remake of Fantastic Voyage, I liked the way he decided to make his version into a comedy. I was surprised to discover that this film wasn't too successful, because I believe Innerspace is good solid entertainment, albeit daft.

The story begins when Lt Tuck Pendleton (Dennis Quaid), an excellent pilot but an irresponsible hard drinker volunteers for a highly unusual experiment. He will be placed inside a submersible pod, and with the use of two microchips, be miniaturised and injected into a laboratory rabbit (called Bugs, what is it about Joe Dante and Looney Tunes characters anyway?).

But just after Tuck has been shrunk, a group of Silicon Valley industrial spies break into the lab, and steal one of the microchips necessary to reverse the miniaturisation process. In desperation, one of the scientists (Ozzie) runs with the syringe Tuck is in, and injects him into the body of Jack Putter (Martin Short).

Jack is a stressed out hypochondriac who is terrified of life, and learning that a shrunken human being is inside his body doesn't make him any less neurotic. With Tuck and Jack now having to depend on each other for survival, they team up with Tuck's ex girlfriend Lydia Maxwell (Meg Ryan) to recover the stolen chip before Tuck's air supply runs out.

I must confess to being a sucker for these loser comes out on top stories, and this film is no exception. Jack is a man who has nothing going for him in life, but with Tuck urging him on, Jack manages to find inner confidence he never knew he had and takes control of his life.

Both Tuck and Jack's characters go through changes in this film. Seeing the world through Jack's eyes, Tuck begins to reflect upon the mistakes he has made in his life. His irresponsible behaviour and heavy drinking was responsible for Lydia breaking up with him, and he wouldn't be in the situation he's in now if he hadn't recklessly gone through with this hare brained experiment.

Dennis Quaid makes a likable character as Tuck, because although he is a wise guy, his pep talks to Jack are quite inspiring and how you can learn to take control of your own destiny.

Martin Short is also a likable hero as Jack, although he does have a tendency to go over the top. Although he is supposed to be neurotic, his antics can grate on you a little on occasion. Some of his antics can be funny too, such as the crazy dance he does in Tuck's apartment, and yelling "I'm possessed" when he first hears Tuck's voice inside his head.

The different scrapes they get into are quite exciting, such as Jack's hanging on for dear life at the back of a refrigerated truck (although it is a little overlong). Tuck's battle with one of the spies inside Jack's body is very well done, and the method of killing him is quite innovative too.

One of the funniest scenes is when Tuck alters Jack's face to look like The Cowboy (Robert Picardo), someone who has come to buy the microchip off Scrimshaw (Kevin McCarthy), the man responsible for stealing the chip in the first place. The special FX for these scenes are pretty amazing, and the look on everyone's faces during these transformations are priceless.

The FX used for inside Jack's body are incredible, and are totally realistic. One of the best scenes is when Tuck is nearly pulled into Jack's heart, and is very nail biting. Another good scene is when Tuck ends up in Lydia's body through a kiss with Jack, and sees his unborn child in her womb. That is a very awe inspiring scene, and is worthy of the same fascination that made Fantastic Voyage great.

I believe this is a criminally underrated film. Admittedly, its a hard film to swallow, with things like altering Jack's face to look like someone else. How exactly could you do that? But this is a Joe Dante film, so you have to suspend disbelief a little. Meg Ryan isn't given enough to do, and its a pity her character couldn't have been given enough development.

There are also a lot of things happening in this film, and not everything is tied up like it should have been. The way Innerspace ends, there could have been a sequel, but so far it hasn't been followed up. With Dennis Quaid's and Meg Ryan's divorce that doesn't seem very likely now.

Still, Quaid has got a brilliant rapport with Short, and some (if not all) of the important matters are resolved. Its an entertaining film, and you find yourself being pulled along for the ride whether you like it or not. After Gremlins, Innerspace is my favourite Joe Dante film.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable
lbournelos23 June 2019
Although I think the scenario idea was "inspired" by "Fantastic Voyage (1966)" it is still very pleasant enjoyable film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Eat Me - Drink Me
Spikeopath26 May 2019
Innerspace is directed by Joe Dante and written by Jeffrey Boam and Chip Proser. It stars Dennis Quaid, Martin Short, Meg Ryan and Kevin McCarthy. Music is by Jerry Goldsmith and cinematography by Andrew Laszlo.

A hapless hypochondriac store clerk battles to save the life of the man who, miniaturized in a secret experiment, was accidentally injected into him.

The premise is of course absurd, but everyone involved knows this and proceed to entertain with a mixture of thrills, spills and a good old fashioned good versus bad value. Narrative is based around the race against time thematic as miniaturised Tuck Pendleton (Quaid) fights from within the body of Jack Putter (Short). He has to keep Jack out the hands of crooks who are after the secrets of the miniaturisation process, whilst simultaneously being on a clock before he runs out of air - or fall prey to Jack's anti-bodies system etc.

Dante strings together some terrific set pieces, while the realisation of the inside of the human body is smartly staged. Cast are on hugely engaging form, with the central relationship between Quaid and Short a pure joy and mined for constant laugh and peril tactics. The dual aspect is niftily handled by Dante and his crew, with the battle within Jack's body running concurrently with Jack's battles out in the real world.

What wonderful sci-fi froth this is, as Dante has a blast of a time with the effects tools to hand to take the concept of Fantastic Voyage and make a top line action comedy adventure. Great soundtrack too! 8/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Entertaining
AKS-61 June 2001
Innerspace is an entertaining sci-fi comedy with good performances from Martin Short, Dennis Quaid and Meg Ryan. Also, the special effects are great. That is, if you think about the fact that the film was made in 1987. Naturally, the effects would be much better if the film was made today.

There are also many laugh-out-loud scenes in the film, but as all comedies Innerspace goes on for too long and in the end I just wanted the film to be over. Overall though, it's an entertaining movie that would have benefited from being about 15 minutes shorter than it is. (6/10)
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite sci-fi movie
MJB78423 May 2018
This is probably the least known and most unusual choice of my favorites, but it combines comedy, sci-fi, action, suspense, drama and romance as effortlessly as Back to the Future. The story keeps building as it goes along. A navy pilot named Tuck Pendelton has agreed to be miniaturized in a syringe once he's first placed inside a space pod. His goal is to discover the inside of a rabbit, but soon the syringe he is in is being held captive by a doctor who is being chased by scientists from another organization that want to steal the syringe and claim the experiment themselves. Soon, the doctor injects the syringe into an innocent civilian played by Martin Short and through complications is trying to get Tuck out of his body once they communicate through the monitors of Tuck's pod seeing everything that Tuck sees through the pupils of the Jack's eye and audio through his inner ears which are recorded through the speaker's of the pod. The attention to detail of the human body is extraordinary. It really looks like actual footage of the human body and it blends with the on set footage of Tuck cruising through it flawlessly. The movie won a well deserved Oscar for Visual Effects and it features some of the most timeless effects I've seen on film.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What's not to like?
Mr-Fusion16 August 2015
The idea for "InnerSpace" is a novel one for a movie, and I can't shake the feeling that this is the kind of movie that could only have been pulled off in the '80s. Can you imagine how bland a remake today would be? Anyhoo, the whole package is a good bit of fun.

It's stuffed with both plot and memorable characters (the gunhand robot guy, the cowboy, the charming Meg Ryan, and Martin Short, who shoulders the story's wacky physical comedy like a pro).

This is a movie that you just sort of get lost in, and really feels like a big Hollywood riff on Disney rides. Which could be its own genre, at this point.

7/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Energetic, imaginative fantasy/comedy
scriff9984 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This was a fun movie, kept a good balance between sci-fi, action, fantasy and comedy. It had a lot of imagination. It was a little more lightweight than most of the movies I like, I could tell that's the way they wanted it in a scene where the bad guys take over a lab by spraying the doctors with tranquilizer gas instead of shooting them. That may be the reason it didn't do good at the box office, it was PG around the time the PG-13 rating was becoming more lucrative. The only thing I didn't like was the scientists being shrunk at the end, it seemed a little silly. The ending kind of leaves you hanging, the producers were probably hoping the film would do well enough for a sequel. Overall, not great but good if you're looking for interesting 80's film artifacts.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Short Gets Shafted
bix1719 April 2003
Joe Dante can't get a rhythm going in his slapstick revisiting of `Fantastic Voyage' because the script by Chip Proser and Jeffrey Boam is talky from the onset. Ostensibly a showcase for the gifted physical comedian Martin Short, Proser and Boam seem to want to segregate Short's antics to certain sections to allow them to concentrate on exposition (which itself is quite uninteresting) and hence Short's excesses come in fits and starts. They're good while they last (his elastic facial expressions are priceless) but they're over too quickly. He's aided by Dennis Quaid as a washed-up Navy lieutenant who is miniaturized in an experiment but accidentally ends up in Short's body. The possibilities are inviting and usually up Dante's alley but the script doesn't want to take advantage of them (Short and Quaid can converse but a funnier concept--Quaid having the ability to manipulate Short a la Steve Martin by Lily Tomlin in `All Of Me'--never seems to occur to the writers) and instead we're forced to focus on the dull, blurry visuals that have none of the wit and inventiveness of the film that inspired it. With Meg Ryan (lackluster as usual), and, as the bad guys, Kevin McCarthy and Fiona Lewis, both of whom have very little talent for the kind of hamming that is usually one of the primary pleasures of a Joe Dante picture.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Uneven comedy/science fiction story...
dwpollar18 May 2011
1st watched 5/16/2011 -- 4 out of 10(Dir-Joe Dante): Uneven comedy/science fiction story about a wayward pilot, played by Dennis Quaid, who takes on a job of piloting a vehicle that is experimentally miniaturized for the purpose of being injected into living things with the idea of learning things from the inside-out, I guess. This miniaturization device is highly sought after by other evil forces and during an attempt at stealing the device, Quaid's character is injected into a troubled man, played by Martin Short. There are definitely some funny bits involved with the Quaid's character trying to communicate with his new host and Martin Short is perfect for the style of humor that they deploy in this scenario. At this point in the movie, I felt promise for it, but about halfway through the plot becomes rather convoluted after some other characters are introduced that are trying to gain access to this sought-after device. One character named "Cowboy" is not funny at all, and his influence on the movie literally tears it apart to the point where the viewer stops caring and the movie becomes a typical chase-scene filled mess. The initial humor, which should have been built upon, is totally flushed out of the movie and it never returns from this point. What could have been a funny movie because of the talent of the actors instead becomes a pretty un-necessary waste of about 1 hour and a half. So, watch the first half hour then turn it off because the rest if not worth your time.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Overlong & Too Silly.
AaronCapenBanner31 August 2013
Science Fiction comedy from director Joe Dante about an experimental craft accidentally injected into grocery clerk Martin Short, and the various government factions that desperately try to recover it, while the pilot(played by Dennis Quaid) tries to contact Short, and convince him that he isn't just hearing voices. Meg Ryan plays the girlfriend, who tries to help them both.

Some good model F/X and a fine cast cannot save this silly and contrived film that goes on far too long; being clearly inspired by "Fantastic Voyage", film has a great deal of action and imagination, but doesn't know when to quit.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
a less than fantastic voyage
mjneu5928 November 2010
What one critic st the time called "the summer's best summer movie" is, sadly, exactly that: a contrived and familiar cross section of up-to-the-minute trends, with a shelf life just long enough to last beyond the initial video rentals in six months time. Under the direction of Joe Dante (one of the brighter stars in the Steven Spielberg galaxy) it exhibits quite a bit of slapstick flair, while wasting most of its comic potential on frantic over-plotting and miles of distracting hardware.

The idea is almost clever: during a top-secret miniaturization experiment cocky test pilot Dennis Quaid is accidentally injected with his self-contained capsule into the bloodstream of meek, nervous supermarket clerk Martin Short (never mind how or why). But the tone is often uncertain (is Martin Short's howl of pain when he feels tiny grappling hooks on the back of his eyeball supposed to be funny?) and the extraneous plot details – spies, car chases, a cybernetic villain, a beautiful girlfriend (naturally a reporter) – haven't changed much since the last action/comedy hit. The end result is mindless, unmemorable fun for undemanding viewers who don't expect anything more.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Still One of the Most Entertaining Movie Today
I'd almost forgot I had this movie. I've watched it maybe 30 times or more. I still love every second of this movie. It's one of those Spielberg movies that you can't get out of your head. It just won't leave. This particular movie was hard to find, but I prevailed. The intense acting of Dennis Quaid, and Martin Short says it all. They keep you going with each quirk of energy they generate. Very well done movie. Some movies, you just go to sleep, but not this one. I guard my DVD like a hawk. I will treasure this movie just like I do my "Back To The Future Trilogy" collection. The same as, "Batteries Not Included", Inner Space is a Jewel of a movie that will never fizzle out with time. Time is on it's side. Meg Ryan just put the icing on the cake. Beauty, poise and great acting on her part. Meg put the right twist on the movie to give a tender, affectionate side. All the cast did a bang up job.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed