The Bold and the Beautiful (TV Series 1987– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
93 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Glamorous, glitzy and cheesy
dingoberserk16 September 2005
Two things tickle me in relation to this never-ending saga: the illogicality of many situations, and the blatant inconsistencies, hypocrisies, contradictions and double standards displayed by most characters. These two ingredients combine to make up an insidiously alluring cocktail, which may explain why B & B, in spite of its cheesiness, has the potential for becoming addictive, as exemplified by so many testimonials, both within my own social circle and elsewhere (for example, on this website). The principal characters, who are rarely seen engaged in normal activities (such as work), are prone to proclaim their undying loyalty to one another, backed by strong moral principles, family values, marriage etc., then break their promises and behave like alley cats, just a few weeks down the track. One example amongst hundreds: when Brooke is confronted by Taylor with the question: 'How could you sleep with Nick the night you thought your husband had died?', she contrives to look dutifully repentant and says something like 'I don't know how to explain it'. Not very convincing. The endless proclamations of belief in the sanctity and permanence of marriage are contradicted with monotonous regularity by the behavior of most characters. In spite of this, all second, third etc. weddings take place in a chapel in the presence of an (ostensibly Christian) celebrant. Christianity of course, or at least the traditional view of it, is frequently set aside when characters indulge in bitching about one other, undermining the reputation of others, cheating in various ways, etc. The most common method of rumbling the frequent conspiracies is by eavesdropping behind a half-closed door, then charging into the conspiratorial environment and confronting the conspirators with dramatic remarks. Again, not very convincing. There seems to be a tendency, on the part of the scriptwriters, to demonize female characters to a greater extent than male ones. There are no male counterparts to Sheila, Stephanie or Sally Spectra, just to name a few. The glitzy ambiance and would-be glamorous surroundings are an obvious smokescreen, designed to hide the basically vacuous lives of the majority of characters, deprived as they are of any authentic ideals. The mirage works quite well. And one could continue ... in spite of all the above (and more), B & B remains an entertaining soapie which will be missed when, inevitably, the final curtain falls. PS. Incidentally, have any of the characters ever heard of contraception?
37 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Have all writers gone on an extended vacation
davenramona11 June 2019
Wondering why we have seen the same story line for the last few months. I am so sick of this never ending "will they tell, and of course they will not tell: for so long now that I have made the decision that watching this show from the very first episode, I am so sick of watching every day the same story line. Think it is time to put this stupid soap behind me and move on because the show has become boring. I am switching to the game channel, watching a reruns of the game shows has to be better than this soap. Now I am down to watching just one soap, The Young and the Restless. At least they have a show I try not to miss so I can keep up, but with The Bold and the Beautiful, I missed 3 weeks and find I missed NOTHING. Sorry, but your show sucks now.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The storyline boring
lawton379 January 2019
The drawn out storyline of Brooke and Hope going on about how Taylor being a danger is boring and total boring as well as unrealistic. What makes it worse is the poor acting by Annika Noelle as Hope. With her over pronounce of words. Lack of pause in sentence. No range in voice tone. I only see glimpse and then turn it off, if it has these type of scenes. Unfortunate, as so many of the others have reasonable talent. PLEASE improve or get rid of this show
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
this show is AWFUL!!
sammie_gal9123 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
if i could give a 0 i would or even a negative number. i mean this show doesn't even make sense. i mean didn't Taylor die earlier in the show? and suddenly she is alive again?? and Ridge isn't Eric's son. this show is really full of NONSENSE! the people who are supposed to be dead aren't actually dead. in the end who will really die in the show? and Brooke is way to old to have children and she is like a baby factory. man, could this show get any worse? there is another that is so stupid. Ridge and Brigette? how could she feel that Ridge actually had any feelings for her? i mean they treat each other as brother and sister. this show is really full of thrash. can't believe it has been able to continue for so long!
37 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This Soap is nothing but dogs!
conradz5813 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
OK. How in the world did this soap be the best? First of all, this soap is cheesy, secondly - the story lines are corny, and thirdly - they made love as trash!

I mean come on, B&B would be the best but face it, the story is totally cheap and the characters keeps changing from one to another person. Like Brooke having her sex appeal to the rich guys, her daughter Bridgette keeps changing her temper of Nick like for example: I hate you - I love you, Thomas is always liking the ugly's and Nick is becoming to be playboy! IT'S ALL TERRIFYING! For all of you Soap opera fans, if you are choosing to watch this soap show: Don't watch it.

I rate it 1/10. They should change the story lines.
28 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Scriptwriters
lorna1024 January 2013
Are the Scriptwriters all in the 10 - 12 year old age group? Anybody over that age could write better scenarios than they do - what is written is pathetic!! If I want to watch 'crap', I will from now on - I'll watch the 'Wiggles'!! It's an older audience who watches The Bold & The Beautiful,& we're not morons!! Pick your writing up, or get new people who can. I have watched this show for many years, & it used to be interesting - now, you can switch on after 4 days and not have missed a thing!! Have production costs been cut or what? Some of the scenarios are just beyond belief - nobody could be as stupid as some of the characters are made out to be, yet these are 'people' who run or are involved in multi-million dollar corporations?
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Oh Mom ! You Slept With My Brother !!"
elshikh414 November 2009
..And that's maybe not the worst yet !

Since the 1950s, soap operas, in radio and TV, had their lovers. However, Dallas came out in (1979) to make a great effect on the TV soap operas with its wicked formula of manipulating everybody and everything just for having you on your seat for years ! Watch that effect on next soaps like Knots Landing (1979) or Falcon Crest (1981). But some goods, when outlive for more than their competence, transform into envenomed !

At first, (B & B) was another, late 80s, so TV-ish, daytime soap. Namely hot, melodramatic and yeah.. boring ! But after that, it turned - while keeping itself outwardly glossy - into ugly huge farce.

I can't say it's a diary of a family. I can't say it's fine thrilling melodrama. I just can say that it's a living exploitation of soap. And you know what? It's successful. So successful indeed !

(The Bold and the Beautiful), after 22 years and counting, is a real fine example of the kind of drama which some viewers need everyday like a requisite meal to satisfy their hanger; for living a romance, feeling rich, beating enemies.. etc. whatever the acting was, and whatever the manipulation is.

I somewhat caught on its formula: a sexual desire, a sinful love, a separation between 2 lovers, a wicked plot and a surprise. Then another round. Then another one. Then another with other characters, with new characters, then between the old and new characters, then between them and us maybe!, then the same formula again with the same characters afresh, going on and on, till the end of you, days or its time on screen (meaning: its cancellation !).

It's a perfect scheme. So loved and long-lived. But who can stand endless story lines, everlasting dialog, the silence of the actors before cutting to another scene or commercials, and - most of all - the changing of partners?? Whoever can stand all of this, for more than 5500 episodes, I'm surely not one of them. Why is that ? Because I don't have non-critic mentality, a desperate passion for melodrama, and that PATIENCE !

Speaking about the changing of partners thing, I recall a line was said by (Dean Stockwell) in one of (Quantum Leap)'s episodes talking about a soap opera: "Here Sam, everybody is sleeping with everybody !". (B & B) maybe broke this rule since in it everybody slept, sleeps, and will sleep with everybody ! Sometimes I think that they have nothing to do in this world but sleeping with each other, then chatter and chatter and chatter, to re-sleep again yet with others. It's not the story of life, it's the life of very profitable story ! I know that it got the power to make you sleep in front of it too !

Did its success become a curse ?! I don't completely think so. Not for the actors, since they're all well-paid. Not for the viewers, since they get what they want. But maybe for the writers. These people got to write one work for over than 2 decades ?? OH MY GOD ! This is, in spite of all the money in the world, so heavy mission to be done. So, based on my compassion, I'll forgive them for such events like the one of my title's line which was the first thing I heard when I tried to continue watching this series again, after years of losing any interest in it (Yes, first I felt panic, thinking that the mom slept with her own son, but I understood it right later!). However, when things reach this far, I invite you to do what I already did: Change the Channel. Believe me, you'll feel so bold and beautiful after !

In the next episodes I bet you; the son will turn out to the real father of his sister, (Ridge) will turn out to be a brother of his mother, (Eric Forrester) will have a sex change operation, (Brooke) will turn into lesbian (if she didn't yet?!), and I can see the end right now; the aliens will take them all away (it kind of happened before, didn't it?!); and for that alone I'll salute the creative writers. Simply, what can a teleplay writer do.. More ?!!!

Originally, as much the viewers want it, as much it gains more time on air, and so.. that's what has to happen. Though it triumphed over any jesting - even its own - already, being the most-watched soap in the world, with an audience of an estimated 26.2 million viewers in more than 110 nations. So while I believe that it is provoking sitcom; running without laughing tracks or laughing, others don't, and that's in fact what makes it provoking. But everybody got their own classics. This show is classic for some. Classic nonsense for others. GOD!, it is classic both ways !!
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Drivel
Esmollin28 October 2013
I can't believe how bad this is. I've only been tuning in about twice a week for about four months. I find the writing predictable and the characters annoying. It's almost as if someone decided to try to come up with the worst soap ever. Well, they succeeded. Wait - I think the ill - fated Passions might have been a tie, but that at least was funny. This is like soap opera 101, maybe geared to the junior high crowd. The men are all controlling and the women are like characters from the 1950s.

I'm sad to see Jacob Young here. I was a big fan of All My Children, we all know what's happening with that. AMC was everything that this is not; it had great writing, it was classy and the actors made the characters come alive.

Also I'm surprised that Bell also produces Young and the Restless, which is far superior to this drivel.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
STOP THE MADNESS
dlstegall21 June 2019
If Hope does not find out about the freaking baby in the next week, I'm DONE. It's absurd.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Baby switch story is the last straw, they need to fire the lazy head writer
amcaca13 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Like most others, I am disgusted with the baby switching story, and Xander can not possibly love Zoe after seeing how she is selfishly willing to destroy Hope! ... ... update... Now that the baby fiasco is unraveling.... I can't help but marvel how the writers of this drivel have their heads in the last century,.... How long for someone to just say ; 'Ok now we must do a DNA test..... why do we have to listen to this ridiculous from Ridge; '' Ehhh, this baby is not Beth.'.... etc etc...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
BORING.... DRAWN OUT WAY TOO LONG
maryninvt13 June 2019
I used to like the show but the way it's drawn out with this soap and the Hope/baby story is boarding on absurdity. Week after week goes by and finally someone gets a conscience to tell the truth and then they change their mind. Are the creators and writers of this program so unimaginative that they can't come up with the new storyline, and therefore drag this on and on and on for months? I used to watch it faithfully but now I just tune in once in a great while to see if the truth has come out., but no dice. I guess maybe that'll happen when the kid goes to college. End this stupid storyline and get on with it!!!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Poor Story Line
shellys-327796 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I use to watch all the time but so over the evil hope only caring about self Having a line where she's going to have Liam child why do that? Let Liam and steffy enough baby Kelly. I'm just so over the story line That's why I don't watch anymore!!! I love steffy as a actress She truly brings her feelings out and to see a new mom hurt and her Life shattered after giving birth to baby Kelly it's not appealing to me!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor script writing with lower level of talent
lawton3731 May 2018
I have watched on and off over a number of years. The story line is more annoying than ever before. While many of the actors have talent the casting of Hope Logan seems a big mistake. Because most of the others are at least average acting ability it makes Annkia as Hope stand out more as extremely bad. She over pronounces her words. Has no voice range, tone. Lacks the use of proper timing of pauses in her dialog and movements . She looks disabled when looking at the camera.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The glitz is gone
duraflex3 October 2006
Boring, worn-out story lines of ultimately unlikeable characters have become the trademark of this once glitzy and entertaining soap opera.

Essentially it's an endlessly repeated love triangle now 15 years running with Brooke, Ridge, Taylor - recycled story lines and people coming back from the dead.

The current crop of writers has also found a way of making every good character go bad to the point where there's no one to cheer for - no one to admire - no one to even like.

Most despicable character is Brooke Logan - the nympho-manical social climber who sleeps with her daughter's husbands and goes through men like so much Kleenex. 4 children by 3 men. This stuff is really depraved.

This half hour mess is distributed throughout the world and what a distorted and horrible picture it paints of American families.

Save your time and avoid this addictive tripe.
18 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A classic soap opera!
Catherine_Grace_Zeh16 July 2006
Ah, yes. I can remember when I was in high school. One thing I would do my junior and senior year when I was home from school was watch this classic soap opera. From that moment on, I was hooked on it. In addition, I also enjoyed the days when Agnes Bruckner played Bridget Forrester. At first, when Macy (Bobbie Eakes) left the show in 2003, I didn't watch it as much. Today, it's my absolute favorite. If you ask me, Macy was absolutely diabolical. You'd have to have seen the show between 1987 and 2003 if you want to know why. However, this is still a good soap opera. In conclusion, I highly recommend this classic soap opera to all you die-hard CBS fans.
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boldly bad and unbeautiful
videorama-759-85939126 June 2015
Why oh why and I'm talking the most recent, years. I walk out to find my dad, slouched down in front of the tube watching this very slow moving twaddle. Yes they are bold and beautiful, and they are really good actors. You can't fault 'em there. My favorite was Ron Moss, who fortunately left. I can't believe my dad tells me this crap (what's happening in the show) If he knew what he sounded like. The plots move to the grinding pace of a revolving restaurant floor, and of course, bits of the show too, provoking bits of unintentional laughter, kind of like a saving grace for those who have to grin and bare it. I believe the one quiet saving grace was Ron Moss who had to bail + some other meaty characters, one larger than life, who's presence many years ago to earlier times. I had only ever seen Moss in one other movie. Another attraction we don't see now, was the Insomnia cafe, with those really big cups. It's cool how they can use such a limited number of locations, but that's how I see every episode of this show, with stalling tricks. It's going nowhere and it's not being fast about it.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
bold and the beautiful
babybaby9231 December 2006
awful,awful,awful is all i can say, I've watch this once beautiful show from the beginning, run into the toilet, new writers-new faces please. or just yank the show,this used to be my favorite besides the young and restless,but same writers same old story lines,even cross overs don't help this show any more,so for Pete Sake Pull The Plug and let this show go with Dignity, at least when mr. bell was alive and head writer he made quite a few good changes now the writing is very slack and repeat of everything over and over and over again,let brooke marry ridge again, stephanie and eric leave on a exotic trip around the world, nick marry Bridget,taylor leaves for some wild place, all the kids leave home ,thorn follows taylor,and everybody lives happily ever after
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not What It Use To Be
cornesagilliard1 June 2019
I'm a chef I used to record this show every day to watch when I came home from work it was the best part of my day. When Hope and Liam finally got married I was so happy because I was tired of that story line dragging. When she became pregnant I was even happier. Then the whole baby switching situation has been dragging on so long I stop watching the show in September because I was so aggravated, and it is now June the following year and it's still going on still. I just can't watch it anymore. I just peeked in on the show recently to see if the situation had been resolved and the story line a still dragging its like time has stood still for over 10 months with this situation still dragging on and on. It's such a good show and its a shame but I'm not gonna watch it anymore I stopped watching young and the restless a long time ago and now I guess my soap opera watching days are over. So sad. It used to be when a story line like this happened it was resolved in least in 30 days now it seems to be dragging out for over a year that's ridiculous. A secret in real life has a way to come out in less than that. Did you run out of ideas? Please stop because I miss my show.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hope losing Beth! Ridiculous
whitefam-8495518 January 2019
How much longer is this show going to make Hope be in pain over losing Beth? I am about to stop watching this show. Then this show is going to have Steffy adopt Hope's baby!! That's wrong as wrong can be!!! Your story line is Ridiculous and I hate it!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Acting in the history of this show Annika Noelle as Hope
lawton379 January 2019
Still can not watch this show. Seeing a glimpse with Annika Noelle as Hope and how she still over pronounces her words. Poor use of pauses in sentences . Her acting has not improved. Most of the others have reasonable talent. PLEASE re cast Hope or write her out.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This show Down Hill all the way
lawton372 January 2019
This was once worth watching. The story lines are getting worse by the month. I can only watch a few minutes on rare occasions. And the worse of all is the poor acting by Annika Noelle as Hope. She continues of over pronounce her words. Has no range in her voice tone and lack a natural look in most scenes. Over the years most of the acting has been reasonable and somewhat quality. But now a main role of Hope with very poor acting spoils the show. The previous Actress as Hope had talent. Courtney as Sally has excellent acting talent.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hope has to go!!!!!!!
scramer-0339219 December 2018
Who in the hell does Hope think she is! She has no right telling Steffy to send her mom packing. Hope needs to be the one packing and I said before, she can take her skank mother with her! Trying to get Bill to help get rid of Taylor by using his feelings for her! Has anyone else noticed the constant ugly face that chic playing Hope wears??? Liam is most being pathetic...he belongs with Steffy not Hope...I can't believe Liam isn't ticked off that Hope told her mom...I can't believe that Liam thought Hope would keep her big, ugly cry face, mouth shut!! They have shifted the character of Hope so much by using whatever her name is! Liam Belongs with Steffy period!!!!! I can't be the only I e that feels that way...get rid of Hope...she's boring and making the show boring!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Needs new writers
jinheadrick13 August 2018
Love this show. Have watched it for a long time, it's time Bill left Steffanie and Liam alone and let them be happy. Hope needs to leave Liam alone. She is no better than Bill. Needs new writers
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Bold and the Beautiful-Must Watch Show
soapgirl7515 January 2014
The Bold and the Beautiful is a must watch show. The drama and the romance brings you back day after day to find out what will happened to your favorite characters. Brooke and Bill have been fantastic. Now that Ridge has returned this can only cause more drama. The Liam/Hope/Wyatt love triangle will have you wanting more. Who will she choose? If it is humor you are looking for don't miss Pam & Charlie. The location shoots are definitely something to see, from Malibu, to Cabo to Italy. If you haven't watched it you should tune it! You will be addicted after just one episode! Tell your friends and family too. You won't be disappointed!
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BEST SOAP!
Juniore16 June 2000
B&B Rules! The plot, setting and characters rock. I like how it has a complicated family tree, with practically every character being related in some way. And all the characters are rich on the show. Amber Moore is my favorite, at first she was a b*tch, but now she is nice ever since that secret! Kimberly's new hair style is cool, she is much sexier now. The show has changed so much. Some parts about it are better, while others are not. Many of the enemies are now friends. Like C.J. & Rick, and Sally & Stephanie. They did drop a lot of good characters over the years though. Like Jessica, Dylan, Jasmine, Sly, Sheila, Felicia, Maggie, Myles, and Ivana. At least they've kept other characters, like Brooke, Rick, C.J., Taylor, Macy, etc. The fights are so adventurous. B&B is so underrated. I wish they would extend it's time.
16 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed