Labyrinth (1986) Poster

(1986)

User Reviews

Review this title
526 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Fantastic, magical movie!!
supertom-318 July 2003
This is a classic fantasy film from Jim Henson, in collaboration with George Lucas. There really is a magic about the film and that has helped it last as a firm family favourite all these years. As with many films aimed at younger audiences there are messages that the writers, in this case Henson himself, have tried to convey, such as `be careful what you wish for (as in the heat of the moment we are not always sure what is best for us) and also about not taking things for granted. These lessons not only relate to the major target audience of young children but also teenagers and adults alike. The film also has values and attitudes about growing up, the central character Sarah is in the awkward stage between child and womanhood, the stage of adolescence. She acts like a child in her self importance and possessiveness but she is perhaps starting to grow out of her young imagination. She does not want to, her room full of inanimate companions, dreams and fantasies, she feels are slipping away.

Labyrinth is about Sarah keeping her imagination alive, her fantasies and dreams, and these help her figure out what she is doing wrong, it helps her realise how her attitude is wrong and causes her to be depressed. There is certainly intelligence to this film if analysed deeply. There is depth to the script, and clear attitudes and values that Jim Henson conveys. Henson is in a way telling not just kids, but also adults, that our subconscious, which includes our dreams and imaginative side (in terms of taking yourself to another place, more than imagination in creating something like a piece of music for instance.) can be as affective a guide to where and when your live is going wrong as your conscious. Sometimes we don't realise things we have said or done until we dream. How many times have you said something, that every teen must have to their parents, for instance `I wish you were dead', very cruel but it is said. I have in the past and realised the full implication in a bad dream, a dream is the most effective doorway to imagine something outside of it really happening.

What is fantastic about the way the film opens and closes as that it really hints to the fact that Sarah has been through the same dream before, and that she needs these imaginative friends, and dreams to help her see the light as it were. She says for instance at the close that every now and again she needs Hoggle and company. The opening of the film sees Sarah reciting from a book to herself, she is addressing the Goblin king and the characters of this book and her room are the cast of a play inside her mind, they are special to her and meaningful, in a way we might have a favourite song that speaks to us in some way. At the start of the film when we are first in her room there is clever use of visual hints that you wouldn't pick up on until watching a film the second time. Look around her room and you see the characters everywhere, Hoggle, Ludo even a little replica of a maze. There is also a clipping of Sarah's mother, who we do not know whether she is still alive, but in any case is not around, but she is with a man who is the likeness of the Goblin King. The man in the photo probably a figure of blame for the loss (however large) of Sarah's mother. What is also interesting is Sarah being a young girl at the start of puberty has a certain fascination and perhaps crush on the Goblin King, perhaps a combination of the character from the book and the likeness of which she has created this character in her head. Certainly on a visual and script basis there are some clever touches when you consider this is a kids film.

The film itself is much like the Wizard of Oz in terms of story (intentional maybe as it could represent something that Sarah finds special and perhaps inspirational). What I really love about the film is, that before the days of CGI, inside the Goblin world, which accounts for 90% of the film, everything is 100% set work, there must be well over a hundred sets and they are all imaginative an create the enchanting atmosphere of the film, these sets combined with some fantastic matte paintings from ILM that give even more of a scale to the film.

I do really like this film, the look, the cheesy feel good 80's music, the characters, it is all great. There is some good humour and of course the odd piece of very childish low brow humour but that is to be expected. It is movie magic no question. David Bowie is good as the Goblin King and all the puppeted characters are fantastically brought to life in there movements and voicing as you would expect from a Henson film. A very youthful Jennifer Connelly before the days when many a website was devoted to her ample bosom, has a charm to her, she has to hold the movie together and win the audience, especially after being very bratty and effectively wishing her baby brother into the clutches of Goblins. She does manage to win the audience though and enchant them with her green eyes and youthful innocence.

This film is great, it is what makes, or made fantasy films of this time really enchanting. Real artistry was involved, there was exuberance and charm to it and it has lasted a long time. It is a firm fans favourite and still gains new young fans. I can still to this day sit down and enjoy the film because I remember what Jim Henson tries to teach us. `Keep the inner child alive inside you sometimes he/she actually knows best'. Perhaps certain events in recent years may have panned out differently had this been heeded by more people, but that is all just hear say.

Overall this is a classic fantasy film with much artistry and charm to appreciate, certainly Henson had a skill in all his fields in the industry. ****
172 out of 197 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's starting to sound like a broken record, but you're going to love this movie!
La Gremlin6 August 2000
I recently had the pleasure of watching this movie with three kids who had (to my shock and dismay) never seen it before. It turned out to be as good, if not better, as I remembered. The story is reminescent of the original, printed page (very dark) Grimm fairy tales. The special effects are still special, and the characters are unforgettable. Seriously, don't miss it.

This is one of the very few childrens' movies that is smarter and better than what has unfortunately become "normal" for the genera. The reverse evolution in childrens' films is heartbreaking, as kids don't deserve to be talked down to so often in movies. I grew up on films like "Labyrinth", "the Neverending Story", and "the Secret of NIMH", and I still count them among my favorites. In the 80's they gave us cinematic filet mignon, and today's kids are getting Spam.
199 out of 238 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You have to admit it's magical!
gundamgirl238614 December 2002
The first time I saw this movie was two years ago. Don't ask me how I managed to miss it as a child but I did.

It is obvious that this movie was made for the kiddies but I don't think it can just be enjoyed by the younger crowd. I think perhaps if I had seen this as a child instead of a teenager I would have enjoyed it more but I didn't and I still enjoyed never the less. There is something magical about watching Labyrinth. You just feel the happiness that rubs off from this movie. It almost makes you wish you were a kid again. I admit seeing it now I have to say some parts are beyond corny but I think that's just part of it, I mean that was the 80's right? I am not even a David Bowie fan but I can't help but smile whenever he starts singing (which is quite often). I recently showed this to my 4 year old cousin and he couldn't get enough of it. It was so great to watch him turn his head back to look at me with a giant smile to make sure I saw the puppets doing whatever they were doing at that moment. He really loved it so I bought him the dvd for X-mas this year along with myself a copy. This is really just one of those movies you have to see at least once in your life, just because there isn't another like it. Sure the story isn't much when it comes to plot but try to watch this film all the way through without smiling once, I dare you!

A great movie for the kids or kids at heart! 8 out of 10 stars.
97 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I wish someone had handed me over to the Goblin King when I was a kid!
THFC7 December 1998
Cool film! Way too good for children. Jim Henson, as ever, is the absolute master of every kind of puppetry known to man or muppet.Particularly adorable is the little punk worm who invites Sarah to "Come inside and meet the missus"... very cute. The plot has all the essential elements of a good fairy tale with the added bonus of a heroine who manages to get through all her trials and tribulations without squealing feebly or fainting into the arms of any poxy bloke. David Bowie is wonderfully sexy (despite the fright wig) and his natural humour shines through although his character does a pretty good job of being spiteful and menacing. I get the feeling the he really enjoyed making this film. The soundtrack is excellent and "As the World Falls Down" is quite hauntingly beautiful ('though I have to agree with an earlier reviewer that the ballroom sequence in which it was played did slow the action down a little - but it was a visual feast).

All in all, a beautiful film with a wonderful cast of creatures and humans. Makes me miss Jim Henson's talents lots but at least we've still got Brian (his son). My friend's three year old now has a crush on the Goblin King (I dread to think how that's gonna shape her life!).
149 out of 183 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A relic of a time that seems wonderful by comparison
mentalcritic24 February 2005
Oh dear, Jim Henson, you are sorely missed. Not necessarily because you went before your time, or even in somewhat rotten circumstances. No, it is because unlike the purveyors of so-called family entertainment these days, your work was actually entertaining to the whole family. When I was a lad, I used to think these films were childish and patronising. By comparison to what is being aimed at the children of my cousins, it is MENSA material, and I realise now that it was far more brilliant than I had previously given it credit for. Indeed, compared to the "you're not good if you don't have good feelings" rubbish that the likes of B'Harni fill the heads of children with, Henson productions deserve a medal.

At its heart, Labyrinth is a simple fable about how much we miss something once it is gone. A young girl wishes that her annoying stepbrother would disappear, only to find when he is gone that she misses him. Enter the Goblin King, played with a great malice by David Bowie. The challenge the Goblin King sets almost sounds like a video game. Indeed, one popular Commodore 64 game of the time set the challenge of collecting the pieces to solve a key puzzle to save the world in a certain time period. Labyrinth was even adapted into a game for the Commodore 64. In Labyrinth the film, this young woman named Sarah, played with a certain kind of brilliance by a young Jennifer Connelly, is challenged to navigate a massive labyrinth in less than thirteen hours, lest her brother become one of the Goblins.

It sounds like a very simple idea, and it is. What makes Labyrinth the under-appreciated classic that it is is in the details. As previously indicated, the leads are absolutely brilliant. While David Bowie chews scenery like there is no tomorrow, Jennifer Connelly gets so into her character that she makes it seem perfectly natural when she is interacting with some of Jim Henson's most ludicrous creations. The scene in which she rescues a giant yeti-like thing called Ludo is one of the most superbly-made things in the history of children's film. It is also worth noting that in contrast to the aforementioned normalism of B'Harni and his ilk, Henson's creations taught the valuable lesson that appearances are not the sum total of a living creature's character. Ludo looks like he could tear apart our protagonist, but his manner and speech show him as one of the most gentle and lovable characters ever depicted in film.

As you might guess from this film featuring David Bowie as the top-billed star, there are also a few song and dance numbers. Some of them, such as the magic dance number, are immortally embarrassing. Or at least, they would be, if not for two things. First, the suspension of disbelief that Henson so admirably achieves with his puppets is a real pleasure. Second, Bowie's golden voice could charm the paint off walls. When he sings "I saw my baby, crying hard as babe could cry", it stands out like a stark reminder of why this man used to be able to sign record deals worth tens of millions of dollars. It may even bring tears to your eyes.

If Labyrinth does have a weakness, it is in the closing reels. The final song from Bowie stretches the scene beyond its welcome, but it recovers nicely once Sarah returns to the real world. The compositing work in the Firey sequence is rather lousy, and the story seems to grind to a halt when they do their song and dance number. On the other hand, their song and dance number is still incredibly amusing to behold.

In all, I gave Labyrinth an eight out of ten. It is not perfect. In fact, I wonder if whomever designed Bowie's costume was not playing an elaborate joke upon him. But for all of its problems, Labyrinth is an underrated classic. One of the few films that is advertised as being for all ages, and can entertain audiences of that description. A great light went out in our world when Jim Henson passed away.
96 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Viewing it again at the age of 25 just made me appreciate it even more, for all of it's breathtaking imaginative figures, rich scenery and original plot
saarvardi25 December 2005
Growing up as a child in 1980's New York, I remember being inspired by many fantasy and science fiction films, that eventually led me to start writing short stories myself (from there to my current occupation of journalism the road was quite short, BTW). Titles like The Neverending Story, Flight of the Navigator and Who Framed Roger Rabbit? captured my imagination and filled me with aw, and with time found their way to my ever growing DVD collection, as did Jim Henson's Labyrinth, the latest addition to my nostalgic bundle of joy.

The saddest thing about all this is that no one seems to make films like Labyrinth anymore. Viewing it again at the age of 25 just made me appreciate it even more, for all of it's breathtaking imaginative figures, rich scenery and original plot; especially when some of the scenes seem somewhat dated while the essence and heart of the film remain in tact, even twenty years down the road.

In short, Labyrinth is one of Jim Henson's last attempts at creating cross-age entertainment through his world famous puppets, after bringing life to the eternal beloved characters of The Muppets and Sesame Street, and before his sudden and premature death. The story presents us 16 year old Sarah (a very young Academy Award winner Jennifer Connelly, A Beautiful Mind), who has an extremely vivid imagination she uses to escape her everyday worries... or so it seems. After asked to take care of her baby stepbrother, Toby, Sarah finds herself dealing with a screaming infant, instead of wondering away in her thoughts to a world filled with Goblins, Yeti-like creatures, and a King Atrhur-ish talking dog. After several lacking attempts at calming the baby down, she wishes Toby to the evil Goblin King Jareth. Fantasy and fiction clash when Jareth (the one and only rock singer David Bowie, who appears on screen with an extravagant 80's outfit and some cute yet unnecessary songs) actually takes Toby away to his evil kingdom, where he threatens to transform the baby into a Goblin, if Sarah won't find a way to cross a tricky and mystical Labyrinth on the way to his kingdom. Determined to save her brother, Sarah makes her way through the Labyrinth, meeting helpful friends along the way, whilst magical fantasy happenings occur around her...

This is a true 1980's gem. Treat it with care, and enjoy!
73 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Magical
Lorx15 February 2006
The movie takes you to a wonderful world where nothing is what it seems. I was about 10 years old the first time I saw it and it made such an impact on me that I ended up ordering it from Germany just 12 years old. The setting is fantastic; it's just scary enough without making scares in a young boy's soul. Bowie acts in a trilling way, and his unique and magical voice brings it all together. If you like fantasy you will love this film. All the Quotes make Bowie as Jareth "the Goblin King" the perfect villain. At times you almost despise him but as I wrote in my first sentence, nothing is like it seems. And as I grow older I sympathized with him, you may even say that he tries to help Sarah. If you decide to see that aspect of it that is. All in all I wish you all a lovely experience watching this movie!
63 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A wonderful fantasy tale!
insomniac_rod29 July 2005
By today's standards "Labyrinth" may look dated and cheap but there's something about it that makes it special.

David Bowie makes it a stand alone movie in the weird ranking. The man is crazy but his performance is excellent!

Jennifer Connely (being 16 at the time) delivers a solid and tender performance. She was very, very cute and her performance totally gained the audience's love.

The tale is fantastic and keeps you interested from the beginning to the end. The musical moments are also great! The f/x were great for it's time and I wonder how they came out with the idea for creating such original characters.

The thing that I liked the most about the movie is it's art direction. The world that is created is taken directly from everyone's fantasy world idea. Colorful and dark at the same time.

Better than the "Neverending Story" movies, "Labyrinth" should be watched for lovers of sci-fi.
63 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful fantasy.
Elswet21 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
A Fantastical Quest Through the Labyrinth of Time. This Henson/Lucas production isn't quite what you'd expect from these legendary directors. Somehow, it's better.

The genius of Henson and Lucas shines brightly as Jennifer Connelly and David Bowie perpetuate this wonderful tale of fantasy written by Dennis Lee and Jim Henson. Henson's son, Brian (now the head of the Henson Empire), even gets in on the act as the voice of Hoggle.

The story opens in the present, this world, this plane. Sarah (Connelly) is a spoiled rotten little drama queen who thinks she is the center of the universe and the sun around which the world revolves.

In a brattish fit of colossal immaturity, she stumbles upon the correct words to summon Jareth the Goblin King (Bowie) to take her little brother to the Goblin Realm.

Once done; however, she realizes how angry her parents will be and decides that it's more prudent to go "rescue" Toby rather than allow his assimilation into the Goblin fold.

Jareth gives her 13 hours in which to find her way through an impossible labyrinth, fight her way through the Goblin City, and puzzle out the staircases of the Goblin Castle and save her half-brother.

She is punished for arrogance, beguiled in her naivety, confused in her indecision and imprisoned for her quick, thoughtless decisions. "That's not FAIR!" is one of her most used and best delivered lines; used again and again, until it FINALLY sinks in that life just isn't fair.

It is a warm, funny and enriching tale, once started. It's about growing up, accepting responsibility for your actions and choices and making them more wisely in the beginning, rather than cleaning up your messes as you go along.

In the end, Sarah realizes all the infantile tantrums and childish toys are nothing but detritial remains of her otherwise out-lived childhood. She begins to stumble upon the reality that the important things are family, friends, and the responsibility that comes with making mature decisions. She throws away her immaturity and child-like selfishness to save her brother and thereby sets her feet back on the right path to adulthood and maturity.

It's a wonderful "coming of age" movie, and perfect for its target audience: girls 9-13. But I must say that children and adults alike love this movie, worldwide. It's not ONLY for girls, but for anyone who loves fantasy. This movie is far superior to what most consider to be your standard "Muppet Movie." It's one of my favorites.

This movie gets an 8.4/10 from...

the Fiend :.
35 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
better than "the Dark Crystal"
movieman_kev24 September 2005
Jennifer Connelly is Sarah, an immature spoiled narcissistic bratty teen whom after wishing her baby brother, Toby, away to the Goblin King (a great David Bowie, who's a highlight of the film) and has to traverse a complex labyrinth to get him back learning to be a lot less selfish in the process. Bowie's songs highlight and punctuate a magical film that is sure to appeal to both the young and young at heart. Better then Jim Hanson's other more mature film of the 80's "The Dark Crystal", because it's a tad more humane and more easily to relate to, but both these films are fun to watch. Loving this film from when I was a kid myself might have shading my opinion of it a bit, yet re-watching it just now, I still find it very enjoyable.

My Grade: B+

Collector's Edition DVD Extras: "Inside the Labyrinth" 56 minute making-of featurette; Four photo galleries; posters gallery; Filmographies; Storyboards; Theatrical trailer; and trailer for "The Dark Crystal box set"

Random Notes: Comes packed with animation cell/scene composite card and postcards
41 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
S10 Reviews: Labyrinth (1986)
suspiria1030 May 2005
Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) is a teenage girl who lives in a fantasy world of goblins and magic. But her fantasy becomes reality when the Goblin King (David Bowie) takes her stepbrother. Now she has thirteen hours to solve the massive Labyrinth and make her way to the Goblin castle beyond. Along the way she befriends several of Henson's fantastic Muppet creations for the final battle.

This wonderfully produced and magical fantasy is great fun from the beginning to the end. Henson (fresh off the equally impressive Dark Crystal) 'mines his imagination for very realistic places and endearing and vivid characters. Toping it all off is a wonderful casting and a nice soundtrack and musical score.
40 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great movie
Stardreamer200828 February 2006
'Labyrinth' has deep symbolic and psychological significance. It's about a girl going into the fantasy world to work through her issues and fears about growing up. In her room there are all the different creatures/toys etc found in the labyrinth and books from which the symbolism of the labyrinth is taken. Some themes in the movie reminded me of 'The Phantom of The Opera', because it involved a labyrinth, The Goblin King is a musician and a magician and he's in love with a young girl. This movie can be seen on several levels: first, as a children's movie, but also as a movie for grownups, because there are some universal lessons that everyone can learn from it...this movie is so magical and wonderful...the characters in the labyrinth are truly fantastical...I saw this movie in 2006, but i still love it very much and I wish i saw it when i was younger...I probably would have loved it even more, if that's possible :D

In case anyone is interested in the symbolism of Labyrinth and it's characters, here are some interesting links:

http://www.katiescarlett.co.uk/ http://www.oddpla.net/realm/ http://www.angelfire.com/mi2/lorelei/littlemagpie.html http://www.angelfire.com/mi2/lorelei/labyanalysis.html
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Magical Adventure
Duzniak388 April 2006
Labyrinth is, no doubt, one of the most outstanding fantasy movies ever made. It is superbly acted throughout, with the wonderful talents of Jennifer Connelly, who plays a spoilt girl called Sarah, who takes too many things for granted. She is very beautiful and such a brilliant actress, and she holds the story together well with her convincing transformation from a young dreamy girl with her head in the clouds, to a mature, unselfish young lady, who learns to become independent. David Bowie is very good as the Goblin King. He plays the villain so well; you don't know whether to love him or hate him. The story unfolds with Sarah wishing her bratty little stepbrother, Toby, away to the Kingdom of the Goblins. However, her wish really is granted, and Sarah then faces the biggest challenge in her life; to complete the Labyrinth surrounding the Goblin Castle, within thirteen hours. If she completes it within the time, she will get Toby back. However, if she doesn't, Toby will be transformed into a Goblin, and will have to live in the Goblin Kingdom for eternity as a slave. With such an inventive and promising plot, they couldn't go wrong. The magic begins from the very start; the magnificent and beautiful set pieces don't fail to dazzle and enchant. The labyrinth itself is definitely a magical experience; full of so many mesmerising sets, such as the bog of eternal stench and the oubliette's. The songs are enjoyable and memorable, and I recommend the soundtrack if you enjoy this film. The whole film is a fantastic visual feast, but the best scene has to be the ballroom masquerade; the costumes, the music, the tone and speed of the whole scene makes it such an unforgettable cinematic experience. The characters we encounter throughout the Labyrinth are a delight, including Ludo the lovable ogre, Hoggle the stubborn and fierce Goblin, and Sir Didymus and his stead Ambrosius. Labyrinth is certainly a magnificent fantasy experience, which will have you nostalgic and will leave you feeling warm inside.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lucus secret treasure
chaz_burgess23 August 2005
Most of us look at Lucus film as producing Star Wars, but many would overlook this little gem, Labyrinth, superb in its plot and set design, ahead of its time and exciting for both children and adults. It has also become a bit of a cult classic and set Connelly up for her modern day fame. Admittedly as a child I was scared to death of this film due to the creepiness of certain parts! If you have chance, watch the 'making of' documentary which is actually quite fascinating. Muppet fans will love the characters, Bowie fans will be pleasantly surprised at David as Jareth the Goblin King and the soundtrack is a little chunk of 80's fun.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best film ever made. Period.
The_Vigilante26 July 2001
Warning: Spoilers
Labyrinth can only be described as a major fantasy success that was loved by children and adults all round the globe. The opinion of some is that this film is wasted on children as it is a superbly crafted, well written and finely directed film which can only be appreciated by people of a certain age and film knowing experience. I believe that these people are wrong, and that all people regardless of their age and film know-how should experience Labyrinth's magic.

The film was directed by one George Lucas, infamous for a little film he made called Star Wars. Labyrinth combines his talents with Jim Henson, widely known as the creator of the Muppets. Labyrinth in no way can be compared to a muppet film; it can only be compared with Jim's previous fantasy film ‘The Dark Crystal'. Though Labyrinth isn't as dark as Dark Crystal it still bats in the same league.

Labyrinth's magic begins to work on the viewer right from the start as the opening credits roll to the music of David Bowie. As the camera zooms in we see a girl who is re-enacting her favourite book ‘Labyrinth'. This girl is the film's central character, Sarah (Jennifer Connelly: Dark City, The Rocketeer, Requiem for a Dream). When she arrives home late she has an arguement with her stepmother (Shelly Thompson: Morons from Outer Space, Just like a Woman) over having to babysit her baby brother Toby. When Sarah is left with Toby he begins to cry, a cry that brings Sarah to call for the Goblin King to take him away. This is where Henson's puppet mastery comes into play. There is a wonderful couple of seconds where Sarah, as she is saying the words for the Goblin King to take Toby away, is being listened to by a few a goblins inside her mirror. This is only one of the little ‘cute' scenes in this film that shows that Henson and Lucas can combine ideas to produce such memorable scenes that you will undoubtedly cherish.

When the Goblin King Jareth (David Bowie: The Man Who Fell to Earth) makes his appearance Sarah begs him to give Toby back to her. Eventually the king tells her that if she can solve his labyrinth and get to his castle that lies beyond on the Goblin City within 13hours, she can have Toby back, however if she doesn't Toby has to stay with him forever. Sarah has no choice and accepts his deal.

The first of the Labyrinths characters Sarah comes across is Hoggle, a goblin who likes jewels. This has to be one of the film's most memorable scenes in which Sarah is asking him to help her get into the Labyrinth while Hoggle walks around killing fairies. This scene shows brilliant camera work from Colin Corby and excellent direction from Lucas, as Sarah and Hoggle walk around the entrance of the Labyrinth, which appears to be huge.

Hoggle eventually shows Sarah how to get into the labyrinth. While she is pondering which way to go Trevor Jones's music manages to build up a confined atmosphere which really adds to the film at these early points.

As Sarah walks deeper into the Labyrinth, Lucas switches scenes and brings us into the Goblin Kings castle in which he is singing surrounded by goblins, another spellbinding feat by Jim Henson where goblins appear to be jumping ten foot in the air and throwing Toby in the air aswell.

As Sarah continues through the Labyrinth she encounters more weird and wonderfull characters such as Ludo, the huge beast with a huge heart; Didymus, the dog soldier; The junk lady and of course the blue worm.

When Sarah and her ‘gang' appear before the goblin city within the 13 hour period Jareth calls his goblin soldiers to get rid of them. This is one of the best pre-climax film scenes to come out of Hollywood, brilliant puppetry and almost magical scenery which again is brilliantly shot by Lucas, there is no doubt that there will be at least several bits which you will laugh at and chuckle about later.

When they get to the castle Sarah informs the rest of them that she has to go on alone, a brilliant scene which will bring a tear to your eye. When Sarah climbs the stairs she is faced by lots of staircases which appear to lead no-where. When Jareth appears he points out where Toby is, and Sarah tries to get to him. This scene has been copied but never bettered. Copiers include the 1989 horror film ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child', a very camp horror sequel of a sequel of a sequel of a sequel staring everyones favourite bogeyman.

The film's climax is a one on one confrontation between Sarah and Jareth, which seems to be shot on some sort of astrial plain. This scene produces such memorable lines from both parties especially Jareth. The ending is isn't strong enough to spawn a sequel.

A family/fantasy film, which appeals to children and parents, that has a plot is very hard to find today. So if you haven't already seen this film you must make it your priority to see it, regardless of your age, because everyone still has a young child within them.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another Magic Film from the 80's
claudio_carvalho1 December 2016
The teenager Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) is forced by her father and her stepmother to babysit her baby brother Toby while they are outside home. Toby does not stop crying and Sarah wishes that her brother be taken by the Goblin King. Out of the blue, Toby stops crying and when Sarah looks for him in the cradle, she learns that he wish was granted and the Goblin King Jareth (David Bowie) has taken him to his castle in the Goblin City in the middle of a labyrinth. Sarah repents an asks Jareth to give Toby back; but the Goblin King tells that she has to rescue her brother before midnight, otherwise Toby will be turned into a goblin. Soon Sarah teams up with the coward goblin Hoggle, the beast Ludo and the knight Didymus and his dog Ambrosius in her journey. Will they rescue Toby in time?

"Labyrinth" is another magic film from the 80's, maybe the best decade in cinema history. It is amazing the quantity of wonderful films produced in this period and "Labyrinth" is no exception. This film makes the viewer feel good and the plot is a journey to the childhood of any adult. It is also delightful to see David Bowie, Jennifer Connelly and these puppets again. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Labirinto - A Magia do Tempo" ("Labyrinth – The Magic of the Time")
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spans generations
swan_g317 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie has been a favorite of mine since I discovered it in my own adolescence in the late 90s, on Disney and later VHS and DVD. It was such a frequent feature in my home that my own mother was probably ready to wish me away to the goblins, just to stop the torture...a feeling I can now relate to as my own son has adored this movie practically since birth. To the tune of three repetitions a day at times. The timeless lesson of 'be careful what you wish for' is superbly taught here by Jim Henson and crew in the tale of Sarah (Jennifer Connely,) a bratty teen who wishes her baby brother away to the goblins, then has to accept the challenge of the Goblin King (David Bowie) to win him back. Along the way she makes new friends and learn that not only does the universe not revolve around her, but that life is not always fair. David Bowie's music is superb, from the amusing 'Dance Magic', to the whimsical, if slightly oddball 'Fire Gang' and the romantic 'World Falls Down' Each song adds a wonderful new piece of enjoyment to the movie as well as a new facet to the Goblin King and the world he rules. While this movie may be perceived as a kid's film, it is truly one for any age.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favourite movie of all time
cleo_specter2 July 2019
This is my go to movie...im completely nostalgic over it. In my opinion its perfection. theres not much more i can say, its glitters,80s, adventure...and one hell of a sexy goblin king. I grew up with this movie and it is , to me, everything. watch it....decide for yourself
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Heart warming fantasy with puppets!
RaoulGonzo11 October 2012
First of all i will start with i watched this movie as a child numerous times and absolutely loved it.

16 years on i decided to watch it again, after contemplating it might ruin my memory of the film it didn't.

But i will say this as a child watching the Labyrinth it was magical and a tad creepy not so much that it would give you nightmares, but enough creepiness considering it's about a goblin king (David Bowie) who wants to turn the baby he has taken into a goblin.

Jennifer Connelly gave a good performance plus she is cute as the whiny "It's not fair" teen. Sarah is plunging in puberty — that all of it might be going on in her dreams. That her companions on this journey are merely living versions of her most reassuring bedroom toys. When she departs the land, she is finally departing childhood.

Of course i was not thinking this as a child, it was just a fantastic world full of puppets. It does seem to get a little aimless at times and many encounters come to nothing. Yet the puppetry is nothing short of genius from the mind of Jim Henson.

Yes the effects are dated but so are some of the classics that revered by most.

If you never watched this film as a child i think you missed out, watching it as an adult will never be the same but it still enjoyable. make sure you show this to your kids as I know I will.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An interesting artifact of its time. Muppets, muppets everywhere.
TxMike14 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I admire this movie. Jim Henson and his gang, responsible for the Muppets and all the Muppet shows, did a wonderful job with characterizations and the sets. But honestly, I saw it for the then 14 year old Jennifer Connelly (the DVD extras make it clear she was 14 during filming) who has grown up to be one our finest, and most attractive, actresses 20 years later.

Connelly plays Sarah who resents having to baby sit too often for her crying little half-brother. So, she wishes the goblins would come and take him away. Her wish is granted, and only then does she realize how bad she was, and the whole movie then becomes her quest to retrieve the baby. David Bowie is superb as Jareth the Goblin King, and to get the baby back Sarah must get to his home, the castle on the hill, before 13 O'clock. The difficulty is the labyrinth of walls and other obstacles between Sarah and the castle.

Most of the other characters are muppets that end up hindering or helping Sarah, depending on how quick her thinking is. Connelly does a good job as Sarah, and it is just fun to see her in an early role. Those who are fans of muppets and Henson projects likely think this is a superb movie. Others will come away a bit bored.

SPOILERS. Sarah does make it to the castle right before 13 O'clock, and is transported back home where the baby now sleeps comfortably. But it isn't a dream, as various muppet characters end up there with her too. And, just in time before parents returned at midnight, to find all is well.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic childhood memory
lornamb8 September 2005
Any child of the eighties will remember this film. The Soundtrack is compliments the film well. David Bowie brought this film to life. Jennifer Connely is superb and interacts well with all the characters. Jim henson films are the original Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter if you enjoyed them then watch this. I have watched this film in excess of 50 times and never bore. It intergrates mystery,humour, romance and fantasy. I remember as a child watching the behind the scenes and being amazed at the work put into this film. Although hey are puppets Jim Hensn has done well to disguise this you are easily consumed in the story and forget about he puppets. This is a must see for all generations old and new.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Classic Fairy Tale
aynnepm4 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
A classic tale in the tradition of Non-Politically Corrected stories by the Brothers Grimm and the like.

Ultimate Good - the virginal young girl fighting to correct her own mistake made in anger.

Ultimate Evil - the seductive powerful male tempting her with all manner of rewards to ignore her responsibility.

She hangs tough even when offered a teenager becoming a woman fantasy.

A serious case of beauty/innocence v. the beast - while he may have looked pretty the Goblin King behaved in the manner of the true beast: an abuser of power and advantage. Even at that, none of the obstacles he presented were insurmountable as long as Sarah kept thinking and kept her mind on what the ultimate goal was.

Some people seem to get completely 'stuck' on the issue of the age difference between them - but that again goes back to classic fairy tales, age and experience v. youth and enthusiasm.

Overall, an excellent tale, well played and I believe seriously under appreciated.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
chilly down!
muerta25 May 2006
Me and my fellow goblins are basically in love with this movie. David Bowie is a dreamboat and demonstrates unspeakable talent in both his acting and his singing... and dancing. I know many women who, after seeing the movie, have developed obsessive crushes on David. We sometimes have parties themed around the movie to celebrate its excellence. It's also a great icebreaker when trying to hook up with men. I guarantee that you will love it! Here is a breakdown of the plot: An ugly girl named Sarah is wishing doom upon her baby brother, so naturally, the Goblin King comes to the rescue, kidnapping the infant. Jareth (Bowie) dances lovingly with the lucky baby and his devilish minions, while unfortunate Sarah has to find her way through the conundrum that is the Labyrinth. She comes upon many mysterious creatures. Some (like me and my friends) have the ability to take off their heads and throw them around. Sarah meets "helping hands" and magical dogs. There is also a beautiful romance written into this adventurous tale. The love between Jareth and Sarah is the purest love I have ever witnessed, and don't quote me on this, but sometimes I imagine I am Sarah... standing on the stair-steps, waiting for Jareth's body to defy gravity and walk up from his position standing on the ceiling underneath the platform. I won't spoil the ending, so I have not checked the "spoiler" check-box.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Marvelous tale in which Jennifer Connelly must resolve the Goblin King's Labyrinth in 13 hours or else Toby will become a goblin.
ma-cortes17 February 2013
Enjoyable fantasy in which a teen girl needs to find her baby brother and goes into a fantastic world , a land beyond imagination . It deals with 15-year-old Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) accidentally wishes her baby half-brother , Toby (Toby Froud) away to the Goblin King Jareth (David Bowie) who will keep Toby if Sarah does not complete his Labyrinth in 13 hours. As she enters into labyrinth where everything seems possible and nothing is what it seems. Sarah has to rescue him before midnight, or the baby will became a goblin.

Fantastic fairy tale about a girl who dives into a wonderous fantasy world through a labyrinth , in which to be showed a fabulous sense of wonder , imagination , astonishment and amazement . This is a gorgeous story specifically designed to appeal to as many cultural groups as possible . This wonderful flick is an enjoyable tale with great charm from a screenplay by Terry Jones , being based on a story by Dennis Lee and the same filmmaker Jim Henson , trying to incorporate too much dreamland with fantastic beings like Goblins , dwarfs , fairies , giant monsters , among others weird and bizarre creatures . They have been made by means of puppets and no by computer generator effects but at the time hadn't been invented . As the Ludo rig originally weighed over 100 pounds, but was brought down to just over 75 pounds, as it was becoming too difficult for the actor/puppeteer inside the suit. However , the owl in the title sequence is computer generated , the first attempt at a photo-realistic CGI animal character in a feature film . The visual beauty of the impressive scenarios give the movie a real sense of wonder and surprise . Breathtaking production design and sets are visually rousing and appealing . And a spectacular "Dance Magic" scene consisted of over 48 puppets, 52 puppeteers, and 8 people in goblin costumes . Colorful and evocative cinematography by Alex Thomson . Imaginative and sensitive musical score by Trevor Jones ; including various agreeable songs by the great David Bowie .

The movie was stunningly directed by Jim Henson , early deceased at 53 years old , though was his final feature film , however, being continued his work by his son Brian Henson . Jim established the Creature Shop, a puppet studio and as he directed the successful "The Muppet Show" (1976) , it became a smash hit and would eventually become the most widely watched series in television history. Hungry for a new challenge, Henson made The Muppets movie(1979), defying the popular industry opinion that his characters would never work in a movie . The film became a hit and spawned a series of features which included the moody fantasy Dark Crystal (1982), which was a drastic and bold departure from the amiable tone of his previous work . The most successful TV work in the 1980s was "Fraggle Rock" (1983), that became renowned for being as brilliant with puppetry as ILM was at special effects . When he died all too soon in 1990, he was indisputably one of the geniuses of puppetry. More importantly, he was a man who achieved his phenomenal success while still retaining his social conscience and artistic integrity as his work in promoting environmentalism and his brilliant "The story teller" (1988) series respectively attest to and , of course , this ¨Labyrinth¨.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A beautiful fairy tale for the child in everyone. And Bowie at his most beautiful
Sparki10 March 2009
A lot of people may scornfully label this as a "puppet movie" for "babies." Wrong! Though this creative and charming fantasy delight may be fun for the kiddies, there is plenty in this film to entertain those who are over three feet tall and know how to spell "cat."

There's life lessons and a message about the "ch-ch-changes" growing up can bring, puppetry elevated to an art, (Rest in Peace Jim H.), fantastic sets and costumes, a beautiful score, AND an exquisite performance by one of modern music's handsomest, sexiest, and most talented gentlemen. I am speaking, of course, of none other than the one, the only, Mr. David Bowie.

Bowie's physical beauty was glowing, his voice was as angelic as it always was, and his acting performance was enchanting as the Goblin King (Jareth). Splendid in his contoured leggings, ruffled shirt, glittering vest, and mane of golden strands (it was a wig, I know, but still. . .), The Gentleman (as I refer to Bowie on the Net, capital T capital G) cut a regally fine figure, and his voice (both singing and speech) was as sexy as ever. The Bowie songs made the film, in my opinion, and none of them would be out of place on any of the three recordings that the gorgeous and gifted Thin White Emperor (another way I designate Bowie) put out in the mid '80s. Also, Bowie is an unparalleled dancer, as showcased in the ballroom fantasy scene and the "Magic Dance" scene.

This is a movie for kids, teens, grownups, romantics, dreamers, Bowie fans -- just about anyone. And if you're not a Bowie fan, this movie just may make one out of you. Never mind the Disco King, bring me the Goblin King!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed