Bloodtide (1982) Poster

(1982)

User Reviews

Review this title
51 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
The Sea Monster from the underwater cave
sol-kay11 March 2005
**SPOILERS** Drawn to the Greek island of Synanon in the Aegean Sea young and pretty, as well as virgin, Madeline,Deborah Shelton, inadvertently with the help of Frye, James Earl Jones,and his girlfriend Barbara, Lydia Cornell, releases from a hidden underwater cave an ancient monster who goes on a bloody rampage. Killing islanders on the Island as well as those swimming off shore. Were told by the wise old men of the Island, from it's mayor on down, that the only way to stop the monster from it's deadly rounds is to offer up a young girl or woman virgin as a sacrifice to it.

Arriving on Synanon earlier in the movie is Nell,Martin Kove, Madeline's brother and Sherry,Mary Louise Weller, his wife who are going both on their honeymoon and looking for the elusive Madeline who hasn't been seen or heard from for almost four months. Thinking at first that the story of the Sea Monster is a lot of hogwash Nell Shelly and especially Fray become believers when a number of women end up missing,including Barbara, and later are found washed up on shore dead, and in pieces, as a result of the monster's actions.

Fray who was both cool and collective and very sure of himself flipped out when he later saw the monster devourer an Island woman who was trying to save her daughter, who fell into the water, and becomes a hopeless drunk. Seeing her call in life, by uncovering a hidden ancient painting, Madeline prepares to offer herself up to be killed and eaten by the Sea Monster in order to stop the slaughter. The monster went as far as attacking a church killing all the nuns except the Mother Superior Sister Anna, Llia Kedrova, who was badly injured. In the end Frye who released the ancient monster for it's cave destroyed it, as well as himself,by blowing it to shreds with modern explosives.

The acting in "Blood Tide"is far better then the story itself with top-notch actors James Earl Jones as the self-centered adventurer Frye. Jose Ferrer was very good as the Islands mayor Nerevs who knew more about what was going on then you at first would have thought. Besides the very good acting the scenic and breath-taking photography of the Greek Island and the surrounding Aegean Sea kept you awake and observant of what was happening on screen even though the very flimsy and mediocre story didn't.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Luke, I sacrifice virgins...
Coventry6 December 2006
This is a totally unique movie! Yes…UNIQUE!! And why? Because it has the most promising and potentially great sounding plot, about the sacrifice of young female virgins to a hideous sea creature on a remote island community, and yet somehow it manages to be an extremely boring and totally uneventful film! Is that unique or what? I watched this movie less than 12 hours ago and I already have a hard time remembering what went on, actually. It has a bunch of uninteresting people, among them James Earl Jones, gathering on this peculiar island to search for a missing girl. She's there all right, but so is a freshly resurrected sea monster the natives are forced to feed virgins to! After that, I kind of lost track of the plot. Though that doesn't really matter, as nothing happens. The characters talk and talk and talk…and, occasionally, they throw around cats for some reason. There are no gory death sequences or cool sea monster designs, not even a bit of delightful sleaze. The monster is hardly shown on screen and when it is (for about 5 seconds) it looks like the most ugliest sock puppet ever. James Earl Jones' imposing voice is usually joy to listen to, expect when he exclusively talks nonsense like it is the case here. It must have been weird for those few unlucky people who saw "Blood Tide" at the cinema back in 1982. The Star Wars movies were hugely popular and Jones' powerful voice was automatically linked to the image of Darth Vader. Can you imagine Vader to jibber about the cheesy sea creatures, ancient Greek myths and virgin sacrifices? Do your brain a favor and skip this film...
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
"I kiss thee and I kill thee, no way but this."
classicsoncall15 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Put Jose Ferrer and James Earl Jones together in a film and you would think you'd have the ingredients for a Shakespearean drama, but what you get in "Blood Tide" might pass for a made for TV horror flick with some X rated moments. Martin Kove and Mary Louise Weller portray newlyweds Neil and Sherry Grice, on the search for Neil's sister on a Greek island where she was last heard from. Madeline (Deborah Shelton) drifts between lucidity and a trance like state throughout the film with no explanation, maintaining a mysterious relationship with a nun who maintains a monastery on the island. Ferrer's character Nereus is a priest like figure who has the only reasonable advice to offer, both to the Grice's and the viewer - better leave now.

There are a few scenes that get your hopes up, like the underwater shots that portend Jaws like horror, but they never deliver. When one finally gets a glimpse of the creature, you better be quick about it because he's quicker than Houdini. The film probably could have gotten a bit more mileage out of the monster and the whole virgin sacrifice thing with better writing, but this was definitely a film on a budget. As for the monster, it seemed like a mutated version of the Creature From the Black Lagoon.

With clichéd lines like "Time is running out for all of us" and "You have seen your death Mr. Frye", you'll have to connect your own dots to make some sense out of the film. And am I the only one to notice, but after Neil saves Madeline from the underwater cave, wasn't that brother-sister kiss just a bit disturbing?
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
run-of-the-mill
KDWms29 September 2003
Newlyweds find the shirtless husband's sister on the Greek island which she went to two years ago. Also on the island are some inhospitable natives; a Shakespeare-quoting, sunken-treasure hunter and his voluptuous female companion; and a murderous, amphibious creature, which we don't see very much of. There you have the basics...and, there isn't a great deal more to spice things up. Oh...your enjoyment MIGHT be a LITTLE greater if you have a wet-shirt fetish. But other effects are virtually non-existent. With nothing, really, to bring it down, however, I sum it up as a passable yarn (or yawn, if you're a thrill-seeker).
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An occult thriller not nearly as bad as its IMDb rating!
talisencrw21 April 2016
For a low-budget, occult thriller, 80's-era B-movie, I really enjoyed it, though I love occult thrillers as guilty pleasures. The direction is unexceptional but decent, the cinematography (easy, because of the gorgeous locales and mostly outdoor shooting) was surprisingly very good and the soundtrack was passable. I loved the casting, with Martin Kove (from The Karate Kid trilogy), James Earl Jones and Jose Ferrer (who always makes a great nasty, what with his cosmopolitan look, like Anthony Quinn, and his condescending, 'I'm better than you, and why do you think you can even exist on the same planet as me?' sneer and attitude), and, of course, the gorgeous women. Though the special effects were low-budget and quaint, they worked on this scale, and how they were executed. There's gratuitous nudity and sex at every conceivable opportunity (and a lot of inconceivable ones!) and even incestuous overtones, so it's terrifically entertaining, if not a cinephilic masterwork.

In short, it's worth a look, especially if you enjoy B-movies and occult thrillers, particularly from the 80's. It's both free online, or I found my copy in my legendary Mill Creek 50-pack, 'Nightmare Worlds'.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Well...I guess it was worth a dollar?
whammy66615 March 2005
Wow, I got this movie at the dollar store on DVD. Not expecting much, I bought it along with some others. But this was by far the worst I bought. Yeah, monster is shown for 5 secs, maybe less. In some cases this is good...in this case bad. I had a hard time not falling asleep through this flick.It is boring. It is somewhat interesting but it just gets too boring. James Earl Jones is okay in his performance...I guess. SOme of the acting was okay. Special effects weren't great. Not much killing or gore, a little, but not much. It is not really that this film is low budget, no gore, shows no monster...just that it is seriously boring. lol. I'd stay away but what the heck, it is only a dollar. 3/10
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A pretty dull, slow and forgettable horror washout
Woodyanders16 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Neil (Martin Kove, the evil martial arts instructor in the "Karate Kid" movies) and his hottie wife Sherry (the lovely Mary Louise Weller; Mandy Pepperidge in "Animal House") go to a remote Greek island to find Neil's kooky wayward sister Madeline (the gorgeous Deborah Shelton, who also sings the ending credits theme song). They not only find Madeline, but also shady fortune hunter Frye (a hale'n'hearty slice of fat, juicy ham from James Earl Jones) and his blonde bimbo girlfriend Barbara (the adorable Lydia Cornell). Frye awakens an ancient evil sea beast from its centuries of slumber. The creature proceeds to eat a few folks including Barbara while she's swimming topless. The superstitious villagers decide to sacrifice the virginal Madeline to the creature in order to placate it.

"Blood Tide" is a good example of a promising story let down by an extremely flat and uninspired execution. The cast is fine (besides the aforementioned folks, we also have Jose Ferror as the mayor and Lila Kedrova as a nun), the Greek locations are breathtakingly beautiful, the plot is fresh and interesting, Weller and Cornell look spectacular in skimpy bikinis, but alas Richard Jeffries' slack direction keeps the pace crawling along at a gruelingly sluggish clip and fails to create the necessary tension and creepy atmosphere required to make the premise work like it should (Jeffries later made amends for his bungling here by co-writing the script for the excellent "Scarecrows"). Moreover, we hardly get to see the monster and when we finally do it looks pretty hokey and unconvincing. The tedious surplus of drippy dialogue doesn't help matters any either. Only in the last ten minutes does the pace pick up and the suspense kick in, but by then it's way too little much too late to make this anything more than a might-have-been-something-better wasted opportunity.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Okay, if you're into 'B' movies.....
KungFuVooDoo6 January 2006
No, it wasn't 'Jaws'. It was okay, though. You get to see a young, trim James Earl Jones, and he does a decent acting job for the most part. You get to see the bad guy from Karate Kid do a fair to good acting job as well. The rest of the cast includes veteran Jose Ferrer, Lila Kedrova, Lydia Cornell and Mary Weller. Lydia Cornell does a horrible acting job, but is fun to look at. The worst part is, there is no monster. I mean, yea, there IS, but, you never see him, except for about three seconds. What you DO see isn't that bad, just needs a little work. The location for shooting was awesome. Oh yea, there is one full frontal early on in the movie. Don't look for her again, or even another frontal. That's it. That's all you get. All in all, I'd say it's worth watching, if you're into 'B' horror like I am.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
THE MONSTER MOVIE THAT WASN'T
monstermonkeyhead22 January 2004
Decent plot and acting, but... if you're looking for a monster flick, this ain't it. The monster is in it for all of 4 seconds- literally. This is truly a shame, because this movie had all the earmarks of a great monster flick. So, I'd say pass on this one, unless you don't mind wasting your time.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent enough, if for only a few reasons
slayrrr66630 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
"Blood Tide" would've been a lot better had this one actually had a more present creature in it.

**SPOILERS**

Landing on a Greek island, Neil, (Martin Kove) and Sherry Grice, (Mary Louise Weller) start to search for Madeline Grice, (Deborah Shelton) his younger sister. Given permission from Mayor Nereus, (Jose Ferrer) to explore the island, they find her in the company of Frye, (James Earl Jones) a local who they immediately feel is a little off. As they spend more time vacationing on the island, they start to realize that he's spending time diving into a secret cave under the island. While there, they realize that it's sacred ground to an extinct cult that believed in a vicious creature that would be their protector, only it has gotten loose and begun feasting on the locals, forcing them to fight off the creature.

The Good News: When this one manages to, it has some rather good stuff to it. The fact that this one really takes advantage of the Greek location is rather nice, since this one really manages to really make it look great. The sun-drenched beaches, crystal-clear waters, rocky cliffs and local color are all played into greatly here, making this look really beautiful and desirable. Mixed in with this is the fact that it is rarely explored in other films is nice, since this gives it a side rarely used and all the more power as it does something that very few others have done. The underwater scenes of the creature swimming gracefully along the rocky slopes and contours allows for some more scenes to take in the location's beauty, and altogether this one is fantastic at doing that. The cave location where all the action takes place is an impressive sight, with the look of a cave hidden away in mountains and looks large enough to contain creatures of it's size rather well. That also leads into the fact that the overall plot is acceptable. The cult and it's prophecies would've been enough, but to mix it in with the mystery surrounding what they meant in those prophecies is nice. It allows for a building mystery when the different paintings and relics depicting it keep getting discovered, and from there the way the facts merge together gives it a rather nice build that really satisfies. There's even a few scenes here and there that are fun, including the sight of the really attractive victim doing their exercise before disrobing, the opening flashback to the cult's ancient practices and the one murder at sea where a witness comes face-to-face with the creature holding the victim in it's mouth with the mangled remains and a trail of blood leading away which are also quite enjoyable. These here elements work for the film.

The Bad News: Frankly, this one is a little disappointing for a couple reasons. The main fact has to be that there's hardly anything at all in the film that offers up the creature appearing. It has a cameo during the one attack when a witness sees it up close and it's visage appears on paintings and such, but there isn't anywhere else that it appears. Most of the time spent is away from the creature, and its attacks are shown while keeping it off-camera, negating any views of it. Even at the end, where they confront it in its cave lair, the camera never gives us a look at the thing. The image it gets from it's paintings and the ceremony at the beginning where it's symbolically shown with a dancer in a mask both make it out to look really nice, but there's hardly any time it appears. That is mostly due to the film's first flaw, the incredibly long time before it appears. The creature is released over the half-way point, meaning that there's over forty minutes without the possibility that it will show up. That is nearly unacceptable for a film like this, and it also throws up a few other flaws. Besides the travelogue footage, the beginning offers up nothing of real interest, since it deals with the shadiness involving the couple looking for reasons not to trust the locals. It's obvious that something's wrong, and when they find their target, which is actually surprisingly done right away rather than a long search through a small island, they spend time together with them even though they can tell something isn't right. After a search like that, it would've been obvious to get away before something happened, and these scenes are maddening for simply putting the plot together for no reason and infuriating for taking time away from the creature. That once it does come out and simply pull victims under the surface doesn't make it any more threatening. These here are what really work to hold the film down.

The Final Verdict: While not all that focused on the monster, this is still a mildly decent film, if only for the travelogue footage of Greece and other little bits. Recommended for those die-hard creature feature fans or of those who find it interesting, while those who prefer more creature action in their creature features should be weary of this one.

Rated R: Violence, Language and Brief Nudity
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun 80's adventure with lots of surprises!!!
IrishLass2402 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed this movie!

I know there are some tough critics out there, but I have to disagree.

I bet most of us saw this film for little or no cost. I purchased it bundled in a four movie set called "Tales from the Boneyard". Given the moderate cost of the set, I thought I got a lot of entertainment for my money.

My only complaint would have to be the creature effects. If you can get past that, the movie has a whole lot of surprising twists and turns.

Leave the judgments for the Academy Awards. Try to have some fun with this!

I did!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Nico Mastorakis Strikes Again
Crap_Connoisseur25 May 2006
Blood Tide is the brain child of Greek horror 'auteur' Nico Mastorakis. Nico probably has more films in IMDb's bottom 100 than any other director but this is more a reflection on the poor taste of most IMDb voters. Nico's films are generally pretty atrocious (with the exception of the great "Island Of Death") but at least his films won't induce insomnia like some of the movies populating the top 250. This film, directed by Richard Jefferies, is a good example of the Nico formula: blood, nudity and virgin sacrifice.

The plot of Blood Tide is pretty damn stupid. A treasure hunter, played by James Earl Jones, has awoken an evil demon that lies dormant under a Greek island. Unfortunately, this event coincides with Neil and Sherry's arrival on the island to search for Neil's missing sister, Madeline. Before too long, young women start disappearing and the villagers resort to sacrificial offerings in order to calm down the island demon. In other words, this is all a thinly veiled excuse for gratuitous nudity and cheap horror action - which is fine by me.

The strange thing about Blood Tide is that the film has quite a respectable cast for what is obviously a B-movie. James Earl Jones is always reliable and he doesn't disappoint with his turn as Frye. I'm convinced he only to took the role due to the character habit of incessantly reciting Othello, because the idea of playing a watermelon chomping stereotype could not have been all that appealing. Jose Ferrer is another great character actor and he makes his role count for more than it is worth. The same can be said for Lila Kedrova, who has to be the only Oscar winner to appear in a Mastorakis production. Genre fans will also be pleased to see Martin Kove, atypically playing a good guy.

Apart from the actors, the main reason to watch the film is to enjoy the gloriously inept creature effects. The demon is a plastic puppet that looks more like a sea horse than a monster. The rest of the special effects are equally as dubious. The film also strangely spends a significant amount of time 'paying homage' to (ie. shamelessly ripping off) "Exorcist II: The Heretic". Why anyone would want to take inspiration from that train wreck is beyond me, but someone was obviously a fan.

Blood Tide has many faults: crap special effects, a poor script and a lead actor who refuses to wear a shirt. However, it is also campy horror fun and contains one of the funniest displays of beach side aerobics that I can remember seeing. In any case, Blood Tide does not belong in the bottom 100.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Some classic horror ideas - ruined
manicgecko17 October 2005
Ah, horror garbage at its finest, at least in parts. Young couple goes to Greece on their honeymoon looking for his sister. That's exactly what I wanted to do on my honeymoon. Meet up with JEJ and his hot blond on an island that they are unwelcome on and meet an ancient curse. I should be basking in the cheesiness, but somehow it doesn't deliver. Don't get me wrong there were some truly classic moments including the children sacrificing their friend in a game, the whole 5 SECONDS of the paper mache monster, and the village drunk was good for a laugh. I just found myself dozing in between. Good news though I found out who David Hasselhoff based his acting techniques off of.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Low budget but very intriguing.
formula44xxx10 October 2000
Visitors' curiosity while on a Greek island unleashes an ancient creature upon unsuspecting island goers. This very low-budget film suffers from poor lighting but has a solid cast (James Earl Jones, Jose Ferrer, Martin Kove and Oscar-winner Lila Kedrova) and an intriguing enough premise that it draws you in, even if it far from a classic.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not even worth 29 cents.
ONenslo30 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Unlike another reviewer here, I have no doubts as to the monetary value of this movie. It is part of a 50 movie megapack I got for 14.95, which works out to 29 cents I was cheated out of. When the girl takes her shirt off for half a second, before the opening credits, it is all downhill from there. (Now that I think about it, when a girl takes her shirt off before the opening credits, it is ALWAYS all downhill from there.) I am sure there must have been a much "better" European cut with more skin and chomping, because the action scenes are so jerkily chopped up, and the scene in which the monster massacres a half dozen nuns in their chapel ends before it even gets going. This feeble post-Alien fangfaced monster barely gets any screen-time at all, and from what I could see, it would have been good for comedy relief. The soundtrack is classic "one man on a cheap synthesizer" work, and the only two actors in the movie, Jose Ferrer and James Earl Jones, never seem to come out of semi-retirement - Ferrer a stonefaced village elder and Jones swigging hooch from a bottle and growling incomprehensibly.

I can imagine Ferrer and Jones having a few pleasant weeks on a Mediterranean island with some non-actors, and taking home a moderately sized check for their trouble, but they are the only ones who benefit from this whole thing. I'm out 29 cents. James Earl Jones, send me a postage stamp.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's not great but this Greek horror does have some good things about it
Red-Barracuda14 March 2014
It wouldn't be unfair to say that Greece hasn't got the best pedigree when it comes to movies. There doesn't really appear to have been a film industry in action there at any point in time. Probably the best effort I have seen from that country is the notorious Island of Death. Its director Nico Mastorakis was also responsible for the screenplay of, this film, Blood Tide. There's no way that the latter film is as good as the former but I have to say I didn't really find it all that bad either. It's about a shady archaeologist who inadvertently unleashes a legendary evil creature from its century's long sleep. It's true that it is fairly uneventful from a horror point-of-view but overall I thought that the events surrounding the sea monster had just enough intrigue to keep this one afloat.

The monster itself is hardly seen. Mostly we encounter it via point-of-view camera-work. When it is seen briefly, it doesn't in all honesty look that bad but I guess the film-makers thought otherwise. There are a couple of gory attacks in the water and a massacre of nuns at a monastery, while the chopped up remains of a victim are found on the beach. But mainly, this is a slow burner with little visceral material. I thought the plot strands about the ancient drawings that are found in the monastery that depict the monster was quite good as well and added a decent level of interest.

It never escapes the fact that it's obviously hampered by a low budget though but the exotic Greek location does add some worthwhile production value. And it also has James Earl Jones at its disposal too; seemingly he did the film in order to get a paid-for holiday. But much better is Deborah Shelton as the enigmatic woman who ultimately offers herself as a virginal sacrifice to the beast; she was very beautiful and added a welcome sensual aspect that didn't do the film any harm at all.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It Wasn't The Best, But It Was Still Okay!
cameron-kills-it19 February 2009
"Blood Tide" is about a young couple who go searching on a Greek isle for the husband's sister, only to find that the sister is friends with an archaeologist who discovers a secret underwater cave and ultimately releases a creature with a taste for virgin blood! This film started off pretty slow, but after the first half-hour, it starts to get better. We only see the monster for about 3 seconds, and when you do, you kind of wish you hadn't! It is a very fake-looking monster, and it ruined the eeriness of the situation. If I were the director, I wouldn't have showed the monster at all, just let the viewers' minds fill in the blanks, which is scarier than anything that could be shown on screen. The acting is alright, and dialogue is a little iffy, but all in all, I recommend this nice little horror flick!

Rated: R for Violence and Brief Nudity

Grade: C-
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Grecian Monster Disaster 1982 (Have You Seen My Sister, Mr. Jones?)
wes-connors5 April 2010
"A legendary sea monster is awakened from centuries of sleep on a Greek island by an American archaeologist (James Earl Jones). An island elder (Jose Ferrer) is aware of the legend of the beast, including its appetite for virgin sacrifices," according to the DVD sleeve's synopsis. Elderly Lila Kedrova (as Anna), a knowing nun, is also aware of the monstrous danger. Hopefully, the monster isn't averse to snacking on a few tasty non-virgin women as well, because there are a few to wet one's appetite.

In fact, the main "Blood Tide" attraction is watching three very arousing thirty-something women. First, rise to attention for beautiful blonde model Mary-Louise Weller (as Sherry Grice), newlywed wife to handsome shirtless hero Martin Kove (as Neil Grice). Next, salute bouncy brunette Deborah Shelton (as Madeline), who looks swell in either wet clothes or the wind. Then, make it a third thumb up for busty blonde Lydia Cornell (as Barbara). Nobody shows too much skin, but everyone looks good.

*** Blood Tide (9/82) Richard Jefferies ~ Martin Kove, James Earl Jones, Deborah Shelton, Mary Louise Weller
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lovecraftian horror film just fails to deliver.
filmbuff197426 April 2006
Blood Tide is a horror film whose story is Lovecraftian in style.An t pagan intelligence has awoken from it's ancient slumber and is killing off residents of a sleepy Greek Island.The Elders of the Island intend to sacrifice one of the tourists to appease it. I really wanted to like this film. All the ingredients were there but done without any relish.An ancient sea monster that was glimpsed for all of 10 seconds and bad acting all around (yes, that includes James Earl Jones and Mel Ferrer!) just made viewing this turkey a mild endurance test.Although I did enjoy Lydia Cornell as the eye candy in this film but she wasn't enough to warrant forgiveness of this cinematic drip-of-a-horror film.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
script for an early '70s drive-in reject
winner5515 November 2006
Please tell me James Earl Jones did not star in this film.

He plays a drunken archaeologist who is given to recite Shakespeare (?!) - why? - I couldn't say. Could Jones? Then there's some banter between American tourists. Since the film is set in Greece, Jose Ferrer shows up to prove he can't speak Greek. The natives, terrified by the sudden death of some of their women folk, do what all Greek natives do in movies - drink, sing, eat, and dance! "Jones' Big Fat Greek Murder By Monster" movie.

Oh, yeah, I forgot to mention the monster; but, that's easy to do, since it rarely shows up and doesn't do anything spectacular.

"1982" ?! My god, did they still think they could get away with this script for an early '70s drive-in reject? And didn't Jones know we could never forgive him for this?!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Danger! Deaf Foley Artists at Work!
junk-monkey17 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This review based on the DVD version in the Treeline '50 SF Classics' (Hah!) Box Set. Which is a real must have collection for total crap movie buffs.

Whatever its other faults, and there are way too many to mention them all, this piece of drek does deliver one moment of sheer movie genius. The sight of James Earl Jones delivering Shakespeare while wearing a snorkel has got to be one of the most unintentionally hilariously surreal ideas ever put onto film.

The rest of this movie is unwatchable rubbish with huge and obvious holes in the narrative, the most ludicrous cat in mid-air shot ever, and some terrible, terrible sound mixing. I think the Foley guys must have been on steroids when they were dubbing this one. Or deaf. There's an idea; a deaf Foley artist. Anyway, every footfall, every object moved, every movement in this movie is so wildly loud it half drowns out the dialogue. (In itself, is no bad thing.) It might be just the version I watched but the sound mix is awful. There is one scene in particular, set on a beach, where the sound of the gentle Mediterranian waves lapping on the sunny, sandy beach sound less like the romantic idyll it is meant to be but more like elephants having mad frantic sex in an indoor swimming pool. The acoustics of the cave sequences are even more painful.

Other delights include some really bad acting from Lydia Cornell and her incredible vanishing bra. (And I do mean really really bad.) And a couple of random and meaningless point of view shots which were obviously shot as "Well, everyone walks up this way at least once in the movie we'll do a generic POV to cover ourselves in the editing."

I guess the leads had a nice holiday in Greece out of it. Good for them.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Just enjoy it........
Enforcer6862 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Some people here seem to take B-movies far too seriously. They aren't meant to be Gone With The Wind, just gritty fun. Here we have a photogenic young '80s couple (including the consummate bad guy sensei from Karate Kid and his hot young lady), two other '80s total babes and a relatively young James Earl Jones, who brought weight to an otherwise even more lightweight film. I bet he enjoyed this role, certainly not a serious part by any means and something fun to do between Star Wars films and Conan the Barbarian in 1982. The fact that he has The Voice (the voice of Lord Vader, that is!) is a considerable plus for the entire film.

The presence of the demon is suggested more than shown, but considering the limited budget, I'm sure that's a very good thing. I think the premise of the movie is quite good and could potentially be done very well, but it was merely passable here. I like the cast and the Greek islands always have their charms. There is no "quick fix" that could make this an excellent movie, but I think it was entertaining as is. I don't have a 1 second attention span or a need to see special effects every 3 minutes, but I do appreciate mood, atmosphere and a story, which this film has.

I got this as part of a 15 movie Horror compilation for $5 and it was one of the better films of that collection with ease. I certainly wouldn't pay a lot for it alone, but I have no regrets for having watched it and will watch it again at some point. Without James Earl Jones, this would have been a C-movie, but it DID have him, and thus hasn't been completely forgotten...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Greek monster.
marcusfernandes1 July 2009
I bought this film with another 49 from amazon.com.It came within the famous sci-fi pack so many times here commented among IMDb-USERS.What surprises me more is this paradox,an 3.5(MARK) but 35 comments.

Generally speaking,it is a good adventure in a film with serious problems of photography(the copy that i have!),a monster that we rarely see,peasants of a small Greek island and a stupid blonde.

These characters were mixed-up with a gorgeous couple and a some sort of"archaeologist" who is fan of destroying monuments instead of study them to fulfill this story.Nothing great ,but one can watch it without commitment.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is exciting!!!!!
sethn17224 May 2006
Okay, before we start, let us tone down this review, shall we? "Blood Tide" will become "Crimson Tide," just like that college team in Alabama, right? Okay? Let's begin! "Crimson Tide" stars that most wonderful of all voices, James Earl Jones, whose marvelous achievements include Darth Vader, "This Is CNN," Mufasa, Verizon, etc. (And for the MST3Kers, "City Limits!") But really, what actually happens in this movie has "nothing" to do with what Mr. Jones really does: this movie is mean-spirited bile! But still, it's a horror movie with action so I give this ten stars. "Crimson Tide" is full of horror and excitement! It'll keep you awake all night long!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a real yawner WARNING!!!!!! SPOILERS!!!!!
callanvass10 August 2004
Warning: Spoilers
a real yawner that is very very very talky and painfully slow most of the time it also has some pretty bad dialog and is cheaply made and also nothing really happens for much of the film but there is plenty of nudity and has some great underwater shots and it's just too muddled and it all adds up to nothing the acting is good though James Earl Jones is a riot here and cracked me up too bad he is wasted in a crappy movie Jose Ferrer is wasted here he does not have much screen time and when he is on screen he isn't very good Lila Kedrova is okay here as Sister Anna didn't see her much though Mary Louise Weller is very pretty but isn't that much of an actress Deborah Shelton is gorgeous and does okay here she has an amusing moment where she dumps perfume all over herself overall a BIG bore of a movie that i recommend you avoid big time * out of 5
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed