Next Stop, Greenwich Village (1976) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A FILM TRIBUTE TO A VERY SPECIAL PLACE AND TIME
sataft-23 March 2002
During June of 1954 in New York City, I graduated junior high school and, to celebrate the event, joined three of my classmates on a forbidden sojourn to the city's famous Greenwich Village. Exiting the subway station at Christopher street, we were amazed at the apparent ordinariness of this place we'd heard so much about from older adolescents and adults.

In fact, at first glance, nothing extraordinary seemed to be happening there, with the sole exception of more White people being present than four Black teenagers from Harlem were were accustomed to seeing.

For you see, this was the mid 1950's, Dr. Martin Luthor King Jr. had as yet to lead any freedom marches, Southern schools were as yet to be integrated, and in many Southern states Black people were lynched on Saturday nights as town entertainment. But three hours later, we knew that everything we'd heard about Greenwich Village was true and more. For this was a place far ahead of it's time.

In the Greenwich Village of the 1950's, racial integration had been in place for well over two decades. But far more important, forbidden talk of sexual liberation, interracial sex, homosexuality, along with political, artistic and literary freedom at all levels were openly discussed, flouted and displayed for all to see; performed to a background mixture of new age Jazz, early Rock and Roll and Folk Music. Virtually nothing was excluded from the social or musical menu this incredible place had to offer.

I can't speak for the rest of my friends on that day, but I immediately fell in love with the place and remained so, until it's untimely demise at the hands of the high rise-high priced real estate industry toward the mid 1970's. By then, the people who had made the place justifiably famous and notorious for what it was, could no longer afford to live there. So the Village remained,in name only, as it is today: a mere shadow of what it used to be.

Joyfully, director Paul Mazursky has managed to capture on film, a moving snapshot of the social life and time of a remarkable neighborhood, in what was probably the last fifteen to twenty years of it's legitimate life. And I do remember it so well. The rent parties for starving (sometimes talented) artists, the ubiquitous book shops, the coffee houses featuring impromptu poetry readings, the fashion statements (or blatant lack thereof), the mixing and making of all sorts of colorful characters who, even in their farcical attempts to parody themselves, were more alive and real then those who would put them down. This was the Greenwich Village of the 1950's and of legend.

This magical place was for me and many others (as was for the director who produced this film as an ode to his time there), our first real awakening and taste of adult life. And far more important, a fortuitous preparation for the new social order that was, in time, to come.

The place, as it was, is truly deserving of this wonderful little gem of a film.
60 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Get off at Christopher Street & experience this film...
Blooeyz200111 April 2002
This is a bittersweet film about family, leaving "the nest", friendships, dreams, hope, & finding yourself. A young man from Brooklyn leaves home to become an actor in 1950's Greenwich Village. Lenny Baker is very good as Larry Lapinsky & Ellen Green is wonderful as his girlfriend. The quirky characters & situations around them add an ambiance to this movie that makes you believe it was filmed in the 1950's, & not the 70's, when it was actually made. A lot of attention was paid to detail & it shows. Shelly Winters is loud, obnoxious, funny & convincing as the typical Jewish mother (I love the scene when she shows up at his apartment with a chicken). This movie makes you wish you could jump into the film & sit with these characters, have coffee with them, ride the subway, go to one of Larry's rent parties & experience the progressive, offbeat world of New York's Greenwich Village in the 1950's.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Will someone give props to this movie?!
steve_jacobs18 February 2003
I felt like this is what life must truly have been like in the Village in '53. Everything was in order. I was transported. Special kudos go out to Antonio Fargas, who plays a gay man in a tremendously ballsy portrayal considering his Starsky and Hutch days. Also, to the great chemistry of the cast.

It was sad to see Lenny Baker passed away at such a young age. He was definitely in the Hoffman, Pacino, but funnier mold. He should be remembered.
26 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A film that catches a time and place
treagan-222 November 2002
When I think of this film, I think of my older brother's generation, graduating from high school about 1956, and from college about 1960. Mazursky catches the look of a certain kind of young people of that era, their fashions, their expressions, their masks and identities. There's a sense of confusion and discovery, or rejection of the restrictions of middle class culture and their embracing of a murkily-defined bohemian alternative, and the disruption that brings to their lives, culturally, socially, sexually.

The film also reminds me of my years spent living near and wandering around Greenwich Village, 1966-70. Some of the kinds of people Mazursky shows were still there, ten years older, either mystified or amused or annoyed by the hippie hoards invading them. Honky-tonk, high rents, and mass culture bohemianism had arrived.

Mazursky gets this right. I don't know how this picture would play to those not interested or affected by the sociology time capsule, but I think it still would play.

And hats off to Shelly Winters, once again playing an impossible mother.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Next Stop, Greenwich Village
Scarecrow-8827 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Slice-of-life piece about a young Jewish man, Larry Lapinsky(Lenny Baker), with designs on being an actor, struggling not only to make ends meet so he can carry out his profession and grow as an actor through a studio teacher, but also overcoming the domineering presence of his overbearing, at-times maniacal mother("She invented the Oedipus complex" says Larry) Fay(Shelley Winters, outstanding as always). The setting is Greenwich village in the 50's amongst the art crowd where Larry becomes immersed in the lifestyle. We see how his life changes as Larry becomes good friends with several various people(a young Chris Walken as a poetic Lothario who enjoys bedding all kinds of women;Lois Smith as a suicidal painter;Ellen Green as Larry's love-interest Sarah;Antonio Fargas as a gay wannabe actor whose whole life is one big lie).

It's a breath of fresh air, this movie, and a break from the doldrums of typical Hollywood cinema. This is the kind of film that allows actors to spread their wings and create vivid, realistic characters. The film feels so fresh and authentic. You really are a vital part of these people's lives and dreams thanks to Mazursky's intelligent portrait. You can really see how much Mazursky loves New York City(specifically Brooklyn and Greenwich Village)and these people that live there.

Jeff Goldblum has a very funny role as a smart-mouthed struggling actor whose loud-mouth is like a leaky faucet which can not shut itself off.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Living life in Greenwich Village
blanche-29 June 2009
Admittedly I come to this film with a deep prejudice. Though it's set in 1953, it was released in 1976, the same year I moved to Greenwich Village. In fact, much of the movie looks to have been filmed about two blocks west of where I lived for 30 years.

For a young person moving to Greenwich Village, there's something timeless about the experience, as this film shows. Directed by Paul Mazursky, the film stars Lenny Baker, Shelley Winters, Ellen Greene, Christopher Walken, Lois Smith, and Dori Brenner. Baker is an aspiring young actor named Larry Lapinsky, who leaves his parents' apartment and his sobbing mother (Winters) to take a place in the Village. There, he gets a day job, a girlfriend (Greene), a group of bizarre friends, and starts acting class. He uses a liquor bottle he finds at the subway as an Oscar and thanks the Academy while he waits for a train; he does impressions of Brando for a cop; he does a scene from Golden Boy for class.

Mazursky has left nothing out, not the overblown egomaniacal young actor (Jeff Goldblum) whom Larry meets at an audition, the bipolar young woman (Smith), the gay friend (Antonio Fargas), the poser who's a chick magnet (Walken), and everybody's friend destined to be unlucky in love (Brenner). It's a madcap, free, painful, and sobering existence.

Baker is wonderful as Larry, anxious to get out and live. He's very likable. Shelley Winters is a riot as the Jussi Bjorling-loving Faye Lapinsky, who keeps dropping in and bringing food while she and her husband are in the neighborhood. At one point, she is so convincing telling Sarah (Greene) that she doesn't care if Sarah has been having sex with Larry, that Sarah admits to it, thus driving Faye into such a state that Sarah claims she lied. Lois Smith is very effective as the neurotic Anita. Dori Brenner does a great job as the caring friend, and Christopher Walken strikes the right balance as the enigmatic, distant Robert.

Highly recommended, and if you've ever lived in Greenwich Village, or tried to be an actor in New York, don't miss it.

What makes the film is the New York energy and the locations - many of which still exist, Village Cigars, Smiler's, the lamp store, Julius' bar, the whole Christopher Street area.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie of laughter and tears
Petey-1021 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is set to 1953 in Greenwich Village, New York.It's a place that's ahead of it's time.There's more tolerance than elsewhere and the 50's doesn't seem like the 50's.Paul Mazursky's Next Stop, Greenwich Village (1976) shows us the most interesting characters.Larry Lapinsky is a young Jewish actor wanna-be.He's played by the very talented Lenny Baker, who died way too young.His over-protective mother Fay is played by the legendary Shelley Winters and father Ben by Mike Kellin.Larry's girlfriend Sarah is played by Ellen Greene.Young Christopher Walken is Robert and young Jeff Goldblum is Clyde Baxter.Also young Bill Murray can be seen there.Antonio Fargas gives out an amazing performance as Bernstein, an African-American gay who pretends to be a Jew. This movie is very much underrated.I don't see why.It is often very funny, like in the scene where Larry gives an Oscar speech in the street.It's partly also very sad, like when one of the friends has committed suicide and Bernstein becomes very depressed.So this is a movie that may make you laugh and cry.The comedy can in some parts be pretty tragical like in the Chaplin movies.You can laugh with tears in your eyes while watching this movie.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cool daddy O
amosduncan_200010 June 2006
I'm with the room, this film has been sadly overlooked as it was at the time of it's release (even Mazursky champion Pauline Kael was Luke warm) and deserves to be seen.

I think this sort of autobiographical film had sort of been overdone, so Mazurky's film was lumped in as "one of those." What was missed, I think, was his unsentimental, adult perspective on the time and place, on what it meant to be young and bright. He gives us something of what the beak nick world might have been like, unlike the silly portrayals done AT THE TIME.

Lenny Baker, in his only major lead, is excellent along with the entire cast. Christopher Walken makes an impression without the hamming that would later endear him to so many.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great period piece
rlipsett10 April 2001
I stumbled on this film on USA last night, about 15 minutes in. It was alternately comedic and touching, with Lenny Baker playing a 20-something (Larry Lapinsky) in Greenwich Village in the '50s. Shelley Winter played his mother, who had a knack for showing up at the most inopportune moments and embarrassing her son. Both of them, along with Mike Kellin as Mr. Lapinsky, give excellent nuanced performances.

The central action of the movie is around Larry's attempts to become an actor, and around his friends in the village. The dialog is generally snappy and both dialog and visuals can be out-loud funny at times. 7/10.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Make time to see this movie.
elPaorino24 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I finally made time to see this movie, about 9 years after I told myself I would see it. This is a fine example of a movie that explores those feelings we have of failure, depression, angst, courage, hope, and contentment. I felt Paul Mazursky was spot on in capturing the feelings and scenery of what New York was like in the 1950's. Sure, I felt there was a little self-indulgence, ie. Larry Lapinsky's "award speech scene." This did not take away from experiencing the cast's emotional struggles to live love and succeed in Greenwich Village.

Lessons they learned then are still highly applicable today. Lenny Baker, as Larry Lapinsky, was brilliant. He seems to be able to relate to his dad more than his mom, Faye (Shelley Winters), who effortlessly works to cause him guilt and high-blood pressure in her quest to be a loving mother. Personally I love the scenes where his parents show up at his apartment party and he is annoyed, and also later where he and his father remain silent while his mom flies off the handle in his apartment, Larry's face with a slight smile as if to be just taking in all of the emotions of the thing: anger, frustration, and comedy.

The cast of aspiring artists and progressive thinkers beginning with Lenny Baker is awesome. Christopher Walken as Robert is very hip, suave, and smart. Do not think for a moment though that he steals the show. Dori Brenner as Connie, and Ellen Greene as Sara (Larry's girlfriend) are poised, beautiful, and compelling. They really convey what it is like to be young, in love, aspiring, poor, confused, depressed, and brave. See this movie.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Paul Mazursky's memoir of life in 1950's NYC
Havan_IronOak1 September 2002
This is not a great film but it is sweet and has it's moments. It also has a cast of soon to be stars. While it was interesting to see Shelley Winters when she could still pull off dark hair, it was even more interesting to see a young Christopher Walken and a young Jeff Goldblum. Also seen are Vincent Schiavelli of character actor fame and an almost microsecond uncredited cameo by Bill Murray.

The movie isn't great but for a movie fan its worth the time if for no other reason to see if you can spot all of the soon to be's.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All Aboard to Next Stop, Greenwich Village ****
edwagreen30 May 2009
The very essence of this wonderful 1976 film depicting life in the 1950s Village is fully realized by a wonderful cast.

Lenny Baker, who died way too early, was simply wonderful as our Brooklyn College graduate, who leaves home to venture forth to Greenwich Village. It's the place of cafés, of wander and lust, the Julius and Ethel Rosenberg protest era, and all things associated with society at this time.

Shelley Winters was fabulous as Baker's quintessential Jewish mother.

The troupe that Larry (Baker) falls in with reminded me of a group by Hemingway in "The Sun Also Rises," as they leave for Mexico.

There was also some wonderful support here by up and coming actors Chris Walken and Jeff Goldblum as well as Ellen Greene.

This often comic film does have its moments when one of the group commits suicide. There is a truly magnificent supporting performance by Antonio Fargas, as the black Bernstein Chandler. He made up the story of his mother working as a maid for a Jewish family. Gay to the hilt, Fargas etched a believable, memorable character.

The film turns quite poignant at the end when Larry wins a part in a Hollywood film and as he leaves, mama Winters reminds him never to forget who you are.

A film to treasure for the ages.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
i liked this movie
rainydawn27 September 2006
The endearing qualities of the characters seem very true to the time to me. I grew up in the 50's, and the scenes of his neighborhood were a wonderful backdrop for the times. The family, the friends, and the events that happen are believable and at times most amusing. Shelly Winters is always outstanding and she delivers in her role as the lead character's Mother. The character of Sarah is very beautiful, although by today's standards both of the young characters would not be cast. Not because they lack character, but because they seem like real people, not Hollywood clones.It was a different world as far as social mores and this glimpse into the heart of a young actor dealing with life through humor and love was most enjoyable.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Possibly the most underrated movie of all time.
jfb15119 February 2000
Possibly the most underrated movie of all time. It ranks with the best films of the greatest movie decade (70's). I think a lot of that can be blamed on the fact that it's both funny and autobiographical, which is fine for movie critics sitting in a movie theater for an 1 and 1/2, but does not hold up well when they set their pen to paper and try to come up with the most important, serious and influential movies of a year or decade. Most comic directors and writers suffer this fate, even Woody Allen, who is given false credit for his serious films (Manhattan, Hannah, Crimes) and less for his funniest (Sleeper, Annie Hall and Manhattan Murder Mystery). Mazursky deserves to be given the chance to put his personal movie making gifts out on the scene. He's one of the best.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most poignant film of this century
jappyhew11 October 1999
As the founder of an Arts and Entertainment magazine, writer and film-buff, I can safely say that "Next Stop, Greenwich Village." is the most poignant film of the century. The wrier/director, Paul Mazursky, brilliantly displayed his experience of a rising star from 'Greenwich Village.' For his mastery of a vast diversity of human-kind, I applaud him and am shocked that it received such a low rating on this pole. Without any tribulations, I do not hold back that I voted a 10- excellent for the film. Never before had I witnessed such a fine group of rising stars in one film. Lenny Baker, Jeff Goldbloom- even Bill Murray shared the stage. But clearly old time favorites such as the Golden Globe winner for best supporting actress in this film, Shelley Winters and a personal love, Lou Jacobi, held the most memorable scenes. If every movie was like "Next Stop, Greenwich Village", we would have no reason to live outside of the movie theater.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's too stereotypical, but it has some excellent moments to offer as well.
philip_vanderveken20 April 2005
I always try to see movies that aren't very well known. I do like to watch blockbusters as well, but I think that not every movie that didn't get too much attention isn't worth anything. Sometimes I discover some nice little gems. Sometimes, but not this time although it certainly isn't as bad as you might fear now...

This movie starts with a young man who is about to leave his parents home so he can live on his own and become an actor. Of course this goes hand in hand with a lot of drama, as mom doesn't want to see her 'little boy' leave the house so soon. But his mind has been made up and Larry Lapinsky moves from Brooklyn to Greenwich Village. Here he meets new people and soon he has a lot of friends, all with their own problems and worries...

This movie has some excellent moments to offer (for instance when mom shows up with a chicken, because she fears that her son doesn't get enough to eat), but sometimes it could have been a bit more subtle in my opinion. It was a bit too stereotypical to be a really great movie, but that doesn't mean it isn't worth a watch of course. I give it a 6.5/10.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A buried treasure...
JasparLamarCrabb19 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Paul Mazursky's wonderful ode to struggling actors in 1953 New York. It's not exactly a comedy and not exactly a drama, but a mix of both. Lenny Baker is Larry Lipinsky, a Brooklyn transplant living the bohemian life Greenwich Village. Shelley Winters (in an utterly outrageous performance) is his suffocating mother. The movie is populated with one eccentric character after another from Christopher Walken's pretentious poet to Antonio Fargas's flamboyant dandy to Lois Smith's tragic depressant. The movie is very flavorful and extremely well acted. Baker, who died less than ten years later, gives what should have been a career making performance. Jeff Goldblum pops up as an extremely ridiculous actor. Somehow this film is largely forgotten --- it's a real buried treasure.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
That Special Place And Time
Lechuguilla30 March 2010
Writer/Director Paul Mazursky clearly aims to showcase that special place and time in his own life, in this semi-autobiographical story of a young, would-be actor who leaves his Brooklyn home and moves to Greenwich Village, to live among poets, writers, and other young actors. It's the early 1950s, and Mazursky's alter ego goes by the name of Larry (Lenny Baker), early twenties, earnest, fun loving, romantic, and plagued by an overbearing, intrusive mother named Faye (Shelley Winters).

Larry's friends include several rather eccentric people. But they're all his age, and all have the usual growing-up problems. Talk turns to romance, sex, finding a job, future plans, and so on. The script is rather talky. But in a place like Greenwich Village, where life revolves around people, philosophy, and the arts, what else is there to do but talk?

Though humor permeates the film, it's mostly dark comedy, which masks the underlying emotional pain of the various characters, as they all seem rather lost and forlorn amid such gloomy and dreary physical surroundings. But maybe the drabness of it all provides that sense of nostalgia for Mazursky, that sense of having moved beyond, to a broader, brighter, more expansive vision of life.

The film's cinematography is conventional. Dark interiors match the film's dark, poignant themes. Background music features mostly light jazz, with a little opera thrown in. Casting and acting are fine. But Shelley Winters steals the show with her terrific performance.

Nostalgic in tone and sentiment, "Next Stop, Greenwich Village" offers memories of another time, another place. It's a period-piece setting, a coming-of-age story. It's a film that will appeal to viewers who lived through the 1950s, or who can identify with the bohemian lifestyle that so defines that special place called Greenwich Village.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nostalgic piece by one of the top film makers of the '70's
alfiefamily27 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
"Next Stop, Greenwich Village" is the semi-autobiographical tale of young Paul Mazursky. It is an often nostalgic, sentimental look back at a magical place called Greenwich Village, during a still innocent, idealistic early 1950's.

The story revolves around young Larry Lapinsky, played marvelously by Lenny Baker. Larry is moving out of his parents apartment in Brooklyn and moving to Manhattan to become the next Marlon Brando. We are introduced to his bohemian friends, all of whom are trying to evolve into a true Greenwich Village "artist" or is it "artiste".

We also meet Larry's parents, who may just be the original stereotypes of the smothering Jewish mother, and quiet but authoritative, Jewish father. Larry's mother is the type who will travel 20 miles out of her way, and tell her son that she was "in the neighborhood". She is also an overbearing button pusher, trying to control Larry and his relationship with his girlfriend.

The cast is top notch with early performances by Christopher Walken, Jeff Goldblum, and Ellen Greene standing out. Shelly Winters is excellent as Fay, Larry's mother. Lou Jacobi is another standout as Larry's employer, and watch during a bar scene, when Larry first moves to the Village, for a quick glimpse of Bill Murray.

Mazursky is famous for putting elements of his life on the screen. No one can deny that at the end of the movie, when Larry leaves New York to go to California to appear in a movie, that it is identical to Mazursky's leaving New York to be in "The Blackboard Jungle". He was also one of the new breed of filmmaker's that made the late '60's to mid '70's a truly golden era for fresh, new, ideas in writing and directing films.

"Next Stop, Greenwich Village" is at times a little self-indulgent, and too long, but is still an appealing look back at a time when everything was possible, as told by a true visionary filmmaker.

6 out of 10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very nice little slice of 1950's life
Woodyanders5 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
New York City, 1953. Eager and ambitious aspiring actor Larry Lapinsky (a fine and likable performance by Lenny Baker) moves out of his parents' Brooklyn apartment and goes to Greenwich Village in search of fame and success while coming to terms with his overbearing mother Faye (a suitably hysterical, but still moving portrayal by Shelley Winters).

Writer/director Paul Mazursky relates the engrossing story at a steady pace, offers an engaging blend of sharp humor and poignant drama, and presents a flavorsome evocation of 1950's New York that astutely captures both the sexually permissive mores and the vibrant artistic bohemian nature of Greenwich Village at that particular point in time. Moreover, Mazursky brings a winning surplus of real heart and warmth to the semi-autobiographical plot as well as populates the picture with vividly drawn characters who are quite affecting and believable in all their flaws and quirks. The fine acting from a tip-top cast keeps this film humming: Ellen Greene as Larry's liberated, yet apprehensive girlfriend Sarah Roth, Lois Smith as suicidal depressive Anita Cunningham, Christopher Walken as suave womanizing dandy Robert Fulmer, Dori Brenner as the sarcastic Connie, Antonio Fargas as flamboyant homosexual Bernstein Chandler, Mike Kellin as Larry's meek father Ben, and Lou Jacobi as hearty deli owner Herb. Popping up in funny bits are Joe Spinell as a surly cop and Jeff Goldblum as pretentious wannabe thespian Clyde Baxter. Arthur J. Ornitz's crisp cinematography provides a pleasant bright look. Bill Conti's jaunty'n'jazzy score does the tuneful trick. A sweet little sleeper.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"Remember where you came from..."
moonspinner555 April 2009
Writer-director Paul Mazursky's ode to his colorful hungry years, and the experience of leaving home for the first time and setting out on your own. Cheeky Jewish graduate from Brooklyn in 1953 relocates to the Village, getting an apartment, a semi-serious girlfriend, and a spot in the avant garde crowd. Though his mother disapproves, our hero, working in a health food shop, studies to be an actor, gets his girl pregnant, and clearly sees the dreams and hopes of his new friends flair up and fizzle out--yet never losing his own personal ambition. Mazursky, who also co-produced the film, has created a meticulously-detailed encapsulation of a particular time and place, peopled with characters one can easily recognize. There's a sweet simplicity in the protagonist's friendships--and with his over-protective parents--but nothing is really nuanced for us. Mazursky lays it all right there on the surface (which is why the film will work best on a first-time viewing: everything you need to catch can be caught). While it isn't always subtle, and the gloppy cinematography and poor lighting sometimes causes the actors to look a bit frightful, the movie has a very big heart. This is detectable early on, yet it isn't until the finale that you come to appreciate what the characters have gone through (the parents as well). The picture is also a showcase for lots of budding talent circa 1976, with Chris Walken, Antonio Fargas, Dori Brenner, Jeff Goldblum, Michael Egan, and John C. Becher all doing terrific bits of business. In the lead, Lenny Baker is photographed very badly (with his jagged teeth glinting in the movie lights), but he warms to his role, and by the finish has created a three-dimensional man whom we really hope will succeed. **1/2 from ****
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
rather aimless, but interesting with new actors
robcrawford15 May 2017
This film is a fun evocation of the times, with young bohemian types in lower middle class New York city. The main protagonist is a very sympathetic character, by far the best of the film, an aspiring your actor who is leaving home and dealing with his Jewish mother. You also get the young Christopher Walken, Jeff GOldblum, Ellen Greene, and several others in their earliest roles, so film buffs will love to see them.

Unfortunately, very little happens in the film, in the middle it kind of dragged, for me at least. Some of them get ready for the next stage, most of them don't. Pfft.

I do like this film, indeed I watched it when I was contemplating moving to New York. But it didn't bear a critical re-watching at a more mature age, one of the crucial tests for film classics. I watched it and felt, so what?
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
"Friends" 1953
Dave_Violence22 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I saw it yesterday... I liked it, being a part of a "bohemian" writers group in the early 1990s, I got the vibe of the film.

SPOILERS However, for me, the movie had an ugliness that I don't think was intended by the director: The sharing of Sarah's abortion, from the initial decision to the actual work, should've had more "punch" - it's almost as if no one cared, or considered it not a big deal (Sarah does, later, though, but maybe the impact isn't that much).

Suicide. Man, if one of my friends - a best friend - was *that* suicidal, there would be some real action. At the time, the loony bin probably would've been the right place, with a lobotomy, 'natch.

This is a disguised R-rated version of "Friends," though they're younger, more stupid, and yet more grown-up, but, but, aren't there some serious wars going on? I didn't catch that anyone got drafted or that anyone had older siblings who were killed in WWII, etc.

When the movie came out, I was 13 and my parents, both of whom were in their late teens in 1953, expressed no interest in this movie. I don't necessarily know why, but when the Academy Awards show was on, later, I asked what the movie was about, was it about a subway ride? I recall my mother saying "it's about New York City in the 1950's" or something like that.

Worth seeing because the acting on all fronts is really good and it's fun to see Christopher Walken in what is an uncharacteristic role - at least after all these years. Antonio Fargas is really amazing, but I wish the film had gone a bit deeper into his story, or at least developed him some more (like, what does he do for art?). Shelly Winters is superb to the point that her scenes are hard to separate from reality.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mazursky has always gone back and forth
lee_eisenberg17 January 2007
The previous reviewer said that "Next Stop, Greenwich Village" was one of the last chances to show Greenwich Village in its original form before it got gentrified. I have to admit that I wouldn't have known that. But whether or not one knows that, the movie is still fairly enjoyable, as a young man (Lenny Baker; happy birthday, Lenny!) moves to the area hoping to make something of himself. I will say that it seems sort of like Paul Mazursky made the movie more to please himself than anything else, as the movie drags at times. But overall, it's a pretty enjoyable flick. Also starring Shelley Winters, Ellen Greene, Lois Smith, Christopher Walken, Antonio Fargas (Huggy Bear on "Starsky and Hutch"), Lou Jacobi and Jeff Goldblum.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed