Sanford and Son (TV Series 1972–1977) Poster

(1972–1977)

User Reviews

Review this title
45 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Classic 70's television.
Captain_Couth1 October 2004
Sanford and Son (1972) was a classic American television sitcom that was based upon the B.B.C. tele-comedy show Steptoe and Son. Whilst Steptoe and Son dealt with the "Rag and bone" business, Sanford and Son dealt with the "junk" business. A perfect vehicle for stand up comic and performer Redd Foxx. Many people felt that he couldn't make the transition from party records and blue humor to the restrained format of television. He proved them wrong. During the first couple of seasons some of the episodes (including the pilot) were Americanized versions of Steptoe and Son.

The show became a huge hit for N.B.C. and the series lasted for six seasons.

the "classic" episodes of this show were written by Paul Mooney and Gary Shandling. The best seasons happen to be the second and fifth, many classic episodes debuted during that time. Aunt Esther was Fred's nemesis, Rollo was Lamont's best friend and another thorn in Fred's side. Fred also has his buddies Bubba and Grady. Fred was involved with Donna to whom he was engaged to throughout the series. Redd Foxx always had problems with the producers of the show and he used his leverage as the star to get his stand-up comic friends on T.V. Performers such as Pat Morita, "Slappy" White, Scatman Crothers and the comic team of Leroy and Skillet all received spots or recurring roles on the show.

Thanks to D.V.D. and syndication, Sanford and Son will live on forever and future generations will enjoy the humor of Redd Foxx and company. Sanford and Son spawned two spin-offs and a sequel series.

A highly recommended show.
29 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the Funniest Ever
mikeghee21 January 2004
Very funny TV comedy series about the situations a Los Angeles junk dealer,Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx) and his son/business partner Lamont(Demond Wilson) find themselves in.

In my opinion, the impeccable timing of hilarious lines delivered by Mr. Foxx made this show a classic. I think the humor was probably cutting edge for its time also, often referencing the racial and sociopolitical climate (a la All in the Family). Though ageless with respect to humor, some of the lines are not politically correct anymore as evidenced by TV Land (that currently shows reruns as of this writing) cutting out any reference to the "N" word said by Fred Sanford as I remember being in more than a couple of episodes when they first aired on NBC.

A whole host of other characters added to the shows hysterical but stereotypical flavor such as the religiously fanatical Aunt Esther, the dimwitted Grady and neighbor Julio. No ethnic group or race was spared a ribbing on this show.

Two of my all time favorite episodes are 1. The Sanfords being promised $10,000 if Lamont marries Fred's cousin's overweight stepdaughter and 2. Fred and Lamont's plane ride to St. Louis to attend the reading of a will of a relative that recently passed.

Priceless.
24 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Some May Have Seen "Redd", But the Show Was "Foxxy" Nonetheless.
tfrizzell19 December 2003
Highly hilarious and dominant television show from the mid-1970s that continues to have a great following even today (despite some detractors who take the show way too seriously). California African-American widower/junk dealer Redd Foxx (one of the most under-rated entertainers of his time) and his only son (Demond Wilson) argued and got into every odd-ball situation one could fathom during their six years in prime-time (from 1972-1977). The series was an answer to "All in the Family". It showed the differences and similarities between white blue-collar society and the working class African-American. It also was a coast war as "All in the Family" took place on the Atlantic shore while "Sanford and Son" took place on the Pacific. The supporting cast (led by the priceless LaWanda Page as Foxx's sister-in-law) was used in well-calculated ways to add to the program's comedic momentum. Never dull, never slow, never boring and never sorry, "Sanford and Son" is one of those shows that just seems to stand the test of time. 5 stars out of 5.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm Comin' to Join You Honey
Sargebri22 April 2003
This is definitely one of the greatest sitcoms in history. Redd Foxx was perfect in his portrayal of the crotchety old Fred Sanford and Demond Wilson was perfect as his son Lamont. My parents and I would turn on this show every week just to see Fred put down Lamont by constantly calling him "Dummy". However, you pretty much could tell that even though he called Lamont a dummy that he basically loved his son and was very much afraid of losing him. Also the supporting cast of Don Bexley as Bubba, Whitman Mayo as Grady and, of course, LaWanda Page as Fred's bible thumping sister-in-law Esther all made this show the great alternative to the bubblegum shows that were on A.B.C. on Friday nights.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Name Is Fred G. Sanford - And The 'G' Is for Great TV!
bohn0077 June 2003
There have been 4 show business personalities, over the years, over whom I shed tears, when they passed on. John Wayne, Jimmy Stewart, Roy Rogers, and... Redd Foxx. The reason is very simple: Redd Foxx, as the arthritic, heart-troubled Watts Junk Dealer, made me laugh. Something that not many performers can do. I have experienced more genuine laughter, while watching 'Sanford And Son', than with any other TV show, or movie, ever.

I have seen every episode at least 20 times, (Except for the Christmas episode - I only watch it during the Christmas season). I never tire of them, and the antics of the gripy, grumpy old 'Commodities' dealer and his family and friends never fail to draw a laugh from me, despite the fact that I know every episode by heart.

Until 'Sanford And Son', Redd Foxx was probably best known for his nightclub acts, featuring his dirty stand-up routines. He was a master of improvisation, and shows his true comedy colors, in this classic sitcom. And, he was no slouch when it came to drama, as proved by his performance in the episode where he must ask his girlfriend, Donna, to marry him, before she accepts a proposal from another man. That particular episode made me cry, as well as laugh.

Admittedly, much of the writing wasn't all that great, and the acting - In the case of some characters, obviously played by non-Actors - Leaves something to be desired. But the laughter is there, making up for that, and then some.

I once heard it said that laughter is a gift, and Redd Foxx gave me that gift, with 'Sanford And Son'. The show has a tremendous following, to this day, better than 30 years after it's cancellation - A fact which speaks volumes on the talent of Redd Foxx.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This show is a classic, dummy
lee_eisenberg9 April 2005
I guess that "Sanford and Son" must have been the first show that portrayed black ghetto life. No matter, it's hilarious. Dad Fred essentially spends every episode lounging around his house, calling his son Lamont "dummy" and threatening to bust people's lips. Lamont remains eternally embarrassed about Fred's antics, especially whenever Fred comments on how ugly he considers the sister-in-law, Aunt Esther, to be. And it's always great when the two cops (one white and the other black) come to the house, and the white cop acts like a dork, forcing the black cop to have to identify it.

Anyway, it was part of the new wave of really funny shows in the early 1970's that portrayed stuff that TV shows previously were uncomfortable portraying ("All in the Family" of course led the way). It would have been neat if Fred Sanford and Archie Bunker could have ever met. That would have made for some crazy dialogue. Four stars.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Episodes Adapted from "Steptoe and Son" Are the Best!!
warlock1625 March 2004
It's already known that `Sanford and Son' was the Americanized version of `Steptoe and Son' of England, created by Ray Galton and Alan Simpson. `Steptoe' was extremely funny and groundbreaking in England. When the show was brought over to the USA, it's initial transformation to `Sanford and Son' was excellent…in it's early years.

The original premise of `Steptoe' was the direct relationship between the father and son, as the son strives for a better life from the junk business, while his cantankerous father holds him back, due to fear of being alone in his twilight years. Many comedic situations resulted as a result of this conflict.

TVLand currently shows reruns of `Sanford and Son'. If you pay attention to the opening credits, and the writer(s) of the current episode is given, it is sometimes followed by… Based on `The Piano' by Ray Galton and Alan Simpson. `The Piano' was an original `Steptoe and Son' episode. This meant that the upcoming `Sanford and Son' episode was merely a retooling of the respective `Steptoe' script for American audiences, now entitled `The Piano Movers'. There were 136 episodes of `Sanford and Son'. If you include all episodes, movies, and TV specials, there were 59 offerings of `Steptoe and Son'. Based on my research, of the 136 `Sanford' episodes, 16 episodes were direct adaptations of the `Steptoe' series. Those `Steptoe' copies were the funniest episodes of the `Sanford and Son' era, due to the exceptional scripts by Galton and Simpson. If you have the DVD, you are able to watch the uncut, unedited versions, which is not the case when watching the TVLand episodes. Other `Steptoe' episodes could not be duplicated because they were either far too oriented in British culture to be adapted for America, or they were considered too crude & vulgar to attempt to tone down for America, although I wish they tried.

Another strong point was the opening theme song by Quincy Jones, as well as the closing theme.

However, due to the extreme popularity of the show, Redd Foxx developed and ego, wanted more money than the producers, and disrupted production of the show to the point where Whitman Mayo (Grady) had to fill in on a temporary basis. This was one of the downsides to the show. Eventually, he came back, and the show labored on. Redd Foxx had marital problems during this time. Being distraught over that, he left the show in 1977, even though the show had more life left.

NBC tried to keep the flame lit by producing `Sanford Arms', which revolved around the Sanford Arm tenants which lived there when Fred and Lamont bought the Sanford Arms when their show was on-the-air. There was also `Sanford.', which did not have Lamont. The less said about these two shows, the better.

All in all, the `Sanford and Son' episodes adapted from the Galton and Simpson scripts from `Steptoe and Son' will always be the better episodes.
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Friday night classic on NBC!
yenlo10 January 2000
Perhaps the last really good TV Sitcom. Redd Foxx and Demond Wilson were the stars of this 70's comedy but had such great support from actors and actresses to include Whitman Mayo, Lawanda Page, Raymond Allen, Don Bexley, Noam Pitlik, Gregory Sierra, Nathaniel Taylor, Slappy White and Hal Williams that the show was a "Can't miss an episode" on Friday nights.

Even when Redd Foxx was out of several episodes during a contract dispute one season the show never missed a beat as Whitman Mayo's "Grady" became the main character.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A 70s Sitcom Classic
hfan7729 February 2008
Norman Lear's second sitcom Sanford and Son is definitely a 70s classic. Redd Foxx's portrayal of Fred Sanford is so funny, yet he was bigoted like Archie Bunker. He also had great chemistry with Demond Wilson, who played his son Lamont. Though Lamont was the smarter of the two, Fred kept calling him "Dummy" which I thought wasn't very nice. What made the show funny for me was Fred's frequent phony heart attacks when he would clutch his heart and bellow "OHH! THIS IS THE BIG ONE! YOU HEAR THAT ELIZABETH, I'M COMING TO JOIN YOU!!" Every time he did that, i would crack up laughing. The other phrase he constantly used was variations on "How would you like five across your lip?"

What also made Sanford and Son stand out was the chemistry between Foxx and LaWanda Page, who played Aunt Esther. Both were long-time friends who grew up in St. Louis. I thought Page delivered her lines with gusto and really brought her character to life.

My only dislike of the show were the episodes without Foxx, who sat out due to a contract dispute and were centered around Grady. Whitman Mayo was an outstanding supporting player, but I felt he couldn't carry the show as a lead actor and that was why his spin off Grady was short-lived. It was like watching an episode of The Honeymooners without Jackie Gleason.

There were a lot of good episodes, but two of my favorites were the Gong Show episode and Steinberg and Son, a TV show that mirrored the Sanford's lives. Each season of Sanford and Son is on DVD so if you haven't seen them, do so. You won't worry about commercials.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Never ever duplicate a icon classic series
nalli60630 January 2019
Epic period... Can't bring back real comedy... This is phenomenal acting all actors... God bless sandford and Esther
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Absolutely hysterical!
bfindley7 August 2000
In October of 1991, the entertainment world was robbed of true comedy quality talent, namely Mr. Redd Foxx. This is his crowning achievement. My 2 personal favorite episodes were the episodes about chicken wings on an airplane and the wrong computer error and ''Mr. Haystacks'' bringing Grady a third social security check. This show will undoubtedly withstand the test of time. Thank you so kindly, Mr. Foxx.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best sitcoms I've ever seen
Jedi25 November 1999
"Sanford and son" is a sitcom in which a junk dealer, and his son. Try to live together and run their business, but the father is always coming up with some carzy ideas, and getting them into some funny mischef. One of the best sitcoms I've ever seen, Redd Foxx truly shines as a old junk dealer. I think that if you put this show back on the networks aganst the todays shows. "Sanford and Son" would reign as king.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
As Fred might say "That's H-U-M-O-R, period"
colin-6918 October 2004
Easily one of THE greatest shows on TV. All the characters contributed to the flavor of the show; it really WAS magic how everything came together so perfectly without getting bogged down or off track. Racial and personal insults flowed freely but they lacked venom- they were just loaded with laughs. Now really---how seriously could ANYONE take an insult at that level? At one time or another almost all the characters had an insult hurled at them, only to toss it right back in Fred's face; the show never really seemed to have a cruel intent- just a rather ordinary family with rather ordinary friends caught up in zany schemes and predicaments that brought out the best, worst, and funniest in all!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious!!!
gluba200029 May 2004
Sanford & Son is hilarious!

Fred's antics and one liners such as "I'll have Scripple, oh that's what I call Scotch and Ripple mixed!" are hilarious!

His interactions with Aunt Esther are my favorites and (in my opinion) the funniest!

They have (so far) the first foure seasons on DVD and will probably put the other two out eventually.

There are also T Shirts with "This is the Big One!" on them (which I've searched all over the Web for but are all sold out!)

If you're looking for a good laugh watch Sanford & Son! It currentley airs (at a TERRIBLE time slot) on TV Land at 4:00 in the morning...

I definetley recommend this to EVERYONE! It's hilarious!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Redd Foxx delivers the comedy with flying color
TERMINATOR18019 February 2002
Redd Foxx was always a funny guy. Ever since he did Stand-Up Comedy, in which you can still hear Records and Tapes of. Sanford and Son is one of the most popular of the old sitcoms, and rightfully so. It delivers the comedy you would expect from Redd Foxx, and more...
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Sitcom!
Sylviastel10 March 2008
Redd Foxx made a lasting impression and impact on audiences in America when they took a British comedy, Steptoe & Son, which was more darker and depressing than Sanford and Son. They brought to America with Redd Foxx as the father Fred Sanford and his son, Demond Wilson, playing Lamont. Fred always cries that he's going to reunite with his wife, Elizabeth in heaven. Fred's sister-in-law Esther is played by the wonderful and hysterical LaWanda Page. I loved the interaction between Fred and Esther. It was a love and hate relationship on both ends of the spectrum. They would trade insults as champion boxers threw out punches. They were hysterical and unforgettable on screen.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Is this Esther, or King Kong AFTER he fell off the Empire State Building?"
scholara220 June 2006
The quote is from the episode where Grady mistakingly gets more Social Security checks than he's entitled to.

This was one of the series of episodes when Redd Foxx was absent, and I think this episode shows the genius of the show's writers. I especially like the patriotic and all-American justifications Grady made in the face of Lamont's objections to keep the checks.

Another favorite of mine was when Lamont took karate lessons to defend himself from a much bigger guy, Jo Jo Jackson, whose girl he was dating.

The scenes where Grady warns Jo Jo that Lamont is mentally unbalanced, and the subsequent "fight" scene between Lamont and Jo Jo are priceless.

For some reason, I liked the episodes where Fred was absent even better, as I thought Grady was a gentler and kinder version of Fred. I love the goodhearted, dimwitted Grady.

The ratings at the time would seem to bear it out, as the show ranked even higher when Foxx was absent.

And Esther, boy, what can you say? The on screen antagonism between Fred and Esther have to surpass any other in any comedy series, including Fred and Ethel, in terms of sheer hilarity ("Watch it sucker!").

It's hard to imagine that in real life LaWanda Page and Redd Foxx were close friends from childhood.

Anyway, I like all the episodes. It brings back memories of when we first came to this country, and my parents and I would sit down and watch them. Even though we didn't know all the peculiarities and slang at the time, we'd still laugh. That's testimony to the show's power of transcendence.

Rollo, Julio, Smitty and Hoppy, Bubba, etc, where all great as supporting cast.

I still get nostalgia whenever I hear the opening music.

In my opinion,"Sanford and Son" beat "All in the Family" hands down. The opening music was certainly waay better than the purposely horrible and ear piercing duet between Edith and Archie.

And even though "All in the Family" may have dealt with more real life issues such as rape, "Sanford and Son" was funnier by a mile! And really that's why I watched these shows; not to be reminded of life's ugly side.

Too bad Fred and Archie weren't neighbors. I always fantasized about what their exchanges might have been. If there was anyone who could've countered Archie in terms of bigotism, it was Fred. They were mirror reflections of one another, albeit the difference in color.

That would've been a dream match!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Mixing Archie Bunker with vintage Cosby
jsegurola28 October 2003
Don't know the extent of Foxx's input on the scripts (he is credited) but you can see his hand all over the place. It's like Archie Bunker in the wits of vintage Bill Cosby genious, -(Rememeber Cosby's visit to the dentist monologue and "To Russell My Brother...",) but Cosby's extraordinary humor was always Jello clean... Foxx saw not that line.

According to IMDB "The big one" finally did him. But not before he made his mark. And of the kind that a decade earlier was only being done by Lenny Bruce and, today, Chris Rock. Don Rickles had license to use it all throughout... A great performance by Foxx and Grady (Mayo), cashing in on the Sanford "Empire". A nice fun show. One of few really Big Ones.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hands down, the best sitcom of all time!
Rayvyn9 August 2002
Trying to some up Sanford and Son in a word would be hard. I can some it up in three words. Gut busting funny! Redd Foxx is truly a genius. Norman Lear and Bud Yorkin really knew what they were dong when they hired the cast. The acting is very well done. The show dealt with a lot of issues over the years and Sanford and Son doesn't get a lot of the credit it deserves. All in the Family was also great and it tackled more social issues so it will always get more attention. However, Sanford and Son was just a lot more funny.

My all time favorite on the show besides Fred was Grady. Grady Wilson was hilarious. One of my favorite episodes was when Grady thought the wild parsley he planted was actually marijuana. He had the cops eating the evidence. Now you will never see on any of today's shows something close to this. The show was original and pushed the limits. It isn't politically correct like all of today's shows are. I agree with other commentators that if you put Sanford and Son up against many of the current sitcoms, Sanford and Son would blow them away. Very few sitcoms today push the envelope. They are too politically correct and the storylines are too predictable. They copy each other. I wish some producers would have the good sense to copy some of Sanford and Son's plots.

I was bummed to hear that TV Land wasn't gong to show the shows any more. I couldn't buy all the episodes on tape because it would take too long and cost way too much. Then when I heard they were putting the show out on DVD, I jumped up and said, `Good Goobily Goop!' I just bought the first season and can't wait for the rest. I just wish they could have added some extras like interviews and biographies to the DVD. The video and audio aren't great but it's good enough.

Sanford and Son is TV at it's best!

Rayvyn
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
another classic comedy show.
dm-625399 June 2019
Saw Sanford and Son when it premiered. I was in public school then. Forty years later this classic never gets old even in reruns. Fred Sanford was always my favorite character. And Redd Foxx never disappointed me.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Beloved Classic Television Comedy
brian_m_hass13 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This American sitcom is about a father and son who own a scrap business called Sanford and Son Salvage. The son, Lamont Sanford, usually played the straight man to the more comical father, Fred G. Sanford. The father was played by comedian, Redd Foxx. This sitcom was based on the British sitcom, "Steptoe and Son."

The show always tended to keep the mood light and fun. The character of Fred G. Sanford could occasionally be grouchy; but, he was also more relaxed and fun-loving than his son, Lamont. Whenever Fred came up with schemes, his son frequently assumed the position of moral high ground and preached to Fred about whatever it was that he was doing. The father and son often engaged in role-reversal, with the son acting as the father's disciplinarian. Although Lamont frequently preached morality to his father, he sometimes defended one of his own friends against his father's moral criticisms. Fred was outspoken and never feared burning bridges with anybody whom he did not like. If Fred thought that the person was ugly or irritating, he would tell that person what he thought in the most insulting (and humorous) manner possible. In many ways, Fred was a something of a geriatric teenager who simply wanted to have fun.

The show featured a great cast of characters. Fred's friends, Bubba and Grady, frequently paid visits to the Sanford home. Aunt Esther was Fred's feisty and religious sister-in-law, whom Fred routinely antagonized. Julio was the Sanfords' friendly and easy-going Puerto Rican neighbor, whom Fred frequently insulted with racial slurs. Fred and Lamont both dated women who often appeared on the show.

The show occasionally touched on sensitive topics. The issue of racism was sometimes addressed on the show; but, it would often be dealt with by poking fun at its absurdities. The sitcom always kept humor at the forefront; and, the show's mood always remained light-hearted.

This sitcom was easily one of the funniest American television shows from the 1970's. The show was a great platform for displaying Redd Foxx's comical talents. The interactions of the characters as well as the catch phrases were always a lot of fun.

"Sanford and Son" is highly recommended.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Work of Genius...
Zaptharo11 March 2008
Growing up in the 1980s and early 1990s, I had no intentions to think of any show before that era. It's not that I didn't like them, I just felt that the shows I grew up on were the best. A couple of years ago I grew weary of the state of television and decided to find something that would satisfy my taste buds. When I found Sanford & Son being aired on TV Land, I was surprised. I never knew beforehand that so many good sitcoms came out of the 1970s, and this is no exception.

Originally based off of "Steptoe & Son", Sanford & Son revolves around a junk dealer and his son living in a neighborhood in Watts, Los Angeles. Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx) is a sarcastic and stubborn person who's plans usually backfire, causing trouble. His son Lamont Sanford (Demond Wilson) usually has to complete tasks and order his own father to complete jobs. It was very amusing to see the two argue against each other and have to become loyal in order for things to come back to normal.

But there are a couple other interesting characters in the series worth mentioning. Aunt Esther (LaWanda Page), who is sister of Fred Sanford's late wife Elizabeth, is a Baptist who just can't seem to handle Fred too well. In most cases they spew insults to each other such as "Gorilla Face" and "Fish-Eyed Fool", and what makes this funny is that it never gets old. I always found myself laughing whenever Fred gave Aunt Esther a dirty joke. Grady Wilson (Whitman Mayo), who is Fred's closest friend, usually acts as his "sidekick" and is involved in get rich schemes. Unfortunately, Redd Foxx left the show for some episodes (due to a feud with the producers) and thus Grady had to fill in, in order to watch the junk yard business. Many characters appear in the show, and not one of them is really that boring to watch.

I recommend this to anyone who enjoys the classic sitcoms, well before Cable TV and Reality TV started getting out of hand. I consider the 1970s to be the "Golden Age of Sitcoms," because that was when barriers were broken and actors displayed their best talents to make themselves stand out. All in the Family, M*A*S*H, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, Happy Days, Good Times, The Jeffersons, Three's Company, Different Strokes, Taxi, and numerous others. Sanford & Son puts most of the 1990s and 2000s sitcoms to shame. It was a stroke of genius, and Redd Foxx was a one of a kind individual. No one beforehand thought a stand up comic would be good in his own show. But he did it, in a big way. It's still a hit among old and young generations alike, and if Sanford & Son still lives on even after over 35 years, then you know that it's a classic. Like Archie Bunker, Fred Sanford is a unique person.

So don't waste your time watching the Disney Channel or anything that comes out of Reality TV. Sanford & Son is a timeless sitcom that will keep you laughing. Highly recommended.

9 out of 10.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good
jeremy37 September 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Towards the end, one got a little tired of Redd Foxx's same lines, especially about Aunt Esther. However, this comedy was very good. First of all, it was after the Watts Riot. Lear wanted to have a positive portrayal of the inner city. Sanford and Son succeeded without being patronizing. Fred Sanford was a bit of a trickster, but he had a good heart. He may have been about making money and surviving, but eventually his conscience would get to him. Demond Wilson is the serious and responsible son. He is also keeping Sanford from getting out of control. There are very funny characters, like Shady Grady and Rollo. There is the white police officer who can't get anything street slang correct. He says "just gravy", instead of "Just groovy". Sanford still mourns the loss of his wife Elizabeth and argues with his Aunt Esther. He has every insult imaginable for her. The best episodes were the last ones. Sanford and Son are in Hawaii and end up in a "Hawaii Five-O" type situation. The show displays the many good sides to the inner city. It shows that an ordinary junk man does have a heart and a personality to him that can engage the audience.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great for the First Few Years. The Last Two Seasons Are Awful!
dizexpat18 March 2018
Do yourself a favor and skip the last two seasons of "Sanford and Son" in which the scripts look like they were written by ten-year-olds.

But prior to that it was one of the greatest shows of the 70s. Redd Foxx steals the show and Demond Wilson plays the necessary but thankless role of straight man. There are fewer topical jokes than in "All in the Family" which means it ages better. Some Norman Lear shows play like Tonight Show monologues. Funny at one time but obscure to future audiences. "Sanford and Son" had an appeal that transcended race. It connected with everyone and was one of the highest rated shows of its time. It began with just two people but added more characters little by little. Bubba, Aunt Esther, Donna, Grady, Julio, Smitty and Hoppy. If Fred's fake heart attacks were the best running gag, Julio's pet goat Chico was probably the second best. But those last two seasons--Wow! Are they bad!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed