My Six Loves (1963) Poster

(1963)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Wonderful Family Movie
gpadillo29 May 2003
I saw this movie at a drive-in theatre with my family when I was 4 years old. I remembered parts of it, most notably the six orphans living in the woods behind Debbie Reynolds' house. Those memories have stayed with me my entire life, but couldn't remember the name of it, or its stars.

While channel surfing the other night, it was just beginning, and I didn't recognize it (I'd completely forgotten the beginning of the film). Within minutes the hair was standing on the back of my neck as I recognized this as "that movie" I saw almost 40 years ago! I stayed up half the night watching it, and remembering my childhood.

Hopefully this will make it onto DVD. As a jaded 40 something year old, I was surprised how moved I was by this little movie, and I can't get the song "It's a Darn Good Thing" outta my head!

Wonderful family viewing.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cute!
Monika-54 January 2000
This was a sweet little flick starring Debbie Reynolds as an exhausted Broadway star taking a rest in her country home. There she finds love, acceptance and contentment that fame, money and her career could never give her.

This movie is not available on video, so try to catch it when your local stations air the late night movie. Or try American Movie Classics. It's worth it.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantastic comedy about a New York star who finds the meaning of true happiness in rural Connecticut
n_farnam15 April 2008
I don't quite know why I loved this movie, but I did! It had some great one-liners and everyone was perfect in their respective roles. Eileen Heckart was hilarious as the personal assistant to Debbie Reynolds and Mary McCarty and Max Showalter were equally hilarious as the beer-guzzling, welfare collecting and neglectful "step parents" to the kids. When they showed up in their broken down trailer, burping from drinking too much, the Reverand asked them "Can we help you?" Heckart looked up at him and said "Are you serious?" Alice Ghostley was also fantastic as the goldbricking "housekeeper" who was taking care of Debbie Reynolds' Connecticut house while Raynolds lived and worked in New York.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Have always loved this movie
calgal847 October 2014
I have always loved this movie. Is it sophisticated? No. Are there Oscar worthy performances, directing or writing? No. But what it does have is a charming and likable cast, an endearing story line and a happy ending. It is one of the most pleasant of the many feel good light comedies that came out in the early 60s.

If you are looking for deep meaning, this not the movie for you. If you spend your movie watching time picking apart flaws in movies, yes, you will find plenty in this movie. But if you just want to enjoy a movie and feel good when you are finished watching it, I can highly recommend this movie.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
There's no rest for our Debbie.....
mark.waltz19 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
After a decade of song and dance at MGM and front page scandal, Debbie Reynolds was ripe for a change in her career, and while some of her best work was still ahead of her, she took on a variety of projects which showed off her easy going personality to great affect. One of the most underrated is "My Six Loves", a family comedy where she is a Broadway star in great need of a rest who retires to the country and ends up taking in some abandoned children who change her life for good. The situation comedy set-up is obvious, and in the hands of a lesser actress could be silly and predictable. But Debbie makes it fun, and the kids are cute, too.

There are a ton of great character performances here, with the raspy Eileen Heckart as her cynical companion, Alice Ghostley as a lazy housekeeper, Alice Pearce as the grouchy school bus driver, John McGiver as a finger-wagging judge, Jim Backus as the local sheriff, Mary McCarthy and Max Showalter as the Ma and Pa Kettle like couple who abandoned their own kids, Cliff Robertson as the local priest, and David Jansen as Reynolds' love interest. Debbie's initial reluctance to have anything to do with these waifs quickly disappears, leading way to an adorable musical number ("It's a Darn Good Thing") that has its corny moments but is ultimately charming. So while critics might have found the idea of a single Broadway star taking in some dirty kids a bit cloying, less cynical audiences can enjoy it for the lovable fluff that it is.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heartwarming!
pitagirl3814 August 2001
I just loved this movie! Exhausted Debbie Reynolds goes to her country home to find two inept housekeepers and six little orphans. It's one of those movies that makes you wish you could find a nice little town like that to live in. The musical numbers are a lot of fun too. Even my children love to watch this movie.

I haven't yet looked to see if it's available on video, but if it is, you can be sure I'll buy a copy.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Broadway Debbie gets a family
bkoganbing10 October 2013
Debbie Reynolds gets a pair of co-stars and a batch of kids to share the screen with in My Six Loves. She plays a prominent stage actress who out of fatigue and doctor's orders retreats to her house in Connecticut before embarking on any new projects.

Her co-stars are theatrical producer David Janssen who's produced a couple of her shows and the Reverend Cliff Robertson who ministers a church in her Connecticut neighborhood. But her real problem is a family of six kids who have squatted on her land, left there by their parents.

Of course she and girl Friday Eileen Heckart take the kids in and before long the idea of a family kind of grows on her and it conflicts with her career. Robertson helps out quite willingly and even Janssen as gruff as his character is also pitches in.

There are a couple of beautiful performances by Max Showalter and Mary McCarty who come back to claim the kids. As it turns out they were dumped on them by her sister and they keep them around for those six welfare checks that come in. Showalter and McCarty are a true pair of white trash bottom feeders who get quite a lesson in justice by Judge John McGiver.

This was a perfect film for Debbie Reynolds. I think only Doris Day could have handled it maybe as well had she been cast. It holds up well today and I highly recommend it for family audiences.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Gower Champion's Talent Doesn't Translate to Film
OtherDaryl1 August 2005
Caught this on late-night cable and stopped flipping when I caught Champion's director card in the opening credits. Now I understand why he wasn't given Birdie or Dolly to translate from brilliant Broadway stagings. Debbie Reynolds heads a cast of gold, including Eileen Hecket, Cliff Robertson, Alice Ghostly, Hans Conried and John McGiver. Unfortunately the plot is less than a standard Doris Day flic of the time - worse than wooden dialogue. Edith Head provided the dowdiest "star" wardrobe of her career (if they are her designs - she may just carry the credit as head of the costuming department). Gratuitous musical number mid-way through ingratiating Reynolds character to her new-found and distrusting orphans.

A curiosity at best.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Pretty good movie, oddly overlooked - why?
rooster_davis18 August 2011
For some reason, My Six Loves seems to have slipped between the cracks and just doesn't get shown on TV, at least not these days. In brief, it's the story of a show business star who takes a break due to exhaustion - and finds six basically abandoned kids living in her garden shed. Of course the story is going to be about her developing a relationship (or more) with them, I don't have to tell anyone that, it's a given.

There are some rather odd things about this movie that I'd like to point out, concerning one of the kids - a youngster named Billy Hughes Jr. who plays the eldest child and sort of the 'head' of the detached sibling family. Billy Hughes was becoming known in Hollywood for being able to play darker or more intense roles, and while parts of his role here fit him - being able to carry that chip on his shoulder towards God for instance - other parts are such a bad fit that it's painful to watch. There is a musical number where the kids each have to act out something that goes with the song, and young Hughes was clearly not comfortable doing this. As I said, it's painful to watch. It would be like asking someone like Humphrey Bogart to appear in the Do Re Mi song from 'Sound of Music'.

One rather ironic flaw to the movie is that the six kids Reynolds finds in her garden shed have been dumped and are penniless, wearing shabby old clothes... yet young Billy Hughes is sporting a dandy gold ring in 2/3 of his scenes! How that got past the director I can't guess but someone must have been kicking themselves big time when they realized the huge boo-boo of an impoverished kid wearing bling.

Debbie Reynolds was great, she always is. The story is pleasant enough and there have been far worse movies made (and better too). This is a real Hollywood oddity that somehow doesn't get shown anymore. Worth watching just to see it as part of Reynolds' body of work, and for Billy Hughes in his good and not so good moments of the film.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Delightful, light, frothy comedy
milleraj-21 April 2001
Wonderful little flick, with family values, warm fuzzies galore, pleasant moments, and real meaning. Funny and touching, with an outstanding performance by the ever cute Debbie Reynolds. Would never be produced today.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Debbie Does Doris Day and outdoes Doris Day
jayraskin128 August 2015
Debbie Reynolds always brings a lot of energy to her best roles like "Singing in the Rain" "Tammy" and "Molly Brown." Unfortunately, here she plays an actress who is ordered by a doctor at the beginning of the film to rest. The director has Debbie following the doctor's orders, so she is pretty lethargic throughout the movie. Her love interest in the movie is a preacher played by Cliff Robertson (Charley). The erotic undertones that we find in most comedies are missing here. One expected her agent played by David Janssen ("The Fugitive)to be the love rival, but again this is aimed at a Sunday School audience, so all hints and traces of sex have been eliminated. This is the opposite of the most enjoyable Doris Day comedies, where hints of sex are everywhere tempting the pure, but tempted Miss Day. This leaves the six children that she finds hiding out on her Connecticut estate to carry the movie. This is perhaps the film's biggest disappointment. The kids are more obnoxious than adorable. Debbie seems to become attached to them simply because nobody else wants him, not really a good reason to embrace six children. The movie relies on an ice-making machine gone wild for its biggest laughs. It comes off as silly more than funny.

The movie plays more like a pilot for a 1960's family sit-com. It is kind of a lack-luster version of "Please Don't Eat the Daisies" (Doris Day and David Niven) which was far superior. In fact the sit-com of "Please Don't Eat the Daisies" (1965-67) with Pat Crowley was also much better.

Mary McCarty and Max Showalter do show up later in the movie as antagonists and they do bring some laughs as low-life would-be parents to the six kids. Unfortunately, it is too little, too late, to save the movie.

The movie gets some brownie points for being a family comedy, but the comedy is so lackluster that only younger kids (6-12) might enjoy it.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Meh
TumnusFalls29 May 2016
I suppose this is a "family movie," but it moves along so slowly I would not expect families to stay around to watch it.

A New York stage star goes to her house in Connecticut to relax, discovers a troop of six kids on her property living in a garage, and with the help of a young pastor and a cynical New York producer, finds it in her heart to help them out in life, especially when their mean, drunk parents come around to "take them back." It has the elements of a good movie. Debbie Reynolds, Cliff Robertson, David Janssen, Eileen Heckart, even Hans Conreid. But it just falls flat. The funny parts are not all that funny. The slow dramatic parts are slow and dramatic, with the heartfelt revelation by Debbie Reynolds that she can just kinda adopt these six kids who will instantly bond with her.

Some good moments - the movie song she sings with the kids is fun.

And her outfits are quite nice. There is one scene where she is wearing a somewhat mint-green dress and an emerald necklace, which make the color of her eyes pop out, and the pink-champagne wig she wears also helps.

But while it's not a disaster, it is just a movie without really anything at stake.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Six brats
MissClassicTV21 November 2015
I love talented child actors. I love fun family movies. I love sassy romantic comedy. This movie features none of that.

Debbie Reynolds plays a Broadway actress who finds six kids and welcomes them into her home because they need a place to stay. The kids are obnoxious and out of control. Cliff Robertson as the local reverend who helps her with the kids is supposed to be charming but he comes off as didactic. I guess that's part of being a preacher. At one point, he says something like, "She's a woman; she should start acting like one." I was completely turned off by it. He wants her to give up her career in New York, stay in rural Connecticut and adopt six bratty kids. I guess the problem isn't really Cliff Robertson - it's the writing. As the entire premise of the movie is that she finds true love, then the objects of her love ought to be appealing. Nothing the reverend or the kids do are appealing to me.

There are some high points to the movie. Reynolds is really cute and likable. She evens gets to sing a nice little tune. Some of the supporting characters are rather good. Eileen Heckart has some very funny lines that she delivers well. David Janssen is funny and charming. He is underutilized in this film. Alice Ghostley in a small role as a housekeeper is very, very funny.

Perhaps it is just a product of its time. It does not hold up well.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Cute Family Comedy...
ijonesiii13 January 2006
MY SIX LOVES was an entertaining family comedy from the 1960's that stars Debbie Reynolds as a musical comedy star who is sent to her country home after being told by doctors that she is exhausted and needs major time off. She and her assistant (Eileen Heckart)arrive at her country home and shortly after her arrival, Reynolds discovers six orphans secretly living on her property. The story is routine, the situations predictable and the story pretty much moves in the expected directions, but it's a relatively entertaining journey with Reynolds at the peek of her charm, receiving able assistance from Heckart, Cliff Robertson as a neighborhood minister, and a surprisingly funny David Janssen as her fast-talking agent. The kids are cute and work well with the star. It ain't Chekhov, but it will keep you awake for 90 minutes.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed