The 7th Voyage of Sinbad (1958) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
111 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
If you have forgotten what being a child was like, watch this and unlock some of that magic.
uds32 June 2002
Arguably, Harryhausen's finest moment. I can't off the top of my head nominate one that was better! It had it all, adventure, fantasy, heroics, monsters, and Harryhausen's stop-frame wizardry that puts half the CGI effects right out of business.

I too, saw it as a child and along with JASON AND THE ARGONAUTS, THE GOLDEN VOYAGE OF SINBAD and CLASH OF THE TITANS, bought it years later and played it to standing room only, in our lounge throughout the kids childhood. Lucky aren't they?

The cyclops was the ultimate magic and I only wish my children could have seen the original theatrical screening with which television cannot compete. The film is still there but the sense of impending wonder (sitting there in a blackened theater) cannot be replicated on the small screen.

What a legacy to leave the world!
46 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Astonishing in my youth!
Hitchcoc15 March 2006
One of the nice things about being a little older is that I can remember the first time I saw movies like this and not think of them as schmaltzy or tacky. They were the state of the art in special effects (thanks to the likes of Ray Harreyhausen) and they were absolutely captivating. With computer generated creatures, we have gone so far beyond these things, but when I go to a Harry Potter movie or a Lord of the Rings movie (wonderful films), I look at the faces of the kids. There seems to be no wonderment at all. We have been fed such a constant diet that we don't look beyond the magic. This is a great story with wizards and heroes and mythical monsters and skeletons fighting. I know the Sinbad stories from the Arabian Nights and there is a lot of borrowing from every avenue of folklore and mythology. They really don't follow the book. But when I was in seventh grade, I couldn't care less. This is a quest and they made the getting there a real treat.
44 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Dazzling Odyssey!
BaronBl00d30 March 2000
Captain Sinbad must save a miniature princess and the peace between two kingdoms in this monumental adventure film from producer Charles Schneer and director Nathan Juran. Sinbad must get the shell of the legendary Roc's egg on Colossa Island as an ingredient for evil magician Sokurah's potion that will bring the princess back to size. Along the way, we are treated to glimpses of cyclops, a dragon, a fighting skeleton, a snake woman, and some of the greatest stop-motion animation techniques to grace the screen. Ray Harryhausen does a splendid job with his animation and makes this film a true joy to watch. The acting is very good overall; Kerwin Matthews plays a very agile and affable Sinbad, Richard Eyer(from The Invisible Boy) plays a sad genie, and Torin Thatcher is superb as the villainous magician bent on supreme power. A magical voyage indeed!
30 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great family film
abdullah-513 September 2004
The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad is one of my all time favourite movies. Great cast, great villain, great script and just the right balance of absolutely fantastic Ray Harryhausen special effects (without being excessive or absurd - as in the ridiculous and completely unbelievable baboon who appears to star in the deeply inferior 'Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger', 1977).

Kerwyn Mathews stars as Sinbad minus the traditional beard, but compensates by showing off as much chest hair and his forearms as possible. Critics have describe him as a little wooden but I disagree. I thought he was just great for the part and plays it well. Its not Shakespeare after all. My three year old son still joins in shouting 'Parisa !' and 'Sakura !' whenever we watch this movie.

The gorgeous Katherine Grant is a beautiful Princess named Parisa (and not in a slightly sleazy, ever so tartish fashion that we see foisted on Caroline Munro in the 1974 'Golden Voyage of Sinbad').

Torin Thatcher, born in Bombay and therefore possibly the token 'Asian' in this flick, is absolutely marvelous as Sakura, the evil wizard or magician (it's never made quite clear what side of the fence he sits on, or why). He exudes evil even before it made clear that he's a resident baddie.

This is a really great family movie above all else. Everyone except the eternally idle, the immature and clinically over-cynical teenagers can sit through this and find something enjoyable - even the music and scenery (the caption reads: Bagdad, but in fact it's Granada, Spain). I might also add that it makes a very pleasant change to see a movie in English where the bloke who says 'Allah' in his sentences is not some dreadful caricatured half-mad terrorist looking to kill innocents. Its good to be able to sit down with the kids and watch a film that everyone likes for a change.

My only, only complaint with this film is the silly voice they have given the child-genie. Very unnecassary and distracting from an otherwise excellent piece of cinema viewing. Five stars or ten, whichever is highest.
27 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Delightful Adventure with Cyclops, Dragon, Magician, Magic Lamp and Jinni
claudio_carvalho29 October 2010
While sailing with Princess Parisa (Kathryn Grant) to Baghdad to their wedding, Sinbad (Kerwin Mathews) finds the Colossa Island and anchors his vessel to get supplies for the starving crew. Sinbad and his men help the magician Sokurah (Torin Thatcher) to escape from a Cyclops that attacks them, and Sokurah uses a magic lamp with a boy jinni to help them; however, their boat sinks and he loses the lamp. Sokurah offers a small fortune to Sinbad to return to Colossa, but he does not accept and heads to Baghdad. The citizens and the Caliph of Baghdad (Alec Mango) are celebrating the peace with Chandra, and they offer a feast to the Sultan of Chandra (Harold Kasket). Sakurah requests a ship and crew to return to Colossa but the Caliph refuses to jeopardize his countrymen. However, the treacherous magician shrinks the princess and when the desperate Sinbad seeks him out, he tells that he needs to return to Colossa to get the ingredient necessary for the magic potion. But Sinbad has only his friend Harufa (Alfred Brown) to travel with him, and he decides to enlist a doubtful crew in the prison of Baghdad, in the beginning of his dangerous voyage to Colossa to save the princess and avoid the eminent war between Chandra and Baghdad.

This is the first time that I have watched "The 7th Voyage of Sinbad", a delightful adventure with Cyclops, dragon, magician, magic lamp and jinni. The special effects are fantastic for a 1958 film and I have really loved this movie. It is intriguing to see the magician foresee the destruction of Baghdad, with wrecked buildings and women and children murdered. In the end, I have had the sensation that I have lost something in my childhood missing this pleasant and entertaining movie when I was a child. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Simbad e a Princesa" ("Sinbad and the Princess")
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Age has hardly dimmed the excitement, spectacle and wonder of this fantasy classic
DrLenera27 September 2004
This truly action packed fantasy is as fun nearly 50 on from the time of it's making. Out of the films that were produced by Charles H. Schneer and featured special effects by Ray Harryhausen, Jason And The Argonauts is usually named as the best [certainly that was the film where Harryhausen perfected his techniques],but Sinbad is not far behind. It's far simpler but provides just as much entertainment. Of course some of the dialogue is a little hokey, but who watches films like this for their dialogue? Dialogue here exists simply to help propel the plot forward at as fast a pace as possible.

The amount of action scenes crammed into this less-then-90 min. film is astounding, and despite this the film still retains a delightful sense of wonder, as one wonders what fantastic creation will show up next. Yes, some of the matt work looks a bit poor ,and the creatures are a little jerky, but the design and execution of the snake woman, cyclopes, rocs, dragon etc. is still astounding for the time, and some sequences, such as the battle with the the first cyclops and the duel with the skeleton, are still very exciting.

Criticisms of the acting may be partially justified, but Torin Thatcher is as menacing a villain as one can wish for, and of course there's also Bernard Herrmann's extremely inventive score. Schneer and Harryhausen would later make two further Sinbad films, and there was a semi- remake several years later, Jack The Giant Killer. All three are fun, but none have the simple purity of this classic adventure.
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Harryhausen+Herrmann Magic
EdgarST18 June 2006
When I was a kid, the experience of watching "The 7th Voyage of Sinbad" started my admiration for the music of Bernard Herrmann, and confirmed my love for fantasy cinema (and stop-motion animation), in an unconscious way. Before this, I had seen "It Came from Beneath the Sea" (1955), a B&W movie in which an octopus created by Ray Harryhausen climbed the Golden Gate Bridge... But this time Harryhausen's creatures were in full color, the exotic story was inspired by tales from the "Arabian Nights", and the magic was enhanced by Herrmann's score. The film had princess Parisa reduced to less than four inches, cyclops running crazy, a dragon, a bird with two heads, an evil magician called Sokura, a boy genie, and the celebrated skeleton duel, but I was mainly impressed by Sokura's act of magic during the Sultan's ball, crossing a snake with Parisa's aide (actress Nana de Herrera, who looked weird even before the transformation.) The Harryhausen-Herrmann collaboration originated two more Sinbad movies, and other favorites, as "Mysterious Island", "Jason and the Argonauts" and "The 3 Worlds of Gulliver", but "The 7th Voyage of Sinbad" is number one in my list of the collaborators' films. There is a moment in "Star Wars", which is a direct quotation of the movie: when Luke Skywalker and princess Leia cross above an abyss, as when Sinbad and Parisa escape from Sokura's lair.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of Harryhausen's finest
chris_gaskin1232 October 2002
Most people have movies that they remember watching when they were infants and never forget them. This is one of mine, along with King Kong (1933) and One Million Years BC.

The stars of this movie are of course Ray's stop-motion monsters. We get to see several cyclops, a dragon, a giant roc, a baby roc, a snake woman and, best of all, a skeleton.

The movie's cast includes Kerwin Mathews as Sinbad and Torin Thatcher as the mad magician, Sokurah. These play great parts, as does Richard Eyer as the Genie. The theme music and score by Bernard Herrmann is magnificent. The movie was directed by Nathan Juran (The Deadly Mantis).

This is the best of Harryhausen's Sinbad movies and one of his best movies overall, along with Jason and the Argonauts.

If you haven't seen this, you are missing out. Fantastic.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Classic fantasy adventure from the 50s.
BA_Harrison24 December 2006
After his wife-to-be, Princess Parisa (Kathryn Grant), is shrunk by an evil magician, Sinbad (Kerwin Mathews) undertakes a perilous journey to a mysterious monster inhabited island, in an attempt to restore her to full size (and who can blame him-she's a total babe and wears the kind of outfit most red-blooded men wish they could get their woman into).

Almost fifty years on, The 7th Voyage of Sinbad may seem dated (particularly for those only familiar with CGI monsters) but, in my opinion, it still has the power to captivate and amaze. With Ray Harryhausen's wonderful stop motion effects (which include a cyclops, a dragon, a snake-woman, a giant two-headed bird and an animated skeleton) and a timeless magical tale of swashbuckling heroics, director Nathan Juran delivers a classic slice of fantasy cinema.

A cracking opening gets straight to the action with Sinbad and his men encountering bad-guy Sokurah when their ship is blown off course and ends up at the island of Colossa. The wicked magician is being chased by a cyclops, but is rescued by Sinbad and his men, who help him to safety aboard their vessel. Sokurah wishes to be returned to the island in order to get his hands on a magic lamp (now in the possession of the cyclops), but Sinbad is headed for Bagdad where he is to be married to the gorgeous Parisa, and ain't nothing going to stop him from tying the knot. Nothing, that is, 'cept for his woman being reduced to the size of a small doll.

Not realising that Sokurah is to blame for her diminutive stature, Sinbad is conned into returning to Colossa, where the nasty magician says he can create a potion which will return Parisa to normal.

Great fun from start to finish, The 7th Voyage is packed full of great scenes (my favourite being the Cyclops preparing a tasty snack--spit-roasted sailor) and is perfect fare for fantasy-loving kids and adults alike. And, if you like this, seek out the Golden Voyage of Sinbad, which I think is even better.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Harryhausen's BEST!
hammjp28 March 2000
An adventure for the ages. Forget that this film was done in 1958, it will still awe the most jaded viewer. This is Ray Harryhausen's very best work. The stop-motion effects are awesome. But, even with all of the eye candy, it's a great story brought to life by fine, serious performances by Kerwin Matthews, Kathryn Grant-Crosby, and especially by Torin Hatcher who has to be the creepiest and most evil villain there is on celluloid - including Darth Vader. If you are an Adventure/Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie fan and you haven't seen this film...Shame On You! Go out and buy it, rent it, whatever - Just see it!
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dynamic Dynamation.
hitchcockthelegend1 August 2009
Captain Sindbad and his crew land on the island Colossa and come under attack from a Cyclops. Aided by the magician Sokurah and his magic lamp, they manage to escape back on board with their lives intact. However, the lamp which contains a helpful genie, is left behind in the Cyclops' hands. Once back in Bagdad, Sokurah sets about getting a crew together to reclaim the lamp off of Colossa, but the chiefs of Bagdad refuse to sanction such action. After failing to impress all with his magic tricks, Sokurah shrinks the princess of Bagdad to the size of a hand, then craftily offers to restore the princess to normal the next day. Only trouble being that the ingredients needed for the cure are of course on Colossa. So Sinbad and his men, and the dastardly magician, set sail for an adventure that is fraught with danger...

From the land beyond beyond - From the world past hope and fear - I bid you genie now appear.

Stop-motion maestro Ray Harryhausen, for his first film in colour, delves into the mythical legend of Sinbad The Sailor. Thus, along with director Nathan Juran, putting life into the Sinbad legacy that had been viewed as a no go area after less than favourable responses to prior attempts at the legend. Though not adhering to the Persian fable source, the 7th Voyage was nothing like this one and The Rocs for instance actually appear in the 5th voyage fable, Juran and Harryhausen turn the merchant seaman of the origin into a dashing hero figure. Someone that children and adults of both sexes can easily get on side with.

Visually it's a treat, admire as Sinbad (in the form of a handsome sword swashing Kerwin Matthews) does battle with Cyclops', Rocs and a Harryhausen calling card, the Skeleton. Throw in a fire breathing Dragon, a genie of the lamp, a pretty princess (Kathryn Grant) and a devilishly creepy magician villain (the always great value Torin Thatcher) and the result is unadulterated joy. Some churlish folk will point to being able to see the lines between the real footage and Harryhausen's marvellous creatures, but quite frankly those people should be rounded up and sent to live on Colossa with all the other monsters. For to not appreciate the craft and genius on offer here is as sad as it is foolish. And with master composer Bernard Herrmann laying a brisk mystical flecked score over proceedings, it's a treat for the ears as well.

When you consider the budget afforded this production, it's high quality film making, and it's now, along with the two sequels that followed it, still being enjoyed by those of us who remember before computers controlled such magical things. 8/10
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Never fails to amaze
beresfordjd7 October 2005
While not so keen on Kerwin Matthews this film never palls for me. I first saw it at about age 12 and made a point of sitting thru it 3 times (in the days when you could do that). I then saw it every time it came round our local cinemas (still 2/3 times). I just loved it. As I grew up I still remembered it fondly -particularly the fantastic score by the genius Bernard Herrmann.This score is second only to Psycho in my opinion. Ray Harryhausen should have been awarded many Oscars for many films but I think his work has always been underrated. Why I prefer his stuff to CGI escapes me-maybe it is the human touch (like real drummers as opposed to drum machines) . I could see the point of a remake, but it would be cool for the remake to be stop-motion too rather than CGI. Is there anyone who could do it? Maybe Aardman in serious mode would be up to the challenge? Suspend your disbelief and become a child again. Enjoy this movie for what it is and do not try to compare it with mega-budget blockbusters. A special mention for Richard Eyer-great child actor and Torin Thatcher who is the best villain ever-he terrified me as a kid!! As an addition to my original post I now own the DVD and you know I never watch it-whats that all about? Still watch it when it appears on TV though!!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An exciting and hugely enjoyable fantasy adventure treat
Woodyanders18 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Courageous sailor Sinbad (an appealingly earnest Kerwin Matthews) embarks on a perilous quest to break a spell put on his beloved fair maiden Princess Parisa (ravishing brunette beauty Kathryn Grant) by cunning and wicked powerful magician Sokurah (grandly played with lip-smacking aplomb by Torin Thatcher). Nathan Juron's strong, robust direction maintains a steady pace throughout and stages the action set pieces with considerable rip-snorting brio. Ray Harryhausen's marvelously vivid and lifelike stop-motion animation creatures include a ferocious gigantic Cyclops, a vicious two-headed giant bird beast, an angry fire-breathing dragon, an exotic four-armed snake woman, and, best of all, a lethal sword-wielding skeleton who fights Sinbad at the film's incredibly exciting conclusion. Kenneth Kolb's smart, colorful script has a few nice gritty touches (Sinbad's crew is largely made up of hardened criminals and the Cyclops puts a screaming man on a splint over a fire so he can cook and eat him). Richard Eyer delivers a charming performance as a sad imprisoned little boy genie. Bernard Herrmann's lively, rousing, flavorsome score, Wilkie Cooper's rich, vibrant color cinematography, and the engagingly sincere tone are likewise on the money excellent and impressive. A real delight.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Your eyes are mightier than all your father's armies."
utgard1411 July 2014
When Sinbad (Kerwin Mathews) refuses to help the sorcerer Sokurah (Torin Thatcher) retrieve his magic lamp from a Cyclops, Sokurah shrinks Sinbad's love Princess Parisa (Kathryn Grant) to the size of a doll. The potion to restore her to her natural size requires the shell of a bird's egg from the island of Colossa where the Cyclops lives. Now Sinbad has no choice but to journey to Colossa and face the monster to save his lady.

Fantasy adventure classic from director Nathan Juran and featuring the awesome stop-motion special effects from legendary Ray Harryhausen. Torin Thatcher is great as the nefarious wizard. Child actor Richard Eyer as the genie in the lamp is goofy but amusing. The leads are both fine. It's the special effects that are the real star with the justifiably famous climactic battle between Sinbad and a skeleton warrior a highlight.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic!
loufalce28 November 2006
Awesome,first class fantasy adventure . After returning to Bagdad the evil magician Sakura has reduced princess Parisa to doll like porportions. Getting a crew together, Sinbad sets sail for the island of Colossa to get a piece of the eggshell from the giant 2 headed bird that Sakura needs to restore her to normal size. This great fantasy adventure features the brilliant stop-motion effects of Ray Harryhausen. The cobra woman, the Roc, the really nasty Cyclops, the dragon and the famous dueling skeleton are masterpieces of cinema FX that still have the power to amaze.Add the wonderful evocative score by Bernard Hermann to the movie and you have a film that is pretty hard to beat on any level. Matthews is fine as Sinbad as is Kathryn Grant as the princess. One look at Thorin Thacher as the evil Sakura and you know there will be trouble. The genie is not a giant purple creation like Robin Williams in the Disney flick, but a young 11 year old kid. Needless to say he comes through when he is needed. Watching this movie makes me feel like an 10 year old kid at a Saturday matinée.The best of its lot, even better than the similar Jason and the Argonauts,-a fine film in its own right -also done by the same team. One question- how does the traditional Middle Eastern dhow, the ship with the triangular sails in the opening shots turn into a square sailed 17th century galleon for the rest of the film? Did the magician do it? This movie kicks -ss,and the fine Ray Harryhausen FX are still better than any of today's CGI effect.This movie DEFINES fantasy-adventure!!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Legendary adventurer Sinbad must battle many monsters to get the ingredient that will restore his beloved princess to normal size.
Deusvolt5 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
OK let's get this straight: Sinbad is supposed to be an Arab and a Muslim. I bet many people didn't think that when they were cheering for him when they saw this movie as children. The Arabs have many cool stories, many even better than European ones collected and anthologized by the Brothers Grimm.

As with many Arabian fantasy stories, this one involves a "djinn" or genie which according to Arabian myths are powerful spirits inhabiting the desert. They can be evil but sometimes benign or even helpful. The Graeco-Romans appropriated the word and became "genius." Thus we had Nero appealing to his "genius" (his creative spirit guide) when he wanted to sing or compose a poem. But today we use the word to refer to the likes of Einstein.

I saw this movie as an adolescent during Christmas season with all the wonderful memories of childhood Christmases -- festive atmosphere, good food, new clothes and presents. I did find the snake woman summoned by the sorcerer frightening though. But the sword and buckler wielding skeletons were great. The cyclops were coolly disgusting especially when they ate Sinbad's men. The giant roc whose eggshells were the magic ingredient needed to restore the enchanted princess back to normal size were just so-so as monsters. Harryhausen's Dynamation was a wondrous novelty then and it was years later during the movie's re-runs before people noticed the strange glow surrounding the monster figures that gave away the fact that they were somehow superimposed or inserted into the film frames. But seeing it today, with suspended disbelief, the film is still OK and fun to watch even with the current generation of children. It helps too that the genie is a cute little boy with whom youngsters can identify.

My favorite line in the movie is the magical incantation to summon the genie: "From the land beyond, beyond. From the sea past hope and fear. I bid you genie now appear!"
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Epic masterpiece
bts19849 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This film is great. A real classic. It's an epic in every sense of the word, which means that it has the best of its time's epics (the authentic backgrounds and such) but successfully refrains from the worst in most of these epics: the endless runtime from 3 to 4 hours. This one is nearly 90 minutes and that's just about enough. And it tells everything in this moderate runtime with success.

This great little film has a great amount of adventure, nice visuals, amazing special effects (awesome for its time, beautiful even now) talented actors, one of the most gorgeous princesses ever and awesome creatures (such as a dragon, a roc and the cyclops). The idea of the skeleton swordsman is freaky yet cool in a very bizarre way. The idea of the "snakewoman" is interesting too, although I'd pass on that.

Certain scenes, however, are hard for me because of their cruelty. Such is the case of the baby roc birds getting killed and the permanent suffering of the dragon. That dragon is always chained up and when it finally gets free it gets into a vicious fight with a cyclop – in which it gets seriously wounded and then the men brutally kill it, leaving it dying in great agony. I love dragons and that makes it sadder to me to watch those parts. I understand the reasons in both cases, but still it's harsh...

Kerwin Matthews is great as Sinbad. Kathryn Grant was a very beautiful woman and she makes a very charismatic Princess Parisa. Richard Eyer is wonderful as Barani, the young genie. As for Torin Thatcher, he certainly convinces as the evil magician Sokurah.

Title in Portugal: "A 7ª. Viagem de Sinbad".
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Magical adventure that makes your imagination work again!
insomniac_rod10 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Those were the days! I loved these kind of movies when I was a kid. These kind of movies remind you that you have imagination and that means a world where anything is possible.

There's plenty of action, cool animations, extremely cool characters and settings.

There's no problem with this one. Heck I was even scared by the beasts from the caves!

To be honest, this is in my opinion the best Sinbad movie. Makes you feel powerful because of Sinbad's hero attitude. He even has time to save the ladies! ;)

This kind of cinema reminds you that the simple things are the best ones.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Stop-Motion F/X Rule!
flickershows18 April 2004
Remember the genre-defining stop-motion animation in the original 'King Kong'? The filmmakers of 'The 7th Voyage Of Sinbad' did. This film has some of the coolest stop-motion F/X you'll see in any movie. It also has some of the very worst dialogue ever spoken into a microphone. This is not the DVD to rent if you want good acting (there is very little of that) or snappy banter (there is absolutely none of that). Torin Thatcher---as the wicked magician, Sokurah---is the only actor to escape this swashbuckler with any thespianic dignity. Kerwin Mathews' approach to Sinbad is an absolutely unremarkable effort, but you won't want to see this movie for the title character anyway.

The man who SHOULD have been given headlining status was the immortal Ray Harryhausen. A maestro of the obsolete stop-motion technique, Harryhausen was most acclaimed for 'Jason And The Argonauts' (with its epic multi-character skeleton/man sword fight), which came out 5 years later. In 'The 7th Voyage Of Sinbad', he treats us to the sight of a cyclops, a dragon, a giant 2-headed bird, an evil skeleton, and other elaborate creatures. It's the details that count when you're animating figurines one frame at a time. I'd swear the cyclops is grinning & licking his lips when he lashes a hapless intruder to a spit and attempts to roast him over a fire. And you can feel the awesome power at work when the cyclops battles the dragon during the film's exciting climax. Great stuff!

But don't go hunting for this DVD unless you understand that the still-impressive F/X are (along with Bernard Herrmann's oft-imitated score) about the only pluses in this movie. But what pluses! Who cares if Nathan Juran's direction of his actors and the Ken Kolb screenplay made me laugh out loud? The crazy creatures make up for that silliness. If you want to see how Harryhausen paved the way for 'Jurassic Park', 'Star Wars', and 'LOTR', rent this DVD. You'll even get to see a series of documentaries on the disc, with a lengthy piece highlighting most of the F/X master's work.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's Great! Even for the 877th Time
watercrake6 June 2002
Okay, we all have our lil' touchstones that define us, don't we? For guys growing up in the sixties I'm willing to bet a buck that most of us had G.I. Joes and Johnny Sevens, watched Combat, Lost In Space and Thunderbirds regularly on the tube, bought comics for 12 cents, can remember where we were when Kennedy was killed and had a huge, whopping crush on Ann-Margret. (Oh, wait...maybe that last one was just me). Anyway, the point is that we grew up grabbing fun things where we could find them and we held them very close to our hearts. I'm talking Baseball cards, Universal monster models, MAD Magazine and yes...'7th Voyage of Sinbad'.

I was a school patrol and the reward for us where I lived was a weekly Sunday matinee at the Paramount Theatre. What they didn't tell us then, however, was that there would only be two movies shown for the whole school year. They were: the movie that we're talking about here and 'Mysterious Island', (another fantastic kid movie). Oh, well...so what?! If you had to watch two movies through a year and you were 8 years old and you were allowed to take the bus by yourself on a Sunday afternoon downtown to sit in the balcony and fold-down your popcorn box and hurl it at the other kids on the main floor beneath us like some sort of Frisbee and you could watch giant creatures attack Sinbad and weird you out for the 877th time...hey, that's movie magic.

So, for all of you who were born in the eighties...this film DOES NOT suck...it soothes and takes me back to 1963 whenever I catch it...and I WILL watch it for the 878th time. You should give it a go at least once. Special Effects, especially in the hand of Harryhausen, were art.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
"Dynarama" Effects Aside - The Boy-Genie Was Too Sucky For Words
strong-122-4788852 January 2017
Shot in the then-dazzling film-process called "Dynarama" - I remember, as a wide-eyed kid of 10, being absolutely struck with total awe while watching this cheesy Fantasy/Adventure picture from yesteryear.

With its introduction of several delightfully monstrous, stop-motion creations by effects-man, Ray Harryhausen (including a ferocious, one-horned Cyclops - Wow!) - This pre-CGI film was a child's most spectacularly exciting nightmare come true on screen.

But, alas - (As one might expect) - Time (yes-unforgivable time) has not been at all kind to this 1958 Sinbad, the Sailor, production. No. It hasn't.

Remembering my excitement as a fascinated child - I honestly did try to cut this 60-year-old relic some nostalgic slack - But, unfortunately - As a jaded viewer of today - I could only grade Sinbad's 7th Voyage with just an "average" 5-star rating.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Those Who Harm Us Shall Be Driven Mad!"...
azathothpwiggins30 March 2019
After rescuing Sokurah the Magician (Torin Thatcher) from an angry cyclops, Sinbad (Kerwin Mathews) and his crew set sail for home. Unfortunately, Sokurah has lost something very valuable to him, and will do anything to retrieve it. Thus, his treachery unfolds, forcing Sinbad to return to the mysterious island where it all began. THE 7TH VOYAGE OF SINBAD is a great story of adventure, romance, and derring-do, full of magic and monsters. This movie is a showcase for the stop-motion genius of Ray Harryhausen, who provides not only the cyclops, but also a dragon, a two-headed Roc, a four-armed snake woman, and a sword-swinging skeleton man! The dead-on choreography for the ensuing sword fight between Sinbad and the animated skeleton is astonishing! Loved it as a kid, still love it as an adult!...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun flesh and fantasy which is how the sword and sandals from Italy should have been.
mark.waltz15 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
There's more to an exotic Arabian adventure than the flashing of skin and the flexing of muscles, and with Kerwin Matthews as a very Caucasian Sinbad, the results are silly fun that has achieved a cult status through the special effects and genius of Ray Harryhausen. Whether it be the one-eyed cyclops, the leashed dragon that all of a sudden gets loose or the two headed giant new born baby chick, this is filled with exotic creatures that only a special mind could create. There's also a skeleton army, an evil magician who turns on his so-called friends and a little boy Genii who longs to be free. A beautiful princess (Kathryn Grant) shrinks to the size of a barbie doll, and to bring her back to size, Sinbad and his crew (which includes the traitor magician) head back to the island of the cyclops whose body seems to be made of clay and impenetrable from anything sharp that would cause bleeding.

While "Jason and the Argonauts" is a far more fantastic spectacle, this is still highly enjoyable from start to finish, colorful and exciting. Torin Thatcher is a great villain, with Richard Eyer very cute as the cursed genii who can only be rescued by having the lamp thrown into a lake of fire. The sets are exotic and always exciting, and the costumes lavish and colorful. A battle with the cyclops has many of the men enclosed in a bamboo cage in preparation for the cyclops to barbecue over a fiery pit, and the baby chicks aren't there for the petting. After life inside an egg, these two headed birds are hungry, and anything that smells like food is ripe for the pecking.

Still early in the era of these kind of sword and sandal adventures, they hadn't gotten cheesy to the point of pure silliness, and as obviously un-Arabic as they are, Matthews, Grant and the rest of the ensemble (with perhaps the exception of Thatcher) do what they can to make their characters avoid being silly caricatures. Matthews manages to be strong and heroic without being cocky, and Grant is a force of nature in her own right. Thatcher isn't one dimensional, although by the end, you'll be anxious for him to get his well deserved come-uppance. Sure, some of the dialog is clichéd and the stop motion animation might seem dated compared to the type that's on screen now, but it's simple fun, and unlike the movies of this genre today, you won't have a headache when it's all over.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The 7th Voyage of Sinbad
jboothmillard29 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
It was a shame when I heard that special effects creator and animator Ray Harryhausen died at the age of 92, and I visited an exhibition of his work a year or two before, so I knew his death was significant and films he worked on may be shown, and sure enough came this classic. Basically adventurer Sinbad (Kerwin Mathews) and his crew are travelling to his wedding, but get lost at sea and accidentally find the island of Colossa, and there they rescue Sokurah the magician (Torin Thatcher) from the giant Cyclops. Fleeing from the monster Sokurah uses a magical lamp with a child Genie named Baronni (Richard Eyer), but when a boulder is thrown by the creature he drops the lamp into the sea, but they manage to escape and return to Baghdad for the wedding of Sinbad and Princess Parisa (Kathryn Grant). Sokurah requests during a celebration, feast and peace offering between the Caliph of Baghdad (Alec Mango) and the Sultan of Chandra (Harold Kasket) to have a ship and crew sail back to Colossa, but his request is refused. So the deceitful uses his powers to shrink the princess, and he lies to Sinbad that the only way to revive her is to get the necessary ingredient for a magic potion that can only be obtained from Colossa, and the only friend that will sail with the captain is Harufa (Alfred Brown). So they enlist a who crew of prisoners who are offered a pardon for their crimes if they will sail with them to the island, they do set sail but of course the criminals and cons have their own idea to take control, which is unsuccessful. They eventually reach the island and the crew searches for the egg shell of a Roc, a large two-headed bird, this is what is needed for the potion, they are again confronted by the Cyclops which kills some of the men and places Sinbad and others in a cage. The shrunken Parisa is able to release the men from the cage from above opening the lock, and Sinbad manages to blind the Cyclops in its one eye with a lighted torch, and helpless it is led the edge of a cliff and falls to its death. The crew search for the nest of the Roc, and soon enough they find one of the beach, and the egg in it hatches and the large hatchling attacks some of the men, but it is defeated and killed, and Sinbad takes the piece of shell for the potion. The angry parent of the hatchling grabs the lead sailor and drops him into its nest, he escapes from it, and having found the lamp earlier he summons the Genie who tells him what happened when he was unconscious. The princess has been taken into the caves of the island, so Sinbad travels beneath, and slips past a fire-breathing dragon chained up as guard to the caverns, and there he finds the magician, and threatened he agrees to restore the princess back to her normal size. Sinbad refuses to give Sokurah the lamp until they get back to the ship, so the villain brings a skeleton warrior to life to fight with the sailor, but eventually it is defeated, and he and the princess flee. When a bridge is collapsed by the magician the princess summons the Genie to help them escape over the river of molten lava, and after crossing she throws the lamp into the lava to release the Genie from its captivity. The couple leave the cave and are encountered by another Cyclops, but the dragon is released from its chains and the two monsters fight to the death, and Sokurah tries to get the dragon to kill them, but the ship crew fire a giant crossbow, and falling to its death the beast crushes the magician. The crew manage to escape the island, and in the end the Genie has become Baronni as a real boy and now a cabin boy, and as a thank you for his release from captivity he took the treasure the Cyclops took from the cave, this serves as a wedding gift for Sinbad and Parisa. Also starring Danny Green as Karim, Nana DeHerrera as Sadi and Virgilio Teixeira as Ali. Mathews as the famous sailor does alright, Grant is beautiful if a little corny as the princess, and Thatcher is not bad as the pantomime villain, for me the best thing about the film was of course the brilliant stop-motion animation from Harryhausen, the Cyclops, two- headed bird and warrior skeleton are some of the best creations on screen, and the story is filled with action and magic to keep everyone happy, a great fantasy adventure. Very good!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed