I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now (1947) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A memorable film
bitzer27 February 2005
I notice that five of the six people who commented before me on "I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now" spoke of the lasting impression it made on them. In 1947, when it came out, I was 13; I didn't see it again until 1975 or '76, when it was shown on TV, and I watched it with a young woman in her early 20's. In 1975-'76 I was eager to see if it would give me the pleasure it had as a teenager. It did, and it has stuck with that young woman, too, who has been my wife for more than 25 years. Both of us regard it as second only to "Singin' In the Rain." The music IS wonderful, as others have said, and the stars are at least adequate, but I remember best the color and the nostalgic mood, a sweetly innocent and beautiful aura. I looked it up on IMDb hoping that it might still be available on video. I see that others before me had the same hope, only to be blighted. Pity. It should be reissued and treasured.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Stars and Music Rescue a Soapy Plot
Kalaman22 November 2003
I saw "I Wonder Who is Kissing Her Now" last night. It is my third June Haver musical and I was slightly underwhelmed by it.

An extravagant biography of the ups and downs of the vaudeville songwriter Joe Howard (Mark Stevens) and his romantic adventures with a songstress Lulu Madison (Martha Stewart) while being true to his jealous sister Katie (Haver), "I Wonder..." turns out to be an opulent Gay 90s musical in the vein of "Hello Frisco Hello"(1943) and "My Gal Sal"(1942). The Technicolor, lavish sets, and turn-of-the- century costumes are sometimes thrilling, but the plot is very frustrating and soapy. It doesn't go anywhere.

However, the stars and the music make it worthwhile. The best numbers are the title song and "Goodbye My Baby Love".
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderful memories
teresatremain17 February 2005
I am 25 years old and I first saw this film when I was about 8. I have a wonderful memory for songs and lyrics and I can still remember (even though I haven't seen it for 15 years) all of them.

Goodbye my lady love, Honeymoon, Hello my baby, Be sweet to me kid, and of course I wonder who's kissing her now. I am desperate to see this again, my Nan is gone from us now and I used to watch it with her and perform the songs for her in fancy dress. Well it was lovely.

June Havers was so lovely and the film was light and easy to watch. A very cute little love story with wonderful music, I have seen a lot of musicals and no others have stuck in my head as much.

Please if anyone hears anything please post here.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A truly great musical- the songs are exciting
none-8515 December 1998
My favorite musical next to the Jolson Story. The songs send tingles to the spine- a yearning for the carefree life at the turn of the century. Mark Stevens and June Haver are outstanding as the leads. Reg Gardiner and Martha Stewart are also great in their supporting roles. The songs- I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now, Hello My Baby, Honeymoon, etc. are true classics.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Overlong, heavily padded fantasy-bio on songwriter Joseph Howard...
moonspinner5515 January 2009
Although ostensibly the success story of working stiff/songwriter-turned-vaudeville pianist and later Broadway composer Joseph Howard, this fluff musical from Fox is really a showcase for June Haver playing Howard's adopted sister. Haver's tag-along good girl--who harbors dreams of stardom herself--provides sass and bounce in this extremely lightweight story; unfortunately, her character's fantasy about being in the spotlight, and her somewhat conniving ways, detracts from Howard's misadventures with money and women while never building a credible profile for young Katie. The film is certainly tuneful and pleasant, but low-keyed Mark Stevens as Joe isn't able to make much of an impression (and when he gets angry at kid sis Katie near the end, it seems to come out of nowhere). There are some good supporting performances (particularly by Martha Stewart as a glinty-eyed vaudeville chanteuse), but the final musical number seems to go on forever, and the romantic finish doesn't quite work. ** from ****
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Perfectly Symetrical Multi-Plane 1940's Americana- carnival; which would have glowed in post-war Britain's grey drab.
peterwhittle141 October 2002
Katie is jealously protective of Joe;for whom the aesthetic charms of Lulu Madison cause the biggest Cat-Fight & Rumble on musical celluloid.

I cannot get over this Picture.It is the most perfect cinematic experience I have ever had! It complements itself with dimension upon dimension of biography,romance,music,love,jealousy,dancing,parody,irony & history. The characterisation are looming & loud.

Joe paternally cares for his adopted sister 'Katie'.She loves him for all the world which he cannot seemingly acknowledge. Lulu Madison is a sassy Top Billing Singer;& soon obtains the charms of Joe.Round 3: - Katie.She joins the act & in the second half of the Film "Gets Her Man " .

Most important/memorable line: "Katie,You Gotta Start Liking Lulu or she'll get me kicked out of the Show" "I'll TRY to like her Joe" "Now say your prayers or you won't go to Heaven !" "But I wanna go with You, Joe" .

This Film is about ROMANTIC PEOPLE living in a ROMANTIC ERA.Maybe I should have been cast in it.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good looking woman were better in my day
4052ii19 March 2002
June Haver presents a beautiful life like representation of an idylic world where success occurs while life is the lie and 3rd grade words are not kept from promotion ie white lies go far. I was born in 1952, so this movie is way out of my time frame for appreciation as the year now is 2002 but it does not take much effort to recognize greatness, no matter what year faces the antiquities of its present and its vehicles of success.

The movie, has terrific set design. The technology was the 10 gigahertz computer of the day. The wardrobes have beautiful embroidery with terrific symbolism of a hot night life. Even the difficulties of Russia of that time are gently assuaged with positivisms that only the arts could present as opposed to political intrigues that were overwhelming at that time for almost any successful state of mind.

The movie did much for me feeling very happy about being a private in the front lines of money, being able to speak under orders that had an authority behind them and should of I had a few dollars, maybe could have a chance a kissing one of those girls.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved This Movie Since I Was a Little Girl
maryblumreich20 October 2007
The movie came out in 1947 and my girl friend Virginia Rose and I went to see it together. (Small town girls, we practically lived at the movies). I was eight years old and totally entranced by the title song. I can sing it to this day, but no one seems to want to listen. :) I was beginning to think I was the only person who remembered this movie and am pleased to know I am not alone. I have not seen the movie since, but do wish it would be re-issued so that we old fans could enjoy the music and characters again. June Haver was beautiful and was one of my favorite actresses. I remember being happy when she married Fred MacMurray who was another favorite of mine.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Looking for a copy
Red-10527 June 1999
I remember this as being one of my all time favorite movies as a child. Haven't seen it since the late 40's. I would really like to find a source to purchase this wonderful musical, but haven't been successful. The music, dancing, romance, it was from a great time in our country.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I wonder who's kissing HIM now?
weezeralfalfa21 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Although the title of this entertaining fanciful Fox biop of turn-of-the-century Tin Pan Alley composer Joe Howard, spotlights one of his best remembered songs, my review title provides a better summation of the romantic merry go round between the songs, from the point of view of fictional Katie(June Haver), Joe's 16 y.o. younger non-biological sister, who is determined to marry him and become the star in his musical productions.(As one of Katie's competitors quipped, 20 y.o June looked awfully mature for a 16 y.o.). Although Joe(Mark Stevens) clearly has a very close relationship with Katie, he considers her yet too young for marriage and the start of a show business career. Thus, he goes off touring as the pianist, songwriter, and lover boy for a prima dona(Martha Stewart, as Lulu Madison). Katie eventually shows up with the whopper that 'uncle' John died, thus she has no apparent place to live, except maybe with Joe. Joe and Lulu very reluctantly agree to take her in for a while. The constant animosity between Katie and Lulu makes for entertaining drama for a while, until Lulu kicks them both out, realizing that Katie means more to Joe than she does.

Joe and Katie then go on the road as a performing team. Their hit song is Howard's "Goodbye, My Lady Love". Several times, Katie dawns a mulatto get up, with black wig and light blackface, in imitation of a similar character Betty Grable played in one of her numbers in "Coney Island". Soon, they meet Fritzi Barrington(Lenore Aubert), an Austrian -raised prima dona, who is billed in the same show with them. Katie soon rightly smells another Lulu in Fritzi. Fritzi and Howard team up for several performances, with Fritzi singing the non-Howard "Love's Own Sweet Song", and Howard's "What's the Use of Dreaming". During this last performance, Katie, who is a minor player in the show, has a daydream where she is the prima dona, romanced by a bevy of men. She also dances to the non-Howard 'Glowworm", the last portion with new dancing specialist Gene Nelson. This is one of 2 major June performances in the film. Gene would go on to be teamed with singer Gordon MacRae in a series of low budget Warner musicals, culminating in the mega hit "Oklahoma". They would be teamed with June in "The Daughter of Rosie O'Grady"

Katie tells Joe that Fritzi suddenly quit the show and married her old flame musical producer. Joe doesn't believe that this wasn't a Katie-engineered development, and announces that he is closing the show and going off on a tour of the US as a piano player and singer. He reprises various Howard songs along the way. Eventually lands in SF, preparing to hide in Alaska. But, he hears various street people singing words to his previously wordless song "I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now". Discovers that the remainder of his old show staff wrote words to this tune, put together a new show, starring Katie, and have been quite successful. He sees their elaborate finale show, with French ladies in mega-whoop skirts, then a troop of Russians. Katie then has to move fast and deviously to snare her man before he gets on the boat for Alaska.

Martha Stewart(Lulu) and Lenore Aubert(Fitzi) remained minor supporting actresses. Lenore said this was her favorite film role, as her character supposedly was modeled after the historic Fritzi Scheff, both having spent their formative years in Austria. I have no info on who actually sang the parts and who were dubbed. June, Martha and Mark had singing talent. However, June and Mark were dubbed in their second film pairing, in another biop of a turn-of-the -century composer in "Oh, You Beautiful Doll".

Mark has often been criticized as too bland and dominated by his female leading ladies. I found his character pleasant, if excessively shy and emotionally inhibited. He clumsily kept trying to deflect Katie's obvious romantic interest in him, claiming that she was still just a girl! I'm sure the real Joe Howard was much more gregarious....Other easily recognized actors include Bill Frawley, as Lulu's agent, George Cleveland, as 'Uncle John', and Britisher Reginald Gardner as Fritzi's sometimes boyfriend.

June spent her rather short film career in the shadow of Betty Grable, being groomed as her possible replacement, and as a check on Betty's financial and role demands. As it happened, another blond: Marylyn Monroe, would inherit Betty's crown, although June also has her following, including me. See them both in the drama "Love Nest".

It's unfortunate that the dramatic death of Howard couldn't be included. This happened at the closing curtain call of a musical performance, at age 83: an event that 'only happens in the movies'. 7 of his songs were featured in the film, along with several non-Howard period songs. The film originally was going to be titled "Hello, My Baby", after probably his best remembered song, which is the lead off song. The finale stage production also features several songs newly composed by Charles Henderson and producer Georgie Jessel.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Musical STORY
sb-47-60873723 November 2019
This is a story, in conventional sense, not the etymological "Narration/ Recital of True Events". But this happens when one tries to make a "True Story" on some one still living - or some one dead so long back that the life is shrouded in mystery. Any story naturally have to have TRP, and especially in case of living person, people have to be doubly careful, not to hurt the feelings, and suppress/ modify truth to the audience and the person's choice. This seem to be a glaring example of that.

As a truth or biographical sense, based on the information I could access, it ranks somewhere around 1 out of 10, but on entertainment value, it is 7.

The only thing that seem to be true in it, is the name of the male protagonist, Howard, and links to his musical numbers, except the name-sake "I wonder Who Is..." which he had appropriated from other (Harold Orlob) and if there was one, may be...

But except Howard, the other protagonists, thank fully the names (screen) don't ring bell - I Wonder who were they ?

Katie could have been his second wife Ida Emerson - the ages almost match (3-4 years younger), but who was on screen Mabel Barrison, on whose tour he had tasted first success ? Lulu ? Doesn't seem to be based on Mabel's biography - since she did marry Howard in 1906 - and stayed married till her death in 1912 of TB. Second though already successful on Vaudeville, she was much younger than either Joseph or Ida - in fact by age standard she would have been Katie (Joseph-12 to 15) - only that here there was no child-hood romance - she was Canadian. Of course if one goes by the timeline of I wonder.... (1909).... it would be she.

With so many contradiction, I will remove the claimed "True" and "Story" and consider it to be a fiction with no relation to any one (then) living or (now) dead. But once that is removed, probably, it is any other Musical Romance. Enjoyable, thanks to the musical number, but nothing too out of the way as far as the plot is concerned - now HAD it been really true... !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
****
edwagreen3 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Marvelous 1947 film telling the story how song writer Joe Howard made it in the music business.

His songs were marvelously staged, the set decorations were superb and Natalie Kalmus never failed in her coloring technique of motion pictures.

Mark Stevens as Joe was just wonderful. Did he do his own singing here. In a way, the Howard character was victimized by three women and winds up with a young girl whose uncle had brought them both up. In a way, her constant lying would only benefit Joe while Ms. Barrington spurns him for a former flame and Lulu is a conniving, deceitful woman who was angered by his prominence on the stage.

June Haver as a sort of Gigi is great here as well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
First Half Almost Sizzles
dougdoepke18 September 2013
Based on a true story, the movie traces the career of song-writer Joe Howard and his difficulties, especially in the romance department.

The first half almost sizzles with screen chemistry as Kate (Haver), Lulu (Stewart) and Joe (Stevens) bounce off one another backstage. And what a conniving little ingénue is Kate, always using her innocent wiles to get her way. Then there's toughie Lulu who would like to win Joe if only Kate would let her. Poor Joe's in the middle, but would rather write songs than anything else. Their simmering well-scripted set-to's amidst the stage show music had me thinking a real sleeper.

But then Joe joins another troupe and Lulu is replaced by Fritzie (Aubert) who unfortunately doesn't generate the same chemistry, causing the movie to settle into a more routine mode. Nonetheless, the production is lavish, the Technicolor beautiful, the signature songs memorable, along with a solid story better developed than most. But for me, it's a deceptively innocent Haver whose Kate shines most of all. Her presence not only lights up the stage, but amounts to one of the most unusual ingénues in musical history. And catch that great last scene that drives home the point.

All in all, the movie may not be the best musical on record, but that sizzling first half remains in the running.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Disappointing!
JohnHowardReid16 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Good title! But, alas, aside from adolescent boys, and the many fans of Vivian Blaine (of which I am one), I don't know anyone else who would really enjoy this movie. It's tame, it's predictable, it's not particularly funny, it's often stage-bound, and it's directed by Lew "Here Comes Trouble" Seiler who has obviously no idea how to rein in camera-hugging thespians like Phil Silvers and Carmen Miranda, or how to make the laughs come faster (or even to make them come at all). Michael O'Shea tries hard, but he still makes rather a dull hero. Fortunately, the movie is saved from total mediocrity by Vivian Blaine. As usual, she is both charismatic yet charmingly convincing. Beautiful Technicolor photography by award-winning (for the studio scenes in 1941's Blood and Sand) Ernest Palmer also helps. Admittedly, Palmer's input for Something for the Boys is not half as memorable as his superlative work on I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now – but great stuff nevertheless. Something is now available on an excellent 20th Century Fox DVD.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed