Chauvel Award winner Sigrid Thornton reflects on her career and returning to ‘SeaChange’

Sigrid Thornton.

Sigrid Thornton will be presented with the Chauvel Award tonight at a screen industry gala event held as part of the Gold Coast Film Festival.

The award recognises the prolific actress’ significant contribution to the Australian screen industry. Her long career includes films such The Man From Snowy River and The Lighthorsemen, and TV series SeaChange, All The Rivers Run, Prisoner and recently, The Code and Wentworth. Established in 1992, previous winners of the Chauvel Award include Fred Schepisi, Gillian Armstrong, George Miller, Jan Chapman, Heath Ledger and Deborah Mailman.

“This recognition is a wonderful and very humbling acknowledgement of essentially what’s been a lot of hard work,” Thornton tells If.

“It’s a career that’s been full, rich and enormously joyful, but it’s also had a lot of ups and downs as well.”

Thronton will soon return to one of her most notable roles, that of Laura Gibson,
See full article at »

Similar News

Recently Viewed